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 CPS OVERVIEW 

The Children's Protective Services (CPS) program is committed to 
keeping children and families together safely, strengthening 
families, and preventing further harm. In collaboration with children, 
families, communities, and other key partners, CPS is dedicated to 
upholding a system rooted in prevention, family preservation, and 
equity.   

By law, the department is responsible for investigating allegations 
of child abuse and child neglect. This includes harm or threatened 
harm to a child's health or welfare that occurs through 
nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse, sexual 
exploitation, or maltreatment by a parent, a legal guardian, any 
other person responsible for a child's health or welfare, a teacher, a 
teacher's aide, a member of clergy, or an individual 18 years of age 
or older who is involved with a youth program and neglect by a 
parent, legal guardian, or any other person responsible for the 
child's health or welfare.    

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
embraces the following tenets in the delivery of CPS services:  

• Most parents have the strength and ability to care for their 
children and keep them safe when adequately supported by 
family or other social supports. 

• CPS strives to end all forms of racism and assure racial and 
ethnic equity and justice.   

• Families who need help from CPS are diverse in family 
structure, culture, race, ethnicity, religion, economic status, 
beliefs, values, and lifestyles.  

• The presence of poverty does not mean a child is unsafe or the 
parent lacks the ability to care for their child(ren).  

• CPS services should be accessible, strength-based, culturally 
relevant, and delivered with compassion and respect.  

• CPS proactively helps families by building protective capacities 
before maltreatment occurs.  

• Except in the most extreme circumstances, involuntary 
separation of children from their families is not an acceptable 
solution for families in need.   
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• When investigation of the referral finds there is a 
preponderance of evidence of abuse or neglect by a person 
responsible for the child's health or welfare, the department 
must assess the needs and strengths of the family and refer 
the family to services commensurate with the risk level. 
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CPS PROCESS 

Children's Protective Services (CPS) program responsibilities 
include: 

• Intake. 

• Prevention services. 

• Investigation. 

• Post-investigative services. 
Intake 

Anyone may make a report of suspected child abuse or neglect to 
Michigan's Centralized Intake (CI). Reports can be made: 

• By phone, at 855-444-3911. 

• By completing the DHS-3200, Report of Actual or Suspected 
Child Abuse or Neglect, following directions on the form. 

Mandated reporters may make a report online using the Mandated 
Online Reporting System (MORS), Michigan Online Reporting. 

Centralized Intake 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
has a centralized intake unit that receives reports of suspected 
abuse or neglect, 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The intake 
unit may: 

• Screen in the report for investigation. 

• Transfer the report to another entity such as law enforcement, 
a tribe, licensing agency, or another state.  

• Screen out the report as not appropriate for investigation. 

• Screen out and assign to a local county for prevention 
services. 

Centralized Intake will screen in a report for investigation if all the 
following apply: 

• The allegations constitute suspected child abuse or 
neglect. 

• The alleged victim(s) is under the age of 18 at the time of 
the referral. 

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/DHS-3200_524482_7.dot
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/DHS-3200_524482_7.dot
https://newmibridges.michigan.gov/s/isd-partnershiplanding?page=MR&language=en_US
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• The abuse alleged was committed by a parent, a legal 
guardian, any other person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare, a teacher, a teacher's aide, a member of 
clergy, or an individual 18 years of age or older who is 
involved with a youth program.  

• The neglect alleged was committed by a parent, legal 
guardian, or any other person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare.   

• The allegations include human trafficking, and the referral 
is received from a law enforcement agency, regardless if 
the allegations involve a person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare.  

For more information on Centralized Intake, see the PSM 712 
series.  

SCREENING 
DISPUTES 

Screening disputes 

A local MDHHS office may contact a CI supervisor for 
reconsideration in the following limited circumstances: 

• There is a technical error. 

• The referral is on an ongoing case and the case manager has 
entered more information into the electronic case management 
system that would eliminate the need for a new investigation, 
such as, the case manager has entered documentation to 
show that the current allegations are being addressed. 

• The county has new or additional information that should be 
added to the referral that would impact the assignment 
decision. 

The county director or designee may contact the second-line CI 
manager or director to discuss screening disputes. CI is 
responsible for the final decision on assessment of prevention 
needs, and the final decision to screen in or screen out a referral. 

Note:  Local MDHHS offices are responsible for transferring 
assignments from county to county. Disputes between counties 
should be resolved by the involved county directors with the 
Business Service Center director's involvement, if necessary.  
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Note:  If any contacts are made, in-person, by phone or any other 
method by which information is exchanged with the alleged 
perpetrator or child victim, the referral must remain assigned for 
investigation.  

Prevention 
Services 

The Family First Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) authorized new 
title IV-E funding for time-limited prevention services for mental 
health, substance abuse, and in-home parent skill programs for 
children or youth who are candidates for foster care, pregnant or 
parenting youth in foster care, and the parents or kin caregivers of 
those children and youth. FFPSA has allowed the department to 
expand support services to families meeting candidacy 
requirements for eligibility.  

In most cases, CPS case managers must complete the Structured 
Decision Making (SDM) Safety and Risk Assessments to complete 
an investigation. The results of these assessments will assist CPS 
with determining if the child or youth is an eligible candidate for 
foster care. For information on the Safety and Risk Assessments, 
see PSM 713-11, Assessments. For more information on 
prevention eligibility, see SRM 108, Prevention Services: Family 
First Prevention Services Act.  

Investigation 

If a report of suspected abuse or neglect is screened in for 
investigation, the report is forwarded to the local county MDHHS 
office where the child is located and assigned to a case manager.  

Investigations include the activities outlined in PSM 713-01, CPS 
Investigation - General Instructions, and are completed within 30 
calendar days unless there is an extenuating circumstance which 
requires an approved extension. 

The case manager will compile a written report based on the 
information obtained.  

In some cases, case managers must notify and/or collaborate with 
law enforcement and the local prosecuting attorney. For more 
information on investigation requirements, see PSM 713-01, CPS 
Investigation - General Instructions.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Post-Investigative 
Services  

CPS post-investigative services must be offered to families in 
category I and II cases and may be offered in category III cases. 
The goal is to refer families to quality community resources that are 
available, accessible, and culturally appropriate to help ensure child 
safety and family preservation. Services build on family strengths 
and may include referrals to community-based resources or 
contracted programs, such as the Family Preservation Program.  
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PURPOSE 

Child Protection Law (CPL) details requirements around the 
reporting of suspected child abuse and neglect and prescribes the 
responsibilities and duties of the Michigan Department of Health 
and Human Services (MDHHS) to prevent and respond to child 
abuse and neglect, and to enhance the welfare of children and 
preserve family life. The CPL contains definitions applicable to the 
reporting and investigation of suspected child abuse and neglect, 
MCL 722.622. The definitions contained in this item are based on 
CPL and are relevant to application of assignment for investigation 
and determination of investigation outcomes.  

LEGAL DEFINITIONS 
 
Child 

An individual under 18 years of age, MCL 722.622(f). Children's 
Protective Services (CPS) has the responsibility to investigate and 
respond to alleged abuse or neglect of a child until the child is age 
18.  

Child Abuse 

Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare that occurs 
through nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse, 
sexual exploitation, or maltreatment, by a parent, a legal guardian, 
any other person responsible for the child's health or welfare, a 
teacher, a teacher's aide, a member of the clergy, or an individual 
18 years of age or older who is involved with a youth program, MCL 
722.622(g). 

Child Neglect 

Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare by a parent, 
legal guardian, or any other person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare that occurs through either of the following, MCL 
722.622(k): 

• Negligent treatment, including the failure to provide adequate 
food, clothing, shelter, or medical care, though financially able 
to do so, or by the failure to seek financial or other reasonable 
means to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, or medical 
care. 
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• Placing a child at an unreasonable risk to the child's health or 
welfare by failure of the parent, legal guardian, or other person 
responsible for the child's health or welfare to intervene to 
eliminate that risk when that person is able to do so and has, 
or should have, knowledge of the risk. 

Cruel 

Brutal, inhuman, sadistic, or that which torments, MCL 
750.136b(1)(b). 

Imminent Risk of 
Harm 

There is likelihood of immediate harm. This term is used in the 
priority response criteria and the safety assessment, see PSM 712-
1, CPS Intake, and PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - General 
Instructions. 

Intimate Parts 

Includes the primary genital area, groin, inner thigh, buttock, or 
breast of a human being. 

Person 
Responsible for 
the Child's Health 
or Welfare 

"Person responsible for the child's health or welfare" means a 
parent, legal guardian, individual 18 years of age or older who 
resides for any length of time in the same home in which the child 
resides, or, except when used in section 7(1)(e) or 8(8), nonparent 
adult; or an owner, operator, volunteer, or employee of 1 or more of 
the following: 

• A licensed or registered child care organization. 

• A licensed or unlicensed adult foster care family home or adult 
foster care small group home as defined in section 3 of the 
adult foster care facility licensing act, 1979 PA 218, MCL 
400.703. 

• A court-operated facility as approved under section 14 of the 
social welfare act, 1939 PA 280, MCL 400.14. 

Note:  This includes licensed individuals providing respite care.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Nonparent Adult 

A person who is 18 years of age or older and who, regardless of 
the person's domicile, meets all of the following criteria in relation to 
the child, MCL 722.622: 

• Has substantial and regular contact with the child. 

• Has a close personal relationship with the child's parent or with 
a person responsible for the child's health or welfare. 

• Is not the child's parent or a person otherwise related to the 
child by blood or affinity to the third degree.  

Note:  Third degree relatives include parents, grandparents, great-
grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, great-aunts, great-
uncles, nieces, and nephews.  

Note:  Adults, other than the primary licensed caregiver(s), residing 
in a respite placement are considered a nonparent adult.  

Note:  This includes nonparent adults residing with a child when 
the referral involves sexual exploitation (human trafficking).  

Physical Harm 

Any injury to a child's physical condition (MCL 750.136b(1)(e)). 

Serious Physical 
Harm 

Any physical injury to a child that seriously impairs the child's health 
or physical well-being, including, but not limited to, brain damage, a 
skull or bone fracture, subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, 
dislocation, sprain, internal injury, poisoning, burn or scald, or 
severe cut, MCL 750.136b(1)(f). 

OPERATIONAL 
DEFINITIONS 

 
Battering 

Chronic and repeated physical abuse that results in serious 
physical harm to the child. 
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Torture 

Inflicting great bodily injury or severe mental pain or suffering upon 
another person within their custody or physical control with the 
intent to cause cruel or extreme physical or mental pain and suffer-
ing. Proof that the victim suffered pain does not need to be present 
to find that torture occurred.  

Custody or Physical Control  

The forcible restriction of a person's movements or forcible confine-
ment of the person to interfere with that person's liberty, without 
that person's consent or without lawful authority. 

Great Bodily Injury 

Serious impairment of a body function which includes, but is not 
limited to, one or more of the following: 

• Loss of a limb or loss of use of a limb. 

• Loss of an eye or ear or loss of use of an eye or ear. 

• Loss or substantial impairment of a bodily function.  

• Serious visible disfigurement. 

• A comatose state that lasts for more than 3 days. 

• Measurable brain or mental impairment. 

• A skull fracture or other serious bone fracture. 

• Subdural hemorrhage or subdural hematoma. 

• Loss of an organ. 

• Loss of a foot, hand, finger, or thumb or loss of use of a foot, 
hand, finger, or thumb. 

OR 

One or more of the following conditions:  

• Internal injury.  

• Poisoning.  

• Serious burns or scalding.  

• Severe cuts.  

• Multiple puncture wounds. 

Severe/Serious Mental Pain or Suffering 

A mental injury that results in a substantial alteration of mental 
functioning that is manifested in a visibly demonstrable manner 
caused by or resulting from any of the following: 
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• The intentional infliction or threatened infliction of great bodily 
injury. 

• The administration or application, or threatened administration 
or application, of mind-altering substances or other procedures 
calculated to disrupt the senses or the personality. 

• The threat of imminent death. 

• The threat that another person will imminently be subjected to 
death, great bodily injury, or the administration or application of 
mind-altering substances or other procedures calculated to 
disrupt the senses or personality. 

Egregious Acts 

Per MCL 722.622(p-r) of Child Protection Law, the following are 
considered egregious acts due to confirmed serious abuse or 
neglect as a result of mental injury, physical injury, or neglect to a 
child: 

• Battering, torture, or other severe physical abuse. 

• Loss or serious impairment of an organ or limb. 

• Life-threatening injury. 

• Murder or attempted murder. 

• Serious mental harm. 

• Sexual abuse. 

• Sexual exploitation. 

• Exposure to or contact with methamphetamine production. 

Reasonable 

Based on sound judgement; fair and sensible. Not extreme or 
excessive. 

Resides 

To dwell permanently or continuously. It expresses an intention of a 
person to keep or return to a particular dwelling place as their fixed, 
settled, or legal abode. 
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ELEMENTS OF 
ALLEGED CHILD 
ABUSE OR 
NEGLECT 

MDHHS responds to allegations meeting criteria for child abuse or 
child neglect to a child under the age of 18 at the time of the 
referral, by an alleged person responsible. The referral allegations 
must minimally meet the CPL definitions of child abuse and/or 
neglect to be assigned. Four elements must be present in the 
allegations to screen in a referral for investigation: 

• Allegations of harm or threatened harm. 

• To a child’s health or welfare. 

• Through non-accidental or neglectful behavior. 

• By a person responsible for the child’s health and welfare. 

Exception:  MDHHS responds to allegations of human trafficking 
when assistance is requested by law enforcement, regardless of 
the role or status of the perpetrator to the victim.  

Exception:  Allegations of abuse by a teacher, a teacher's aide, 
member of clergy, or an individual 18 years of age or older who is 
involved in a youth program will be transferred to the Placement 
Collaboration Unit for a collaborative investigation process. 

MALTREATMENT 
TYPES 

Child abuse and neglect are defined by federal and state laws. 
Maltreatment types provide for organization, conceptualization, and 
operationalization of the broader CPL definitions of child abuse and 
child neglect. Maltreatment types fit into two broad categories of 
either child abuse or child neglect based on the legal definitions of 
each. See legal definitions of child abuse/child neglect in this item. 

Threatened Harm 

An action, accidental or non-accidental, inaction or credible verbal 
threat by a person responsible and absent intervention, there is 
high probability that harm will occur. 

A child found in a situation where harm is highly probable to occur 
based on a current or historical circumstance: 
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• A current circumstance may include, but is not limited to: 

 Allegations of threatened harm in the current referral. 
 Child left home alone. 
 Domestic violence. 
 A residence where drugs are manufactured and/or sold. 

• A historical circumstance may include, but is not limited to: 

 Confirmed case that included an egregious act of child 
abuse and/or neglect. 

 Confirmed case that included threatened harm. 
 Prior termination of parental rights. 
 Conviction of crimes against children. 

Note:  See PSM 713-11, Assessments for additional guidance on 
assessing threatened harm.  

Threatened Harm is divided into the following maltreatments: 

Threatened harm of physical injury 

• Is cruel, injurious, malicious, dangerous, or poses a high 
probability of injury to the child, but harm did not occur. 

• Dangerous behavior or excessive action toward the child AND 
current behavior would cause serious physical harm, including 
unsafe use of physical restraint. Threatened harm of physical 
injury does not include situations where the child is not in 
immediate proximity. 

• A person responsible has made credible threats to cause 
serious physical harm to the child that, if carried out, would 
constitute child abuse, and it is highly probable that without 
intervention, the person responsible will carry out these 
threats. 

• A person responsible talks about being worried, fearful, or 
preoccupied with abusing or neglecting the child.  

• A person responsible expresses a credible concern for what 
another person responsible is capable of doing or may do, and 
the person responsible of concern has unsupervised access to 
the child.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Threatened harm of mental injury 

Psychological or emotional harm is, absent intervention, highly 
probable to lead to: 

• Significant impairments to the child’s emotional or behavioral 
functioning. 

• Adverse impact on the child's development or well-being. 

Threatened harm of sexual abuse 

• No sexual act has occurred; however, the person responsible 
behaves in ways that create a substantial likelihood that the 
child will be sexually abused.  

• Person responsible makes credible statements of intentions to 
sexually abuse victim or person responsible fails to eliminate 
the risk. 

Grooming 

Also includes when no sexual act has occurred; however, the 
behavior creates a substantial likelihood that sexual abuse will 
occur, such as grooming behaviors. Grooming includes verbal, 
written or physical behavior that may not be overtly sexual but is 
likely designed to prepare a child for future sexual abuse. Grooming 
is a process where a person intentionally builds a relationship with 
someone to manipulate, exploit or abuse a child. It includes a 
deliberate and escalating pattern of actions taken to lower a child's 
inhibitions.  

The following are common behaviors exhibited while grooming: 

• Form a relationship - They may single a child out as unique, 
treat the child as more special and give them extra attention or 
gifts.  

• Test boundaries - They may often test boundaries to determine 
the child's comfort level.  

• Touch - They may begin with non-sexual touches and then 
slowly progress to more inappropriate touching such as 
accidental grazing of an intimate part of the body. Often there 
is a pattern of movement from innocent touching to more 
sexual touching. 
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• Intimidation - They may begin by blaming the child for 
something to simply see if the child tells an adult. This 
progresses to threatening the child or causing the child to feel 
a sense of guilt. They may often use statements such as "No 
one will believe you," or threaten them with danger if they tell. 

• Share increasingly sexually explicit material via messaging 
applications or text. 

• Communicate and reinforce secrecy. 

Indecent Exposure 

A person commits indecent exposure if that person exposes their 
genitals for the purpose of sexual gratification, or for purposes of 
shaming, humiliating, shocking, or exerting control over the victim; 
or when the alleged perpetrator knows or should know that this 
conduct is likely to offend, affront, or alarm. 

Threatened harm of sexual exploitation 

Circumstances in which no sexual exploitation has occurred, but 
the person responsible behaves in ways that create a substantial 
likelihood that the child will be sexually exploited. 

Note:  In order to make a finding of threatened harm of sexual 
exploitation, the perpetrator must be a person responsible. 

Threatened harm of labor trafficking 

A trafficking event has not yet occurred, but the person responsible 
behaves in a way that creates a substantial likelihood that the child 
will be trafficked. 

The alleged perpetrator of the trafficking does not need to meet 
criteria for person responsible to investigate when law enforcement 
requests assistance. The department can investigate trafficking 
conditions regardless of role or status of the alleged perpetrator. 

Note:  To make a finding, the perpetrator must be a person 
responsible. 

Threatened harm of physical neglect 

Though a parent or person responsible is financially able or able to 
access resources, absent intervention, harm is highly probable, by 
any one of the following: 
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• Living conditions that, absent intervention, are highly probable 
to cause harm to the child. Person responsible fails to act to 
address the child’s living conditions, which are unsanitary 
and/or contain hazards that are highly probable to lead to the 
child’s injury or illness if not resolved.  

• Consider the child’s age and developmental status and to 
what extent the specific living conditions pose a danger to 
the child. 

• Failure to provide adequate clothing or appropriate hygiene 
that, absent intervention, is highly probable to cause harm to 
the child. The child’s basic needs for clothing and/or hygiene 
are unmet to the extent the child’s daily activities will be 
severely impacted without intervention, and/or the child will 
develop or suffer worsening injury or illness. 

• Absence of supervision is highly probable to cause harm to the 
child, absent intervention. The child is not attended to or 
supervised by the person responsible AND there is no other 
person able and willing to provide safe supervision to the 
extent that harm to the child is highly probable without 
intervention. 

• Consider the child's age, abilities, behaviors, need level, 
and length of time unsupervised. Time of day and other 
surrounding circumstances should also be considered 
when determining the level of supervision required to 
protect the child. 

Threatened harm of placing a child at unreasonable risk 

Neglectful behavior that, absent intervention, is highly probable to 
cause identifiable harm if the behavior does not cease. Occurs by 
failure to intervene and eliminate a risk to a child although the 
person is able to do so and has or should have knowledge of the 
risk.  

Threatened harm of medical neglect 

• Failure to obtain necessary medical, dental, or mental health 
care for a child and the failure to obtain care, absent 
intervention, is highly probable to result in harm, including any 
of following: 

• Death.  
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• Disfigurement.  

• Bodily harm.  

• Impairment to the growth, development, or functioning of 
the child.  

• Frequently missing appointments, therapies, or other 
necessary medical and/or mental health treatments that, 
absent intervention, is highly probable to cause the child harm 
or have a negative impact on the child.  

• Taking the child out of or terminating treatment against medical 
advice, and the removal, absent intervention, is highly probable 
to cause the child harm or have a negative impact on the child.  

•  

Identifying whether harm or threatened harm of a particular 
maltreatment type has occurred will need to be determined 
throughout the course of the investigation. Upon assignment, the 
maltreatment type will be selected based on completion of the 
Structured Decision Making Centralized Intake Assessment Tool. If 
it is determined that threatened harm of a particular maltreatment 
type exists, the corresponding threatened harm maltreatment type 
will need to be identified within the electronic case management 
system by the case manager.  

The determination of how to apply threatened harm is also based 
upon the perpetrator's role in the action of the abuse or neglect. 
See table below for example:  

CHILD ABUSE 

Child abuse is divided into the following maltreatment types: 

When the threat of harm is from 
the person responsible, 

consider the most applicable 
maltreatment type.  

Parent forcibly chokes the child with no visible injury:  

Parent → Threatened harm of physical injury. 

 

When the threat of harm is from 
other caregivers, and the 

person responsible does not 
intervene or protect the child. 

Parent knowingly allowed another caregiver to choke the child with 
no visible injury: 

Parent → Threatened harm of placing a child at unreasonable risk.  

 Other Caregiver → Threatened harm of physical injury.  
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• Physical injury. 

• Mental injury. 

• Sexual abuse. 

• Sexual exploitation. 

• Labor trafficking. 

• Threatened harm of physical injury. 

• Threatened harm of mental injury. 

• Threatened harm of sexual abuse. 

• Threatened harm of sexual exploitation. 

• Threatened harm of labor trafficking. 
Physical Injury 

Non-accidental or purposeful action which results in physical harm. 
Includes situations where an injury exists and there is inconsistent 
explanation as to how the injury occurred. This can include 
situations where a child has an injury and any of the following 
apply: 

• The injury itself suggests that it is non-accidental. 

• A medical professional has concern the injury is consistent with 
abuse or is inconsistent with the explanations provided. 

Physical injury does not include actions by a parent or guardian, 
person responsible, or persons authorized by a parent or guardian 
to reasonably discipline a child, including the use of reasonable 
force, MCL 750.136b(9). A parent can physically discipline their 
child with the intent to discipline and not cause injury. Minor injuries 
may sometimes accidentally occur when a parent uses physical 
discipline that is not excessive or overtly harmful.  

Medical Child Abuse 

Medical child abuse may result in risk of physical or emotional harm 
to a child and is encompassed in physical injury. Medical child 
abuse occurs when a child receives or is at risk of receiving either 
of the following: 

• Unnecessary and harmful, or potentially harmful, medical care 
at the initiation of the child's parent or caregiver. 

• Unnecessary medical treatment due to a parent or caretaker 
exaggerating, fabricating, or causing symptoms of illness. 

