ELECTRONIC DISBURSEMENT OF CHILD SUPPORT

INFORMATION SHEET

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services
Office of Child Support

The Michigan State Disbursement Unit (MiSDU) is the single location in the state for disbursement of all child support.
 Public Act 548 of 2004 (Michigan Compiled Law [MCL] 400.236[4]) requires the MiSDU to disburse support payments electronically. With very limited exemptions, payments must be sent either to a support recipient’s personal bank account or to a debit card. The following is an overview of electronic disbursement.

Description:
All support recipients who are not exempt under the law must choose to have payments either (1) directly deposited into a personal bank account or (2) deposited to a debit card. Recipients who select the debit card or do not establish direct deposit will receive a debit card.

New
Customers:
New recipients will receive an insert with their first paper check. It will ask recipients if they want to receive future support payments through either:

· Direct deposit to a personal bank account; or 

· A debit card.

Note: 
Recipients who do not qualify for an exemption or request direct deposit within 21 days of the date of the insert with the check will be automatically enrolled in the debit card program.

Exceptions:
Recipients do not have to participate in electronic disbursement of support if they identify one of the following exemptions:

· A mental or physical disability that imposes a hardship in accessing electronic payments;

· A language or literacy barrier that imposes a hardship in accessing electronic payments; or

· Both their home and work addresses are more than 30 miles from an automated teller machine (ATM) or their financial institution.

Recipients must request an exemption by calling the Friend of the Court (FOC) Interactive Voice Response (IVR) system at 
877-543-2660 and following the prompts for the MiSDU.
Debit Card:
This is a prepaid debit card, not a credit card. Support payments will be deposited directly to the card. Recipients may use the debit card in the same manner as any of the issuing bank’s debit cards. The recipient may access the money on the card by providing either a signature or a secure Personal Identification Number (PIN). 

Note: 
Recipients may not add funds to a debit card. Only the MiSDU may deposit money into this account. 

The debit card bank may mail recipients monthly statements that track their account activity. Recipients will also have access to the debit card bank’s customer service telephone number.
Direct 
Deposit Fees:
The MiSDU will not charge additional fees for direct deposit to the recipient’s checking or savings account. Any fees charged by the recipient’s financial institution will not change.

Debit Card Fees:
Complete details on standard fees are provided with the debit card and are available on the MiSDU website at: https://www.misdu.com/secure/home/tabid/36/default.aspx.

Benefits of
the Program:
Electronic payments:
· Cost less to process;

· Eliminate time recipients spend waiting for checks to be delivered through the mail;

· Reduce returned mail;

· Eliminate late, lost or stolen checks;

· Provide immediate access to funds;

· Provide enhanced security safeguards; and

· Reduce money held by the state while waiting for an updated address. 

Information:
· Recipients may call the FOC IVR system and follow the prompts for the MiSDU;
· Recipients with debit cards will receive a debit card bank’s toll-free customer service number; 

· Electronic payments (both for direct deposit and for the debit card) are released through national banking system networks. It takes approximately two business days from the time a payment is posted on the IVR to the time it arrives in a recipient’s account; and
· Frequently asked questions (FAQs) about electronic payment of child support may be found here: http://www.michigan.gov/dhs/0,1607,7-124-5453_5528-127593--,00.html.
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