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1. Obligation Summary Information1 

 
A court order is a requirement made by a judge for a specific action(s). An order may 
require a certain parenting time schedule or division of property in a divorce. Other 
times, an order will require someone to pay a certain amount of money. A 
requirement in an order to pay a specific amount is an obligation.2 A court may order 
a non-custodial parent (NCP) to pay obligations such as support and related fees in 
a domestic relations matter.3 The ordered support is intended for the general care 
and support of a minor child(ren), including but not limited to the child(ren)’s general 
care and needs, medical support and child care expenses.4 Support is determined 
using guidelines developed by the State Court Administrative Office (SCAO).5 

 
1.1 Obligation As Defined by a Support Order  

 
In Michigan, orders that include financial obligations are entered on the Uniform 
Child Support Order (USO, or FOC10).6 The USO defines a single child support 
obligation based on the family size (e.g., $399 in child support due for three 
minor children, $350 due for two minor children, $200 due for one minor child). 
However, “[w]hen a support order is for several children, each child’s share of 
the support obligation is that child’s per capita share of the ordered amount.”7 
Therefore, MiCSES tracks each financial obligation ordered on a per-child basis 
(e.g., $133 due for each of three minor children, $175 due for each of two minor 
children, $200 due for one minor child). Additionally, MiCSES uses debt types 

 
1 An obligation is set by the order of a court of competent jurisdiction; refer to Michigan Compiled Law 
(MCL) 552.603(2). The definition of an obligation is different than that of a debt type. Debt types are a 
Michigan Child Support Enforcement System (MiCSES) construct and represent the obligations 
established via a support order. 
2 Ref: The glossary on mi-support for a more detailed definition of an obligation. 
3 Ref: MCL 552.502(m) for a definition of a domestic relations matter. 
4 Support and support orders are further defined in MCL 552.602(ee) and (ff), MCL 552.502a(h) and (j), 
and Section 1.02, “Support” of the 2017 Michigan Child Support Formula Manual (MCSF). The 2017 
MCSF was effective January 1, 2017. Specific 2017 MCSF sections cited in this manual section may not 
correspond to post-2017 MCSF publications. 
5 Ref: Subsection 1.3, “SCAO Formula and Guidelines,” in this manual section. 
6 Ref: Michigan Court Rule (MCR) 3.211. 
7 Ref: 2013 MCSF 1.02(C). 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/SitePages/Glossary.aspx
https://courts.michigan.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Publications/Manuals/focb/2017MCSF.pdf
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to identify each type of obligation ordered in a USO.8 MiCSES also creates 
multiple accounts for the appropriate debt type from a single obligation amount 
in the USO. 

 
For instance, the court orders an NCP to pay $200 per month in child support 
for two minor children. The NCP’s total support obligation amount is $200 per 
month. MiCSES classifies this obligation as a Child Support (CS) debt type and 
will establish two different CS accounts, one account for each minor child, so 
that when adding the two account amounts due, the total will equal $200. 

 
However, assume the court orders NCP Chris to pay $350 a month in child 
support to custodial party (CP) Kerry for minor children Bobby and Billy, and 
special educational support (ED) for Billy. Two CS accounts are created in 
MiCSES, one for each of the minor children and each charging $175 per month 
(NCP/CP/Bobby = $175; NCP/CP/Billy = $175). But, because the order 
specifies the educational support is only for Billy, only one ED account 
(NCP/CP/Billy) is created.9 

 
1.2 General Obligation Information 

 
Obligations are owed to someone or to some entity. When an order is first 
created, the support obligations are usually owed to the CP on the IV-D case 
(typically the other parent, but may be a relative or guardian).10 Other times, an 
obligation is created in which the payment is due directly to a governmental 
agency (e.g., state or county government, the local sheriff’s office, etc.).11 

 
1.2.1 Account Members 

 
Depending on the type of account, an obligation has two or three 
members related to it; these are known as account members. These 
account members include: 
 
• The person obligated to pay the obligation; 

 
8 Ref: Section 5.10, “Debt Types,” in the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
9 A support order may provide for a specific amount due for each child, rather than identify an 
undifferentiated amount of support due to the family. Ref: 2013 MCSF 1.02(C). 
10 In certain circumstances, the CP may assign his/her rights to the obligation as a condition of receiving 
public assistance (Family Independence Program [FIP], Medicaid), or a CP’s rights to the obligation might 
be assigned because the court has removed the child from the CP and placed the child in foster care. 
Ref: Section 5.15, “Assignment of Support (Certification/Decertification),” and Section 5.85, “Agency 
Placement – Financial,” in the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for detailed information on 
assignment. 
11 Friend of the Court (FOC) staff enter court-ordered obligations into MiCSES, which includes entering 
account information such as charge amounts, charge frequency, account members, effective dates, 
single or tiered charge amounts, etc. Specific actions and more details for how to enter accounts are 
provided in the MiCSES Quick Reference Guide (QRG): OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: 
OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered Obligation, and MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation on mi-support.  

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.10.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.15.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.85.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.85.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/OBLG_Add_TieredObligation.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/OBLG_Add_NonTieredObligation.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/OBLG_Add_NonTieredObligation.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/OBLG_Modify_Obligation.pdf
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• The person/entity due the payments made under the obligation; and 
• If the obligation is ordered on behalf of someone, the person for 

whom the obligation has been ordered. 
 

A. Support Obligation 
 

In MiCSES, if an obligation is ordered on behalf of a minor child(ren) 
(e.g., child support), MiCSES typically associates three account 
members12 to the account created in MiCSES: the NCP, the CP and 
the minor child.  

 
When the CP assigns his/her rights to support in order to receive 
public assistance, the account member does not change.  

 
However, when the court orders a new person or entity to be in 
charge of the care and custody of the child, this changes who/what is 
due the obligation, and the account member must change. For 
instance, after a referral is received for a child on an existing order 
confirming that the child is in Michigan Department of Human 
Services (DHHS) supervised foster care, the IV-D worker will create a 
new IV-D case with the foster care agency as the account member.13  

 
B. Non-Support Obligation 

 
If the obligation is not ordered on behalf of a child (e.g., the obligation 
is a fee or bench warrant), the members associated with the account 
within MiCSES are the NCP and the CP. However, the CP may not 
always be due the payments made under the obligation. For instance, 
genetic test costs are paid to the state or county, but both the NCP 
and CP are associated to the account.  

 
1.2.2 Effective Dates 

 
An order becomes active, or effective, as determined by the court, and 
after the judge signs the order. The effective date of an order may pre-
date the judge’s signature but may not pre-date the filing date. 

 
The obligations associated to an order have effective dates as well. 
Beginning and ending dates determine the duration of the ongoing 
periodic charge for the account(s) associated to the obligation. One-time 

 
12 A spousal support debt does not have a child associated to the account (debt) created in MiCSES. 
Spousal support is considered a IV-D debt when a child support debt is still owing on the order. 
13 Ref: Section 2.85, “Agency Placement – Case Initiation,” in the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for 
more information on foster care initiation, Chapter 2, “Case Initiation,” in the manual for detail about other 
case initiations, and the MiCSES QRG: Support Specialist Foster Care Procedures on mi-support. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/2.85.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/SitePages/ChapterListing.aspx
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/FosterCare_SS_Procedures.pdf
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charge accounts use the same date for the beginning and ending dates. 
The use of beginning and ending dates creates charging time periods or 
time spans.  