Note:  Children with known, verified diseases and disorders can 
also be a victim of medical child abuse.  
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Newborn Exposed to Substances 

A newborn born exposed to substances not attributed to medical 
treatment, causing injury or defect as diagnosed by a medical 
professional, may be considered serious physical injury or serious 
physical harm. For more information on cases involving newborns 
exposed to substances, see PSM 716-7, Case Involving 
Substances.  

Mental Injury 

Psychological or emotional harm meeting any of the following 
criteria: 

• Has led to significant impairment to the child's emotional or 
behavioral functioning. 

• Has had adverse impact on the child's development or well-
being. 

• Results in serious mental harm.  

Serious mental harm is an injury to a child's mental condition or 
welfare that is not necessarily permanent but results in visibly 
demonstrable manifestations of a substantial disorder of thought or 
mood which significantly impairs judgement, behavior, capacity to 
recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands of 
life, MCL 750.136b(g). Mental injury must be diagnosed by a 
mental health professional to confirm mental injury. 

Examples of child impairment/behaviors include, but are not limited 
to, the following: 

• Fire setting, self-harm, animal maltreatment, suicidal ideation.  

• Regression to wetting themselves or defecating on 
themselves.  

• Previously verbal toddlers stop talking.  

• Child expresses credible fear that they will experience abuse 
or neglect. 

• Child may isolate themselves, may be preoccupied with their 
body, or may shut down.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Sexual Abuse 

Pursuant to MCL 722.622, a confirmed case that involves sexual 
penetration, sexual contact, attempted sexual penetration, or 
assault with intent to penetrate as those terms are defined in 
section 520a of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 
750.520a. The following acts are included: 

• Sexual penetration means sexual intercourse, cunnilingus, 
fellatio, anal intercourse, or any other intrusion, however slight, 
of any part of a person's body or of any object into the genital 
or anal openings of another person's body. Emission of semen 
is not required, MCL 750.520a(r). 

• Sexual contact includes the intentional touching of the victim's 
or perpetrator's intimate parts or the intentional touching of the 
clothing covering the immediate area of the victim's or 
perpetrator's intimate parts, if that intentional touching can 
reasonably be construed as being for the purpose of sexual 
arousal or gratification, done for a sexual purpose, or in a 
sexual manner for revenge, to inflict humiliation, or out of 
anger, MCL 750.520a(q). 

• Attempted sexual penetration, sexual contact, or assault with 
intent to penetrate means any attempt to commit an act or do 
any act towards the commission of sexual abuse, as defined 
above, while failing in the perpetration due to being intercepted 
or prevented in the execution, MCL 750.92. 

Sexual 
Exploitation  

Allowing, permitting, or encouraging a child to engage in any of the 
following for the benefit of others: 

• Commercial sex activity. 

• The photographing, filming, or depicting of a child engaged in a 
listed sexual act including: 

 Sexual intercourse. 
 Erotic fondling. 
 Sadomasochistic abuse. 
 Masturbation. 
 Passive sexual involvement. 
 Sexual excitement. 
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 Erotic nudity. 

• Sharing sexual acts over live video or phone. 

• Coercing or forcing a child to participate in or be exposed to 
pornography and/or sexual behavior. 

See MCL 722.622(r) for statutory definition of sexual exploitation, 
and MCL 750.145c for definitions of listed sexual acts.  

Sexual exploitation also includes sex trafficking. Sex trafficking is 
the action of subjecting a child to the recruitment, harboring, 
transportation, provision, patronizing, or soliciting for the purposes 
of a commercial sex act through the use of force, fraud, or coercion, 
or in which the person induced to perform the act is under 18 years 
of age. Trafficking may involve an exchange of goods or 
psychological responses. Offenders may exchange love, friendship, 
protection, or attention to a child while an exchange of goods could 
include money, drugs, jewelry, clothing, food, shelter, or 
transportation.  

For assignment, the alleged perpetrator of the trafficking does not 
need to meet criteria for person responsible. When law 
enforcement requests assistance, the department can investigate 
trafficking conditions regardless of role or status of the alleged 
perpetrator. 

Note:  In order to make a finding, the perpetrator must be found to 
be a person responsible. 

Labor Trafficking 

The recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or obtaining of 
a person for labor as a result of force, fraud, coercion, or 
manipulation. Labor trafficking can include, but is not limited to, 
domestic servitude, forced labor in restaurants or salons, forced 
agricultural labor or debt bondage.  

The alleged perpetrator of the trafficking does not need to meet 
criteria for person responsible to investigate when law enforcement 
requests assistance. The department can investigate trafficking 
conditions regardless of role or status of the alleged perpetrator. 

Note:  In order to make a finding, the perpetrator must be found to 
be a person responsible. 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/mcl/pdf/mcl-Act-238-of-1975.pdf
http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(tr3amc0tdgdp1rmhqmeiyiko))/mileg.aspx?page=GetObject&objectname=mcl-750-145c


PSM 711-2 16 of 18 
DEFINITIONS, RESPONSIBILITIES AND 

MALTREATMENT TYPES 

PSB 2024-001 

3-1-2024 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

CHILD NEGLECT 

Child neglect is divided into the following maltreatment types: 

• Physical neglect. 

• Placing a child at unreasonable risk. 

• Medical neglect. 

• Threatened harm of medical neglect. 

• Threatened harm of physical neglect. 

• Threatened harm of placing child at unreasonable risk. 
 

Physical Neglect 

Though a parent or person responsible is financially able or able to 
access resources, harm has occurred to the child, by any one of 
the following: 

• Living conditions which are unsanitary and/or contain hazards 
that lead to the child being injured or ill. Consider the child's 
age and developmental status and to what extent the living 
conditions pose a danger to the child.  

• Failure to provide adequate clothing and/or appropriate 
hygiene to the extent that the child's daily activities are 
severely impacted. 

• Deficient food and/or hydration to meet the needs of the child 
and the child experiences significant lack of food, unmitigated 
hunger and/or dehydration. 

Note:  Excludes fasting for religious reasons. 

• Absence of supervision causing harm to the child. Consider the 
child's age, cognitive abilities, behaviors, need level and length 
of time unsupervised. Time of day and other surrounding 
circumstances should also be considered.  

Abandonment is considered physical neglect. Abandonment is 
when a person responsible willfully deserts or surrenders a child 
without making adequate arrangements for the child's basic needs 
or the continuing care of the child.  

Note:  Abandonment does not apply to Safe Delivery of Newborns 
Law. 
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Placing a child at 
unreasonable risk 

Neglectful behavior that causes identifiable harm to the child by 
failing to intervene and eliminate a risk although the person 
responsible is able to do so and has or should have knowledge of 
the risk. Knowledge is based on common knowledge the general 
population would possess without additional education or 
information on child safety, child development, or other related 
areas. Does not include incidences that happen unexpectedly or 
accidentally.  

Placing a child at unreasonable risk requires consideration of the 
following in context to the imminent risk of harm: 

• Age, developmental, cognitive and verbal abilities of the child. 

• Person responsible's knowledge they have or reasonably 
should have regarding the risk of danger as well as 
interventions to eliminate danger. 

• Person responsible's ability to respond to the danger posed.  

• Impact to the child's health or welfare by way of imminent risk 
of harm.  

Examples of unreasonable risk may include, but are not limited to: 

• Unable or unwilling to protect the child from others. 

• Exposing, allowing, or encouraging the child to engage in 
illegal or life-threatening activities. 

• Erratic or impaired behavior by the person responsible.  

• Access to dangerous objects. 

Note:  All need to demonstrate the adverse impact to the child.  

Medical Neglect 

Failure to obtain necessary medical, dental, or mental health care 
for a child and the failure to obtain care has resulted in harm, 
including any of the following: 

• Death. 

• Disfigurement. 



PSM 711-2 18 of 18 
DEFINITIONS, RESPONSIBILITIES AND 

MALTREATMENT TYPES 

PSB 2024-001 

3-1-2024 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

• Bodily harm. 

• Impairment to the growth, development, or functioning of the 
child.  

Includes when a person responsible fails to obtain and/or regularly 
administer prescribed medication to a child and the failure to 
provide medication results in any of the above.  

Includes action or inaction by a person responsible which results in 
failure to thrive diagnosis by a qualified medical professional. 

Failure to provide immunizations or routine well-child care or dental 
visits does not constitute medical neglect. 

A parent or guardian legitimately practicing their religious beliefs 
who do not provide specified medical treatment for a child, for that 
reason alone is not considered to constitute medical neglect, MCL 
722.634. 

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov). 

 

 

 

mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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CATEGORIES OF 
DISPOSITION  

After completing an investigation, each case is assigned a 
category. The category is determined by the absence or presence 
of child abuse or child neglect and the results of the safety and risk 
assessments. Categories are defined in the Child Protection Law 
(CPL) (MCL 722.628d).  

Category V 

A category V classification means the department determined there 
was no evidence of child abuse or child neglect and services are 
not needed. A category V case may also indicate the family cannot 
be located.  

Category IV 

A category IV classification means the department determined 
there was not a preponderance of evidence of child abuse or child 
neglect, but community services are recommended. The 
department must assist the child's family in locating and voluntarily 
participating in community-based services relevant to the needs of 
the family and risk to the child as identified in the risk assessment. 

Category III 

A category III classification means the department determined there 
is a preponderance of child abuse or child neglect, and the risk 
assessment tool indicated low or moderate risk of future harm to 
the child. The department must assist the child's family in receiving 
community-based services relevant to the needs of the family and 
risk to the child. If the family does not voluntarily participate in 
services or fails to make progress to reduce the risk level, the 
department must consider reclassifying the case as category II. 

Category II 

A category II classification means the department determined there 
is evidence of child abuse or child neglect, and the risk assessment 
tool indicated high or intensive risk of future harm to the child. The 
department must open a protective services case and provide the 
services necessary to rectify the conditions that led to a 
preponderance of evidence.  
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Category I 

A category I case means the department determined there is 
evidence of child abuse or child neglect and 1 or more of the 
following is true: 

• A petition is required under the Child Protection Law (MCL 
722.628d, 722.637, and 722.638).  

• The child is not safe and a petition for removal is needed. 

• The case was previously classified as a category II and the 
child's family did not voluntarily participate in services. 

• There is a violation, involving the child, of a crime listed or 
described in section 8a(1)(b), (c), (d), or (f) or of child abuse in 
the first or second degree as prescribed by section 136b of the 
Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.136b.  

For more information on petition requirements, see PSM 715-3 
Family Court: Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders. 

In category I cases where the child remains in the home, protective 
services must open a case and provide services to the family. In 
category I cases where the child is removed and placed outside of 
the home, the case must be transferred to foster care for services 
and monitoring. 

. 

 

 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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LEGAL BASE 

The following federal and state laws are the legal basis for 
Children’s Protective Services (CPS) in Michigan: 

Federal Law 

Social Security Act, Title IV, Part A, Sec. 402(a) 

Federal Indian Child Welfare Act, Public Law 95-608 25 USC Sub-
section 1901-1952 

The Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strenghtening Families Act, 
P.L. 113-183 

Trafficking Victims Protection Act 

State Social 
Welfare Laws 

1939 PA 280 (MCL 400.115b and 400.55(h)) 

State Child 
Protection Law 
(CPL) 

1975 PA 238 (MCL 722.621 et seq.) 

State Child Care 
Organization 
Licensing Law 

1973 PA 116 (MCL 722.111 - 722.128) 

Juvenile Code 

1939 PA 288 (MCL 712A.1 et seq.) 

Public Health Code 

1978 PA 368 (MCL 333.17001 et seq.) 
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LEGAL DEFINITIONS 
 

Amendment 

A change in case record or central registry information such as 
case name, address, code, case number, etc., including any 
change to correct inaccurate information. 

Basis-in-Fact 

Direct, personal knowledge on the part of the reporting person that 
is specific and concrete and reasonably indicates harm or threat-
ened harm to a child's health or welfare. 

Central Registry 

A repository of names of individuals who are identified as 
perpetrators related to a central registry case in the department's 
statewide electronic case management system. 

Central Registry 
Case 

A central registry case means the department classified a case as 
confirmed serious abuse or neglect, confirmed sexual abuse, 
confirmed sexual exploitation, and/or confirmed methamphetamine 
production.  

Child 

An individual under 18 years of age. 

Indian Child, 
Indian Child's tribe 

Indian Child 

An unmarried person who is under the age of 18 and is either of the 
following: 

• A member of an Indian tribe.  

• Eligible for membership in an Indian tribe as determined by 
that tribe. 
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Indian Child's Tribe 

The Indian tribe in which an Indian child is a member or eligible for 
membership. In the case of an Indian child who is a member of or 
eligible for membership in more than one tribe, the Indian child's 
tribe is the tribe which the Indian child has the most significant 
contacts. 

Child Abuse 

Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare that occurs 
through nonaccidental physical or mental injury, sexual abuse, sex-
ual exploitation, or maltreatment by a parent, a legal guardian, any 
other person responsible for the child's health or welfare or by a 
teacher, a teacher's aide, a member of clergy, or an individual 18 
years of age or older who is involved with a youth program. 

Child Care 
Organization 

Defined in 1973 PA 116 (MCL 722.111 to 722.128) and includes 
child care centers, nursery schools, parent cooperative preschools, 
foster family homes, foster family group homes, children’s 
therapeutic group homes, child care homes, child caring 
institutions, child placing agencies, children's camps, and children’s 
campsites. 

Child Care 
Provider 

An owner, operator, employee, or volunteer of a child care 
organization or of an adult foster care location authorized to care 
for a child. 

Child Neglect  

Harm or threatened harm to a child's health or welfare by a parent, 
legal guardian, or any other person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare that occurs through either of the following: 

• Negligent treatment, including the failure to provide adequate 
food, clothing, shelter, or medical care, though financially able 
to do so, or by the failure to seek financial or other reasonable 
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means to provide adequate food, clothing, shelter, or medical 
care. 

• Placing a child at an unreasonable risk to the child's health or 
welfare by failure of the parent, legal guardian, or any other 
person responsible for the child's health or welfare to intervene 
to eliminate that risk when that person is able to do so and has, 
or should have, knowledge of the risk.  

Threatened Harm 

An action, inaction or credible verbal threat by a person responsible 
and absent intervention, there is a high probability that harm will 
occur.  

Children’s 
Protective 
Services 

Program services designed to rectify conditions which threaten the 
health and safety of children due to the actions or inactions of those 
responsible for their care. These services include investigation of a 
child abuse/neglect referral; determination of the facts of danger to 
the child and immediate steps to remove the danger; providing or 
arranging for needed services for the family and child; and when 
appropriate, initiation of legal action to protect the child. 

Commencement 

Any activity taken to begin an investigation. 

Confirmed Case 

The department has determined, by a preponderance of evidence, 
that child abuse or child neglect occurred by a person responsible 
for the child's health, welfare, or care. A confirmed case is also 
referred to as a substantiated case. 

Confirmed Case of 
Methamphetamine 
Production 

A confirmed case that involved a child's exposure or contact with 
methamphetamine production. 
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Confirmed Serious 
Abuse or Neglect 

A confirmed case of mental injury or physical injury or neglect to a 
child that involves any of the following:  

• Battering, torture, or other serious physical harm. 

• Loss or serious impairment of an organ or limb. 

• Life-threatening injury. 

• Murder or attempted murder. 

• Serious mental harm. 

Confirmed Sexual 
Abuse 

A confirmed case that involves sexual penetration, sexual contact, 
attempted sexual penetration, or assault with intent to penetrate as 
those terms are defined in section 520a of the Michigan penal 
code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520a.   

Confirmed Sexual 
Exploitation 

A confirmed case that involves allowing, permitting, or encouraging 
a child to engage in prostitution, or allowing, permitting, 
encouraging, or engaging in the photographing, filming, or depicting 
of a child engaged in a listed sexual act as that term is defined in 
section 145c of the Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 
750.145c. 

Criminal History 
Check 

A fingerprint-based criminal history check through the department 
of state police and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 
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Criminal History 
Record 
Information 

Name; date of birth; personal descriptions including identifying 
marks, scars, amputations, and tattoos; aliases and prior names; 
social security number, driver's license number, and other 
identifying numbers; and information on misdemeanor arrests and 
convictions and felony arrests and convictions. 

Dating 
Relationship 

Frequent, intimate associations primarily characterized by the 
expectation of affectional involvement. A dating relationship does 
not include a casual relationship or an ordinary fraternization 
between two individuals in a business or social context. 

Domestic Violence  

A pattern of coercive control perpetrated against one or more 
intimate partners. Behaviors can include sexual abuse, physical 
violence, threats, intimidation, financial control, possessiveness and 
isolation, among others. The abuse may continue after a couple 
has separated or is no longer living together and often directly 
involves, targets and impacts the children in the family.  

Electronic Case 
Record 

All information and documents related to a specific case or person 
that are stored in an electronic case management system. 

Electronic Case 
Management 
System 

The system that supports a workflow, management collaboration, 
storage of images and content, decision formulation, and 
processing of electronic files or cases.  

Exploitation  

Improper use of a child for one's own profit or advantage. 
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Expunge 

To physically remove or eliminate and destroy a record or report.  

False Complaint 

A false allegation of child abuse or neglect made knowingly by an 
individual to the department. A person who knowingly makes a 
false report of child abuse or neglect may be charged with a 
misdemeanor if the false report was for an alleged misdemeanor 
offense. If the false report was for an alleged felony offense of child 
abuse and neglect, then the person may be charged with a felony. 

Five Category 
Disposition 

The five dispositions for CPS investigations are: 

Category V - A category V classification means the department 
determined there was no evidence of child abuse or child neglect 
and services are not needed.   

Note:  A category V case may also indicate there is insufficient 
evidence to confirm or deny allegations for a family that cannot be 
located.   

Category IV - A category IV classification means the department 
determined there was not a preponderance of evidence of child 
abuse or child neglect, but services are recommended. The 
department must assist the child's family in locating and voluntarily 
participating in community-based services relevant to the needs of 
the family and risk to the child as identified in the risk assessment.  

Category III - A category III classification means that the 
department determined there is a preponderance of evidence of 
child abuse or child neglect, and the risk assessment tool indicated 
low or moderate risk of future harm to the child. The department 
must assist the child's family in receiving community-based 
services relevant to the needs of the family and risk to the child. If 
the family does not voluntarily participate in services or fails to 
make progress to reduce the risk level, the department must 
consider reclassifying the case as category II.  

Category II - A category II classification means the department 
determined there is a preponderance of evidence of child abuse or 
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child neglect, and the risk assessment tool indicated high or 
intensive risk of future harm to the child. The department must open 
a protective services case and provide the services necessary to 
rectify the conditions that led to a preponderance of evidence.  

Category I - A category I classification means the department 
determined there is a preponderance of evidence of child abuse or 
child neglect and one or more of the following is true:  

• A court petition is required under the Child Protection Law 
(MCL 722.628d, 722.637, and 722.638).  

• The child is not safe and a petition for removal is needed. 

• CPS previously classified the case as category II, and the 
child's family did not voluntarily participate in services.   

• There is a violation, involving the child, of a crime listed or 
described in section 8a(1)(b), (c), (d) or (f) or of child abuse in 
the first or second degree as prescribed in section 136b of the 
Michigan Penal Code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.136b.  

For more information on petition requirements, see PSM 715-
3, Family Court: Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders. 

In category I cases where the child remains in the home, 
protective services must open a case and provide services to 
the family. In category I cases where any child is removed and 
placed outside of the home, the case must be transferred to 
foster care for services and monitoring.  

Extended Family 
Network 

Includes the nuclear family with the non-custodial parent, extended 
or blended family, and other adults viewed as family who have an 
active role in the functioning of the child's family. These adults may 
or may not reside in the immediate area. 

Human Trafficking  

Sex trafficking victim 

An individual subject to the recruitment, harboring, transportation, 
provision, obtaining, patronizing, or soliciting of a person for the 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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purposes of a commercial sex act through the use of force, fraud, 
or coercion, or in which the person induced to perform the act is 
under 18 years of age. Trafficking may also involve an exchange of 
goods or psychological responses.  

Labor trafficking victim 

An individual subject to the recruitment, harboring, transportation, 
provision, or obtaining of a person for labor or services, through the 
use of force, fraud, or coercion for the purpose of subjection to 
involuntary servitude, peonage, debt bondage, or slavery. 

Intimate Partner 

A spouse, a former spouse, an individual with whom the individual  
has a child in common, an individual with whom the individual has 
or had a dating relationship, or an individual residing or having 
resided in the same household. 

Local Office CPS File 

The system used to keep a record of written report, document, or 
photograph files with and maintained by a county or a regionally 
based office of the department.  

Members of the 
Clergy 

A priest, minister, rabbi, Christian Science practitioner, spiritual 
leader, or other religious practitioner, or similar functionary of a 
church, temple, spiritual community, or recognized religious body, 
denomination, or organization. 

Medical 
Practitioner 

A medical practitioner is one of the following: 

• A physician or physician’s assistant licensed or authorized to 
practice under part 170 or 175 of the public health code, MCL 
333.17001 to 333.17088 and MCL 333.17501 to 333.17556. 

• A nurse practitioner licensed or authorized to practice under 
section 172 of the public health code, MCL 333.17210. 
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Mental Health 
Practitioner 

A psychiatrist, psychologist, or psychiatric social worker including a 
licensed master’s social worker, licensed bachelor’s social worker, 
or registered social work technician (under 1978 PA 368, as 
amended) who has successfully completed a psychiatric social ser-
vice practicum. 

Mental Health 
Professional 

An individual who is trained and experienced in the area 
of mental illness or developmental disabilities and who is one of the 
following, MCL 333.1100b(19)(a-f): 

• A physician. 

• A psychologist. 

• A registered professional nurse licensed or otherwise 
authorized to engage in the practice of nursing under part 
172 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 
333.17201 to 333.17242. 

• A licensed master's social worker licensed or otherwise 
authorized to engage in the practice of social work at the 
master's level under part 185 of the public health code, 
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.18501 to 333.18518. 

• A licensed professional counselor licensed or otherwise 
authorized to engage in the practice of counseling under 
part 181 of the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 
333.18101 to 333.18117. 

• A marriage and family therapist licensed or otherwise 
authorized to engage in the practice of marriage and 
family therapy under part 169 of the public health code, 
1978 PA 368, MCL 333.16901 to 333.16915. 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(mxunlk41ie5etzbdyadzpaoc))/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-330-1100b&query=on&highlight=mental%20AND%20health%20AND%20professional#9
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Non-offending 
Caretaker 

In domestic violence cases, the non-offending caretaker/adult 
survivor is defined as the adult living in the home who has NOT 
been found to be abusive to the children. In all other CA/N cases, 
the non-offending caretaker is any other adult residing in the home 
who has not been found to be abusive or neglectful. 

Perpetrator 
Notification  

A notification to individuals whose name has been entered on 
central registry for a criminal conviction, confirmed case of serious 
abuse or neglect, confirmed sexual exploitation, confirmed sexual 
abuse, or confirmed methaphetamine production. This also 
includes notice to individuals identified as a perpetrator in a 
confirmed case who are not placed on central registry. All 
perpetrator notices inform individuals of their rights to review the 
record and request amendment or expungement.  

