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IV-D MEMORANDUM 2010-002 

 
TO: Local Funding Unit Staff Submitting Cooperative 

Reimbursement Program (CRP) Billing Statements  
 Office of Child Support (OCS) Contract Management Staff  
 All Prosecuting Attorney (PA) Staff 
 All Friend of the Court (FOC) Staff 
 
FROM:  Marilyn F. Stephen, Director 
 Office of Child Support 

 
UPDATE(S): 
                  

 Manual 
 

 Form(s) 

DATE: March 17, 2010 
 
SUBJECT: REVISED: Final Judgment or Order Fees As Program Income on 

Cooperative Reimbursement Program (CRP) Billing Statements  
 
RESPONSE DUE: None 
 
POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: January 8, 2010 
 
PURPOSE: 
 
This IV-D Memorandum: 
 
• Replaces and obsoletes Action Transmittal (AT) 2006-019, Final Judgment or Order 

Fees as Program Income on CRP Billing Statements; 
• Provides a change bar in the right margin of the document to signify procedural 

changes to the memorandum; 
• Provides information on how staff must report certain final judgment or order fees on 

monthly CRP billing statements. Under Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) Section 
600.2529,1 petitioners before the court requesting a final judgment or order pay $40 
or $80 in fees to the court. A portion of these fees funded the bench warrant fund 
maintained by the Department of Treasury. However, Public Act 238 of 2009 
repealed the bench warrant fund, effective January 8, 2010; and 

• Provides instruction to PA and FOC staff before the court assesses this fee to a 
current IV-A or current non-IV-A Medicaid case. 

 
                                                 
1 The statute states, “(d) Before entry of a final judgment or order in an action in which the custody, 
support, or parenting time of minor children is determined or modified, the party submitting the judgment 
or order shall pay…” either $40 or $80. 
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BACKGROUND: 
 
The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) reimburses 66 percent of the 
eligible costs related to operating a program under United States Code (USC) Title 42, 
Chapter 7, Subchapter IV, Part D. These eligible costs must be the net costs of 
operating the program after accounting for any program income earned under the IV-D 
program.2  
 
In Michigan, counties assume many of the operating costs for the IV-D program under a 
CRP with the Department of Human Services (DHS). Counties request reimbursement 
of the IV-D operating costs through billings submitted on the Title IV-D Cooperative 
Reimbursement Actual Expenditure Report (DHS-286).3 The state reimburses the 
counties for 66 percent of the eligible operating costs associated to the IV-D program.   
 
MCL 600.2529 requires petitioners to pay fees before filing a judgment or order issued 
in a support or custody matter. Counties submitting DHS-286 bills on behalf of the FOC 
or combined counties report these fees on Line 8 of the DHS-286.  
 
ASSESSING THE FINAL JUDGMENT OR ORDER FEES ON IV-D CASES: 
 
Pursuant to the State Court Administrative Office (SCAO) memorandum dated 
September 28, 2004,4 the fee is not collected when the person seeking the entry of the 
judgment or order is a public official acting in his/her capacity. This includes an FOC or 
PA filing the judgment or order on a IV-D case. Pursuant to this SCAO memorandum, if 
the PA or FOC petitions the court for the judgment or order, the fee is not collected. 
 
If the fee is waived for any reason and either party contests the action, the SCAO 
memorandum indicates that the court may assess the fee to either or both parties to the 
case. Before the court assesses this fee, PA or FOC staff must inform the court of the 
current-assistance, former-assistance, or never-assistance status of the case. The PA 
or FOC staff must also inform the court of the federal regulatory prohibitions against 
assessing fees on current IV-A and current non-IV-A Medicaid cases. (Ref: 45 CFR 
302.33[a] and 45 CFR 302.33[d][1].) 
 
FINAL JUDGMENT OR ORDER FEES AS PROGRAM INCOME: 
 
MCL 600.2529, as modified by Public Act 239 of 2009, states that the party submitting 
the judgment or order must pay a fee before the court issues the final judgment or 
order. This fee must be:  
 
• $80 in an action in which custody or parenting time is determined; or  
• $40 in an action in which the support of a minor child(ren) is determined or modified.  

                                                 
2 Title 42, USC Section 655(a), and Title 45, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) Part 304, Section 50 (45 
CFR 304.50)  
3 The FIA-286 will be renamed the DHS-286 when all supplies of the form have been exhausted. 
4 http://courts.michigan.gov/scao/services/focb/communications/09-28-042004FOCLegislation.pdf
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Note:  If the order addresses both support of a minor child(ren) and either custody or 

parenting time, only the $80 fee is assessed. 
 
The statute requires the $80 fee paid by the petitioner when submitting a final judgment 
or order to determine custody or parenting time and is, therefore, related to a non-IV-D 
function. The $80 collected is not IV-D program income, but is income to the custody 
and parenting time program. The statute requires the $40 fee paid by the petitioner 
when submitting a final judgment or order to establish or modify support for a minor 
child(ren), and is, therefore, related to a IV-D function. This means that fees collected 
when assessed for court orders related to the support of a minor child(ren) on a IV-D 
case must be considered IV-D program income. (Ref: the “Assessing the Final 
Judgment or Order Fees on IV-D Cases” section of this memorandum for the rare 
instances in which the fee may be assessed on IV-D cases.) Decisions made by a 
federal appeals court5 influenced OCS when OCS made this determination. These fees 
are considered program income even when: 
 
• An entity other than a IV-D agency collected the fees; or 
• The law designates the money spent on non-IV-D program activities (such as a 

county’s general fund). 
 