 
For example, an NCP is required to pay support only while the court 
order is in effect, typically until the child emancipates.14 

 
1.2.3 Tiered Obligations 

 
Orders provide for tiered support amounts when the NCP has more than 
one minor child. Tiered support amounts are graduated amounts 
depending upon the number of active (non-emancipated) minor children 
on the order.15 
 
For example, an order may require the NCP to pay $200 per month in 
child support for two minor children, but $150 per month when there is 
only one minor child remaining on the order. 

 
1.3 SCAO Formula and Guidelines 

 
SCAO provides rules for setting the obligation amounts and documents these 
rules in the MCSF.16 The MCSF provides specific guidelines for setting support 
amounts and obligations within an order. In addition, the MCSF discusses the 
effects of health care premiums, Social Security benefits, ordinary medical 
obligations, and parenting time adjustments in detail. Parenting time is further 
discussed in Subsection 3.2, “Health Care Premium and Parenting Time” in this 
manual section.  
 
The MCSF discusses birth expenses, but specific policy on this topic is 
provided in Section 4.25, “Birth Expenses,” of the Michigan IV-D Child Support 
Manual. 

 
2. Charging and Arrears 

 
2.1 Monthly Charge 

 
Prosecuting Attorney (PA) staff establish support orders. Support orders must 
be stated in monthly amounts, due on the first day of the month.17 SCAO 
developed a formula for converting support orders to a monthly amount.18 

 
14 Ref: MCL 552.605b. 
15 Ref: 2013 MCSF 1.02(C). 
16 Ref: MCL 552.519 and 552.454(2).   
17 Ref: MCL 552.605c(1). 
18 Ref: MCL 552.605c, SCAO Administrative Memorandum (ADM) 2012-10, Prorating, End-dating, and 
Converting Support Orders to Monthly Amounts, and Frequently Asked Question (FAQ) 2003-01, 
Converting and Prorating Monthly Support Amounts.  

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/4.25.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/4.25.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Administrative-Memoranda/2012-10.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Administrative-Memoranda/2012-10.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Publications/focbnewsletters/FAQ2003-01.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Publications/focbnewsletters/FAQ2003-01.pdf
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FOC staff reviewing (in a review and modification process) existing child 
support orders with obligation frequencies other than monthly will change the 
obligation to a monthly frequency and convert the periodic amount stated in the 
order using the formula in SCAO ADM 2012-10.   

 
A court may order an NCP to pay other obligations that are not support and are 
not subject to a monthly frequency. These obligations may have a charging 
frequency such as weekly, semi-annually, etc. The periodic charge begins on 
the effective date of the obligation and continues charging based on the 
frequency of the obligation until the termination of the obligation. Sometimes a 
court may order a lump-sum obligation with a one-time charge that occurs on a 
specific date.  

 
Most child support obligations terminate on the child’s eighteenth birthday, on 
the child’s high school graduation, or when the child is 19.5 years old.19 
However, a specific order termination date can be ordered for a child’s support 
obligation. If this occurs, FOC staff will record the termination date for the 
account so MiCSES will stop charging the account at the end of that month.20 

 
2.2 Prorated Obligations21 

 
When orders begin on any day other than the first day of the month, most 
obligations for that month are prorated by calculating a per diem (daily) 
amount.22 SCAO ADM 2012-10 and the MCSF provide instructions for manually 
calculating a per diem amount, but MiCSES will prorate obligations as 
discussed in detail in the MCSF and in SCAO ADM 2012-10. MiCSES only 
prorates those debt types as directed by the MCSF. Additionally, MiCSES 
prorates obligations depending on how the accounts are entered in MiCSES, 
using specific screens and time spans (beginning and ending effective dates).23 
MiCSES also follows the MCSF’s specific discussion regarding the impacts that 
health care obligations, health care premiums and Supplemental Security 
Income (SSI) benefits have on child support obligations.24 
 

 
19 “A support order entered under this section shall include a provision that the support terminates on the 
last day of a specified month, regardless of the actual graduation date” (MCL 552.605b[3]). Also 
reference MCL 552.605c(3), IV-D Memorandum 2011-021, Termination of Parental Rights – Michigan 
Supreme Court Decision, and SCAO ADM 2012-07, When Child Support Stops and When It Continues.  
20 An obligation termination date is also referred to as an obligation end date. 
21 Ref: MCL 552.605c. 
22 Ref: 2013 MCSF 4.05. 
23 Ref: MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered 
Obligation or MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation for how to prorate obligations in MiCSES. 
24 SSI reduces the overall child support obligation. Ref: 2013 MCSF 2.01 and 3.05(C). Ref: MiCSES 
QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered Obligation, or MiCSES 
QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation for how to enter obligation-related SSI in MiCSES. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/2011-021.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/2011-021.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Administrative-Memoranda/2012-07.pdf
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2.3 Current Support and Zero Support 
 

Typically, Michigan support orders require monthly dollar amounts for current 
child support and medical support. The amount of support ordered by the court 
is based upon the MCSF guidelines.25 However, when calculating the amount 
of child support ordered, it is possible that it may result in a monthly dollar 
amount of zero. A judge may also deviate from the child support formula,26 
including but not limited to: 

 
• Setting support at zero; or  
• Holding the support amount in abeyance.  
 
Federal and state regulations require the use of the MCSF in calculating child 
support.27 A key factor in determining if an order is a zero support order is 
whether the court used the MCSF to calculate the amount of child 
support, even if the final judgment deviated from the MCSF and child 
support was not charged. 
 
The federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) requires the Michigan 
Office of Child Support (OCS) to track performance measurements tied to 
federal incentive payments, including the number of IV-D cases with support 
orders established. A subset of this measure is the number of cases with zero 
support ordered. OCS must report cases open on the last day of the fiscal year 
that have an order established, but no amount of cash support is included in the 
order. This must also include orders that were established for health insurance 
only and do not include judgments under laws of general obligation. The 
MiCSES Data Warehouse compiles this data, and OCS reports it annually to 
OCSE on lines 2 and 2c of the OCSE-157 Child Support Enforcement Report.28 
Including zero support orders on lines 2 and 2c increases the court-ordered IV-
D caseload percentage for the county and the state. 
 
To properly report cases with zero support ordered to OCSE, IV-D staff must 
track zero support and health-insurance-only orders accurately within 
MiCSES.29  

 
2.3.1 Types of Zero Support Orders 

 

 
25 Ref: Subsection 1.3, “SCAO Formula and Guidelines” in this manual section for more information. 
26 Ref: MCL 552.605. 
27 Ref: 45 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 302.56 and MCL 552.519(1)(a)(vi).   
28 Ref: OCSE Action Transmittal (AT)-11-10, Notice of changes to the OCSE-157 Form regarding Medical 
Support, for instructions on completing the OCSE-157 form. 
29 Ref: MiCSES Screen Description: OPRE – Order Preparation and Entry. 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/notice-of-changes-to-the-ocse-157-form-regarding-medical-support
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/notice-of-changes-to-the-ocse-157-form-regarding-medical-support
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/OPRE.pdf
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IV-D workers must record the following types of zero support orders in 
MiCSES by checking the Zero Support order box on the Order 
Preparation and Entry (OPRE) screen’s Order Detail tab: 
 
• Orders established for zero cash support; 
• The judge ordered support based on the MCSF recommendation, but 

held support in abeyance; and 
• The court ordered health insurance only. 

 
These types of zero support orders are further described below. 