Person 
Responsible For 
The Child's Health 
Or Welfare 

"Person responsible for the child's health or welfare" means a 
parent, legal guardian, individual 18 years of age or older who 
resides for any length of time in the same home in which the child 
resides, or, except when used in section 7(1)(e) or 8(8), nonparent 
adult; or an owner, operator, volunteer, or employee of 1 or more of 
the following: 

• A licensed or registered child care organization. 

• A licensed or unlicensed adult foster care family home or adult 
foster care small group home as defined in section 3 of the 
adult foster care facility licensing act, 1979 PA 218, MCL 
400.703. 

• A court-operated facility as approved under section 14 of the 
social welfare act, 1939 PA 280, MCL 400.14. 

Non-parent Adult 
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A person who is 18 years of age or older and who, regardless of 
the person's domicile, meets all the following criteria in relation to 
the child (MCL 722.622): 

• Has substantial and regular contact with the child. 

• Has a close personal relationship with the child's parent or with 
a person responsible for the child's health or welfare.  

• Is not the child's parent or a person otherwise related to the 
child by blood or affinity to the third degree.  

Note: Third degree relatives include parents, grandparents, great-
grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, great-aunts, great-
uncles, nieces, and nephews. 

Note: A nonparent adult who resides in any home where a child is 
receiving respite care.  

Note: This includes nonparent adults residing with a child when the 
referral involves sexual exploitation (human trafficking). 

Power of Attorney 

A written, signed document authorizing another person to act as 
one's agent for specific purposes for a limited period of time. (As an 
example, a parent leaves a child in the care of a neighbor while the 
parent is on vacation and leaves a written statement that, during 
that vacation period, the neighbor may consent to any needed 
surgery or medical treatment for the child.) Court action is not 
necessary for a power of attorney and a power of attorney is not 
equivalent to an order of guardianship. 

Preponderance Of 
Evidence 

Evidence which is of greater weight or more convincing than 
evidence which is offered in opposition to it. 

Referral 

Written or verbal communication to the department of an allegation 
of child abuse or neglect. The term referral in the Children’s 
Protective Services manual (PSM) is interchangeable with the term 
report in the Child Protection Law. 
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Relative 

A relative is defined as an individual who is at least 18 years of age 
and related to the child within the fifth degree by blood, marriage, or 
adoption, including the spouse of an individual related to the child 
within the fifth degree, even after the marriage has ended by death 
or divorce, the parent who shares custody of a half-sibling, and the 
parent of a man whom the court has found probable cause to 
believe is the putative father if there is no man with legally 
established rights to the child. 

A relative is also defined as an individual who is at least 18 years of 
age and not related to a child within the fifth degree by blood, 
marriage, or adoption but who has a strong positive emotional tie or 
role in the child’s life or the child’s parent’s life if the child is an 
infant, as determined by the department or, if the child is an Indian 
child, as determined solely by the Indian child’s tribe. As used in 
this section, Indian child and Indian child’s tribe mean those terms 
as defined in section 3 of chapter XIIB; see NAA 215, 
Placement/Replacement Priorities for Indian Child(ren). 

Relevant Evidence  

Evidence having a tendency to make the existence of a fact that is 
at issue more probable than it would be without the evidence. 

Respite 

Respite care is a licensed alternative placement providing planned 
relief to primary caregivers from the demands of ongoing care for 
an individual whose health and welfare would be jeopardized if left 
unattended. Respite care does not include incidental visits with an 
alternate caregiver such as sleep overs or incidental visits with a 
grandparent or other relatives, family, and friends. 

Severe Physical 
Injury/Serious 
Physical Harm 

Severe physical injury means serious physical harm to a child, as 
defined in MCL 750.136b. Serious physical harm means any 
physical injury that seriously impairs the child's health or physical 
well-being, including but not limited to, brain damage, a skull or 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/215.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/215.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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bone fracture, subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, dislocation, 
sprain, internal injury, poisoning, burn or scald, or severe cut.  

Serious Mental 
Harm  

As defined in MCL 750.136b, injury to a child's mental condition or 
welfare that is not necessarily permanent but results in visibly 
demonstrated manifestations of a substantial disorder of thought or 
mood which significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to 
recognize reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands of 
life.  

Specified 
Information  

Information in a CPS case record related specifically to the 
department's actions in responding to a referral of CA/N regulated 
by the CPL.  

Unconfirmed Case 

A case that is not substantiated.  

Unrelated 
Caregiver 

An adult who is not related to a child by blood, marriage, or 
adoption; who is willing and able to best meet the needs of the 
child, and safeguard the child from risk of harm to the child's life, 
physical health and/or mental well-being. 

Youth Program  

Events or activities designed for participation by minors and 
supervised by program employees or volunteers outside the 
presence of a parent or guardian.   
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REFERRAL 
PROCESS 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
uses a statewide Centralized Intake (CI) unit for reporting child 
abuse and neglect.  

DEFINITIONS  

Person Responsible for the Child's Health or Welfare 

"Person responsible for the child's health or welfare" means a 
parent, legal guardian, individual 18 years of age or older who 
resides for any length of time in the same home in which the child 
resides, or, except when used in section 7(1)(e) or 8(8), nonparent 
adult; or an owner, operator, volunteer, or employee of 1 or more of 
the following: 

• A licensed or registered child care organization. 

• A licensed or unlicensed adult foster care family home or adult 
foster care small group home as defined in section 3 of the 
adult foster care facility licensing act, 1979 PA 218, MCL 
400.703. 

• A court-operated facility as approved under section 14 of the 
social welfare act, 1939 PA 280, MCL 400.14. 

Note:  This includes licensed individuals providing respite care.  

Nonparent Adult 

A person who is 18 years of age or older and who, regardless of 
the person's domicile, meets all the following criteria in relation to 
the child, MCL 722.622: 

• Has substantial and regular contact with the child. 

• Has a close personal relationship with the child's parent or with 
a person responsible for the child's health or welfare. 

• Is not the child's parent or a person otherwise related to the 
child by blood or affinity to the third degree.  
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Note:  Third degree relatives include parents, grandparents, great-
grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, great-aunts, great-
uncles, nieces, and nephews.  

Note:  Adults, other than the primary licensed caregiver(s), residing 
in a respite placement are considered a nonparent adult.  

Note:  This includes nonparent adults residing with a child when 
the referral involves sexual exploitation (human trafficking).  

CPS CENTRALIZED 
INTAKE 

CI is staffed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week and can be reached at 
1-855-444-3911.  

If a person comes into the local office to make a referral alleging 
child abuse or child neglect, the local office should offer a MDHHS 
phone and the CI telephone number to make the referral from the 
office. If the person does not want to talk on the phone, the local 
office must take the referral on a DHS-3550, Children's Protective 
Services Centralized Intake Record,form and forward to CI or 
complete an online report at www.michigan.gov/mandatedreporter. 
Any referrals received by the local office through fax or email must 
be sent to CI immediately. 

Courts requesting MDHHS to complete a home study with children 
involved in guardianships, with no allegations of abuse or neglect, 
should be entered as a non-CPS intake by the local county. These 
requests should not be forwarded to CI.  

CI contact information: 

• Phone: 1-855-444-3911. 

• Fax: 616-977-1154 and 616-977-1158. 

• E-mail: DHS-CPS-CIGroup@michigan.gov. 

Information on online reporting can be found at:  

www.michigan.gov/mandatedreporter 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B48669E04-1498-4CF9-8F95-A20362EDC6FF%7D&file=3550.DOT&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B48669E04-1498-4CF9-8F95-A20362EDC6FF%7D&file=3550.DOT&action=default&mobileredirect=true
http://www.michigan.gov/mandatedreporter
mailto:DHS-CPS-CIGroup@michigan.gov
http://www.michigan.gov/mandatedreporter%0d
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INITIAL REFERRAL 

Intake begins when a referral alleging child abuse and/or neglect is 
received by CI. The referral is usually made through a telephone 
contact by the reporting person, but may also occur as an in-
person, written, or online contact. The intake process is focused on 
initial fact gathering and evaluation of information to determine the 
validity of the referral, whether it meets statutory criteria for 
investigation, and to assess the level of risk to the child. Evaluation 
of the referral information determines the nature and priority of the 
initial response. 

SOURCES OF 
REFERRALS 

Referrals of suspected child abuse and/or neglect originate from 
various sources, including professionals mandated by law to report, 
MDHHS employees, and the public. The public can make a report 
to CI by telephone, in-person, or in writing. Professionals who are 
mandated by law to report child abuse and neglect also have the 
option to make a report using the online reporting system.  

Mandated Reporters 

Mandated reporters are professionals who are mandated by law to 
report suspected child abuse or neglect as defined in the Child 
Protection Law (CPL) [MCL 722.623(1)(a)]. For MDHHS employees 
mandated by law to report suspected child abuse or neglect; see 
APR 200, Mandated Reporter- Child. 

The CPL requires mandated reporters to make an immediate report 
to MDHHS by telephone or the online reporting system upon 
suspecting child abuse and/or neglect. 

If a report is made by phone, mandated reporters must also make a 
written report within 72 hours. Mandated reporters must utilize the 
DHS-3200, Report of Actual or Suspected Child Abuse or Neglect, 
form to fulfill the written report requirement. Professional reports 
(for example, police reports and hospital reports) can take the place 
of the DHS-3200, unless critical information is missing in the 
professional report.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/AP/Public/APR/200.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B35B84C3E-3F59-4B40-9C49-EB92A9558EC7%7D&file=3200.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B35B84C3E-3F59-4B40-9C49-EB92A9558EC7%7D&file=3200.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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At intake, the mandated reporter should be reminded of the legal 
requirement to submit a written report within 72 hours to CI. The 
DHS-3200 is available online from the MDHHS public website 
Mandated Reporters. If the reporting person does not have the 
DHS-3200 form, CI will email the form to the mandated reporter to 
expedite compliance with the law. 

If a report is completed online, mandated reporters are not required 
to complete a written report.  

Due to federal laws and regulations, domestic violence providers 
and substance abuse agencies can only provide the information 
required for reporting by MCL 722.623 unless the client signs a 
consent for release of information to MDHHS for a CPS 
investigation; see SRM 131, Confidentiality, for more information. 

Note:  CPS investigators are not required to file a separate report 
of suspected child abuse and/or neglect on their own active 
investigations. If the CPS investigator learns of a new allegation, 
suspects new maltreatments, or identifies additional household 
victims, they must thoroughly investigate those allegations as part 
of the active investigation and document the findings in the 
disposition. This excludes new referrals involving a child death; see 
SRM 172 Child/Ward Death Alert Procedures and Timeframes.  

ELICITING 
REFERRAL 
INFORMATION 

The reporting person should be asked to be as specific as possible 
about the alleged child abuse and/or neglect, indicating what was 
observed or heard that caused the suspicion of child abuse and/or 
neglect, family demographics, and how the reporting person knows 
the family and the information they provided. 

REQUIRED CHECKS 
FOR LICENSING 
STATUS  

Inquiries must be made to verify the licensing status of individuals 
associated with the referral. These inquiries are to be supported by 
a search of the electronic case management system conducted by 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/adult-child-serv/abuse-neglect/childrens/mandated-reporters
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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CI to determine if a licensed provider is identified as a member of 
the CPS referral. 

The reporting person must be asked if anyone affiliated with the 
referral is a licensed foster care provider, licensed day care 
provider, or a relative provider. Intake staff will document if any of 
the children in the home are listed within the electronic case 
management system as foster children. Any children in the home 
with an active foster care case should be listed as intake 
participants. These clearances must be documented in the referral 
source comment section in the electronic case management 
system. 

PRELIMINARY 
INVESTIGATION 

When information received from the reporting person is not 
sufficient to reach a decision to screen out, transfer, or screen in 
the referral for an investigation and assign a priority response, CI 
must conduct a preliminary investigation. Within 24 hours of receipt 
of the referral, a decision must be made to screen in and assign for 
CPS investigation, to transfer to another unit that has jurisdiction, or 
to screen out the referral. 

The preliminary investigation for these intake situations should at 
minimum include one or more of the steps below. Additional steps 
should be completed when necessary to assist in making 
appropriate decisions regarding assignment.  

PRELIMINARY 
INVESTIGATION 
ACTIVITIES  

Activities which may be part of a preliminary investigation include 
but are not limited to the following: 

1. An electronic case management system search on all persons 
listed on the referral. Review the CPS history to determine any 
trends between past referrals and current allegations.  

2. A criminal history check on all persons potentially responsible 
for the child’s health and welfare.  
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3. Attempted contact with any collateral contacts who have 
pertinent information regarding the allegations or the 
child(ren)'s well-being. 

Document all steps of the preliminary investigation that were 
completed in the preliminary investigation section. A summary 
should be completed for each step conducted in the preliminary 
investigation. The summary should detail how the information 
obtained supports the decision made to screen in, transfer, or 
screen out the referral.  

Note:  If there is already an assigned investigation or an open 
case, the referral must be forwarded to the assigned case manager 
for their awareness and any necessary follow-up regarding the 
allegations. A preliminary investigation is not required when there is 
already an assigned investigation or an open CPS or foster care 
case unless a preliminary investigation is necessary to make an 
accurate screening decision. CI must enter a social work contact in 
the active case to indicate the referral was received and the reason 
for the screen out decision.  

REFERRAL 
DOCUMENTATION  

The department is required to maintain documentation of the 
receipt and disposition of all CPS referrals. Any contacts made 
during intake must be entered into the electronic case management 
system in the Social Work Contacts module. 

When allegations are entered into the electronic case management 
system, proofread to ensure the identity of the reporting 
person is not revealed. Once a determination is made to screen 
in, transfer, or screen out the referral, the details of the allegations 
cannot be changed.  

When selecting allegations under the Allegations Details screen in 
the electronic case management system, select at least one 
abuse/neglect type in the Maltreatment Types tab. The 
maltreatments selected should be selected in accordance with the 
definition of those maltreatments; see, PSM 711-2, Definitions, 
Responsibilities and Maltreatment Types. Also, select any of the 
risk factors if the reporting person indicates the presence of those 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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factors in the home (for example, domestic violence, drug 
residence - methamphetamine, and substance exposed newborn). 

Death of a Child 

If the referral alleges the death of a child, check the child death box 
on the maltreatment types tab and enter the date of death in the 
deceased child's electronic case record; see PSM 712-06, Special 
Intake Cases. Details should be obtained to determine if there are 
any concerns of child abuse and/or neglect that led to the child's 
death. For more information regarding death of a child; see SRM 
172, Child/Ward Death Alert Procedures And Timeframes. 

DECISION TO 
SCREEN OUT 

If, after intake and/or preliminary investigation, neither CPS inter-
vention nor a transfer to an agency, assigned investigator, or 
assigned case manager is determined appropriate, the reasons for 
screening out the referral must be documented in the electronic 
case management system. Reasons to screen out a referral 
include:  

• Referral already investigated.  

• Discounted after preliminary investigation. 

• Does not meet statutory criteria. 

• Insufficient information to locate child or family. 

•  

• Out of jurisdiction. 

• Safe delivery of a newborn without allegations of child abuse 
and/or neglect other than abandonment. 

If the referral is appropriate for handling by another agency, refer 
the reporting person to the appropriate agency. For example, the 
Friend of the Court (FOC) for child support referrals or other 
custody issues not related to child abuse and/or neglect,  
community mental health for mental health services, or the school 
district for truancy issues, among others. 

When an audit or second line supervisor reviews a screened out 
referral and determines the referral is appropriate for assignment, 
CI may use the date and time of the review to create another 
referral, and reference the original reporting source and intake ID. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-6.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-6.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Multiple Reporting 
Persons 

If a subsequent referral is received while an intake is in pending 
status for a family, the reporting person of the subsequent referral 
should be added to the electronic case management system as an 
additional reporting person. Document the date and time of the 
subsequent referral and any additional information provided. 

Note:   A second reporting person cannot be added unless the 
intake is in pending status; the addition cannot be made if the 
intake has been screened out or screened in and assigned for 
investigation.  

TRANSFER  

Referrals may be transferred to another agency for investigation if 
the referral does not meet the CPL definition of child abuse and/or 
neglect. The following are examples of allegations in which a 
referral should be transferred and the entity for the transfer:  

• Allegations of child abuse and/or neglect by a person not 
responsible for the child's health and welfare must be 
transferred to law enforcement and the prosecuting attorney.  

• Alleged licensing violations should be transferred to MDHHS or 
private agency certification staff, Division of Child Welfare 
Licensing (DCWL), or Licensing and Regulatory Affairs 
(LARA).  

• Children residing on lands within exclusive jurisdiction of a 
Native American tribe that does not have a special written 
agreement with the department must be transferred to that 
tribe's child welfare agency. For more information on assigning 
cases with Native American children; see NAA 233, Children's 
Protective Services Investigations.    

• Incidents of child abuse and/or neglect that occurred outside 
the state of Michigan may be transferred to the appropriate 
state's child welfare agency.  

• Allegations that are already being addressed in a current, open 
investigation or that does not meet assignment criteria should 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/233.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/233.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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be transferred to the active MDHHS case manager. CI must 
enter a social work contact in the active case to indicate the 
referral was received and the reason for the screen out. An 
auto notification will be sent to all active staff in the electronic 
case management system.  

• Incidents of child abuse and/or neglect that occurred on a 
military base. Military Base Law, Federal Army Regulation 608-
18, prohibits investigation of CPS referrals on military bases, 
unless a special written agreement exists. 

• Referrals that list the alleged perpetrator as a member of the 
clergy, a teacher, a teacher's aide, or an individual 18 years of 
age or older who is involved in a youth program, must be 
referred to the prosecuting attorney/law enforcement within 24 
hours of receipt of the referral. Referrals pertaining to these 
individuals will be automatically sent to the MIC/PCU intake 
coordinator in the electronic case management system and 
assigned to a PCU specialist for follow up.  

Division of Child Welfare Licensing (DCWL) 

There will be an auto notification sent to DCWL when referrals 
involve:  

• Licensed foster homes.  

• Licensed relative foster care placements. 

• Child Caring Institutions (CCIs). 

• Court operated facilities (COFs). 

• Child placing agencies (CPAs). 

• Children in foster care who were in any setting other than a 
parental home or daycare when the alleged maltreatment 
occurred.  

Information on referral participants and allegations must be sent to 
DCWL and will be included on the auto notification. Contact 
information for the DCWL area managers can be found on the Child 
Welfare Licensing - Field Services Contact Information. 

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) 

There will be an auto notification sent to LARA when referrals 
involve:  

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/doing-business/licensing/child-welfare/contact-us/child-welfare-licensing-division-contact-information
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/doing-business/licensing/child-welfare/contact-us/child-welfare-licensing-division-contact-information
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• Children's camps. 

• Child care centers. 

• Licensed family and group childcare homes. 

• Adult foster care homes. 

Screened out referrals will be manually sent to LARA-CCLB-
Complaints@michigan.gov by Centralized Intake when involving: 

• Unlicensed child care programs.  

Note:  Child care programs that do not require licensing are those 
that fall within the exemption found under MCL 722.111(h)(i) -(v) 
and MCL 722.111(o)(iii) only if they fall within the providing 
babysitting services.   

The CI specialist must also complete and send the law enforcement 
notification (LEN) whenever there is a crime against a child and the 
referral involves a child care program not required to be licensed. 
The LEN, located within the electronic case management system, 
must be sent to the appropriate law enforcement jurisdiction.   

CI must notify LARA and email referral information to the Bureau of 
Community Health Systems Health Facility Complaint Mailbox for 
referrals involving: 

• Hospitals. 

• State psychiatric facilities. 

• Nursing homes. 

The name and phone number of the reporting person should be 
included in the written referral transferred to the other agency, if the 
other agency is authorized to investigate allegations of abuse and 
neglect. The reporting person should be advised that the agency 
responsible for the investigation might contact them.  

New Referrals on Assigned CPS Investigations or Open CPS 
Cases 

Careful attention must be given to documenting the intake 
dispositions of new referrals received during a pending 
investigation or an open case. When a new referral is received on a 
pending investigation or open case, the new allegations must be 

mailto:LARA-CCLB-Complaints@michigan.gov
mailto:LARA-CCLB-Complaints@michigan.gov
mailto:BCHS-Complaints@michigan.gov
mailto:BCHS-Complaints@michigan.gov
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evaluated by the same standards as other referrals to determine 
assignment of the new referral. 

If there is an open case or pending investigation, contact should be 
made with the assigned case manager to identify if the new 
allegations are known or being addressed with the family. If the 
new allegations are being addressed with the family or do not meet 
criteria for assignment, the referral should be transferred to the 
assigned case manager for any necessary follow-up. A social work 
contact must be entered into the active investigation or case for 
each intake ID, documenting review of the new allegations, and that 
the information was transferred to the assigned case manager.   

If the new referral contains allegations not already addressed in the 
active investigation, the allegations meet criteria for assignment, 
and it is within fifteen days of receipt of the intake for the active 
investigation, the new referral should be screened in as an accept 
and link investigation; see PSM 713-08, Special Investigative 
Situations in the accept and link section. If the new referral is 
received after fifteen days of receipt of the intake for the active 
investigation, it should be screened in as an accept and assign 
investigation.   

SCREEN IN FOR CPS 
INVESTIGATION 

The referral allegations must minimally meet the CPL definitions of 
child abuse and/or neglect to be assigned. Four elements must be 
present in the allegations to screen in a referral for investigation: 

• Allegations of harm or threatened harm. 

• To a child’s health or welfare. 

• Through non-accidental or neglectful behavior. 

• By a person responsible for the child’s health and welfare.  
 

Exception:  Human trafficking referrals made by law enforcement 
that involve children must be assigned regardless of whether the 
alleged perpetrator meets the criteria of a person responsible for 
the child's health and welfare or not.  

   

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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PRIORITY 
RESPONSE 
CRITERIA  

The CPS Minimal Priority Response Criteria determines: 

• Response time for commencement of the investigation. 

• Response time for face-to-face contact with each alleged child 
victim. 

When CI receives a referral of suspected child abuse and/or 
neglect, the CI specialist completes the priority response tool. The 
priority response tool assists with determining if the referral is 
screened in as a priority one or priority two response. CI has the 
discretion to extend a priority response time to 24/72 hours or 
reduce a priority response time to 12/24 hours based on specific 
exceptions. A rationale must be provided.   

Exception:  In referrals alleging an infant was born exposed to 
substances, but no other immediate safety concerns are reported, 
CI may reduce the priority response time to 24/72. 

Exception:  First responders (e.g., medical personnel, law 
enforcement, FBI) are requesting CPS on scene, and the response 
is appropriate given the immediate circumstances.  

A case manager must commence the investigation and make face-
to-face contact with each alleged child victim(s) within the 
corresponding timeframes. 

Priority One 
Response:12/24 

• A priority one response investigation must be commenced 
within 12 hours after receipt of the referral by CI.  

• Face-to-face contact must occur with each alleged child victim 
within 24 hours after receipt of the referral by CI. 

Priority Two 
Response:24/72  

• A priority two response investigation must be commenced 
within 24 hours after receipt of the referral by CI.  
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• Face-to-face contact must occur with each alleged child victim 
within 72 hours after receipt of the referral by CI.  

Note:  If an alleged child victim is identified after the investigation 
has been assigned, face-to-face contact with the newly identified 
alleged child victim must occur within 24 hours if the allegations 
have not already been addressed per policy requirements with the 
newly identified alleged child victim, as demonstrated in a social 
work contact.  

