Michigan Department of Health and Human Services Michigan State Disbursement Unit

Important Notice

Michigan law requires the Michigan State Disbursement Unit (MiSDU) to send child support payments to you electronically. This means that you may choose to receive your support payments either by a prepaid debit card or by direct deposit into your personal checking or savings account.

 If you wish to receive the prepaid debit card, you do not need to take any action, and a debit card will be mailed to you within 30 days. Be sure to watch your mail for the debit card mailer, and activate your card when you get it.

Note: The debit card will not be an interest-bearing account, and no interest will accumulate from money deposited to the debit card.

 If you wish to have your payments deposited directly into your personal checking or savings account, you must complete the enclosed Direct Deposit Authorization (DHS-1377). Return it to the MiSDU according to the directions on the form within 21 days of the date on the enclosed check.

If you need more information to help you make this choice, please visit www.misdu.com, or call 877-543-2660 and follow the instructions to speak to an MiSDU customer service representative.

The law allows limited exceptions to receiving child support electronically. Those exceptions are:

- Physical or mental disability barrier;
- Language or literacy barrier; or
- Distance of 30 miles or more between your home and work and your bank or the closest ATM.

If you believe you qualify for an exception, call 877-543-2660 and follow the instructions to speak to an MiSDU customer service representative. Requests for exceptions are subject to verification.