 
A. Orders for Zero Support 

 
When a judge orders zero cash support per month, a zero support 
order exists. This may happen when one of the following occurs: 
 
• A zero support amount was calculated using the MCSF; or 
• The judge deviated from the MCSF and set the amount at zero. 
 

B. Judge Orders Support to Be Held in Abeyance 
 
When a judge orders a set amount for support based on the MCSF 
recommendation, but holds the support in abeyance for payment at a 
later date or upon the occurrence of a future event (e.g., NCP 
released from prison, upon the sale of the marital home, etc.), a zero 
support order exists. 

 
If all obligations on the USO begin with an anticipated future event 
and not an effective date, the IV-D case(s) associated to the order 
must be reported as a zero support order for federal reporting 
purposes. 
 
Example 1: 
 
A judge sentences the NCP, Mr. F, to three years in a minimum-
security prison. While Mr. F is in prison, the CP, Mrs. F, seeks a 
judgment of divorce with the court.  
 
In the judgment of divorce, the judge sets support at $500 a month, 
but then holds the support charge in abeyance until Mr. F is 
released from prison. Because the judge used the MCSF to 
calculate an underlying obligation, the order is considered a support 
order.  
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Note:  When the obligation begins charging, IV-D staff must uncheck 
the Zero Support order box on the Support Order Entry (SORD) 
screen and add the account to MiCSES on the Obligation 
Maintenance (OBLG) screen. This will ensure that the case 
counts as an open case with a support order for incentive 
purposes of federal reporting. 

 
C. Orders for Health Insurance Only 

 
The judge deviates from the MCSF and establishes a support order 
when (s)he orders health insurance coverage only, even if it does not 
use the MCSF and remains silent on a cash amount. Since the 
judge’s order addresses health insurance coverage, a support order 
exists.30 

 
2.3.2 Orders in Which a Zero Support Order Does Not Exist 

 
Zero support orders do not exist when: 
 
• The court did not use the MCSF to determine the support amounts; or 
• The order is for arrears only.  
 
Further explanation is below regarding instances in which a zero support 
order does not exist. 
 
A. MCSF Not Used 

 
A zero support order does not exist when an order only establishes 
or defines a legal, parental relationship (or simply addresses 
visitation/custody) and the court has not used the MCSF to calculate 
a child support amount or create a responsibility to provide health 
insurance or medical support.  
 

B. Orders for Arrears Only 
 

A judge can issue an order that requires the NCP to pay arrears only. 
Federal regulations consider this case an open case with an 
established support order. This is not considered a zero support 
order. 

 
30 Ref: MCL 552.605a. 
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2.4 Chargeable Bonus 

 
A court may order a certain percentage of a bonus payment as an additional 
amount of support. This is called a “chargeable bonus.”31 
 
A chargeable bonus is charged as a single monthly support amount each month 
in which the lump sum will be received and processed. IV-D staff set the one-
time monthly charge amount to the amount of the expected payment, with the 
effective date of the charge being the first day of the month and the end date as 
the last day of the same month. If IV-D staff expect the bonus payment to be 
paid near the end of a month, IV-D staff may need to set the charge for the 
following month to allow time for the payment to be received and processed, 
particularly if the payment is expected to be paid by check.32 

 
2.5 Lump-Sum Obligations33   

 
Judges frequently enter orders requiring the payment of a lump sum amount 
(sometimes known as a fixed obligation), such as a medical bill repayment. The 
order may be silent concerning whether: 

 
• The entire amount is owed immediately but may be paid in installments 

(“arrearage due” option); or 
• Only installment payments on the obligation are due (“maximum obligation 

amount” option). 
 

Until the NCP pays in full, these orders typically specify payment in 
installments. An order providing for installment payments is subject to 
interpretation when it specifies only the amount or the repayment rate. 
 

FOC staff determine the meaning of these orders based on the practices of the 
court that entered the order. This has led to inconsistent interpretations of the 
same language across courts. 
 

While FOCs still have the authority to interpret orders from the court under 
SCAO and OCS policy, MiCSES is unable to support the different practices of 
each court. Two options are available for use in MiCSES: the “arrearage due” 
option and the “maximum obligation amount” option.  
 

Note:  Any other interpretation of a lump sum obligation will require manual 
intervention and is not recommended. 

 
31 Ref: Section 5.10 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
32 Ref: Section 6.09, “Lump Sum/Bonus,” of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
33 Content for this subsection was originally in conjunction with SCAO ADM 2004-04, Lump Sum 
Arrearage Interpretation. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/6.09.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Administrative-Memoranda/2004-04.pdf
http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Administrative-Memoranda/2004-04.pdf
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2.5.1 Arrearage Due34 

 
In this interpretation of the order, FOC staff consider the entire amount 
as an arrearage due and owing immediately, but may use an 
ordered-on-arrears (OOA) amount to allow installment payments to 
be made. Automatic enforcement remedies (e.g., financial institution 
data match, credit reporting, tax refund offset) will continue against the 
entire balance, even if OOA amounts are paid as ordered by the court.35   

 

Note: The “arrearage due” option may maximize incentives by potentially 
increasing the number of court orders with an arrearage collection.  

 
2.5.2 Maximum Obligation Amount 

 
If a judge intends that automatic enforcement remedies are to be used 
only on an unpaid installment charge amount, then the maximum 
obligation amount must be used.  
 
A maximum obligation amount is used in MiCSES to record the total 
amount (lump sum) an NCP owes on a fixed obligation while allowing a 
specified installment charge amount to be paid. In this interpretation, 
FOC staff do not consider the entire obligation as due and owing, but 
rather consider the entire obligation amount as current support to be 
paid in periodic installments until the NCP pays the lump sum in 
full.36 The lump sum payment is a separate obligation and, unless the 
court orders otherwise, is still considered due even though other support 
obligation(s) may terminate.37  
 
Maximum obligation amounts increase the current child support 
obligation. Additionally, maximum obligation amounts are used to avoid 
premature enforcement on the uncharged balance of the lump-sum 
obligation as if it were arrears. 
 
The percentage of current collections affects federal reporting and 
incentives for counties and for the state overall. The “maximum 
obligation amount” option has the potential to negatively affect 

 
34 This balance is subject to surcharge if ordered by the judge. Ref: Section 5.75, “Surcharge,” in the 
Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for a discussion on surcharge. 
35 Ref: Chapter 6, “Enforcement,” of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for more discussion on 
these and other enforcement remedies. 
36 The lump sum is entered with a periodic charge amount that will stop when it reaches the maximum 
obligation amount. Both the periodic charge amount and the maximum obligation amount are tracked in 
MiCSES. 
37 This option will not assess a surcharge against any installment payments that have not come due when 
or if the judge orders a surcharge on the order. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.75.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.75.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/SitePages/ChapterListing.aspx
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performance unless all current support, including the periodic installment 
amount, is collected. Additionally, OCS was cited in a data reliability 
audit because maximum obligation amounts used to avoid enforcement 
on past-due support are not to be considered current support. OCS does 
not support masking arrears as current support to avoid enforcement 
actions. 
 
SCAO has issued FAQ 2004-02 regarding lump sum payments and 
processing. This FAQ provides proposed language for a court order that 
would implement the future payment outlined under the maximum 
obligation amount option that attempts to avoid the drawbacks discussed 
above. 

 
2.6 Arrears 

 
When a monthly charge is not paid in full, the unpaid charge is added to 
previous unpaid charges and tracked as an arrearage amount. There are 
several different types of arrears categories, which are discussed in Subsection 
2.6.1 below.  