ESTABLISHING 
INTAKE CASE NAME 

For all CPS referrals screened in for investigation, CI must 
complete a search of the electronic case management system to 
ensure the accurate person is added to the investigation.  

If more than one family is residing in a home and there are 
allegations of abuse and/or neglect regarding multiple families, a 
separate referral should be generated for each family. 

In most instances, CPS cases should be established in the parent's 
or legal guardian's name if the child resides with the parent or legal 
guardian. CPS cases should also be established in the parent's or 
legal guardian's name in situations where child abuse and/or 
neglect may have occurred when the child previously resided with 
the parent or legal guardian, regardless of who is alleged to have 
perpetrated abuse or neglect. There are certain instances in which 
this will not occur, such as an offending parent who has victim 
children residing in multiple counties and Maltreatment in Care 
(MIC) cases that involve day care facilities and Child Caring 
Institutions; see Intake PSM 714-05, Maltreatment in Care.  

WHEN A CHILD IS IN 
OUT-OF-HOME 
PLACEMENT  

When CI receives allegations of child abuse and/or neglect against 
a child’s parent (or other previous caretakers) and the alleged child 
victim is currently residing in a court ordered out-of-home 
placement, the following steps must be taken: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-5.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• If the alleged incident occurred at a parent’s (or other 
caretaker’s) home or during a visit, enter the alleged 
perpetrator as the primary caregiver in the electronic case 
management system with that person’s address as the case 
address.  

• List the alleged child victim as a non-household member. 

• List the non-household address as the address where the 
alleged child victim is currently residing. 

If the alleged perpetrator of the child abuse and/or neglect is the 
foster parent or current caregiver, the case must be registered in 
the name of the foster parent or current caregiver. 

For more information on out of home placement and how these 
cases should be assigned; see PSM 714-5, Maltreatment In Care. 

NON-HOUSEHOLD 
MEMBERS 

Non-household members should only be added to a case when the 
non-household member is a person responsible for the health and 
welfare of the child and does not reside in the household. Persons 
who should be listed as a non-household member include, but are 
not limited to: 

• Legal parents, and putative parents involved in the care of the 
alleged child victim(s), involved in the allegations. 

• Legal guardians of the alleged child victim(s) who are involved 
in the allegations.  

• Alleged perpetrators.  

Other persons important to the case, but who are not persons 
responsible for the health and welfare of the child, should not be 
listed as non-household members. These persons may be grand-
parents, other relatives, etc. These persons may be resources/sup-
port for the family and/or possible placements for a child if out-of-
home placement if necessary. Names and contact information may 
be documented in the intake narrative.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-5.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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CONFIDENTIAL 
REFERRALS 

A referral involving, but not limited to the following, may need to be 
marked confidential:  

• MDHHS employee. 

• Relative of a MDHHS employee. 

• A high-profile media case. 

• Prominent member of the community (judge, chief of police, 
etc.). 

If a CPS referral needs to be marked confidential select the 
Confidential Complaint box.  

CPS CASE RECORD 
RETENTION 

The Child Protection Law (MCL 722.628(11)) requires each report 
alleging child abuse and/or neglect be entered into a data system. 
MDHHS uses the electronic case management system as the data 
system of record. The department is required to maintain the 
information until the child is 18 years old or until 10 years after the 
investigation is commenced, whichever is later. If the case is 
classified as a central registry case, case information shall be 
retained until the department receives reasonable information that 
the perpetrator of abuse is dead. 

RESOURCES  

Michigan's Centralized Intake Procedures & Best Practices Manual.  

SDM Centralized Intake Assessment Policy & Procedures Manual. 

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov). 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/teams/insidedhhs/about/CountySites/CI/ResourcesJobAids/CI%20procedural%20manual%20FINAL%20effective%203-9-2023.pdf
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Polaid/MI%20Centralized%20Intake%20PP%20Manual.pdf
https://error/
https://error/
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OVERVIEW  

Centralized Intake (CI) may receive referrals that require additional 
information or guidance in addition to standard intake steps outlined 
in PSM 712-1, CPS Intake, in order to appropriately screen in, 
screen out, or transfer an intake. This item provides information for 
those special cases. 

DEFINITIONS 

Domestic Violence (DV)  

A pattern of coercive control perpetrated against one or more 
intimate partners. Behaviors can include sexual abuse, physical 
violence, threats, intimidation, financial control, possessiveness, 
and isolation, among others. This includes situations where one of 
the partners does not live in the home but has substantial contact in 
the home or has lived in the home but continues to behave in 
threatening ways.   

Intimate Partner 

A spouse, a former spouse, an individual with whom the individual 
has a child in common, an individual with whom the individual has 
or had a dating relationship, or an individual residing or having 
resided in the same household. 

Dating Relationship 

Frequent, intimate associations primarily characterized by the 
expectation of affectional involvement. A dating relationship does 
not include a casual relationship or an ordinary fraternization 
between two individuals in a business or social context. 

CPS - 
MALTREATMENT IN 
CARE (MIC)  

The Children’s Protective Services Maltreatment in Care Unit (CPS-
MIC) was developed to ensure safety and well-being of children 
under the care and supervision of the Michigan Department of 
Health and Human Services (MDHHS) and for children being cared 
for in a facility or home licensed by MDHHS. The CPS-MIC Unit 
investigates: 

• Licensed foster homes.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Licensed adult foster homes (for minor foster children placed in 
an adult foster home only). 

• Licensed or unlicensed relative placements.  

• Independent living.  

• Child Caring Institutions (CCI).  

• Child Care Licensing Programs (CCLP).  

• Parental homes still under foster care and court supervision, 
after the children return home. Not applicable when children go 
from a respondent parent's home directly to a non-respondent 
parent's home. This is assigned to CPS in the local office. 

The Intake Decision Table for CPS and CPS-MIC Investigations 
specifies the responsibilities of CPS and CPS-MIC for investigation 
of CA/N referrals received by MDHHS. 

 

INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Licensed foster home or licensed/unlicensed relative caregiver when 
allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

A foster parent or relative caregiver, and the alleged child victim is in foster 
care residing in the foster home or relative placement. 

 X 

A foster parent or relative caregiver, biological/adoptive children, and 
children in foster care residing in the foster home or relative placement, 
regardless of which child(ren) in the home is/are the alleged victim. 

  X 

A legal parent, and the child victim is in foster care, regardless of placement 
type. 

  X 

A foster parent, and the alleged child victim has returned to the parent's 
care. 

  X 
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

A foster parent with biological/adoptive children and there are not or were 
not any foster children placed in the home at the time of the alleged 
abuse/neglect. 

X  

 

 

 

INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Legal parents (including in-home placement or following return home 
from foster care with court jurisdiction), when allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

A child in their care, under in-home court jurisdiction, who does not have an 
open foster care case. 

X  

A child in their care, not under court jurisdiction. X  

A child in their care who has returned home from foster care and the court 
maintains jurisdiction.  

 X 

Alleged abuse or neglect occurred prior to their child going into out of home 
care.  

X  

Adding a non-respondent parent to active court cases.  X  

A child goes from one parent directly to another parent (no out of home 
placement). 

X  
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

CCIs (such as, detention centers, youth homes, shelter homes, 
residential care facilities (long- and short-term), halfway homes, court 
operated facilities) when allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

 

An employee of a CCI and an alleged child victim residing in a CCI.  X 

A legal parent and an alleged child victim under MDHHS supervision; for 
example, allegations occurred during visit. 

 X 

An employee or volunteer of a CCI and an alleged child victim who was 
returned home to a parent's care, if the abuse or neglect was alleged to 
have occurred during the child's placement in the CCI. 

 X 

A licensed provider or an employee of a CCI and the alleged victim is the 
alleged perpetrator's own child.  

X  

An employee or volunteer of a CCI and a child placed in the CCI who is not 
under supervision of MDHHS. 

 X 

INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

CCLPs (referrals involving children, regardless of court jurisdiction) 
when allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

A child in a licensed facility.  X 

A legal parent, licensed to operate a child care facility, and the alleged victim 
is their biological/adopted child.   

X  
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Unlicensed facilities. N/A N/A 

 

INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Licensed camp facility when allegations involve:  CPS CPS-
MIC 

Children at a licensed camp facility.  X 

A legal parent at a licensed camp facility, and the victim is the alleged 
perpetrator's own child.  

X  

 

COUNTY 
ASSIGNMENT 

CPS-MIC investigations are assigned to the county of the 
perpetrator's current residence and where the child abuse and 
neglect occurred, regardless of the victim's current residence.   

Note:  CI may assign referrals received after-hours to the county 
where the child victim is located to ensure contact is made. See 
Inter-County Referrals section in this item.  

MULTIPLE FAMILIES 
IN SAME 
HOUSEHOLD 

When CI receives allegations meeting assignment criteria on 
multiple families residing in the same household, and one of the 
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families meets criteria for assignment to CPS-MIC, CI will assign all 
the referrals within that household to CPS-MIC.  

NEW REFERRALS 
ON FOSTER 
CHILDREN 

Refer to FOM 722-13A, Maltreatment In Care - Foster Care 
Responsibilities, for guidance regarding referrals of abuse or 
neglect on a foster child.  

When a referral alleges abuse or neglect of a child with an open 
foster care or adoption program type, or when a child with an open 
foster care or adoption program type is placed in a home with an 
alleged perpetrator, CI must send an intake decision notification to 
all active case managers and supervisors on the child's case. When 
a provider is linked to the intake, CI will also send a notification to 
the licensing specialist and supervisor assigned to the provider 
record. 

CONFLICTS OF 
INTEREST 

If at the time of intake, a CPS referral is reported to involve an 
MDHHS employee or a relative of an MDHHS employee, the 
referral must be transferred to the nearest adjacent county. These 
cases must also be marked confidential. See SRM 131, 
Confidentiality, Making Cases Confidential in the Electronic Case 
Management System, section for further information on marking a 
case confidential. 

Disputes between counties must be referred to the appropriate 
Business Service Center director(s) for resolution. 

INTER-COUNTY 
REFERRALS 

CI may receive a referral that involves a child whose residence is in 
another county (such as when a child is brought to a hospital 
located in a county other than the child’s residence, or the child is 
visiting the non-custodial parent). The responsibility for initiating the 
investigation for these types of referrals depends on the nature of 
the allegations and the priority response. The county responsible 
for handling the referral is as follows:  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-13A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-13A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• The county where the child is found is responsible for the 
referral if the priority response is Immediate Response,12-hour 
commencement and 24-hour face-to-face (12/24). 

• The county of residence is responsible for handling the referral 
if the priority response requires a 24-hour commencement and 
72-hour face-to-face (24/72).  

Exception:  If the child attends school in an adjacent county, the 
county of residence should handle the referral. 

Inter-County Disputes and Coordination 

Additional referrals should not be assigned solely for the purpose of 
verifying the well-being of other children/siblings on a current 
investigation. Courtesy requests can be made between counties to 
assist in the verification of well-being and filing petitions.  

Counties should work together to ensure child safety and to ensure 
timeframes are met for commencement and face to face. Disputes 
between the assigned county and the county in which the request 
for assistance is being made must be immediately referred to the 
appropriate Business Service Center director(s) for resolution.  

INTERSTATE 
REFERRALS 

When CI receives a referral from an out-of-state department 
involving a Michigan child, and the referral is assigned, the county 
where the referral is assigned must proceed with standard 
procedures for evaluating and investigating referrals of child abuse 
and/or neglect. Michigan CPS staff may communicate with the 
referring out-of-state department to obtain necessary information.  

If a referral is received regarding child abuse and/or neglect that 
occurred in another state and there are no current concerns that a 
child in Michigan is being abused or neglected, the referral should 
be transferred to the state in which the child abuse and/or neglect 
occurred.  

CPS referrals to or from another state are not governed by the 
Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children (ICPC). Contact 
may be made directly with the other state department. For contact 
information for other states, go to 
https://aphsa.org/AAICPC/Resources.aspx. 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Faphsa.org%2FAAICPC%2FResources.aspx&data=04%7C01%7CWilliamsH7%40michigan.gov%7Cc5a6fc00a8894d1f891e08d981bd5511%7Cd5fb7087377742ad966a892ef47225d1%7C0%7C0%7C637683472432261914%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJWIjoiMC4wLjAwMDAiLCJQIjoiV2luMzIiLCJBTiI6Ik1haWwiLCJXVCI6Mn0%3D%7C1000&sdata=rn8GTMDJuJ58LgHmZ09c9Y9GcMzuHsMlckZDSbcF8tQ%3D&reserved=0
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PROSECUTING 
ATTORNEY/LAW 
ENFORCEMENT 
RESPONSIBILITY 

Prosecuting attorney/law enforcement agencies are responsible for 
the investigation of child abuse and neglect by certain individuals 
and in unregulated institutional settings such as: 

• Schools (both public and private), including boarding schools. 

• Incidental out-of-home or in-home childcare (baby-sitting). 

• Mental health facilities not subject to PA 116. 

• Clergy. 

• Teachers. 

• Teacher's aides. 

• An individual 18 years of age or older, involved with a youth 
program. 

• Unregulated (unlicensed or unregistered) child care group and 
family homes. 

• Persons not responsible for the child’s health or welfare. 

CI must transfer these referrals and refer to the prosecuting 
attorney/law enforcement agency within 24 hours of receipt of the 
referral. When the alleged perpetrator's role has been coded by CI 
as a member of the clergy, a teacher, a teacher's aide, or an 
individual 18 years of age or older who is involved in a youth 
program, the referrals are automatically sent to the MIC/PCU intake 
coordinator in the electronic case management system and 
assigned to a PCU specialist for follow up.  

ADDITIONAL CPS-
MIC POLICY 

See PSM 714-5, Maltreatment In Care, when a CPS-MIC referral is 
assigned for investigation. 

DEATH OF A CHILD 

Allegations involving death of a child will be assigned for 
investigation if the allegations meet the definition of child abuse 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-5.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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and/or neglect. If the incident that led to the child's death appears 
accidental, the referral may not need to be assigned. CI should 
obtain and review information gathered from the reporting person to 
determine if assignment is appropriate. If the cause of death is 
unknown, CI will assign for investigation. When screening out child 
death referrals consultation with a second line manager must occur 
and be documented in the electronic case record.   

Document the referral is regarding a child death in the electronic 
case management system. For more information on child death 
cases, see PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations. Select the 
child is deceased and enter the date and place of death in the 
Person Profile Section in the child's electronic case record. The 
death of a child must be reported as outlined in SRM 172, 
Child/Ward Death Alert Procedures and Timeframes. 

See PSM 715-3, Family Court: Petitions, Hearings, and Court 
Orders, Death of a Child Under the Court’s Jurisdiction section, if 
the child who died is under the court’s jurisdiction.  

DOMESTIC 
VIOLENCE 

A CPS referral in which the only allegation is domestic violence is 
not a sufficient basis for assigning the referral for investigation. To 
be assigned for investigation, the referral must also include 
information indicating the domestic violence has resulted in harm, 
likely harm, or threatened harm to the child(ren). Consider the 
potential adverse impacts, including trauma or mental harm, when 
making an assignment decision. Assignment should also be 
considered if the alleged perpetrator has engaged in any activity 
that would cause a reasonable person to feel terrorized, 
intimidated, threatened, or harassed, or has caused or threatened 
to cause physical or mental harm.  

Issues that may assist in determining whether there is threatened 
harm in cases involving DV are:  

• A weapon was used or threatened to be used in the DV 
incident. 

• An animal has been tortured, deliberately injured, or killed by 
the perpetrator. 

• A parent or other adult is found in the home in violation of a 
child protection court order or personal protection order. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• There are reported behavioral changes in the child (for 
example, a child's teacher describes how the child used to be 
an involved and highly functioning student, and now is 
withdrawn, doing poorly in coursework, or acting out with 
violence). 

• Reported increase in frequency or severity of DV. 

• Threats of violence against the child. 

• Proximity and intensity of the incident in relation to the child.  

For information on domestic violence cases; see, the Domestic 
Violence sections in PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, 
and PSM 714-1, Post Investigative Services.  

DRIVING UNDER 
THE INFLUENCE  

When CI receives a referral in which the reporting person alleges a 
child is at imminent risk because the child is riding in a vehicle with 
an intoxicated driver, CI must direct the reporting person to contact 
law enforcement with a description of the vehicle, its last known 
location, license plate number, and identity of the driver, if known.  

CI must assign referrals received from law enforcement or the 
prosecuting attorney when the referral alleges a person responsible 
for the health or welfare of a child has been arrested, charged, or 
convicted of operation of a motor vehicle while under the influence, 
and the child was in the vehicle.  

INSECT 
INFESTATIONS 

An allegation of neglect based solely on a child having head lice, or 
a home having an insect infestation in and of itself, is not an 
indicator of neglect and is not appropriate for assignment. Consider 
the child's age, cognitive abilities, verbal ability, and developmental 
level and the impact the infestation could have on the child when 
making the decision.  

SUBSTANCE USE 
BY CARETAKER 

Allegations only involving substance use by a parent, guardian, or 
person responsible, is not sufficient for CPS investigation. To 
assign for investigation, referrals containing allegations of 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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substance use must meet Child Protection Law (CPL) definitions of 
suspected child abuse and/or neglect.  

Infants Exposed to Alcohol or Substances 

CPS will investigate referrals alleging an infant was born exposed 
to substances not attributed to medical treatment when exposure is 
indicated by any of the following: 

• Positive urine screen of the newborn. 

• Positive result from meconium testing. 

• Positive result from umbilical cord tissue testing. 

• Confirmation by a medical professional of withdrawal 
symptoms in a newborn that are not the result of medical 
treatment.  

Note:  Medical marijuana and medication assisted treatment are 
considered medical treatment.  

See PSM 716-7, Cases Involving Substances, for information on 
infants exposed to substances and alcohol.   

PROPER CUSTODY 
OR GUARDIANSHIP 

Referrals that only allege improper custody (a child residing with a 
person without legal guardianship or power of attorney) do not meet 
criteria for assignment. To be assigned, the referral must include 
allegations the person is unwilling or unable to meet the child's 
basic needs. See Guardianship/Power of Attorney in PSM 713-08, 
Special Investigative Situations, for more information on 
investigating these referrals.  

SCHOOL 
ATTENDANCE AND 
HOME SCHOOLING 

A referral in which the only allegation involves a child failing to 
attend school and/or alternate educational programming 
(educational neglect) is not sufficient basis for assignment. If the 
referral is initiated by non-school personnel, the person should be 
referred to the school district's attendance officer. If the referral is 
initiated by school personnel, they must be informed this issue falls 
under the provisions of the Compulsory School Attendance section 
of the School Code of 1976 (MCL 380.1561-380.1599), not Child 
Protection Law. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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SIBLING-ON-
SIBLING OR CHILD- 
ON-CHILD 
VIOLENCE 

Referrals involving sibling or child-on-child violence should be 
evaluated to determine if the person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare was neglectful. If the referral is based solely on 
violence (physical abuse or sexual abuse) among siblings or other 
children in the home and includes no issue of parental neglect (or 
other child abuse and/or neglect allegations), transfer the referral to 
law enforcement. The referral to law enforcement must be made 
within 24 hours of CI receiving the referral. 

See PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, Sibling-on-
Sibling Or Child-on-Child Violence section for more information on 
investigating these referrals. A minor child must never be 
investigated as an alleged perpetrator of child abuse and/or neglect 
unless they are the minor parent of an alleged child victim.  

MEDICAL NEGLECT 

CPS is responsible for responding to referrals that parents/legal 
guardians are neglecting their child's health and welfare by 
withholding medically indicated treatment. For more information 
when a referral is received regarding medical neglect of a disabled 
infant or medical neglect based on religious beliefs, see PSM 716-
8, Medical Neglect of Disabled Children & Medical Neglect Based 
on Religious Beliefs. 

VACCINATIONS 

The Michigan Public Health Code (MCL 333.9215) provides 
exceptions to the immunization requirements. CPS does not 
investigate referrals involving parents who have chosen not to 
immunize their children.  

NEWBORNS   

CPS must conduct a full investigation if an infant is born to parents, 
identified as a perpetrator, who currently have a child(ren) in out-of-
home care, or who are/were permanent wards because of a child 
abuse and/or neglect court action.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-8.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-8.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-8.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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INTENT TO ADOPT 

CPS must conduct a full investigation, if an infant is born to parents 
who currently have a child(ren) in out-of-home care or is/was a 
permanent ward because of a child abuse and/or neglect court 
action and the parents’ intent is to have the newborn adopted. If it is 
later determined the infant was exposed to alcohol or substances 
not attributed to medical treatment, the referral must be assigned 
for investigation.   

Note:  This does not apply to Safe Delivery Act, see below in this 
policy item.  

BIRTH MATCH 

Birth Match is an automated system that notifies CI when a new 
child is born to a parent who has previously had parental rights ter-
minated in a child protective proceeding, caused the death of a 
child due to abuse and/or neglect or has committed a serious act of 
child abuse and/or neglect.  

When a birth match occurs, the electronic case management 
system automatically generates a referral as an unassigned referral 
and the CI director receives an email alert that the referral has been 
generated. When CI receives the birth match referral, they must 
verify the match is accurate. 

Inaccurate Match 

If the match is inaccurate (the parent listed in the referral does not 
have history that would lead to Birth Match placement), the referral 
must be screened out.  

Accurate Match 

If the match is accurate and there is not an already pending investi-
gation or open investigation regarding the new birth, the referral 
must be screened in and assigned for investigation.  

See PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, for information 
on investigating Birth Match.  

SAFE DELIVERY 
ACT 

Michigan law (MCL 712.1 et. Seq., 750.135, and 722.628) allows a 
parent(s) to surrender an unharmed newborn up to 72 hours old to 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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an emergency service provider (ESP). An ESP is a uniformed, or 
otherwise identified, inside-the-premises, on-duty employee, or 
contractor of a fire department, hospital or police station or a 
paramedic or an emergency medical technician when responding to 
a 911 call.  

In situations where CI is contacted by an ESP and there is no 
evidence of child abuse and/or neglect, local offices and/or CI 
should direct the ESP to contact a public or private child-placing 
agency in that area directly responsible for placing a child in these 
situations. 

The Safe Delivery website has a listing of private adoption agencies 
that will provide placement for an abandoned newborn. If there is 
no evidence of child abuse and/or neglect, the newborn is less than 
72 hours old, and is voluntarily surrendered by a parent, CI must 
screen out the referral for investigation. 

See NAA 255, Termination of Parental Rights, Voluntary Proceed-
ings for Termination of Parental Rights section for information on 
the Safe Delivery Act as it pertains to American Indian children. 

PREGNANCY AND 
SEXUALLY 
TRANSMITTED 
DISEASE 

A referral involving a child under the age of 12 who is pregnant, or 
a child who is under the age of 12 and over the age of 1 month who 
has a sexually transmitted disease, must be screened in for 
investigation.  

RUNAWAY AND 
MISSING CHILDREN 

Routine referrals on runaway and missing children are not 
appropriate for investigation by MDHHS; however, careful 
consideration should be given to determine whether there are 
allegations of abuse and/or neglect. There are known risk factors 
that contribute to a child running away, including family dynamics, 
family violence, bullying, sexual abuse, and neglect. Some children 
are asked by their parents to leave home. If these children end up 
in the streets, without a place to stay, without support, and limited 
options to meet their basic needs, they are at greater risk of being 
trafficked.    