The county must include the final judgment or order fees collected as program income 
on all CRP DHS-286 billing statements.  
 
Public Act 239 of 2009, effective January 8, 2010, amended MCL Section 600.2529(4) 
to delete the provision that required that out of each $80 and $40 collected, $10 was 
designated to the bench warrant fund. Since there is no longer a bench warrant fund, 
counties are not required to send the $10 to the State of Michigan and there is no 
requirement for the $10 to be spent on bench warrant enforcement.  

 
Effective for Final Judgment Fees Collected January 8, 2010 and Thereafter: 
Reporting the Final Judgment Fees As Program Income 
 
Counties submitting bills: 
 
• For either an FOC or combined FOC/PA must include $40 of each $40 final 

judgment or order fee collected within the county as IV-D program income (when 
assessed against a IV-D case);  

• For either an FOC or combined FOC/PA must include $80 of each $80 final 
judgment or order fee collected within the county as parenting time or custody 
program income (whether the fee was collected on a IV-D case or not);6 and 

                                                 
5 Pennsylvania vs. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 80 F.3d 796 (1996) 
6 The money collected from this fee is sent to the FOC 215 fund. As such, the PA does not have authority 
to spend these funds, and will not report these funds collected as program income. 
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• Solely for the PA must not include any final judgment or order fees collected within 
the county as program income, either as IV-D program income or for parenting time 
and custody program income. 

 
The following table, effective for final judgment fees collected beginning January 8, 
2010, displays the variations on the appropriate entities to report collections as IV-D 
program income or as parenting time and custody program income on monthly CRP 
DHS-286 billing statements: 

 
 On IV-D Cases On Non-IV-D Cases 
         Fee  
           Type 
 
Entity  
Contracted  

$40 final judgment or 
order fee 
(for orders including 
only support of a minor 
child[ren]) 

$80 final judgment or 
order fee 
(for orders including 
custody or parenting 
time) 

$40 or $80 final 
judgment or order 
fee 

FOC or 
Combined  
(FOC and PA) 

Do report $40 of each 
$40 fee collected as 
IV-D program income. 

Do not report as IV-D 
program income.  
Do report $80 of each 
$80 fee as parenting 
time and custody 
program income. 

Do not report any 
part of $40 fee as IV-
D program income.  
Do report $80 of $80 
fee as parenting 
time and custody 
program income. 

PA Do not report either 
fee as IV-D program 
income or parenting 
time and custody 
program income. 

Do not report either 
fee as IV-D program 
income or parenting 
time and custody 
program income. 

Do not report either 
fee as IV-D program 
income or parenting 
time and custody 
program income. 

   
Note:  The January 2010 CRP DHS-286 billing statement will include final judgment 

fees collected before January 8, 2010 and final judgment fees collected January 
8 through the end of the month. Therefore, the January 2010 DHS-286 CRP 
billing will have a combination of the reporting identified in this memorandum and 
the reporting identified in the obsoleted AT 2006-019. 

 
COMPLETING THE CRP DHS-286 BILLING STATEMENT: 
 
Staff completing the DHS-286 must include the final judgment fees or order fees 
assessed against a IV-D case collected as IV-D program income in accordance with the 
above table. This is true whether the fee was collected by the local FOC office or if the 
fee was paid at the office of the clerk of court.  
 
Staff do not need to include as IV-D program income:  
 
• Fees assessed that were not paid; or  
• Fees assessed when the order includes custody or parenting time judgments or 

orders. 
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NECESSARY ACTION: 
 
This IV-D Memorandum replaces and obsoletes AT 2006-019, Final Judgment or Order 
Fees as Program Income on CRP Billing Statements. Retain this IV-D Memorandum 
until further notice. 
 
REVIEW PARTICIPANTS:  
 

Financial Work Improvement Team  
Program Leadership Group  

 Cheryl Webster, Michigan State Disbursement Unit 
 Lynn Davidson, Macomb County FOC 
 
CONTACT PERSON:  
 

Duane Noworyta 
OCS Financial Management Unit 
noworytad@michigan.gov
(517) 241-7728 

 
CC: 
 

All OCS offices 
Office of the Attorney General, Child Support Division 

 SCAO, Friend of the Court Bureau  
 
SUPPORTING REFERENCES: 
 
 Federal  
 42 USC 655(a) 
 45 CFR 304.50 
 
 State 
 MCL 600.2529  
 Public Act 239 of 2009 
 Public Act 238 of 2009 
 
ATTACHMENT: 
 

DHS-286:  Title IV-D Cooperative Reimbursement Actual 
Expenditure Report 

 
MFS/DN 
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