 
All arrears are owed to the account member who originally was to receive the 
currently charging amount, or are due to the state if arrears were assigned by 
the CP.38  

 
Pursuant to MCL 552.605c, FOC staff must not consider an NCP in arrears if 
arrears periodically accrue as the result from the mismatch of an income source 
payment cycle and the periodic charge frequency, such as when a bi-weekly 
income withholding order is received for a monthly support amount.39 

 
2.6.1 Arrears Categories 

 
Arrears accrue in different categories, or “buckets” depending on: 

 
• The type of obligation ordered and the resulting account used to track 

the obligation; and  
• Whether the obligation is assignable40 to the state or county when 

public assistance is received.  
 

 
38 Before October 1, 2009, families receiving FIP assistance temporarily assigned family-owed arrears to 
the state. For details regarding assignment, reference sections 5.15 and 5.85 of the Michigan IV-D Child 
Support Manual. 
39 Ref: MCL 552.605c(2). 
40 Assignable obligations are discussed in Section 5.10 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual, while 
a full discussion of assignment is found in sections 5.15 and 5.85 of the manual. Assignment does not 
include debt that is always paid to an agency. Rather, assignment can be thought of as a transfer of debt 
from one entity (such as a CP) to another (such as the state). 

http://courts.mi.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Publications/focbnewsletters/FAQ2004-02.pdf
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Debt types that can never be assigned to the state only use the never 
assigned arrears (NAA) category of arrears. Debt types that can be 
assigned to the state use NAA as well as other categories of arrears.41 

 
The following categories of arrears are used in MiCSES: 

 
• Never assigned arrears (NAA): These are unpaid charges that accrue 

when a debt type cannot be assigned. Or, for an assignable debt 
type, these are unpaid charges that accrue when the account has not 
been assigned to the state; 

• Permanently assigned arrears (PAA): These are unpaid support 
charges that accrue during a time of public assistance during which 
the account is assigned; 

• Temporarily assigned arrears (TAA): These are unpaid support 
charges that accrued when the CP was not receiving public 
assistance, but were temporarily assigned to the state during a time 
of assistance that began before October 1, 2009; 

• Conditionally assigned arrears (CAA): These are TAA that are 
conditionally unassigned to the family at the time the CP leaves 
public assistance; 

• Unassigned pre-assistance arrears (UPAA): These are CAA that 
exceed the FIP Unreimbursed Grant (URG) amount. UPAA reflect the 
arrears that originally accrued as NAA before NAA were assigned to 
the state; 

• Unassigned during assistance arrears (UDAA): These are arrears 
that were previously PAA but exceed the URG. These arrears 
originally accrued as PAA; 

• Medicaid arrears (MEDI): These are unpaid charges that accrue 
during a time of medical assignment; and 

• IV-E arrears (IVEF): These are unpaid charges that accrue during a 
time the child is out of the home (i.e., placed in foster care) and for 
which the state is providing foster care maintenance payments for the 
child. 

 
The type of arrears and the status of the account (whether the account is 
currently assigned to the state) affect the way arrears payments are then 
distributed.42  

 

 
41 Not all types of public assistance require the assignment of support. Ref: Section 5.15 of the Michigan 
IV-D Child Support Manual for further discussion of the types of arrears used by debt types during periods 
of assignment. 
42 Ref: Section 5.35, “Allocation/Distribution,” of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for details on 
how these arrears categories affect the distribution of support. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.35.pdf
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2.6.2 Retroactive Arrears 
 

Retroactive arrears are the result of an account’s periodic or one-time 
charge amount that is entered with a past effective date.43 The charge 
amount is calculated based upon the effective date through the end of 
the month preceding the current month. The resulting balance is a 
retroactive arrears amount.44 

 
2.6.3 Prejudgment Arrears 

 
Some initial orders include a lump-sum obligation45 known as a 
prejudgment arrears amount.46 Prejudgment arrears are due without 
being tied to a monthly support amount and represent an amount that is 
considered due for a period of time before the initial support order 
became effective.  

 
Prejudgment arrears47 are payable to the CP if the CP was not on 
assistance at the time the order became effective, or are payable to the 
state if the CP was receiving FIP assistance at the time the order 
became effective. Prejudgment arrears have the potential to place an 
NCP into immediate enforcement at the time the order is signed. 
 

3. Specific Obligation Details 
 

3.1 Ordered on Arrears (OOA) 
 

When arrears on obligations exist, a judge may order the NCP to pay an 
additional amount above (in excess of) the current support toward the arrears. 
This is referred to as ordered on arrears (OOA) and is used to pay down the 
existing arrears at a court-order level or obligation level as explained below. 

 
The OOA amount is used when allocating the portion of a payment that 
exceeds current support to the order(s) for the purpose of reducing arrears on 
the order(s) or specific obligation(s).48 

 
3.1.1 Obligation-Level and Docket/NCP-Level OOA 

 

 
43 Ref: Subsection 1.2.2, “Effective Dates” in this manual section. 
44 These arrears are exempt from surcharge if the earliest issue date is on or after July 1, 2004. Ref: 
Section 5.75 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
45 Ref: Subsection 2.5, “Lump-Sum Obligations” in this manual section. 
46 Although not limited to this situation, a prejudgment amount is usually restricted to when the NCP 
caused a delay in, or participated in coercion to avoid service. 
47 Typically, prejudgment arrears are not subject to surcharge; however, there are exceptions to this rule. 
Ref: Section 5.75 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
48 Ref: Section 5.35 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
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A. Obligation-Level 
 

When an OOA amount is ordered for a specific obligation arrearage, 
the OOA will be used to pay down arrears on the qualifying 
account(s) associated to the obligation. If the obligation OOA amount 
is tied to more than one account, the OOA must be manually divided 
proportionally between each account upon the OOA determination.49 

 
B. Docket/NCP-Level 

 
When an OOA amount is not targeted toward a specific obligation 
arrearage, the OOA is used to pay down arrears on all qualifying debt 
types associated to the order (docket/NCP).50 The amount of the 
docket/NCP-level OOA is apportioned to each qualifying account 
based upon the debt type and OOA priorities and the proportion of 
the account’s arrears to the total qualifying account arrears on the 
order.51 

 
3.1.2 End-Dating OOA  

 
When the arrears associated to an OOA amount have been paid in full,52 
the NCP’s requirement to pay OOA is met. As a result, the OOA amount 
should be end-dated in MiCSES since the judge’s order stipulating the 
OOA is no longer applicable. In some cases, IV-D staff may need to 
review the order before end-dating the OOA.  
 
Local FOC office policy will determine how IV-D staff should end-date 
OOA on an order or obligation when the arrears associated to an OOA 
amount have been paid in full. The Local Options Administrator may 
select one of the following options in MiCSES:53 
 
• OOA_ZERO_Alert; 
• End Date OOA; or 
• End Date & Alert. 
 