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-delivery#:~:text=Safe%20Delivery%20is%20a%20law%20which%20allows%20a,emergency%20medical%20technician%20or%20paramedic%20by%20calling%209-1-1.
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/255.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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HUMAN 
TRAFFICKING 

The MDHHS Human Trafficking of Children Protocol was 
developed to guide case managers and other child welfare staff in 
assisting children who are victims of human trafficking. Human 
trafficking includes sex trafficking and labor trafficking. 

Human trafficking referrals made by law enforcement that involve 
children must be screened in and assigned regardless of the 
alleged perpetrator meeting the criteria of a person responsible. 
The department can investigate trafficking conditions regardless of 
the role or status of the alleged perpetrator when law enforcement 
requests assistance to respond to help with the youth’s trauma. 

Human trafficking referrals made by individuals other than law 
enforcement must include information the alleged perpetrator 
meets the criteria for person responsible to be assigned for 
investigation. If the alleged perpetrator does not meet the criteria of 
a person responsible, the referral must be transferred to law 
enforcement. 

Sex Trafficking 

The act of subjecting a child to the recruitment, harboring, 
transportation, provision, patronizing, or soliciting for the purpose of 
a commercial sex act.  

Sex trafficking is any incident that involves: 

• Recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or 
patronizing of a child. 

• Soliciting a child for a commercial sex act. 

• Trafficking a child for a commercial sex act induced by force, 
fraud, or coercion. 

• Any sex act of or with a minor in exchange for anything of 
value. This includes cash, drugs, jewelry, clothing, food, 
shelter, protection, or transportation.  

Labor Trafficking 

The recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or obtaining of 
a person for labor as a result of force, fraud, coercion, or 
manipulation. Labor trafficking can include, but is not limited to, 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/HumanTraffickingProtocol.pdf?rev=11762f4c57a048e8b20ef29cfa3eba60
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domestic servitude, forced labor in restaurants or salons, forced 
agricultural labor, or debt bondage.  

RESOURCES 

SDM Centralized Intake Assessment Policy & Procedures Manual.   

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child-
Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Polaid/MI%20Centralized%20Intake%20PP%20Manual.pdf
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

This policy item details procedures for coordination with the local 
prosecuting attorney and law enforcement as required by Child 
Protection Law (CPL). 

DEFINITIONS 

Serious Mental Harm 

An injury to a child's mental condition or welfare that is not 
necessarily permanent but results in visibly demonstrable 
manifestations of a substantial disorder of thought or mood which 
significantly impairs judgment, behavior, capacity to recognize 
reality, or ability to cope with the ordinary demands of life. MCL 
750.136b(g). 

Serious Physical Harm/Severe Physical Injury 

Severe physical injury means serious physical harm to a child, as 
defined in MCL 750.136b(1)(f). Serious physical harm means any 
physical injury that seriously impairs the child's health or physical 
well-being, including but not limited to, brain damage, a skull or 
bone fracture, subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, dislocation, 
sprain, internal injury, poisoning, burn or scald, or severe cut.  

PROCEDURE 
 
Referral to Law 
Enforcement and 
Prosecuting 
Attorney 

MCL 722.623(6) and MCL 722.628, Sec 8(1) require that within 24 
hours of initial receipt of the referral, the department must notify 
local law enforcement and the prosecuting attorney about referrals 
involving the following allegations: 

• Acts which would constitute 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th degree child 
abuse (MCL 750.136b). Potential acts include: 

• Intentionally causing serious mental or physical harm. 

• Intentionally committing an act likely to cause serious 
mental of physical harm. 
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• A person's omission causes serious physical or mental 
harm. 

• Possession of child sexually abusive material (MCL 750.145c). 

• Sexual abuse or sexual exploitation including acts which would 
constitute 1st, 2nd, 3rd, or 4th degree criminal sexual conduct 
of a child and assault with intent to commit criminal sexual 
conduct (MCL 750.520b-750.520g). 

• Manufacture (the production, preparation, propagation, 
compounding, conversion, or processing) of methamphetamine 
(MCL 333.7401c). 

• Abuse or neglect is the suspected cause of a child's death 
MCL 722.628(3)(a). 

• Child abuse or child neglect resulting in serious physical harm 
to the child (MCL 722.628(3)(c). 

• The abuse or neglect was committed by a person not 
responsible for the child’s health or welfare (for example, a 
teacher, teacher's aide, member of the clergy, or an individual 
18 years of age or older who is involved in a youth program, 
etc.). 

• Sex and labor trafficking includes recruiting, harboring, 
transporting, patronizing, soliciting, and making provisions for a 
child, knowing that a child will be subjected to forced labor or 
sex trafficking services. (MCL 750.462a - 750.462h) 

MDHHS-2164, Law Enforcement and Prosecuting Attorney 
Notification Form 

Case managers must generate and send the MDHHS-2164, Law 
Enforcement and Prosecuting Attorney Notification Form, to law 
enforcement and the prosecuting attorney's office of jurisdiction 
within 24 hours of receipt of the referral. This action must be 
documented in a social work contact and the form must be saved or 
scanned and uploaded within the electronic case record.  

Note:  Centralized Intake (CI) is responsible for forwarding the 
referral to the prosecuting attorney and law enforcement in referrals 
not assigned for investigation by Children's Protective Services 
(CPS).  
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Coordination with 
Prosecutors Office 
and Law 
Enforcement 

The prosecuting attorney and the department in each county are 
required to adopt and implement a standard child abuse and 
neglect investigation and interview protocol. The DHS PUB 794, A 
Model Child Abuse And Neglect Protocol Utilizing a 
Multidisciplinary Team Approach, should be used as the model.   

In addition to the situations requiring a referral to law enforcement 
and the prosecuting attorney in this policy item, the case manager 
must also seek assistance from law enforcement for any 
referral in which it is necessary for the protection of the 
child(ren), a department employee, or another person involved 
in the investigation; MCL 722.628(3).  

Case managers must make efforts to coordinate and communicate 
with law enforcement in mutually conducted investigations.  

Request for Delay 
of Investigation 

If law enforcement requests a delay in starting an investigation, 
communication and coordination must still occur to assess 
child safety as well as maintain standard of promptness for 
face-to-face contact. The case manager should discuss these 
department requirements with law enforcement to determine the 
best approach to accomplish these objectives and maintain integrity 
of both investigations.  

If law enforcement and/or the prosecuting attorney requests a delay 
in initiating an investigation, the case manager must contact their 
supervisor and county director (or designee) to determine how to 
proceed. 

Reports 

Case managers must request law enforcement reports for cases 
involving coordination with law enforcement. Document a summary 
of any reports of completed law enforcement investigations 
received, in a social work contact, and upload the document into 
the electronic case record.  

https://www.michigan.gov/ctf/-/media/Project/Websites/ctf/pdfs/DHS-Pub-794.pdf?rev=8330eb335580425384dd1afdc1626c4f&hash=02C428D4E2E3568007F9F8CFA1C5FF55
https://www.michigan.gov/ctf/-/media/Project/Websites/ctf/pdfs/DHS-Pub-794.pdf?rev=8330eb335580425384dd1afdc1626c4f&hash=02C428D4E2E3568007F9F8CFA1C5FF55
https://www.michigan.gov/ctf/-/media/Project/Websites/ctf/pdfs/DHS-Pub-794.pdf?rev=8330eb335580425384dd1afdc1626c4f&hash=02C428D4E2E3568007F9F8CFA1C5FF55
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Report to 
Prosecuting 
Attorney 

A redacted DHS 154, CPS Investigation Report, must be sent to 
the prosecuting attorney within seven calendar days of supervisory 
approval for central registry cases involving: 

• Death of a child. 

• Serious physical harm/severe physical injury; see definitions in 
this policy item. 

• Confirmed sexual abuse. 

• Confirmed sexual exploitation. 

• Confirmed exposure to or contact with methamphetamine 
production. 

For proper redaction, see SRM 131, Confidentiality.  

A social work contact must be added to document the redacted 
report was sent to the prosecuting attorney. 

Law Enforcement 
Replacement 
Interviews 

Use of replacement interviews by law enforcement for alleged 
perpetrators, other adults, and children are allowed when meeting 
specific criteria indicated in this item. The use of law enforcement 
interviews does not relieve the case manager from conducting 
interviews needed to accurately complete case assessments and a 
thorough CPS investigation. If the replacement interview fails to 
address all allegations and obtain necessary information for 
completion of case assessments for a thorough CPS investigation, 
the case manager must coordinate with law enforcement for 
subsequent interviews in cases with an ongoing criminal 
investigation.  

Law Enforcement Contact with Children 

Face-to-face contact with all alleged child victims must be made by 
a case manager. If a case manager cannot locate a child or is 
unable to access a child, law enforcement may make the initial 
face-to-face contact. The case manager's efforts to locate and/or 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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access the child prior to requesting law enforcement assistance 
must be documented in a social work contact. If law enforcement 
makes the initial face to face contact, a case manager must make 
face-to-face contact with all alleged child victims seen by law 
enforcement within 24 hours of law enforcement contact, to assess 
safety and well-being and coordinate any necessary safety 
planning.   

See Face to Face Contacts by Law Enforcement in PSM 713-01, 
CPS Investigation - General Instructions, for more information. 

If law enforcement has conducted an interview with a child during 
an investigation, the case manager may use the interview to satisfy 
policy requirements for the interview if the following factors are met. 
Interviews with a child may only be used if the law enforcement 
officer is trained in forensic interviewing techniques and is able to 
verify that forensic interviewing techniques were used to conduct 
the interview. The interview must also contain proper inquiry into all 
allegations. 

Documentation of Law Enforcement Interviews 

Case managers should use the date and time at which law 
enforcement conducted the interview and should indicate the 
interview was completed by law enforcement.  

The social work contact must document the law enforcement officer 
is trained in the forensic interviewing protocol and forensic 
interviewing protocol techniques were used.   

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov). 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

This policy provides a general overview of required activities and 
guidance case managers must consider in a Children's Protective 
Services (CPS) investigation. 

DEFINITIONS 

Mandated Reporter 

An individual required to report suspected concerns of child abuse 
or neglect under MCL 722.623.  

Person Responsible 

"Person responsible for the child's health or welfare" means a 
parent, legal guardian, individual 18 years of age or older who 
resides for any length of time in the same home in which the child 
resides, or, except when used in section 7(1)(e) or 8(8), nonparent 
adult; or an owner, operator, volunteer, or employee of 1 or more of 
the following: 

• A licensed or registered child care organization. 

• A licensed or unlicensed adult foster care family home or 
adult foster care small group home as defined in section 3 
of the adult foster care facility licensing act, 1979 PA 218, 
MCL 400.14. 

• A court-operated facility. 

Note:  This includes licensed individuals providing respite care.  

• Non-parent adult: A person who is 18 years of age or older 
and who, regardless of the person's domicile, meets all of the 
following criteria in relation to the child, MCL 722.622: 

 Has substantial and regular contact with the 
child(ren). 

 Has a close personal relationship with the child(ren)'s 
parent(s) or with a person(s) responsible for the 
child(ren)'s health or welfare. 

 Is not the child(ren)'s parent(s) or a person(s) 
otherwise related to the child by blood or affinity to the 
third degree. 
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Note:  Third degree relatives include parents, grandparents, great-
grandparents, brothers, sisters, aunts, uncles, great-aunts, great-
uncles, nieces, and nephews. 

Note:  Adults, other than the primary licensed caregiver(s), residing 
in a respite placement are considered a nonparent adult.  

Note:  This includes nonparent adults residing with a child when 
the referral involves sexual exploitation (human trafficking).  

COMMENCEMENT 

Commencement must occur within 24 hours following report to 
Centralized Intake (CI), MCL 722.628(1). The priority response 
criteria determines whether the commencement must occur within 
12 or 24 hours; see PSM 712-1, CPS Intake.  

Commencement means to begin the investigation with any activity 
including, but not limited to: 

• Review of case history. 

• Gathering of evidence. 

• Case planning with supervisor. 

• Making successful investigation contacts. 

Note:  If using review of case history, information gained must be 
documented in the history/trends section, as well as a social work 
contact in the electronic case management system, indicating 
commencement was completed by a review of case history. 

Only one social work contact should be selected as 
commencement within an investigation unless there is an accept 
and link assignment to the case; see PSM 713-08, Special 
Investigative Situations. 

CONTACT WITH 
CHILDREN 
 

Alleged Child 
Victims 

The case manager must make face-to-face contact to assess 
child(ren) safety and well-being with each alleged child victim within 
designated timeframes (24 or 72 hours), as determined by the 
Priority Response Criteria; see PSM 712-1, CPS Intake.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Case managers must make face-to-face contact with all alleged 
child victims even when the alleged child victims have been seen 
by law enforcement as outlined below in Face-to-Face Contacts by 
Law Enforcement in this policy item.   

If an alleged child victim is identified after the investigation has 
been assigned, face-to-face contact with the newly identified 
alleged child victim must occur within 24 hours if the allegations 
have not already been addressed per policy requirements with the 
newly identified alleged child victim as demonstrated in a social 
work contact. 

Note:  The newly identified alleged child victim must be added to 
the investigation as an alleged child victim within 24 hours of 
identification and all policy requirements must be completed. 

Other Children 

During an investigation, case managers must attempt face-to-face 
contact with the following other (non-victim) children: 

• Minor children of the alleged perpetrator(s). 

• Children who reside in the alleged perpetrator(s) home or who 
visit the home as part of a court ordered custody arrangement 
or other visitation agreement. 

Exception:  For other (non-victim) children who are in a legal 
guardianship, it is sufficient to verify their well-being via a telephone 
call to the guardian. 

When face-to-face contact cannot occur, document:  

• The barriers to making contact. 

• Contact with a person able to provide reliable information 
concerning the child's well-being.  

All children requiring contact in an investigation must be added as 
investigative persons to the case within the electronic case 
management system.  

When a Parent or 
Adult is Not Home 

Case managers must not enter a home when an adult is not 
present to provide permission to enter the home and speak with the 
child(ren). If an adult is not present at the home, case managers 
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may not request the child(ren) step outside to interview them, even 
if the child(ren) agrees or suggests this solution.  

If a referral alleges that a young child is home alone or a child is at 
imminent risk of harm and no adult is present in the home, the case 
manager should contact law enforcement for assistance; see PSM 
713-08, Special Investigative Situations. 

Face-to-Face 
Contacts by Law 
Enforcement  

Face-to-face contact with all alleged child victims must be made by 
a case manager. If a case manager cannot locate a child or is 
unable to access a child, law enforcement may make the initial 
face-to-face contact. The case manager's efforts to locate and/or 
access the child prior to requesting law enforcement assistance 
must be documented in a social work contact. If law enforcement 
makes the initial face-to-face contact, a case manager must make 
face-to-face contact with all alleged child victims seen by law 
enforcement within 24 hours of law enforcement contact to assess 
safety and well-being and coordinate any necessary safety 
planning. 

Case managers must still commence an investigation within the 
required priority response timeframe when law enforcement makes 
the initial face-to-face contact. 

For more information on application and documentation of 
replacement contacts by law enforcement; see PSM 712-3, 
Coordination with Prosecuting Attorney and Law Enforcement. 

Even in situations where contact requirements are met by law 
enforcement, case managers must take steps to ensure the safety 
of the child(ren) involved. 

Interviews  

If able, interviews with the child(ren) must occur to determine if the 
child(ren) is/are being abused and/or neglected and if safety 
planning, supports, or services are needed for the child.  

Legal Parent/Legal Guardian Consent  

Case managers do not need consent from a legal parent or legal 
guardian prior to contact with a child if:  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• The child is an alleged victim of child abuse or neglect.  

AND/OR  

• The case manager has reason to believe the alleged abuse or 
neglect occurred.  

Note:  If during the investigation, information is obtained that gives 
reason to believe a child who was originally identified as a non-
victim is an alleged victim of abuse or neglect, consent from a legal 
parent or legal guardian is not needed.  

Note:  A putative parent cannot consent to contact with the child. 

If legal parent or legal guardian consent is not obtained, 
documentation in a social work contact must demonstrate why 
consent from a legal parent or legal guardian was not required if 
contact was made with a child.  

If at any time during an investigation, a case manager no longer 
suspects abuse or neglect, further contact with any child requires 
prior consent of a parent or legal guardian. Schulkers, et al. v 
Kammer, et al., 955 F3d 520 (CA 6, 2020) 

Reasonable suspicion of abuse and/or neglect exists when under 
the current known facts and/or circumstances, there are indicators 
to demonstrate abuse and/or neglect may have occurred. 
Reasonable suspicion no longer exists when based on the known 
facts and circumstances, the report of suspected child abuse or 
neglect cannot be confirmed.  

Legal Parent/Legal Guardian Notification After Interview  

If the child(ren) are contacted at school, regardless of whether prior 
parental consent occurred, the case manager must notify the 
child(ren)'s legal parent or legal guardian the case manager 
contacted the child at school. This notification must occur as soon 
as possible after the interview. A temporary delay in notification is 
permitted, if the notice would compromise the safety of the child or 
the child's siblings, or the integrity of the investigation (MCL 
722.628(8)). 

Forensic Interviewing Protocol  

The DHS Pub 779, Forensic Interviewing Protocol, should be used 
to interview all age and developmentally appropriate children. Case 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/DHS-PUB-0779.pdf?rev=e616e91287f543219b1e7d1beb906248&hash=4ED9AF3BA70EB9F0323B2B8957A213A7
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managers must document use of the protocol for the interview as 
well as qualitative steps outlined within the protocol. If the protocol 
is not used, the reason must be documented. Children must not be 
interviewed in the presence of an alleged perpetrator, MCL 
722.628c.  

If an interview is conducted at a children's assessment center or 
child advocacy center, Michigan Department of Health and Human 
Services (MDHHS) must not maintain copies of video/audio 
recording and should not video tape interviews. Case managers 
should observe and document interviews occurring at a children's 
assessment center or a child advocacy center. 

Contact at Schools 
and Other 
Institutions  

Schools and other institutions are required to cooperate with the 
department during an investigation. Case managers must review 
the following with the designated school staff person, MCL 
722.628(8) and (9):  

• Prior to the interview, discuss the department's responsibilities 
and the investigation procedure.  

• Following the interview, discuss the response the department 
will take as a result of contact with the child. Sharing of 
information is subject to confidentiality provisions; see SRM 
131, Confidentiality.  

NOTE: If the school does not cooperate, this does not relieve 
or prevent the department from proceeding with the 
investigation. 

If access to the child occurs within a hospital, the investigation must 
be conducted so as not to interfere with the medical treatment of 
the child(ren) or other patients, MCL 722.628(10). 

Assessment of 
Alleged Injuries 

When allegations include injury on the child(ren)'s body, case 
managers are required to make efforts to view alleged marks, 
bruises, or other injuries. No child(ren) shall be subjected to a 
search which requires the child to remove their clothing to expose 
buttocks, genitalia, or breasts of child(ren), at any age.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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If the area of injury includes the child(ren)'s buttocks or genitalia, 
case managers may view the buttocks or genitalia of the child(ren) 
up to the age of 6 with parent or legal guardian consent and in the 
presence of another adult (which may be the child's consenting 
parent or legal guardian). If the child(ren) is age 6 or older, case 
managers must request the parent/caregiver take the child(ren) for 
a medical examination. See PSM 713-04, Medical Examination and 
Assessment. 

Vulnerable 
Children 

Children may be at greater risk of abuse and/or neglect based on 
several identified factors. A child is considered a vulnerable child if 
at least one of the following factors are true: 

• Age 0 to 5 years. Any child in the household five years of age 
or younger. Children in this age range are considered more 
vulnerable because they are less verbal and less able to 
protect themselves from harm. For example, these children 
have less capacity to retain memory of events. Infants are 
particularly vulnerable because they are nonverbal and 
completely dependent on others for care and protection. Their 
normal developmental stages (for example, crying to 
communicate, toilet training) also make them more vulnerable 
due to increased caregiver stress. 

• Significant diagnosed or suspected medical or mental 
health concern. Any child in the household has a diagnosed 
or suspected medical or mental health concern that 
significantly impairs the child’s ability to protect themselves 
from harm, or a diagnosis may not yet be confirmed, but 
preliminary indications are present, and testing/evaluation is in 
process OR the child is on a waitlist for evaluation. Examples 
include, but are not limited to, severe asthma, severe 
depression, and medically fragile (for example, requires 
assistive devices to sustain life).  

• Not readily visible in the community. The child is isolated or 
less visible within the community (for example, the child may 
not have routine contact with people outside the household, 
and/or the child may not attend a public or private school 
and/or is not routinely involved in other activities within the 
community). Children who are less visible in their community 
are more likely to have signs of abuse/neglect go unnoticed or 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-04.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-04.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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unreported, and they are less able to reach out to others for 
assistance. 

• Diminished developmental/cognitive capacity. Any child in 
the household has diminished developmental/cognitive 
capacity that affects their ability to communicate verbally or to 
care for and protect themself from harm (for example, cannot 
communicate or defend themself, cannot get out of the house 
in an emergency situation if left unattended).  

• Diminished physical capacity. Any child in the household 
has a physical condition/disability that affects their ability to 
protect themselves from harm (for example, cannot run away 
or defend themselves, cannot get out of the house in an 
emergency situation if left unattended). 

When a child has been identified as vulnerable based on the above 
factors, the case manager must contact one or more individuals, 
excluding the perpetrator, with knowledge of the child's needs. 
Case managers should also obtain and document the following 
information in a social work contact: 

• Concerns regarding potential child abuse and/or neglect. 

• The caregiver's ability to meet the needs of the child. 

• If the child has any unmet medical, mental health, or safety 
needs. 

Note:  Vulnerable child policy applies to any child(ren) who requires 
a face-to-face contact; see Contact with Children section above. 

CONTACT WITH 
ADULTS 

During an investigation, face-to-face contact must be attempted 
with the following: 

• Legal and putative parents, guardians, or caretaker(s) of the 
alleged child victim(s). 

• Alleged perpetrators. 

At minimum, a telephone contact must be attempted with the 
following: 

• Other adults residing in the home with the alleged child 
victim(s). 
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• Legal parents of children not identified as victims but 
associated with the case. 

• Legal parent(s) of children who reside in the alleged 
perpetrator(s) home or who visit the home as part of a court 
ordered custody arrangement or other visitation agreement. 

When required face-to-face or telephone contact cannot be made, 
case managers must document the barriers that prevented contact 
in a social work contact. 

All adults with whom face-to-face contact is required, must be 
added as investigative persons to the case in the electronic case 
management system. Other adults may be added as associated 
persons. 

Interview 
Requirements 

Engagement with all adults, parents, and alleged perpetrators must 
be professional, respectful, culturally sensitive, non-judgmental, 
and non-threatening.  

Case managers must display their MDHHS identification, clearly 
identify themselves as representing CPS, and inform the individuals 
being interviewed of the referral and identified concerns.  

Interviews with the alleged victim's parents, guardians, and alleged 
perpetrator(s) should focus on the specific referral and any other 
concerns observed or reported that may impact child safety and/or 
future risk.  