 
49 Unlike the docket/NCP-level OOA, obligation-level OOA is only apportioned once upon determination 
and is not reapportioned monthly for each qualifying debt. 
50 Ref: Exhibit 5.35E1, “MiCSES Allocation/Distribution Hierarchies,” in the Michigan IV-D Child Support 
Manual for debt types that qualify for OOA distribution. 
51 MiCSES will apportion each obligation’s OOA amount upon entry of the court-level OOA, and thereafter 
at the beginning of each subsequent month following the previous month-end accrual. Ref: Exhibit 5.35E1 
for debt type and OOA priorities. 
52 MiCSES does not track the original arrears amount at the time the OOA is ordered. Therefore, if the 
debt arrears increase after the OOA was initially set, the original arrears and additional arrears must be 
paid in full before the IV-D worker is notified. 
53 Ref: MiCSES Screen Description: LCOM – County Options. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.35E1.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.35E1.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/LCOM.pdf
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If the Local Options Administrator does not select one of these options, 
MiCSES will default to the OOA_ZERO_Alert option – sending an OOA 
alert to IV-D staff. IV-D staff should then end-date the OOA manually. 
 
A. OOA_ZERO_Alert 

 
The Local Options Administrator may select this option if local FOC 
office policy determines that IV-D staff should receive an 
OOA_ZERO_Alert to manually end-date an OOA amount when it is at 
or below zero. IV-D workers may receive an obligation-level OOA 
alert for each54 associated account’s arrears balance when it is at or 
below zero, or a single alert at the docket/NCP-level OOA when all 
associated accounts’ arrears balances are at or below zero.55 OCS 
recommends IV-D staff review the order and reduce the OOA amount 
to zero when appropriate. 

 
B. End Date OOA 

 
The Local Options Administrator will select this option if local FOC 
office policy determines that IV-D staff do not need to review the 
order when arrears associated to an OOA amount are paid in full. 
MiCSES will automatically end-date the OOA amount but will not 
send an alert to IV-D staff. 

 
C. End Date OOA & Alert 

 
The Local Options Administrator will select this option if local FOC 
office policy determines that IV-D staff should review the order when 
arrears associated to an OOA amount are paid in full. MiCSES will 
automatically end-date the OOA and send an alert to IV-D staff. 

 
3.1.3 OOA Excluded Debt Types 

 
Some debt types in MiCSES are not subject to OOA. These include 
recovery accounts and debt types to which MiCSES no longer 
distributes.56 These debt types will not receive a portion of a 
docket/NCP-level OOA allocation. Additionally, MiCSES prevents entry 
of obligation-level OOA on these debt types. 

 

 
54 Alerts for obligation-level OOA regarding a single IV-D case member are combined when multiple 
obligations with OOA amounts for the single member simultaneously reach a zero balance. 
55 Ref: MiCSES QRG: ASTP – Customize an Alert, and other Technical Communications Team and 
training alert documentation for more information about alerts in MiCSES.  
56 Ref: Exhibit 5.35E1. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/ASTP_CustomizeAlert.pdf
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3.1.4 Payments OOA 
 

OOA amounts entered with a past effective month will only change the 
OOA amount in effect for the current and future months.  

 
OOA amounts entered with a past effective month will not change the 
OOA amounts in effect for the past month(s). 
 
Payments will use the OOA amount that was in effect when the payment 
was made, or that was in effect for the effective date of the receipt. This 
means: 

 
• If the OOA amount is entered in MiCSES before the payment is 

made, and the effective date of the payment is on or after the date 
the OOA amount was entered, the payment will use the OOA 
amount; 

• If an OOA amount is entered in MiCSES with a retroactive month, the 
retroactive OOA amount will not affect past payments, even if the 
past payment is on hold; and 

• Payments with retroactive effective dates will use the OOA amount 
that was in effect for the receipt’s effective month. 

 
IV-D workers must not manually redirect or recoup arrears payments for 
a retroactively entered OOA amount. 

 
3.2 Health Care Premium and Parenting Time  

 
Reference the MCSF for the impact and use of health care premiums within the 
order. Also reference AT 2008-040, REVISED: Parenting Time Abatement 
Related to the Michigan Child Support Enforcement System (MiCSES) 4.0 
Release, Updated to Reflect the 2008 Michigan Child Support Formula. 

 
3.3 Check Recipient ID 

 
Check recipient IDs are associated to every account in MiCSES and direct to 
whom a payment is disbursed. The check recipient ID is typically the CP on the 
support accounts. However, some accounts and debt types are not paid to the 
account member, and the check recipient IDs may not be associated to an 
account member on the order. Some of these debt types are discussed below. 

 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/AT2008-040.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/AT2008-040.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/AT2008-040.pdf
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3.3.1 Provider Placement or County-Funded Placement 
 
A. Provider Placement 

 
If the child is in a non-funded provider placement, the check recipient 
ID identifies the provider who will receive child support collections.  
 

B. County-Funded Agency Placement 
 
If the child is in a county-funded agency placement, the check 
recipient ID identifies the county that will receive past-due support 
collections.57   
 

3.3.2 Non-Support Debt Types 
 

Non-support debt types include, but are not limited to bench warrants, 
genetic test costs, recovery accounts, fees, etc.58 Some non-support 
debt types must be directed to the appropriate county using a specific 
check recipient ID.  

 
3.3.3 Intergovernmental Obligations 

 
The check recipient ID for an intergovernmental account (OS) is 
associated to the location code (a.k.a. Federal Information Processing 
Standards [FIPS] code) of the initiating agency. For an intergovernmental 
case involving another state, the check recipient ID typically belongs to 
the other state’s state disbursement unit. 
  
Additionally, the OS debt type is the only debt type that has an 
intergovernmental ID associated to it. The intergovernmental agency 
provides the intergovernmental ID to Michigan; it is what the 
intergovernmental entity uses to identify the payment. When MiCSES 
generates the collection file for the intergovernmental entity, MiCSES 
provides the intergovernmental ID with the collection(s) for the OS 
account. 
 

 
57  Effective October 1, 2019, IV-D staff must no longer set up new obligations using the County-Funded 
Placement WF debt type. Ref: Section 5.10 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual regarding the 
discontinued use of the WF debt type for county-funded agency placements.  
58 Ref: Section 5.10 in the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for a full discussion of debt types and to 
whom they are paid. Also reference MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: 
OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered Obligation, or MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation for instructions on 
how to set up non-support debt types using the correct check recipient ID.  
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3.4 Obligations/Provisions Appearing in Item 15 of the USO 
 

A judge may include provisions in an order that do not appear in the basic USO 
template. These provisions appear in item 15, Other Provisions, of the USO. 
 
When the IV-D worker enters the other provisions in the Other Provisions box 
on the OPRE screen’s Order Detail tab, they are entered at the docket level. 
The USO may contain information on multiple IV-D cases, but only one docket. 

  
The IV-D worker will then import the other provisions to the OBLG screen, 
which is maintained at the IV-D case/docket level.59 The IV-D worker must 
enter enough information so any IV-D worker reviewing the OBLG screen can 
identify the other provisions related to the IV-D case. 
 

3.5 Offsetting Negative Obligation Values 
 

The MCSF calculates a total support amount that a parent must pay. The IV-D 
program (and the USO) track the support by breaking it into components by 
debt type (e.g., Child Support, Medical Support, Child Care, etc.).60 When the 
IV-D worker enters MCSF information into MiCSES, the total support will result 
in an overall positive amount, but one or more of the debt types may result in a 
negative value.  
 
When the IV-D worker imports obligation information from the OPRE screen to 
the OBLG screen, negative values will not automatically offset against positive 
amounts in the same tier. Therefore, the IV-D worker must manually offset one 
or more specific debt types to arrive at a positive total amount for one payer to 
pay the payee.  
 
The IV-D worker will make a professional judgment based on the judge’s 
intentions for the order when making adjustments to negative obligation values. 
The IV-D worker must manually offset the negative amount on the OBLG 
screen by considering one or more of the following debt types: 
 
• Other debts due to the same payee (ED, MR);61  
• Child Care (CC);  
• Child Support (CS); or 
• Ordinary Medical Support (MS). 
 
When offsetting negative values, the IV-D worker must also consider whether 
the payee and children receive assistance. For instance, if a child is receiving 

 
59 Ref: MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation. 
60 Ref: Section 5.10 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual. 
61 MR is the Medical Reimbursement debt type. 
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Medicaid, Ordinary Medical Support (MS) is assignable and therefore, the IV-D 
worker may not adjust the Ordinary Medical Support debt type. 
 
Example 2: 
 
The NCP and CP both have considerable overnights with the children. No 
obligations are due to the CP for medical reimbursement, education, or child 
care. The MCSF shows that the NCP should pay base support of $100 per 
month and medical support of $17 per month. The NCP is the only parent with 
a child care expense, and the CP’s pro rata share of that child care expense is 
$25 per month.  
 
The tier will show a positive $100 for base support, a positive $17 for ordinary 
medical support, and a negative $25 for child care. The negative amount in the 
tier will not be calculated in the overall support on the OBLG screen. 
Therefore, the user must manually adjust the NCP’s base support downward 
by $25. The end result will be $75 base support and $17 ordinary medical 
support entered into the OBLG screen. 

 
4. MiCSES Obligation Revision Considerations 

 
Once a support order has been established, IV-D workers periodically review the 
order to determine if a modification to the order is needed.62 

 
Retroactive modifications of obligations are permissible only from the date the 
motion was submitted to the court.63 

 
An obligation may be retroactively modified if: 

 
• An NCP knowingly and intentionally fails or refuses to report or misrepresents 

his/her income after (s)he is provided a notice and an opportunity for a hearing;64 
or 

• The court accepts an agreement between the CP and NCP to retroactively 
modify an obligation.65  
 

If an error has occurred due to case conditions, such as an incorrect initial obligation 
entry, FOC staff may revise the accounts in MiCSES to correct the error.  

 

 
62 Review and modification of orders is primarily performed by FOC staff, but may be also performed by 
PA staff. Ref: MCL 552.517 and Section 3.45, “Review and Modification,” of the Michigan IV-D Child 
Support Manual. 
63 Ref: MCL 552.603(2). 
64 Ref: MCL 552.603b. 
65 Ref: MCL 552.603(5). 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/3.45.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/3.45.pdf
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FOC staff must ensure that obligation effective dates are used when entering new or 
updated account charge amounts or adjustment amounts into MiCSES. MiCSES will 
calculate current charges and arrears based upon the account effective date. 

 
4.1 Initial Obligation Entry 

 
FOC staff can manually enter new accounts into MiCSES or use recommended 
ordered amounts previously entered in MiCSES. The recommended order 
amounts are the order recommendations that IV-D staff enter into MiCSES. 
FOC staff may still manually change a recommended order amount if the 
resulting order deviates from the order recommendation. Or, FOC staff may 
manually enter all support-ordered obligations without using previously entered 
recommendations.66  

 
4.2 Obligation Revision 

 
FOC staff may update the balance of an account by:  
 
• Revising the charge amount on the account; or 
• Manually adjusting the balance of the account. 

 
4.2.1 Revising the Account Charge Amount 

 
Once an order is established and later maintained, FOC staff may enter 
modified obligations or account charge amounts manually or by using the 
new recommended order amounts that PA or FOC staff previously 
entered. 
 
Modification may include a redirection of support to a third party if that 
third party has legal custody of the minor child.67 
 
When making an obligation revision in MiCSES, FOC staff must enter 
the date the change took effect; this may be a retroactive effective date. 
This ensures account balances will reflect the proper balance for any 
given time period. Additionally, account modifications can only be 
included on the OCSE-157 report for the fiscal year being reported. 

 
4.2.2 Obligation Balance Adjustments 

 
Beginning June 8, 2012, FOC staff must: 
 

 
66 Ref: MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered 
Obligation, or MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation for directions on using order 
recommendations when entering obligations (accounts) in MiCSES. 
67 Ref: SCAO ADM 2017-02, Administrative Abatement or Redirection of Child Support. 

https://courts.michigan.gov/Administration/SCAO/Resources/Documents/Administrative-Memoranda/2017-02.pdf
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• Modify the charge amount and the corresponding charge effective 
dates when addressing account balance issues due to a change in 
the account charge; and 

• Only make account arrears balance adjustments when a change in 
the arrears balance is not associated to a change in an ordered 
charge amount. When doing so, FOC staff must enter the adjustment 
amount with an effective month rather than manually calculate an 
adjusted arrears balance. This ensures MiCSES will calculate the 
account balance accurately for any given time period.  
 

4.2.3 Transferred Obligation Considerations 
 

When transferring obligations from one order to another, such as when 
an order is transferred from one county to another, or from one 
docket/IV-D case to another docket/IV-D case within a county, FOC staff 
must ensure the associated accounts on orders contain proper account 
balances and charges.68  

 
Additionally, obligation modifications can only be included on the OCSE-157 
report for the fiscal year being reported. Providing account effective dates and 
making the correct modification entries will ensure MiCSES reads and reports 
the adjustments accurately for the OCSE-157. 

 
For a detailed explanation and examples of the impacts of account 
modifications and adjustments, see Subsection 5, “Resulting Revision Impacts” 
in this manual section. 

 
5. Resulting Revision Impacts 

 
5.1 Retroactive Recalculation 

 
Before June 8, 2012, rather than enter the new charge account amount with a 
past effective date into MiCSES, FOC staff often manually calculated the 
change in the balance of an order modification. Then, FOC staff entered the 
resulting calculated arrears amounts either as a lump-sum amount into the 
arrears for the current month, or as an arrears adjustment in the current month. 
Finally, they entered the new periodic amount with an effective date of the 
current or subsequent month. 
 
On and after June 8, 2012, MiCSES has an improved ability to recalculate 
account balances based on a given point in time. It uses the modified financial 
entry and the entry’s effective date to create an event. When an account charge 

 
68 Ref: MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered 
Obligation, or MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation on ensuring accounts are established 
correctly on a transferred case. 
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amount is modified with an effective date that pre-dates the manual entry of the 
change (system date), an event is created. The event may cause a retroactive 
impact modifying previous charge amounts (for retroactive periodic charge 
amount changes) and previously calculated arrears (for retroactive periodic 
charge amounts, or adjustments pre-dating the system date).  

 
Generally, for an order adjustment or revision, MiCSES will:  

 
• Begin with the account balance as of the month before the effective date of 

the change event; 
• Reapply account activity between the previous month’s balance and the 

effective date of the newly added event. Activity includes, but is not limited 
to charges, charge amount changes, etc.; 

• Apply the newly entered event; and  
• Reapply previous account activity from the newly entered event through the 

current date. 
 

Adjustments will always be applied as if the amount entered is a revision to the 
balance as of the effective month of the change, rather than a replacement for 
the account balance.69  

 
69 Ref: Subsection 4.2.2, “Obligation Balance Adjustments” in this manual section. Also see MiCSES 
QRG: OBLG – Add a Tiered Obligation, MiCSES QRG: OBLG – Add a Non-Tiered Obligation, or MiCSES 
QRG: OBLG – Modify an Obligation on ensuring the effective month is entered correctly into MiCSES. 
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Once all the events and previous account adjustments are applied, MiCSES will 
call the limitation of assignment (LOA) process and circular rule.70  
 
Example 3: Incorrectly Entered Charge Amount Modification 
 
The original child support obligation was set at $100/month on August 1. On 
November 2, a modification to the order is made, increasing the support to 
$150/month, effective September 1. 
 