Case managers must attempt to obtain the following information 
from the child's parents, guardians, and the alleged perpetrator: 

• Verification of identity and previous names. 

• If the person is a licensed foster care or day care provider. 

• Native American heritage for self and child(ren). 

• Names and dates of birth of their children. 

• Friend of the Court involvement. 

Case managers must also inquire of any out of state history within 
the previous 10 years for all alleged perpetrators.  

If the person being interviewed is the non-custodial parent of the 
alleged child victim, and there is a Friend of the Court order, the 
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DHS-1450, How to Change a Parenting Time Custody Order, must 
be offered to the parent. 

The primary objectives of the contact with the child(ren)'s parent(s), 
guardian(s), and the alleged perpetrator(s) is to gather information 
to: 

• Assess the referral allegations and identify the child(ren) who 
may have been involved/impacted. 

• Assess the caregiver's ability to meet the needs of the 
child(ren). 

• Identify any immediate child(ren) safety concerns and help the 
family develop a safety plan, if warranted. 

• Identify strengths and needs of the family and to coordinate 
access to resources. 

• Gather information to accurately complete risk and safety 
assessments.  

Support Persons 

An adult may request a support person be present while being 
interviewed. Prior to an interview with a support person(s) present, 
the case manager must: 

• Ensure the request or use of a support person(s) does not 
delay or impede any necessary safety planning.  

• Inform the support person(s) at the beginning of the interview 
that information obtained during the interview is confidential 
and release of this information has civil and criminal penalties.  

• Obtain consent and necessary signatures on the DHS-860, 
CPS Support Person Letter.  

Absent Parents 

Case managers must document efforts to identify and locate 
parents. The case manager should use the Absent Parent Protocol 
to identify and locate parents in an investigation, if needed.  

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BFA77E515-1A59-438C-BA24-BED2DAE452B1%7D&file=1450.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BBC512097-2F8E-4E4A-86B0-03EE8BE3578D%7D&file=0860.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BBC512097-2F8E-4E4A-86B0-03EE8BE3578D%7D&file=0860.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/4aa9e6/siteassets/educational-materials/mi-absent-parent-protocol-2023.pdf
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Parents Who Are 
Incarcerated 

To locate a parent(s) who is incarcerated, the following resources 
may be used: 

• Michigan Department of Corrections. 

• Federal prisons. 

• Out-of-state facilities. 

• County jails. 

• VINELink. 

• Contact the facility. 
DIFFICULTY MAKING 
CONTACT/UNABLE 
TO LOCATE  

If a case manager is unable to contact or locate an adult or family, 
documentation of efforts to contact the adult, family, and/or 
child(ren) must be documented on the DHS-991, Diligent Search 
Checklist. All efforts must be clearly documented in social work 
contacts in the electronic case management system. Case 
managers may also contact the MDHHS assistance case manager 
for assistance in locating a family; see BAM 220, Case Actions.  

Imminent Risk of Harm to the Child(ren) 

If the whereabouts of a child(ren) cannot be verified, and evidence 
indicates the child(ren) is at imminent risk of harm, the case 
manager must contact local law enforcement in the jurisdiction 
where the child is alleged to reside. The case manager must 
explain why the child(ren) is at imminent risk and request law 
enforcement attempt to verify the child(ren)'s safety. The case 
manager must provide law enforcement with the last known details 
of the whereabouts of the child(ren). 

Alleged Perpetrator(s) - Refuses to Cooperate/Unable to 
Locate 

Case managers must make attempts to interview the alleged 
perpetrator(s). When a child(ren) is at imminent risk of harm and 
the case manager is unable to locate the alleged perpetrator(s), or 
the alleged perpetrator(s) is not willing to cooperate, the case 
manager must take steps to ensure the alleged perpetrator(s) does 
not have contact with the child(ren). Case managers must safety 
plan with a non-offending parent or caregiver to ensure child safety, 

https://www.michigan.gov/corrections
https://www.bop.gov/
https://www.vinelink.com/
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B93FE18BC-F3E9-4D82-B5CE-79D686330ED6%7D&file=0991.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B93FE18BC-F3E9-4D82-B5CE-79D686330ED6%7D&file=0991.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/BP/Public/BAM/220.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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when able to do so. If there is imminent risk of harm to the 
child(ren), consider filing a petition asking the court to remove the 
perpetrator(s) from the home.  

For information on filing a petition, see PSM 715-3, Family Court: 
Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders. 

Child Found in 
Another State 

In instances where it is indicated an alleged child victim or non-
victim household child is visiting or residing in another state, 
country, territory, etc., the following steps must be taken and 
documented in social work contacts: 

• Verbally confirm with the adult providing care for the child, that 
the child is with them. 

• If the child is an alleged victim, request assistance from CPS in 
the other state or jurisdiction to conduct an interview with the 
child or request law enforcement verify the well-being of the 
child, if the CPS agency is unable to respond timely.  

CASES INVOLVING 
MULTIPLE 
COUNTIES 

In cases in which parents, caregivers or children are in other 
counties, requests for courtesy contacts must be honored. 
Courtesy case managers and supervisors must be assigned within 
the electronic case management system. All activities completed by 
the courtesy case manager must be documented in social work 
contacts.  

Disputes between counties must be referred to the appropriate 
Business Service Center director(s) for resolution.  

When Families 
Move or Visit Out 
of County  

When a family with an active CPS investigation moves or is 
temporarily visiting outside of the assigned county of responsibility, 
case managers in the assigned county and the county where the 
family now resides or is temporarily visiting, should communicate to 
discuss the nature of the active CPS investigation. Case managers 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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should coordinate to ensure child safety and timely completion of 
investigation requirements.  

• If the family is living in another county temporarily, the 
assigned county of responsibility should outline the need for 
courtesy interviews and referral of services, and request these 
be completed by the county of temporary residence. The 
county of responsibility must provide primary case 
management until there is confirmation the family has moved 
permanently.  

• If the family has moved to a new county, the supervisor must 
transfer the active CPS investigation in the electronic case 
management system to the new county of residence for the 
family.  

Disputes between counties must be referred to the appropriate 
Business Service Center director(s) for resolution.  

FIREARM 
ASSESSMENT 

The following assessment is intended to be used when a case 
manager becomes aware of a firearm in a home; for example, 
when completing a case contact during an open case. The goal of 
this assessment is to evaluate the safety of the child, assist with 
ensuring child safety, and guide caregivers through the safe 
storage of firearms.  

Note: Child welfare staff must continue to utilize licensing rules for 
licensed foster homes. Case managers must also follow criteria 
regarding weapons, firearms, and/or ammunition outlined in the 
MDHHS-5770, Relative Placement Safety Screen, and MDHHS-
3130-A, Relative Placement Home Study. 

ASSESSING THE SAFETY OF THE CHILD 

Storage of the firearm(s) and ammunition.  

• Is the firearm locked by a cable lock, trigger lock, in a gun safe, 
in a solid metal gun case, or in a solid wood gun case?  

• If answered Yes:  

 Is the key to the cable/trigger locks, gun safe, etc. 
accessible to youth? 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B17A9C9E6-B3A8-43F5-8B50-3D2D19554C18%7D&file=MDHHS-5770.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2B8E6564-9BAE-4B60-AFC3-BB8BD4CE1D75%7D&file=3130-A.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2B8E6564-9BAE-4B60-AFC3-BB8BD4CE1D75%7D&file=3130-A.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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If yes, consider the following caregiver and child factors collectively 
when assessing the safety of the child and whether there are 
concerns of child abuse or child neglect. 

• If answered No: 

 Is the firearm inaccessible to the child? 
 Is the firearm unloaded? 
 Is the firearm separate from the ammunition?  
 Is the ammunition stored in a locked location? 
 Is the ammunition inaccessible to the children?  

If there are any No responses to questions 1-5, consider the 
following caregiver and child factors collectively when assessing 
the safety of the child and whether there are concerns of child 
abuse or child neglect. 

CAREGIVER FACTORS 

• Caregiver’s response to the child’s access to a firearm.  

• Caregiver’s child welfare history as it relates to inadequate 
supervision or other findings that may elevate concerns of 
child’s access to a firearm. 

• Familial safety plans related to firearms. 

• Do you believe your children know there are guns in your 
home?  

 

CHILD FACTORS 

• Child’s knowledge of where firearm is located based on child’s 
report. 

• Have you ever seen a real gun?  

 If yes, where? 
 If yes, assess factors below. 

• Are there any guns in your home?  

 If no, do not imply or confirm there are guns in the 
home. 
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 If yes, assess factors below. 

• Likelihood child could gain access to firearm or child did gain 
access to firearm.  

• Child’s age. 

• Child’s developmental and maturity level. 

• Special needs of the child, including unruly or delinquent 
behavior and/or mental health needs. Assess any statements 
made by the child to use a firearm to harm self or others. 

• Child’s awareness of firearm safety, including formal or 
informal firearm education, hunter’s safety, or similar training or 
education.  

Upon review of the factors above and all evidence gathered, 
assess if harm has occurred, or is likely to occur, without 
intervention. For any case where a safety concern is identified, a 
safety plan must be completed and documented in the electronic 
case management system. The assigned case manager should 
verify child safety in relation to firearms in the home following 
implementation of a safety plan. 

Note:  When working through a safety plan, please be advised that 
people have the right to the possession of usable firearms in the 
home. District of Columbia v. Heller, 554 US 570, 572 (2008).   

SAFETY PLANNING 

Case managers must consistently assess the safety and need for 
protection of all children during an investigation. Safety plans must:   

• Address immediate safety concerns (a safety plan is not a 
treatment plan). 

• Be developed with the input and assistance of parents, family 
members, and tribe (if applicable). 

• Include formal and informal supports and services. 

• Include proactive and reactive steps.  

• Be realistic, achievable, and understood by the 
parent/caregiver. 
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• Specify roles and expectations of pertinent individuals involved 
in the plan.  

• Be modified as other safety concerns arise. 

• Build on the strengths of the parent/caregiver.  

Safety plans must be documented within a social work contact and 
uploaded into the electronic case management system. 

Temporary 
Voluntary 
Arrangements 

As part of a safety plan during CPS involvement, a parent or a 
legal guardian may decide to allow their child(ren) to temporarily 
stay with the other parent, a relative, or a friend, as the parent 
determines appropriate and/or as part of the parent's safety plan.  

In such circumstances, discussions of a temporary voluntary 
arrangement must be led by a parent or legal guardian; and 
the decision to change, extend, or stop the arrangement rests 
with the parent. During a temporary voluntary arrangement, case 
managers and/or temporary caregivers may not restrict a parent's 
physical custody or access to their child(ren). Temporary voluntary 
arrangements are meant to be short-term and should not be used 
in lieu of court involvement or removal. 

A parent’s right to care and custody of their children must not be 
restricted without the parent’s consent or court involvement. 
Restricting these parental rights would be a violation of that 
parent’s 14th Amendment rights. Restricting a parent's clearly 
established right to the companionship and care of their children 
without arbitrary government interference is a violation of the Due 
Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. 

When safety concerns exist that do not necessitate court 
involvement, and the parent secures a temporary voluntary 
arrangement for their child(ren), the case manager must ask the 
parent to sign the MDHHS-5433, Temporary Voluntary 
Arrangement, and upload the form into the documents section 
within the electronic case management system.  

Like any other safety plan established during CPS involvement, 
case managers must continuously monitor the effectiveness of the 
safety plan, verify the child(ren)'s continued safety, and assist the 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B706FF0C3-2D36-45B5-AD79-6510807923F9%7D&file=MDHHS-5433.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B706FF0C3-2D36-45B5-AD79-6510807923F9%7D&file=MDHHS-5433.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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family with any additional services and supports needed. When 
there is no longer a need for the temporary voluntary arrangement, 
the case manager must notify the family, and document this in a 
social work contact. If there is a need to extend the timeframe of 
the temporary voluntary arrangement, a Family Team Meeting 
(FTM) must be held to determine next steps. For information on 
FTMs, see PSM 714-1, Post-Investigative Services. 

NOTE: The parent(s) has the right to end a temporary voluntary 
arrangement. If this occurs, the case manager must immediately 
assess the safety of the child(ren) and request an FTM to 
determine next steps. 

Screened Out Referrals 

The case manager must review screened out referrals to determine 
if any new or additional safety planning may be needed based on 
screened out allegations. 

The case manager must document in a social work contact the 
following:  

• Intake ID(s) of screened out allegations. 

• Acknowledgement that new allegations have been reviewed. 

• Whether additional safety planning is needed. 
SERVICE 
PROVISION 

When a child(ren) can remain safely in their own home with 
services, include caregivers in coordinating services that build on 
caregiver strengths. Identify and implement services that will 
adequately prevent harm to the child(ren) by supporting the family. 
Intensive home-based services should be made available to 
families within 24 hours to alleviate risk and stabilize the family. 

Services may be continued without initiating legal action if a 
child(ren) can remain in their own home safely, and the caregivers 
are willing and able to voluntarily participate in services to improve 
conditions for the child(ren).  

Relative care and/or other family resources may provide support to 
parents as they improve their skills and work with services; see 
PSM 714-1, Post-Investigative Services, Servicing Engagement 
section. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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COLLATERAL 
CONTACTS 

Collateral contacts should be made to thoroughly assess referral 
allegations regarding the child(ren)'s safety. Examples of 
individuals who may be able to provide pertinent information are: 

• Witnesses to the alleged abuse/neglect. 

• Relatives and friends. 

• Non-parent adults. 

• Teachers/other school staff. 

• Medical provider(s). 

• Mental health provider(s). 

• Neighbors. 

• Reporting person(s). 

• Service providers. 

Case managers should request reports from law enforcement, 
mental health providers, physicians, emergency medical services 
(EMS), and other entities, when applicable, to the investigation. 
Reports should be summarized in a social work contact and 
uploaded into the document section within the electronic case 
management system. 

Requesting 
Medical and Mental 
Health Record 
Information  

The Child Protection Law, the Public Health Code (MCL 333.2640 
& 333.16281) and the Mental Health Code (MCL 330.1748a) 
provide the legal authority and obligation for medical and mental 
health providers to share their records with CPS during an 
investigation of suspected child abuse or neglect, even without the 
client's consent. 

CPS must request the records in writing, using the DHS-1163-M, 
Children's Protective Services Request for Medical Information, or 
DHS-1163-P, Children’s Protective Services Request for Mental 
Health Information. The DHS-1555, Authorization to Release 
Confidential Information, can also be utilized to request medical 
information that is not pertinent to the CPS investigation. 

Note:  The DHS-1163-M, Children's Protective Services Request 
for Medical Information, may only be used to obtain a child's 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2A95C096-D68A-4E16-ACF4-36CD25E839DF%7D&file=1163-M.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2A95C096-D68A-4E16-ACF4-36CD25E839DF%7D&file=1163-M.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B390EFED7-BFDB-4552-BC5A-901BE4FF72A8%7D&file=1163-P.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B390EFED7-BFDB-4552-BC5A-901BE4FF72A8%7D&file=1163-P.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BE024E470-C381-4895-B119-33C31A2C38D7%7D&file=1555-cs.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BE024E470-C381-4895-B119-33C31A2C38D7%7D&file=1555-cs.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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medical information. To obtain medical information for an adult, the 
DHS-1555 must be utilized. 

Medical and mental health providers shall release pertinent medical 
and mental health records to CPS case managers involved in an 
investigation within 14 days after receipt of the request for such 
records. 

If the medical provider denies the written request, the local CPS 
office must send a copy of the denied request to the Child Welfare 
policy mailbox(Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov). Include in the 
subject line of the email: denied medical records request.  

In an emergency, the local CPS office may request assistance in 
obtaining records from the local prosecuting attorney and Family 
Division of Circuit Court. 

OBSERVATION OF 
HOME 
ENVIRONMENT 

Case managers must view the primary residence of the alleged 
victim child(ren), as well as the location where the alleged abuse 
and/or neglect occurred, if applicable. If the allegations are about 
the conditions of the home, case managers must document home 
observations in a social work contact in the electronic case record.  

Safe Sleep 

The sleep environment of child(ren) under 12 months of age must 
be observed and documented. Infants under 12 months should not 
sleep on couches, inflatable mattresses, or in a bed with adults or 
other children. Infants should sleep alone in a crib, portable 
crib, bassinet or pack ‘n play (play yard) with only a firm mattress 
and tightly fitted sheet for every sleep time. No pillows, blankets, 
comforters, stuffed animals, or other objects should be in the 
infant's sleep area. Car seats, swings and other sitting devices are 
not recommended for routine sleep.   

Case managers must discuss safe sleep practice with the 
parent/caregiver. If items needed for safe sleep are not available in 
the home, case managers should assist the family with obtaining 
needed items. This should be documented in a social work contact 
in the electronic case record.  

mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2/safe-sleep-for-your-baby/sleeping-safely/sleepers/cribs
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2/safe-sleep-for-your-baby/sleeping-safely/sleepers/portable-cribs
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2/safe-sleep-for-your-baby/sleeping-safely/sleepers/portable-cribs
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2/safe-sleep-for-your-baby/sleeping-safely/sleepers/bassinets-and-cradles
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2/safe-sleep-for-your-baby/sleeping-safely/sleepers/play-yards
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2
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HISTORY/TRENDS 

Case managers must document a thorough search of 
history/trends, on all the following investigation persons for every 
investigation: 

• Legal parent(s) of the alleged child(ren) victim(s) where they 
were an alleged or confirmed perpetrator or child victim.  

• Putative parent(s) of the alleged child(ren) victim(s) where they 
were an alleged or confirmed perpetrator or child victim.  

• Legal guardian(s) of the alleged child(ren) victim(s) where they 
were an alleged or confirmed perpetrator or child victim. 

• Alleged or confirmed perpetrators(s). 

• Alleged or confirmed child(ren) victim(s).  

Note:  Documentation of history/trends must clearly state each 
individual that a search was completed on, including prior legal 
names, maiden names, and aliases. 

Assessment of history/trends must address the following areas: 

• Number of previous investigations, categories, and timeframes. 

• Previous court involvement and out of home placements. 

• Broad trends/patterns for all previous child welfare cases. 

• Previous service referrals and participation in services. 

• Overall strengths and barriers for the family. 

• Relationship between previous cases and current case. 

• This includes an assessment of history of the 
legal/putative parent/legal guardian as both an alleged or 
confirmed perpetrator and/or child victim. 

• Central registry information for the following:  

• Legal and putative parent(s) of the alleged child(ren) 
victims. 

• Legal guardian(s) of the alleged child(ren) victim(s). 

• Alleged or confirmed perpetrators(s). 
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Note:  If a central registry clearance was completed as part of a 
preliminary investigation, case managers may use these results for 
history/trends. For information on preliminary investigations; see 
PSM 712-1, CPS Intake.   

If applicable, out of state history must also be assessed for all 
alleged perpetrators in any state in which residency is reported 
within the previous 10 years. All results for the above areas must 
be documented and detailed in the history/trends tab of the 
electronic case record.  

New Investigations with Prior Central Registry (No due 
process date) Listing 

If the central registry inquiry reveals that a perpetrator listed on the 
registry does not have a due process date (a date appropriate 
notice provided) in the electronic case management system, the 
current investigator must provide notice. See PSM 713-13, Central 
Registry and Confirmed Perpetrator Notification, New CPS 
Investigation subsection for investigative persons notification 
process. 

CASE CONFERENCE 

Case conferences between the case manager and supervisor must 
occur at least once within 30 days of the date of the referral. When 
an extension is requested, a case conference must be held during 
each extension period. Case conferences must occur as often as 
necessary to ensure child safety and to develop and assess safety 
plans. Case conferences must be documented in a social work 
contact selecting supervision as the contact type and narrate only 
that the conference occurred.  

ADDITIONAL 
INVESTIGATION 
ACTIVITIES 

Additional investigation activities may be required, including: 

• Criminal history check for the following; SRM 700, Law 
Enforcement Information Network (LEIN): 

• On all alleged perpetrators and adults residing in the home 
of the alleged perpetrator when there are allegations of:  

 Sexual abuse. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/700.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/700.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks


PSM 713-01 22 of 31 
CPS INVESTIGATION - GENERAL 

INSTRUCTIONS 

PSB 2024-001 

3-1-2024 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

 Physical injury. 
 Sex or labor trafficking. 
 Domestic violence, and/or 
 Substance use, sales, or production. 

• On all household members when considering placement 
with non-custodial parents and relatives; see PSM 715-2, 
Court Intervention and Placement of Children.  

• During any investigation when the case manager believes 
a LEIN clearance will provide pertinent information. 

• Medical assessment; see PSM 713-04, Medical Examination 
and Assessment. 

• Plan of Safe Care; see PSM 716-7, Cases Involving 
Substances. 

Early On® 

As a requirement of the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act 
(CAPTA), 42 USC 5101 et. seq., case managers must refer all 
confirmed victims under the age of three to Early On in the 
following: 

• Cases classified as category I and II. 

• Cases in which the child(ren) was/were born affected by 
substances; see PSM 716-7, Cases Involving Substances for 
more information.   

Special consideration must be given to children under the age of 
three who have medical conditions which could impact child 
development. In these situations, regardless of the category, the 
child(ren) with an identified condition should be referred to Early 
On.  

The case manager must notify the family of the referral to Early On 
and ask the caregiver to sign the DHS-1555-CS, Authorization to 
Release Confidential Information. Completion of the DHS-1555-CS 
allows MDHHS to receive the Early On evaluation results and any 
plan for services, if applicable.   

Case managers should identify developmental, cognitive, social, 
emotional, and/or medical concerns of the child(ren) when 
completing the referral. Information regarding the family may be 
included in the general information section.   

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-04.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-04.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BE024E470-C381-4895-B119-33C31A2C38D7%7D&file=1555-cs.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BE024E470-C381-4895-B119-33C31A2C38D7%7D&file=1555-cs.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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TIME FRAME FOR 
COMPLETION OF 
INVESTIGATION  

Investigations must be completed within 30-calendar days from the 
department’s receipt of the referral unless an extension is granted.  

Extension Request 

In some situations, completing an investigation may require an 
extension of the 30-calendar day standard of promptness (SOP). 
When requesting an extension, case managers must document the 
reasons for the extension and submit an extension request prior to 
the end of the 30-calendar day SOP in the electronic case 
management system. Extensions are not to be approved solely 
for the purpose of meeting the SOP. Supervisory approval can 
only occur for the following circumstances: 

• Obtaining medical records, or a second medical opinion to 
verify an injury or medical condition. 

• Obtaining mental health evaluations, reports, or records 
necessary to reach an accurate case disposition.  

• Coordinating interviews with law enforcement necessary to 
reach an accurate case disposition.  

• Coordinating interviews with other states or counties necessary 
to complete a thorough investigation. 

Extensions which do not fall under these circumstances may be 
allowed, if reviewed and approved by the Children's Services 
Administration (CSA) senior deputy director or their designee. 
Before requesting the CSA senior deputy director's approval, case 
managers must complete and document all requirements detailed 
in section, Extension and Overdue Investigation Requirements in 
this item.  