MiCSES history before the modification is entered into MiCSES: 
 
August 31: MiCSES runs Month End, leaving the CS balance of $100. 
September 30: MiCSES runs Month End, leaving the CS balance of $200. 
October 31: MiCSES runs Month End, leaving the CS balance of $300. 
 
On November 25, FOC staff enter a manually calculated arrears adjustment 
for the month of November based on the difference between the old and new 
charge amounts for the months of September and October. Then FOC staff 
enter the new account charge amount for November. 
 
After the modification is entered into MiCSES, retroactive recalculation will 
apply the balance changes for the month of November based upon the 
arrears adjustment and the new monthly account charge amount. 
 
The OCSE-157 report will report the charges for September as $100 with an 
ending balance of $200, instead of properly reporting September charges as 
$150 with an ending balance of $250. Additionally, the November arrears 
adjustment will incorrectly include balance adjustment amounts from a 
previous month, but also from a previous fiscal year. This is incorrect and 
may lead to an audit finding. 
 

 

 
70 Ref: Subsection 5.2, “Limitation of Assignment (LOA) Obligation Impact” and Subsection 5.3, “Circular 
Rule” in this manual section for more information on these topics. 
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5.2 Limitation of Assignment (LOA) Obligation Impact 
 

The state may not retain more assigned support collections71 for a IV-D case 
than the amount of unpaid grant assistance (FIP cash assistance72) provided. 
LOA is the process within MiCSES that prevents the retention of support 
exceeding FIP grant amounts.  

 
LOA may shift arrears balances between account arrears categories when a 
retroactive modification/adjustment is made on an unassigned account, or when 
an adjustment to the URG for FIP assignment is made. However, LOA will 
never change the overall account arrears balance. LOA will not make 
adjustments to associated assigned accounts,73 and it may or may not shift 
arrears balances between arrears categories to associated unassigned 
account(s).74 

 
5.3 Circular Rule 

 
The goal of the circular rule is to ensure the NCP did not overpay or does not 
get overcharged on his/her court-ordered obligation. The circular rule adjusts 
arrears balances only due to the same recipient. However, in the CAA category, 
even though federal tax refund offset payments could pay the state, the circular 
rule treats CAA as arrears that are owed to the family. The circular rule adjusts 
arrears across accounts as long as the recipient, NCP, and IV-D case/docket 
are all the same. This assists in preventing the NCP from being overpaid on the 
IV-D case/docket.  

 
For the purposes of the circular rule, the recipient is the same if: 

 
• It is the same individual (CP member ID) receiving the money under the 

same docket; 
• The same state agency for FIP is not the same recipient as foster care (IV-

E) or Title XIX Medicaid;75 or 
• It is the same county entity (the Service Fees [SF] debt type is not the same 

as the Processing Fees [PF] debt type). 
 

 
71 Ref: Section 5.40, “Public Assistance Impacts: Unreimbursed Grant, Linking, and Pass-Through (Client 
Participation Payment),” of the Michigan IV-D Child Support Manual for a detailed discussion of 
assignment of support and LOA processing. 
72 Nationally, this is known as Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF). TANF also funds 
federally provided IV-E foster care assistance. 
73 Associated accounts are the same type of debt on an order whose associated assistance case IDs 
(AC-IDs) are linked in MiCSES. 
74 Ref: MiCSES Customer Information Guide: Limitation of Assignment for more information on the LOA 
process. 
75 To meet tracking and accounting requirements at the Michigan Department of Community Health, the 
Medical Support – Client (MS) debt type is payable to a different recipient than the Birth Expense – State 
(CM) debt type. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.40.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/Policy/5.40.pdf
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/MiCSES_Documentation/Limitation_of_Assignment.pdf
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The circular rule adjusts only arrears, never current support. The federal 
OCSE76 federal distribution rules for child support collections do not allow a 
state to recoup an overpayment of support through the interception of a 
subsequent child support payment (current support) unless the CP has 
provided consent.77 Since a negative balance reflects an overpayment by the 
NCP, adjusting the negative amount against current support would in effect 
recoup from current support; this is not allowed by federal law because federal 
law requires notification to be sent before recouping from current support. 
Therefore, since MiCSES’ circular rule does not provide notification, the circular 
rule limits automatic adjustments to arrears only, and never to current support. 

 
To achieve the goal of not overpaying the court-ordered obligation when 
distributing retroactive receipts, the distribution of retroactive receipts is limited 
to the associated account arrears amount as it currently exists or as the 
account arrears amount as it existed in the retroactive month, whichever is less. 

 
5.3.1 Obligation Circular Rule Adjustments 

 
MiCSES makes the fewest arrears adjustments possible as it attempts to 
eliminate negative arrears due to the same recipient. When a negative 
balance exists in any arrears category under a docket, MiCSES adjusts 
the arrears in the following order: 

 
A. MiCSES starts with the arrears category with the highest arrears for 

the same recipient within the same account in which the negative 
arrears amount originated. 

 
Example 4:  
A child support (CS) account has this scenario: 
Child 1 
-$200 in NAA; 
 $250 in CAA; and 
 $40 in UDAA.  
MiCSES will adjust the -$200 in NAA with the $250 in CAA before UDAA, 
because CAA has a higher balance than UDAA. 
Final results: 
Child 1 
$0 in NAA; 
$50 in CAA; and 
$40 in UDAA. 

 
76 Ref: OCSE AT 97-13, Collection and Disbursement of Support Payments. 
77 OCSE Policy Interpretation Question (PIQ)-02-01, Recoupment of a Child Support Overpayment, 
discusses ways to obtain the CP’s consent. 

http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/collection-and-disbursement-of-support-payments
http://www.acf.hhs.gov/programs/css/resource/recoupment-of-a-child-support-overpayment-guidance-2002
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B. After completing the adjustment within the account that has the 

negative balance, if a negative balance remains, MiCSES will adjust 
accounts for the same member starting with the account with the 
highest overall arrears for the same recipient.78 

 
Example 5:  
 
Scenario of accounts for:  
 
Child 1 
CS has -$800 in NAA; 
Child care (CC) has $300 in NAA;  
CC also has $100 in CAA; and 
Medical reimbursement (MR) has $700 in NAA. 
 
Scenario of accounts for: 
 
Child 2  
CS has $400 in NAA; and 
CS also has $800 in CAA. 
  
MiCSES will adjust the CS account containing -$800 in NAA using the CC and 
MR accounts for Child 1 before using CS for Child 2, because the CC and MR 
accounts are both for Child 1. MiCSES will adjust the MR account before the CC 
account because the balance in the MR account is greater than the CC account. 
Finally, MiCSES will adjust the CS account with $300 in NAA before the CC 
account with $100 in CAA because the balance in NAA is greater than the 
balance in CAA. 
 
Final results: 
 
Child 1 
CS has $0 in NAA; 
CC has $200 in NAA; 
CC has $100 in CAA; and 
MR has $0 in NAA. 
 
Child 2 
CS has $400 in NAA; and 
CS has $800 in CAA. 

 
78 Within the obligation that has the highest overall arrears balance, MiCSES will adjust arrears categories 
in alphabetical order if there is more than one arrearage category with the same arrears amount.  
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C. If there is more than one account for the same member with identical 

arrears amounts, MiCSES will adjust the arrears categories in 
alphabetical order according to the debt type abbreviation.79  

 
Example 6:  
 
Scenario of accounts for: 
 
Child 1 
CS has -$800 in NAA; 
CC has $700 in NAA; and 
MR has $700 in NAA. 
 
MiCSES will adjust the CS account containing -$800 in NAA with the $700 in CC 
before the $700 in the MR account for Child 1 because CC comes first in an 
alphabetical listing of the debt types. 
 
Final results: 
 
Child 1 
CS has $0 in NAA; 
CC has $0 in NAA; and 
MR has $600 in NAA. 

 
D. After the adjustment with other accounts for the same member is 

complete, if a negative remains, MiCSES will adjust other accounts 
starting with the account with the highest overall arrears owed to the 
same recipient. 

 

 
79 For an alphabetical list of debt types, reference Section 5.10 of the Michigan IV-D Child Support 
Manual. 
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Example 7:  
 
Scenario of accounts for: 
 
Child 1 
CS has -$800 in NAA; and 
CC has $100 in NAA.  
 
Child 2 
CS has $300 in NAA; and 
CC has $100 in NAA. 
 
Child 3 
CS has $700 in NAA; and 
CC has $100 in NAA. 
 
First, MiCSES will adjust the CS account for Child 1 containing -$800 in NAA with 
the CC account containing $100 in CC because they are accounts for the same 
member. The next adjustment will be the CS account for Child 3 containing the 
$700 in NAA because it is the next highest arrears category owed to the same 
recipient. 
 
Final results: 
 
Child 1 
CS has $0 in NAA; and 
CC has $0 in NAA. 
 
Child 2 
CS has $300 in NAA; and 
CC has $100 in NAA. 
 
Child 3 
CS has $0 in NAA; and 
CC has $100 in NAA. 

 
5.3.2 Additional Policy on Circular Rule Adjustments 

 
A. After adjustments with all possible accounts are complete, if a 

negative remains, MiCSES will maintain the remaining negative 
arrears balance on the original account in the original arrears 
category.  
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Example 8:  
 
Scenario of accounts for: 
 
Child 1 
CS has -$800 in NAA;  
CC has $0 in NAA; and 
CS has $300 in PAA. 
 
Child 2 
CS has $300 in NAA; and 
CC has $100 in NAA. 
 
MiCSES will adjust the CS account containing -$800 in NAA for Child 1 with the CS 
account of $300 in NAA for Child 2. Then MiCSES will adjust against the CC 
account for Child 2 containing $100 in NAA. After adjusting against all existing 
positive arrears owed to the same recipient, there still remains -$400. This balance 
will be stored in the arrears category where the original negative began. In this 
instance, that is the CS account for Child 1 in the NAA category.  
  
Final results: 
 
Child 1 
CS has -$400 in NAA;  
CC has $0 in NAA; and 
CS has $300 in PAA.  
 
Child 2 
CS has $0 in NAA; and 
CC has $0 in NAA. 
 

B. When MiCSES applies the circular rule, it records the arrears before 
the circular rule adjustment and after the circular rule adjustment on 
the Financial Event Diary (ELOG) screen. 
 

C. When the circular rule adjustment is complete, MiCSES appropriately 
adjusts and maintains non-compoundable surcharge for accounts in 
which the circular rule decreased the balance. 
 

D. MiCSES appropriately adjusts and maintains the prejudgment and 
arrears balance for accounts in which the circular rule decreased the 
balance. 
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5.3.3 Adjustments to the Temporarily Assigned Arrears (TAA) Category  
 

TAA are unique because arrears showing in this category may have 
been due the CP at one time but are “currently” due the state – and at 
some time, the arrears may again be due the CP. Consequently, 
overpayments reflected in, and corresponding adjustments to, this 
category are also unique. Therefore, the circular rule ensures the proper 
recipient is credited when payments are reflected in the TAA category. 
This is accomplished by a circular rule adjustment that occurs first within 
the account only. Prior to making the adjustment across accounts, 
MiCSES eliminates any overpayments associated with TAA. In doing so, 
MiCSES moves the overpayment either to the family or the state 
depending on who was overpaid. 

 
IV-D staff are unable to make adjustments directly in the NAA category 
while the member is on active assistance with the state. When a IV-D 
worker places a negative amount in the TAA category, MiCSES will 
always treat it as a family overpayment and move the negative to the 
NAA category. If a positive arrears balance is adjusted or created in the 
TAA category, the positive balance will adjust against the negative 
arrears balance in the NAA category.80   

 
If IV-D staff want to change the state arrears balance, they must adjust 
either the PAA or IVEF (IV-E foster care arrears) categories. IV-D staff 
must never enter a negative in the TAA category to reflect a state or 
foster care overpayment. Staff must track foster care overpayments in 
IVEF (state and federal payments) or NAA when they are a county foster 
care obligation (WF debt type).  

 
5.3.4 Implications for Foster Care (County and State) 

 
The Michigan Child Welfare Program defines foster care cases as 
separate accounts established on a per-member basis, and tracks each 
account independently. Therefore, the circular rule limits adjustments to 
only within the member obligation level. This means that the circular rule 
does not adjust between two member obligations (both on foster care) 
that are on the same IV-D case/docket combination, even though it 
appears the same recipient is paid. 

 
6. Audit Trails in MiCSES 
 

(Forthcoming) 
 

 
80 Preferably, IV-D staff will make adjustments for the month that the adjustment actually occurred rather 
than in the current month. 
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SUPPORTING REFERENCES:  Federal 
Section 466(a)(9) of the Social Security Act 

 
42 United States Code (USC) 657 
45 CFR 303.106 
45 CFR 302.56 

 
OCSE AT 97-13  
OCSE AT 11-10 
OCSE AT 11-12 

 
  OCSE Dear Colleague Letter (DCL)-04-47   

OCSE-DCL-11-18 
      OCSE-DCL-98-65 

 
OCSE PIQ 02-01 

 
State 
MCL 552.454(2) 
MCL 552.502(h) 
MCL 552.502(m) 
MCL 552.502a 
MCL 552.502a(h) and (j) 
MCL 552.503(6) 
MCL 552.517 
MCL 552.519 
MCL 552.519(1)(a)(vi) 
MCL 552.602(ee) and (ff) 
MCL 552.603a 
MCL 552.603b 
MCL 552.603(2) 
MCL 552.603(5) 
MCL 552.605 
MCL 552.605a 
MCL 552.605b 
MCL 552.605b(3) 
MCL 552.605c 
MCL 552.605c(1) 
MCL 552.605c(2) 
MCL 552.605c(3) 
MCL 552.605d 
MCL 700.5103 
MCL 722.711 to 722.730 

 
MCR 3.211 
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2017 MCSF  
 
SCAO ADM 2017-02 
SCAO ADM 2012-10  
SCAO ADM 2012-07 

 
SCAO ADM 2004-04 
 
SCAO FAQ 2003-01 
SCAO FAQ 2004-02 

 
REVISION HISTORY:   IV-D Memorandum 2019-016 
      IV-D Memorandum 2014-003 

IV-D Memorandum 2013-010 
IV-D Memorandum 2012-017 

 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/sites/DHHS-SPT-MiSupport/SitePages/IV-DMemorandumsByYear.aspx?year=2019
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