The CSA senior deputy director or their designee's approval of an 
extension must be documented in the supervisor approval section 
in the electronic case record as well as in social work contacts, and 
the approval, such as an email approval, must be scanned and 
uploaded to the document section.  
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Extension and 
Overdue 
Investigation 
Requirements 

Case managers requesting an investigation extension, or for 
investigations going overdue (without an extension request), must 
complete all the following within 30-calendar days from the date of 
the referral, and within every 30-days thereafter: 

• Face-to face contact with each alleged child victim(s). 

• Safety assessment.  

• Contact with parent/caregiver(s) of each victim. 

Note:  For extension requests, a face-to-face contact with each 
alleged child victim(s) must have occurred within 7 business days 
prior to supervisory approval of the extension.  

Case managers must continually assess the need to implement or 
revise any safety plans to ensure child safety throughout the 
remainder of the investigation.  

Extension Approval 

If an extension of the 30-calendar day investigation is requested, 
the extension must be reviewed and approved by a supervisor.   

PHOTOGRAPHS 

Case managers may take photographs to capture evidence for an 
investigation. Taking photographs of injuries or conditions is a 
preferred practice for documenting evidence. Case managers must 
not take photographs of the child's genitalia, buttocks, or breasts of 
children, at any age. Case managers may only accept photographs 
from law enforcement and/or medical professionals. If photographs 
of injuries to these areas are needed for evidence, they must be 
taken by medical personnel during a medical examination. Case 
managers may consult with medical professionals to request that 
photographs of injuries to these areas be taken.  

All photographs taken for the purpose of the investigation must be 
uploaded into the document section of the electronic case record. 
Supervisors must review all photographs prior to approving an 
investigation extension or disposition. 
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COMPLETION OF 
INVESTIGATION  

The investigation must include the systematic, objective, and un-
biased examination of facts and evidence which support the 
determination that a confirmation of child abuse and/or child neglect 
exists or does not exist. 

No Preponderance 
or Evidence of 
Abuse/Neglect 

If child abuse or child neglect is not confirmed, the case must be 
classified as a Category IV or V. A no evidence decision (Category 
V) is appropriate for investigations where all allegations were based 
on false or erroneous information, or the family cannot be located. 

 

 

 

 

 
Preponderance of 
Evidence of 
Abuse/Neglect 

If evidence of child abuse or child neglect is confirmed, the case 
must be classified as a Category I, II, or III. 

Five Category 
Disposition 

MCL 722.628d defines the five CPS investigation categories and 
the department’s required response for each. The decision tree 
below is a guide to the five category dispositions and the 
department’s required response; see PSM 711-4, CPS Legal 
Requirements and Definitions. 

For those cases that require the perpetrator be listed on central 
registry; see PSM 713-13, Central Registry and Confirmed 
Perpetrator Notification. 

 

FIVE CATEGORY DISPOSITION DECISION MAKING TREE: 
 

 

      
Category V  

Referral based on false information or unable to locate 
family. No services required.  

No evidence of abuse or 
neglect  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Case must be escalated to a Category I  

Yes 

                 

 

                                              

 

 

 

 

                                              

 

       

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Category I 

Petition required. Provide 
required services to the 

family.   

.   

Category IV  

Assist the family in voluntarily participating in 
community-based services.  

High or intensive risk level  

Must consider reclassifying case as a 
Category II 

Low or moderate risk level 

Category II 

Must open a child protective services case 
and provide services. 

 

Category III  

Must assist the family in receiving 
community-based services.  

 

The family refuses services or has not made any progress with services and there is 
continued and/or heightened risk of harm to the child.  

No preponderance of 
abuse or neglect 

Is the child 
unsafe or is there 

a basis for a 
petition? 

Preponderance of 
abuse or neglect 

No  
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Perpetrator 
Notification 

A person who has been confirmed for child abuse and/or child 
neglect must be appropriately notified within 30 calendar days of 
the investigation approval date they will be placed on central 
registry; or, they are a perpetrator of a confirmed case of child 
abuse and/or child neglect which does not warrant placement on 
the central registry. Some investigations may require both a DHS-
847a and DHS-847c be sent to an individual perpetrator. If an 
individual is confirmed for multiple maltreatments, but only some 
result in placement on central registry, the DHS-847a must be sent 
for the central registry placement(s) and the DHS-847c for the 
confirmed maltreatment(s) that do not result in central registry 
placement. 

For notification requirements, see Notification Requirements and 
Timeframes in PSM 713-13, Central Registry and Confirmed 
Perpetrator Notification. 

Notification to 
Mandated Reporters 

If the person who made the report to CPS is a mandated reporter, 
the case manager must generate and mail the DHS-1224, 
Complaint Source Notification Letter, to the mandated reporter 
within 24 hours of approval of investigation disposition (MCL 
722.628(16)).  

Case managers must document sending the DHS-1224 in a social 
work contact without identifying the reporting source. The DHS-
1224 form must be saved in the electronic case record and 
uploaded to the document section within the investigation tasks 
screen. 

ABBREVIATED 
INVESTIGATIONS 

Case managers may consider conducting an abbreviated 
investigation in the following situations: 

• Unable to locate family/child victim(s). 

• After an interview or contact with the child victim(s) and any 
other information gathered confirms the referral is without any 
factual basis.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B6B31C9E2-B23E-4DC6-AB74-CC67B035062E%7D&file=1224.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B6B31C9E2-B23E-4DC6-AB74-CC67B035062E%7D&file=1224.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B6B31C9E2-B23E-4DC6-AB74-CC67B035062E%7D&file=1224.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B6B31C9E2-B23E-4DC6-AB74-CC67B035062E%7D&file=1224.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B6B31C9E2-B23E-4DC6-AB74-CC67B035062E%7D&file=1224.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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An abbreviated investigation means that a full investigation with all 
investigative policy requirements was not conducted and will result 
in a Category V disposition. Case managers must submit a request 
for supervisory approval in the electronic case record. All 
abbreviated investigations must also be routed for review by the 
local office director.  

Note:  If there is reason to believe the referral is without factual 
basis prior to completing interviews with the children, parental 
consent must be obtained prior to completing any interviews; see 
Contact with Children section in this item.  

Required Activities 

Case managers must enter all the following for an abbreviated 
investigation: 

• Referral to law enforcement/prosecutor's office, if required; see 
PSM 712-3, Coordination with Prosecuting Attorney and Law 
Enforcement. 

• Face-to-face contact with the child victim(s). 

• History/trends. 

• Contact with school personnel if child is interviewed at school. 
The parent or caregiver must be notified if the child was 
interviewed at school.  

• Social work contacts demonstrating any case activity 
completed. 

• All appropriate sections in the electronic case management 
system including disposition. 

• Notification to mandated reporter, if applicable. 

DOCUMENTATION IN 
THE ELECTRONIC 
CASE 
MANAGEMENT 
SYSTEM  

The electronic case management system is utilized for 
documenting all actions taken in a CPS investigation. Case 
managers must complete/update all applicable tabs within the 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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investigation module of the electronic case management system. 
This includes, but is not limited to, the following sections: 

• Investigation persons. 

• Petitions for removal. 

• Allegations/findings. 

• Safety Assessment. 

• Risk Assessment. 

• Create households. 

• Social work contacts. 

• Exception/Extension Requests. 

• Documents. 

• Disposition questions. 

• Disposition summary. 
Social Work 
Contacts 

Enter all contacts, either successful or unsuccessful, into the 
electronic case record. Case managers must enter all social work 
contacts into the electronic case record within five business days. 

Social work contacts should document statements, evidence, and 
engagement with the family as well as other actions taken by the 
case manager to investigate the allegations and address the safety 
of the child. Social work contacts must also support information 
provided within the disposition summary.  

All social work contacts with accompanying narratives will pre-fill 
onto the DHS-154, Children's Protective Services Investigation 
Report. 

Disposition 
Summary 

Case managers must document the following in the disposition 
summary: 

• Allegations investigated. 

• Investigation disposition (preponderance/no preponderance). 

• Names of the alleged and/or confirmed perpetrator(s) and 
alleged and/or confirmed victim(s).  

• Steps taken in the investigation including: 
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• Verification of the safety and whereabouts of all children 
listed in investigation persons.  

• Interviews with adults.  

• Observations of the home and/or scene of alleged 
abuse/neglect. 

• Any documentation obtained to support the conclusion 
(medical reports, police reports, etc.).  

• How the relevant facts/evidence obtained during the 
investigation led to case outcome.   

• The category disposition, the risk level, and any applicable 
overrides applied.  

• The names of individuals added to central registry and the 
confirmed case type, if applicable. 

• Any services recommended, offered, or referred, if applicable. 

• Any safety plans developed with the family. 

• If a petition was filed and rationale.  

Submission for 
Approval of 
Investigation  

Upon completion of an investigation meeting policy and legal 
requirements, the case manager must submit the case for 
supervisory approval. Supervisors may return the case with 
corrections if additional steps need to be taken. Corrections must 
be completed by the case manager in a timely manner to ensure 
the investigation is approved within 14-calendar days of initial 
submission for approval of the investigation.  
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DHS-154, 
Children's 
Protective 
Services 
Investigation 
Report 

The DHS-154, Children's Protective Services Investigation Report, 
is the report used to detail the action completed in the electronic 
case management system for an investigation. Once approved, the 
DHS-154 must be generated, saved, and the signature page of the 
report signed and uploaded into the document section of the 
electronic case record.  

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov). 

mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

In cases of suspected child abuse or neglect, a medical 
examination assists with identifying, documenting, and interpreting 
injuries or potential medical conditions and helps determine the 
child's treatment needs.  

DEFINITIONS 

Medical Practitioner 

A physician or physician's assistant licensed or authorized to 
practice under part 170 or 175 of the public health code, MCL 
333.17001 to 333.17088 and MCL 333.17501 to 333.17556, or a 
nurse practitioner licensed or authorized to practice under section 
172 of the public health code, MCL 333.17210. 

OBJECTIVES OF A 
MEDICAL 
EXAMINATION 

The objectives of a medical examination are to: 

• Obtain treatment and medical care for the child.  

• Obtain professional medical documentation of an injury or 
medical condition. 

• Obtain an accurate medical diagnosis and treatment plan for 
an injury or medical condition. 

• Obtain a medical opinion as to whether an injury appears to be 
intentional or accidental. 

• Obtain a medical opinion as to whether an injury or medical 
condition is consistent with any provided explanation. 

• Collect and preserve potential evidence. 
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PROCEDURE 
 
Situations 
Requiring a 
Medical Exam 

Case managers must request a medical examination for all alleged 
or suspected child victims when any of the following apply:  

• Allegations of sexual abuse.  

• Allegations or indication the child has been seriously or 
repeatedly physically injured as a result of abuse and/or 
neglect.  

• The extent of the alleged abuse or neglect could cause unseen 
injuries (such as internal injuries or brain injuries).  

• There is indication the child suffers from malnourishment. 

• There is indication the child may need medical treatment. 

• The child has been exposed to or had contact with 
methamphetamine production.  

• An infant who is not mobile and has marks or bruises. 

• The child has an injury, and the parent, child, or caregiver has 
provided an explanation of the injury that is not credible or is 
suspicious. 

• The child has unusual bruises, marks, or signs of extensive or 
chronic physical injury. 

• The child has an injury and appears to be fearful of 
parent(s)/caregiver(s) or exhibits characteristics, such as 
anxiousness or being withdrawn.  

• The child has an injury alleged or suspected to be from abuse 
and the parent/caregiver/alleged perpetrator has previously 
been found to be a perpetrator of severe physical injury/serious 
physical harm. 

In investigations involving a child fatality in which abuse and/or 
neglect is the suspected cause, case managers must also request 
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medical exams for any siblings or other child(ren) residing in or 
visiting the perpetrator's home.  

Exception:  This requirement does not apply to investigations in 
which the child fatality is attributed solely to unsafe sleep and there 
are no concerns for abuse and/or neglect of any other children.  

See PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, for more 
information on investigations involving a child fatality.  

Medical Examinations for Alleged Sexual Abuse 

Evaluate the following when determining whether a medical 
examination is needed: 

• Do allegations or the information gathered indicate the child 
has been sexually abused and/or is at risk for a sexually 
transmitted infection through body fluid contact? 

• Has the alleged incident occurred within 120 hours? 

• Is the child experiencing physical symptoms, injury, or 
complaints? 

• What type of incident is alleged/reported to have occurred, and 
will the medical evaluation provide value regarding the type of 
contact alleged to have occurred? For example, sexual 
penetration versus grabbing of breasts over clothing. 

If the answer to any of these questions is yes, the case manager 
must seek parental agreement to take the child for a medical exam. 
If a medical exam is not requested in a case involving allegations of 
sexual abuse, the case manager must document the reason(s) why 
in a social work contact. 

If the case manager is uncertain whether to request an 
examination, the case manager should contact their supervisor as 
well as a medical practitioner with experience in sexual abuse 
examinations to determine if an exam is recommended. If 
recommended by the medical practitioner, the case manager must 
request a medical exam. Contact with medical professionals and 
the results of any medical examinations must be documented in 
social work contacts. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Medical Examination for Methamphetamine Production 

If a child is exhibiting symptoms suspected to be the result of 
exposure to methamphetamine production, the case manager must 
immediately request consent from the parent or legal guardian to 
obtain a medical exam. Symptoms may include: 

• Respiratory distress/breathing difficulties. 

• Red, watering, burning eye(s). 

• Chemical/fire burns. 

• Altered gait (staggering, falling). 

• Slurred speech. 

When a child is not actively displaying symptoms but has been 
found to have been exposed to methamphetamine production, a 
case manager must request a medical exam within four hours. 
Case managers should work with parents to obtain medical 
examinations in imminent situations. In situations when it is not 
feasible to obtain parental consent, case managers must seek 
medical assistance for the child(ren) exhibiting symptoms.  

Parental Consent 
for Medical 
Examination 

A parent/legal guardian has the right to withhold consent to a 
medical examination of their child. The case manager must engage 
the parent/legal guardian by taking the following steps: 

• Clearly explain the basis for the recommendation for a medical 
examination and seek input on reservations and/or ways to 
address any immediate needs to ensure child safety. 

• Engage the parent/legal guardian in decisions regarding the 
medical examination. For example: 

• Ask if they would like a support person present during the 
examination.  

• Ask who they prefer perform the medical examination; see 
who should do a medical examination. 

• Assist in making transportation arrangements. 

• Accompany the family to the examination. 
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If consent is still not granted, the case manager must contact their 
supervisor. If the case manager and supervisor determine a 
medical exam or second opinion is required to determine child 
safety, the case manager must seek a court order, MCL 
722.626(3). The petition should explain the basis for the suspected 
abuse and/or neglect and the need for a medical examination. For 
information on filing a petition; see PSM 715-3, Family Court: 
Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders. 

To seek a court order during regular court hours, the case manager 
must file a petition setting forth the basis for suspected abuse 
and/or neglect and need for a medical examination.   

During after-hours (nights, weekends, and/or holidays), the case 
manager must contact the judge or other designated court official to 
request the order.  

Note:  If the court refuses to authorize an after-hours medical 
examination, the case manager must continue the investigation 
without the medical examination and follow-up by filing a petition 
seeking a court order on the next business day.  

Medical Examination Without Court Order 

In accordance with MCL 722.626(3)(a) and (b), a case manager 
must obtain a medical examination without a court order in the 
following situations: 

• The child’s health is seriously endangered, and a court order 
cannot be obtained. 

• The child is displaying symptoms suspected to be the result of 
exposure to or contact with methamphetamine production. 

If a medical examination without a court order is required and the 
child needs to be transported to receive the examination, and there 
is no parent or legal guardian who is available to accompany the 
child, the case manager must have law enforcement or an 
ambulance transport the child. 

Who Should 
Conduct a Medical 
Examination 

Whenever possible, a medical examination should be performed by 
a medical practitioner who:  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Has experience and expertise in interviewing and examining 
child victims of abuse/neglect. 

• Specializes in child-sexual-abuse medical examinations, when 
available (for sexual abuse allegations). 

• Is able to provide opinion as to whether an injury is consistent 
with any provided explanation. 

• Is willing to collect all relevant medical evidence and document 
medical facts. 

• Is willing to provide court testimony.  

Initial Consultation 
with Medical 
Professional 

Case managers must consult with a medical practitioner 
immediately when an examination is needed. Consultation 
should include the child's parent whenever feasible. When 
contacting the medical practitioner, case managers should request 
an examination of the child and provide the following information: 

• The reason the medical examination is being requested. 

• The reason(s) for suspicion of abuse and/or neglect. 

• All known health/medical information regarding the child and 
family. 

• Any additional pertinent case information including: 

 History of alleged and confirmed abuse/neglect. 
 Household/family makeup. 
 Home environmental factors. 
 Parent's behavior toward the child. 
 Explanations provided for an injury. 

Case managers must make efforts to speak directly with the 
examining medical practitioner; however, if the medical practitioner 
is not available, the case manager may provide the information to a 
professional at the medical facility and provide case manager 
contact information for any questions the medical practitioner may 
have. Attempts must be made throughout the duration of the 
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investigation to speak to the examining medical practitioner. Efforts 
must be documented in social work contacts.  

If there are bruises, marks, or injuries present that have not been 
photographed due to visual assessment restrictions, the case 
manager must request the practitioner take photographs during the 
exam; see PSM 713-01, CPS General Instructions and Checklist. 

Results of a 
Medical 
Examination 

A case manager must contact the medical practitioner or other 
medical professional familiar with the medical exam, to have them 
interpret the medical-examination findings. Case managers should 
ask the medical practitioner if the medical examination findings are 
consistent with the caregiver's explanation. If the findings or 
implications are unclear, the case manager must seek clarification. 

See PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - General Instructions, for 
more information on requesting medical records.  

Payment for the 
Medical 
Examination 

Payment for the medical examination is presumed to be the 
parent's responsibility. Case managers should request the parent 
use their private health insurance plan, pay out of pocket, or apply 
for Medicaid Assistance (MA), if eligible. If MA eligibility exists, the 
provider should bill the MA program. 

If the department initiated a diagnostic medical examination and 
payment is not available from a third-party, and the parent is unable 
to pay, the case manager must make arrangements with the 
hospital, clinic or physician and add a DHS-93, Examination 
Authorization/Invoice for Service, under the Case Services tab of 
the ongoing module in the electronic case record to obtain payment 
by the department. For more information on payment; see SRF 
800, DHS-93 Medical Service Authorization, or SRF 801, DHS-93 
Medical Service Authorization Fee Schedule. 

Note:  Payment for inpatient hospitalization or treatment may not 
be authorized using the DHS-93. Costs for these services are paid 
by MA or are the parent's responsibility. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRF/800.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRF/800.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRF/801.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRF/801.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Second Opinion 

Case managers have the discretion to seek a second medical 
opinion during a children's protective services (CPS) investigation. 
If an exam has not already been completed by a pediatric child 
abuse specialist, case managers should seek a second medical 
opinion in the following situations when initial medical findings are 
inconclusive: 

• Medical findings conflict with other information or evidence, 
such as statements by the child or a witness or evidence of 
injuries.  

• An immobile child was injured. 

• Occurrence of bruising in uncommon locations, such as the 
abdomen, ears, neck, away from bony prominences or 
protuberances. 

• Burns on children under 3 years of age. 

Referral Requirements 

The referral for a second medical opinion must include the following 
information: 

• A statement informing the medical practitioner they are being 
asked to re-examine and evaluate the child or review medical 
records. 

• The reason for the second opinion. 

• All the information required in the Consultation with Medical 
Professionals for a Medical Examination section, in this item. 

• All medical information/records obtained through the 
investigation. 

If a second opinion is required but not obtained, the case manager 
must document in a social work contact and in the disposition 
questions, the reason a second opinion was not obtained.  

Process 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
county offices must reach out to local and regional medical 
professionals with appropriate qualifications for medical 
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examination of child abuse and neglect to determine a process of 
obtaining a second opinion.  

If a Child Abuse Medical Expert Resource list is needed to identify 
qualified medical professionals; see Medical Resources for Child 
Protection. 

For payment of a second opinion, see payment of medical 
examination section in this item.  

Conflicting 
Opinions  

When conflicting medical opinions exist, case managers may 
consult with a pediatric specialist or physician in their region who 
has experience assessing child abuse/neglect. 

CASE RECORD 
DOCUMENTATION  

Contact with medical professionals and any requests for medical 
records must be documented in social work contacts. In 
investigations where a medical examination is requested, case 
managers must also provide a summary of the details of the 
request and outcome of the medical examination within the 
disposition question on medical examinations.  

Any forms requesting medical records, as well as any medical 
reports or photographs obtained during the investigation, must be 
scanned and uploaded to the case record. Supervisors must review 
all medical reports and photographs prior to extension request or 
approval of disposition. 

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child-
Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov. 

 

  

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/keep-mi-healthy/child-welfare-medical-resources
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/keep-mi-healthy/child-welfare-medical-resources
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
requires case action, engagement or assessment for situations 
which may require additional or special investigative steps, in 
addition to standard investigation steps outlined in PSM 713-01, 
CPS Investigation - General Instructions and Checklist. Among 
others, special investigative situations include investigations 
involving domestic violence, child fatalities, and human trafficking.  

NEW CHILD BORN 
TO PARENT WITH 
CHILDREN IN OUT 
OF HOME 
PLACEMENT 

Case managers must assess the safety and risk to new children in 
a home where siblings have been removed and are in out of home 
placement. Specific facts and evidence should demonstrate if the 
safety and risk factors that resulted in the previous court action(s) 
have been resolved.  

Case managers must also complete a DHS-3, Sibling Placement 
Evaluation, when a new child is born to a parent who currently has 
children in foster care as a result of child abuse/neglect court 
action.  

DHS-3, Sibling 
Placement 
Evaluation  

The following situations require completion of the DHS-3, Sibling 
Placement Evaluation: 

• When a case manager files a petition with the Family Division 
of Circuit Court requesting the removal of one or more 
child(ren), but one or more child(ren) will remain in the home.   

• A new child is born into a home where one or more of the 
siblings are currently in foster care and the new child will 
remain in the home.   

The DHS-3 must be approved by the Children's Protective Services 
(CPS) supervisor, foster care supervisor and second line 
supervisor. The DHS-3 must document how the children remaining 
in the home are safe and any service provision and/or safety 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BEC25FFD1-7138-4F38-82C0-E6CF89FF99E1%7D&file=0003.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BEC25FFD1-7138-4F38-82C0-E6CF89FF99E1%7D&file=0003.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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planning to ensure the continued safety of the child(ren) in the 
home.  

GUARDIANSHIPS/ 
POWER OF 
ATTORNEY 

During a CPS investigation, another caregiver may obtain a 
guardianship for a child under investigation as a victim of abuse 
and/or neglect. A parent may also arrange a Power of Attorney 
(POA) for care of their child during an investigation. If a 
preponderance of evidence of abuse and/or neglect exists, 
appropriate services should still be referred/recommended to 
address the needs of the family. 

A guardianship or POA does not replace a thorough and complete 
CPS investigation.  

Intent to Adopt 

When a case manager is informed of a parents' intent to have a 
new child adopted, the case manager must verify and document: 

• The adoption process has commenced. 

• The child's prospective adoptive placement.  
WHEN A CHILD IS 
HOME ALONE 

When an investigation involves allegations that a child was 
inappropriately left home alone, case managers should assess and 
consider the following: 

• The child’s level of functioning.  

• What is the child’s maturity level? 

• Does the child exhibit developmentally appropriate 
decision making?  

• Does the child have special needs?  

• Does the child have physical, emotional, or mental 
limitations that place them at risk when home alone?  
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• Is the child involved with the juvenile justice system or 
does the child display behavior that may lead to 
involvement in the juvenile justice system? 

• The situation in which the child is left alone.  

• Is the child vulnerable because of the time of day they are 
left alone?  

• Is the length of time a factor?  

• Is the child left alone often, every day or occasionally? 

• Have the persons responsible for the child’s health and 
welfare developed a safety plan and appropriate 
procedures for emergency situations the child understands 
and can carry out?  

• Is the child responsible for caring for other children? If so, 
can the child do so appropriately?  

• Does the child have access to an adult, and is that adult 
aware of this and able to assist as necessary?  

• Has the child been given responsibilities that will 
compromise their safety or the safety of others? 

• The child's emotional response to being left alone. 

• Is the child fearful, anxious, or emotionally distressed? 

Case managers cannot enter a home without an adult present. See 
PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - General Instructions, for more 
information. 

SIBLING-ON- 
SIBLING OR CHILD- 
ON-CHILD 
VIOLENCE 

For investigations involving sibling-on-sibling or child-on-child 
violence or sexual activity, case managers must determine: 

• If the parent/caregiver is aware the alleged violence or sexual 
activity is occurring. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• If the parent/caregiver is responding appropriately to protect all 
children. 

It is not appropriate to confirm child abuse and/or neglect when the 
parent/caregiver is aware and is acting to protect or is willing to act 
but does not know what resources are available.  

Case managers must document steps the parents/caregiver have 
agreed to take to ensure the safety of the children in the home, 
including but not limited to: 

• Assuring appropriate sleeping arrangements for all household 
members. 

• Parental understanding of the situation and willingness to 
believe that protection is needed. 

• Adequacy of alternative care. 

• Parental plans to respond to further incidents. 

• Other community agency involvement, treatment, or 
informal/formal supports. 

• Assessment of whether clinical intervention is needed for the 
family. 

• Determination of whether the victim child can protect 
themselves. 

• Determination of whether the victim child is aware of what to 
do if threatened again. 

• Assessment of family dynamics or prior trauma that needs to 
be professionally addressed. 

Note:  Children may not be confirmed as the perpetrator of abuse 
or neglect unless they are the parent to a child victim.  

CHILD DEATH 

Case managers must seek the assistance of and cooperate with 
law enforcement when a referral includes allegations that abuse 
and/or neglect may be the cause of the child’s death or in referrals 
involving a sudden and unexplained infant death; see PSM 712-3, 
Coordination With Prosecuting Attorney and Law Enforcement. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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The DHS 2096, Child Death Investigation Checklist, is an optional 
but useful tool for case managers to use when investigating a child 
fatality.  

In conjunction with law enforcement, case managers must observe 
the scene (at the home or the location other than the home) where 
the alleged abuse/neglect occurred or where the child was found 
unresponsive/deceased. Objects alleged to have been involved 
should also be observed and photographed. 

Case managers should be aware of services or supports the family 
may need including: 

• Burial/financial assistance. 

• Grief counseling. 

See SRM 172, Child/Ward Death Alert Procedures and 
Timeframes, for proper reporting of the death of a child who is 
subject to a current CPS case or is a court ward. 

Sudden and Unexplained Infant Death Investigation 

A parent(s)/caregiver's knowledge of the tenants of infant safe 
sleep and lack of following them does not, in and of itself, constitute 
child abuse and/or neglect. When an investigation involves a 
sudden and unexplained infant death, evidence of the following 
should be considered and may affect the case disposition: 

• Substance use - the parent/caregiver was under the influence 
of alcohol or substances, and their behavior or judgment was 
severely impaired and adversely affected their ability to safely 
care for the infant. Decision making for investigations involving 
substances is outlined in PSM 716-7, Case Involving 
Substances. 

• Placing a child at unreasonable risk of harm - person 
responsible knowingly left the child in the care of a person 
known to abuse and/or neglect a child, a person whose known 
violence, alcohol or drug use, or serious mental health concern 
impacted their ability to care for the child, or a person 
responsible allowed or failed to prevent access to the child by 
perpetrator(s) of crimes involving injuries against children when 
the person responsible knows or should have known of the 
crime(s). 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B0F00C9BB-83D2-48B5-A455-07EC125A204A%7D&file=2096.DOT&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-7.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Hazardous environment - the environmental conditions in the 
home were hazardous or unsanitary and met criteria for 
neglect.  

DOMESTIC 
VIOLENCE 

The presence of domestic violence in a home does not support 
confirmation of abuse and/or neglect without identified harm or 
likely harm to the child. The factors below, in addition to all other 
information and evidence, must be considered prior to reaching a 
disposition.  

For guidance regarding cases involving incidents of alleged or 
previously confirmed domestic violence, case managers should 
refer to the MiTEAM Manual Appendix A: Domestic Violence Guide 
for Caseworkers.   

Investigation 
Requirements  

When domestic violence is a factor, the case manager must 
interview the alleged domestic violence offender, the non-offending 
parent/partner, and alleged child victim(s) separately.  

Regardless of the disposition, in all cases where domestic violence 
is a factor, case managers must: 

• Engage and consult with the non-offending parent/partner to 
develop a safety plan, which may include the following and will 
vary based on the severity of the domestic violence incident.  

• Identifying formal and informal supports.  

• Accessing relevant services.  

• Identifying a code word with the child(ren) or support 
person to signal when there may be an incident of 
domestic violence.  

• Having a plan in place for what the child(ren) are to do 
when the code word is used. For example, going to the 
neighbor's home or calling 911.  

https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/MiTEAM_Practice_Model_Manual_535451_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/mdhhs/MiTEAM_Practice_Model_Manual_535451_7.pdf
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• Suggest compiling an emergency resource bag with 
important documents and personal belongings to have 
ready in case the family needs to leave the home quickly.  

• Provide the non-offending parent/partner with information 
about local domestic violence shelters and other local services, 
supports, or resources that may assist the family. 

Domestic Violence Assessment  

Assessment of the following applicable factors should be 
considered and documented throughout the investigation to 
determine impact on child safety as a result of domestic violence 
and what services should be provided to the family: 

• The domestic violence offender’s pattern of coercive control, 
including specific behaviors (violent and non-violent) and their 
frequency, severity, and impact on child safety. 

• The domestic violence offender’s history of domestic violence, 
including interventions or services to address and status of 
such interventions (such as successfully completed, did not 
participate, etc.). 

• The role of substance use, mental health, culture, and other 
socio-economic factors on child safety. 

• Strengths and protective strategies/interventions that the non-
offending parent/partner uses to promote the safety and well-
being of the child(ren). 

• Adverse impacts, including trauma, on the child(ren) due to the 
domestic violence offender’s behavior.  

• Is an effective safety plan in place? 

• Engagement with social supports (family, community 
members, neighbors, etc.). 

• The extent to which the offender takes responsibility for and 
understands the impact of their actions on child safety and 
well-being. 

• The ability of the non-offending parent to keep the children 
safe.  
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Reaching a 
Disposition  

Case managers will need to determine if harm has occurred or 
highly probable to occur without intervention, outside of whether the 
child was present during the domestic violence incident. When 
determining the disposition in cases where domestic violence is a 
factor, the following can be considered:  

• Was the child injured during the domestic violence incident? Or 
has the alleged perpetrator made any threats toward the child? 

• Did the child attempt to intervene during the domestic violence 
incident?  

• Does the child express fear or concern about the domestic 
violence in the home, if able to be interviewed? 

• Has the child experienced any significant changes in social or 
emotional behavior consistent with the incidents of domestic 
violence? Does the child seem withdrawn or have a regression 
in functioning? 

• Is there a consistent pattern of coercive control or physical 
violence in which the child(ren) are harmed or likely to be 
harmed? Or is the pattern of control or violence escalating? 

• Is the non-offending parent able to describe or utilize strategies 
to keep the children safe? 

• What efforts has the non-offending parent made to strengthen 
family functioning?  

• Have any weapons been used during incidents of domestic 
violence or to threaten members of the household?  

BIRTH MATCH 

The automated birth match system that notifies Centralized Intake 
(CI) when a child is born to a parent who previously had parental 
rights terminated in a child protective proceeding, caused the death 
of a child due to confirmed abuse and/or neglect or had been 
manually added to the birth match list.  

A person’s name must be manually added to the birth match list in 
serious child abuse/neglect cases when termination of parental 
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rights will not be requested or ordered. Examples of when this may 
occur include, but are not limited to: 

• A nonparent adult is the perpetrator of child abuse/neglect, and 
the abuse/neglect includes any of the factors under MCL 
722.638(1)(a): 

• Abandonment of a young child. 

• Criminal sexual conduct involving penetration, or assault 
with intent to penetrate. 

• Battering, torture, or other serious physical harm.  

• Loss or serious impairment of organ or limb.  

• Life threatening injury.  

• Murder or attempted murder.  

• A parent is the perpetrator of child abuse/neglect, and the 
abuse/neglect includes any of the factors under MCL 
722.638(1)(a) and the actions did not result in termination of 
parental rights.  

To request manual addition of person’s name to the birth match list, 
email the following information to Child-Welfare-
Policy@michigan.gov: 

• Name of individual to be placed. 

• Date of birth of individual to be placed. 

• Associated investigation ID. 

• Specific reason for the request, including the concern for future 
risk to children. 

• CPS policy office will review the information and determine 
whether the person should be added to the birth match list. 

VOLUNTARY 
FOSTER CARE  

Voluntary foster care placement may be used as a service for fami-
lies when the regular caregivers must be absent on a short-term 
basis from the childcare role for reasons beyond their control (e.g., 

mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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hospitalization, incarceration, residential treatment). Voluntary 
foster care must not be used as an alternative/substitute for court 
ordered foster care placement when out-of-home care is needed for 
protection. For more information on voluntary foster care, see FOM 
722-1 Foster Care-Entry Into Foster Care, Voluntary Foster Care 
Placement, and NAA 230, Voluntary Placement if the child is an 
Indian child.  

COORDINATION 
WITH FRIEND OF 
THE COURT  

MCL 722.628(18-21) details required cooperation between the 
department and Friend of the Court in child abuse/neglect cases. 
Case managers must inquire with parents if there is a Friend of the 
Court case regarding a child who is suspected of being abused or 
neglected.  

When it is determined there is an open Friend of the Court case, 
the DHS-1450, How to Change a Custody or Parenting Time Order, 
must be provided to the non-custodial parent of a child who is 
suspected of being abused or neglected. If the DHS-1450 was not 
provided when required, the case manager must document the 
reason why in the social work contacts. 

Case managers must complete the DHS-729, Confidential Notice to 
Friend of the Court of CPS Disposition and Court Action, when 
there is an open Friend of the Court case regarding a child victim if 
an investigation of child abuse and child neglect allegations result 
in any of the following: 

• A preponderance finding. 

• Emergency removal of the child from the home due to child 
abuse and/or neglect, prior to completion of the investigation. 

• The family court takes jurisdiction on a petition and a child is 
maintained in their own home under the supervision of the 
department. 

• If one or more children residing in the home are removed and 
one or more children remain in the home.  

• Any other circumstances that are applicable and relate to child 
safety.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/230.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BFA77E515-1A59-438C-BA24-BED2DAE452B1%7D&file=1450.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BFDE7640C-1501-4B7C-9305-B8B21E7C8E8C%7D&file=0729.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BFDE7640C-1501-4B7C-9305-B8B21E7C8E8C%7D&file=0729.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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The DHS 729 must be sent within five business days of any of the 
above actions.  

ACCEPT AND LINK 

When a new referral containing allegations meeting screen in 
criteria that are not essentially the same instance of child abuse or 
neglect already screened in for investigation, or already known to 
the investigator, the investigation may be screened in as accept 
and link. Centralized Intake staff will accept and link intakes that are 
received within the first fifteen days of the active investigation. All 
policy requirements must be completed for both the initial 
investigation, and the accept and link referral.  

The following policy requirements for the accept and link referral 
must be completed within the designated timeframes: 

• Commencement. 

• Face-to-face contact with the alleged victim(s) identified in the 
accept and link referral.  

• Contact with parent(s)/guardian(s), identified perpetrator(s) and 
any other adults required by policy. 

• Any other policy required contacts or activities, dependent 
upon investigation details (for example, medical professional, 
medical exam, law enforcement, etc.). 

See PSM 713-01, CPS - General Instructions for more information 
on required face-to-face contact with children and adults in an 
investigation.  

If face-to-face contact has already been completed under the initial 
referral for children, parents or caregivers, case managers must 
complete these activities again for the accept and link referral to 
address the new allegations and safety plan, if necessary.  

Notification and Assignment 

If a referral is screened in through accept and link, the assigning 
case manager, the case manager assigned to the initial 
investigation and their supervisor will be notified by email from CI. If 
the assigned case manager is not available to complete 
commencement or face-to-face contact with the victim, the 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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supervisor notified of the assign and link referral must complete 
them or delegate these activities to an available case manager.  

The on-call case manager will be notified of the assignment for 
completion of required case activities including commencement and 
face-to-face contact with the alleged child victim(s), according to 
priority response criteria. The on-call case manager is responsible 
for additional action as needed to assess and address child safety. 

Accept and Link Steps 

Case managers must add accept and link alleged maltreatments 
and findings to the allegation/finding tab in electronic case record, 
and include a summary of the following in the disposition narrative: 

• Allegations for the initial and the accept and link referral(s). 

• Findings and dispositions for each alleged maltreatment. 

• A summary of investigation activities for the initial and accept 
and linked allegations.  

ACCOMMODATION 
FOR DEAF/HARD OF 
HEARING AND NON-
ENGLISH-SPEAKING 
CLIENTS 

MDHHS is responsible for providing information and assistance to 
applicants and recipients of department programs who are deaf 
and/or hard of hearing. See the SRM 401, Effective Communication 
for Persons Who are Deaf, Deaf/Blind, or Hard of Hearing.  

Applicants and recipients of department programs are to be 
informed the department will arrange and pay for the cost of a 
bilingual interpreter to be present at all interviews and situations 
where an interpreter is necessary and appropriate. See SRM 402, 
Limited English Proficiency and Bilingual Interpreter Services, for 
more information on how to arrange and pay for a bilingual 
interpreter. 

Accommodation in 
Emergency 
Situations 

When an accommodation is not readily available during an 
emergency situation, case managers should consider the following 
options: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/401.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/401.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/402.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/402.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Seek assistance of a support person who can communicate 
with the individual.  

• Utilize any available communication (such as writing or 
telephone-based interpretation). 

Case managers must assess the safety of any alleged child victims 
and safety plan in investigations involving person(s) who need 
accommodation. Follow-up must occur as soon as possible utilizing 
an effective means of communication. 

HUMAN 
TRAFFICKING 

 
Definitions  

Sex Trafficking 

Sex trafficking is the action of subjecting a child to the recruitment, 
harboring, transportation, provision, patronizing, or soliciting for the 
purposes of a commercial sex act. Trafficking may involve an 
exchange of goods or psychological responses. Offenders may 
exchange love, friendship, protection, or attention to a child while 
an exchange of goods could include money, drugs, jewelry, 
clothing, food, shelter, or transportation. 

Labor trafficking  

The recruitment, harboring, transportation, provision, or obtaining of 
a person for labor as a result of force, fraud, coercion, or 
manipulation. Labor trafficking can include, but is not limited to, 
domestic servitude, forced labor in restaurants or salons, forced 
agricultural labor or debt bondage.  

The alleged perpetrator of the trafficking does not need to meet 
criteria for person responsible for assignment. The department can 
investigate trafficking conditions regardless of role or status of the 
alleged perpetrator when law enforcement requests assistance to 
respond to the youth's trauma.  

Note:  In order to make a finding, the perpetrator must be found to 
be a person responsible. 
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Overview  

The MDHHS' Human Trafficking of Children Protocol was 
developed to guide case managers in assisting children who are 
victims of human trafficking. The protocol focuses on protecting 
children and maintaining their safety in the community. The protocol 
has the following goals: 

• Provide a coordinated investigative team approach while 
minimizing trauma to the victim. 

• Provide protection and the delivery of specialized services to 
the child victim and family members. 

• Provide cross-professional training to promote understanding 
of the unique dynamics and challenges of child sex trafficking 
and labor trafficking. 

• Provide options for responding when a child has been 
identified as the victim of human trafficking. 

Note:  Whenever a referral alleging human trafficking is screened 
in for investigation or identified after case assignment, coordination 
with law enforcement is required; see PSM 712-3, Coordination 
With Prosecuting Attorney and Law Enforcement. 

For assignment or confirmation: 

• A trafficking event does not need to occur. Offenders may 
behave in a way that creates a substantial likelihood that the 
child will be sexually exploited. 

• The alleged perpetrator of the trafficking does not need to meet 
criteria for person responsible for assignment. When law 
enforcement requests assistance, the department can 
investigate trafficking conditions regardless of role or status of 
the alleged perpetrator. 

Authority 

The Preventing Sex Trafficking and Strengthening Families Act, 
P.L. 113-183.  

Trafficking Victims’ Protection Act. 

 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/HumanTraffickingProtocol.pdf?rev=11762f4c57a048e8b20ef29cfa3eba60&hash=04FFC5E788F576FBF2E90C4FD3722BEF
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/HumanTraffickingProtocol.pdf?rev=11762f4c57a048e8b20ef29cfa3eba60
chrome-extension://efaidnbmnnnibpcajpcglclefindmkaj/https:/www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/HumanTraffickingProtocol.pdf?rev=11762f4c57a048e8b20ef29cfa3eba60
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OVERVIEW 

Case managers evaluate child safety, risk, strengths, and needs 
through use of assessment tools. These assessments assist case 
managers with decision making and provision of services with goals 
for promoting safety and well-being of children and their families.  

Assessments included in this item are: 

• Safety Assessment. 

• Risk Assessment. 

• Risk Re-assessment. 

• Threatened harm assessment. 

• Family Assessment of Strengths and Needs (FANS). 

• Child Assessment of Strengths and Needs (CANS). 
SAFETY 
ASSESSMENT 

The Safety Assessment is a structured decision-making tool 
designed to identify: 

• Imminent safety concerns for a child. 

• Protective interventions initiated. 

• An overall safety decision. 
When to Complete 
the Safety 
Assessment 

The Safety Assessment is completed in the electronic case record 
and must be completed at or near the end of the investigation when 
sufficient evidence and information has been collected to accurately 
complete the tool.  

Exception:  A Safety Assessment is not required in abbreviated 
investigations, except those in which the Family Division of Circuit 
Court is asked to order family cooperation in the investigation but 
declines, and the family still will not cooperate with Children's 
Protective Services (CPS). 

Immediate Harm 
Factors 

For each immediate harm factor, identify the presence or absence 
of each factor by checking either yes or no. If the response is yes, 
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an explanation is required within the narrative to provide facts from 
the investigation relating to the factor.  

When assessing the immediate harm factors below, the word 
serious denotes an elevated level of concern regarding child safety. 

Number 1 

Caretaker(s) caused serious harm to the child and/or made a 
plausible threat to cause serious physical harm in the current 
investigation, indicated by: 

• Severe injury or abuse to child other than accidental. 

• Caretaker(s) caused severe injury (defined as an injury to 
the child that requires medical treatment or hospitalization 
and that seriously impairs the child’s health or physical 
well-being). 

• Threat to cause harm or retaliate against child. 

• A threat of action which would result in serious harm (such 
as kill, starve, lock out of home, etc.), or plans to retaliate 
against child for CPS investigation. 

• Excessive discipline or physical force. 

• Caretaker(s) has used torture, physical force or acted in a 
way which bears no resemblance to reasonable discipline, 
or punished child beyond the duration of the child’s 
endurance. 

• Potential harm to child as a result of domestic violence. 

• The child was previously injured in domestic violence 
incident. 

• The child exhibits severe anxiety (such as nightmares, 
insomnia) related to situations associated with domestic 
violence. 

• The child cries, cowers, cringes, trembles, or otherwise 
exhibits fear as a result of domestic violence in the home. 

• The child is at potential risk of physical injury and/or the 
child’s behavior increases risk of injury (such as 
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attempting to intervene during violent dispute, participating 
in the violent dispute). 

• Caretaker(s) use guns, knives, or other instruments in a 
violent, threatening and/or intimidating manner. 

• There is evidence of property damage resulting from 
domestic violence. 

• One or more caretaker(s) fear they will maltreat child. 

• Alcohol/drug exposed infant. 

• Alcohol or substances found in the child’s system. 

Number 2 

Caretaker(s) has previously maltreated a child in their care, and the 
severity of the maltreatment or the caretaker(s) response to the 
previous incident AND current circumstances suggest that child 
safety may be an immediate concern. There must be both current 
immediate threats to child safety and related previous maltreatment 
that was severe and/or represents an unresolved pattern of 
maltreatment.  

• Prior death of a child. 

• As a result of maltreatment. 

• Previous maltreatment that caused severe harm to any child. 

• Previous maltreatment by the caretaker(s) that was 
serious enough to cause severe injury (defined as an 
injury to the child that requires medical treatment or 
hospitalization and that seriously impairs the child’s health 
or physical well-being). 

• Prior termination of parental rights.  

• One or more caretaker(s) had parental rights terminated 
as a result of a prior CPS investigation; see PSM 715-3, 
Family Court: Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders, the 
Mandatory Petition-Request for Termination of Parental 
Rights section. 

• Prior removal of any child. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• One or more caretaker(s) had a prior removal of any child, 
either formal placement by CPS staff or informal 
placement with friends or relatives. 

• Prior confirmed CPS case. 

• Prior threat of serious harm to child.  

• Previous maltreatment that could have caused severe 
physical injury, retaliation or threatened retaliation against 
a child for previous incidents, prior domestic violence 
which resulted in serious harm or threatened harm to a 
child or escalating pattern of maltreatment. 

Number 3 

Caretaker(s) fails to protect child(ren) from serious harm or 
threatened harm.  

• Live-in partner found to be a perpetrator. 

• Caretaker(s) fails to protect child from serious physical 
harm or threatened harm as a result of physical abuse, 
neglect or sexual abuse by other family members, other 
household members or others having regular access to 
the child. 

Number 4 

Caretaker(s) explanation of any injury is unconvincing, and the 
nature of the injury suggests that the child’s safety may be of imme-
diate concern. 

• Medical exam shows injury is result of abuse or neglect; care-
taker(s) offers no explanation, denies, or attributes to accident. 

• Caretaker(s) explanation for the observed injury is inconsistent 
with the type of injury. 

• Caretaker(s) description of the causes of the injury minimizes 
the extent of harm to the child. 

• Caretaker(s) and/or collateral contacts’ explanation for injury 
has significant discrepancies or contradictions. 
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Number 5 

The family refuses access to the child, or there is reason to believe 
that the family is about to flee, or the child’s whereabouts cannot be 
ascertained. 

• Family currently refuses access to the child and cannot or will 
not provide child’s location. 

• Family has removed child from a hospital against medical 
advice. 

• Family has previously fled in response to a CPS investigation. 

• Family has history of keeping child at home, away from peers, 
school, other outsiders for extended periods. 

• Family refuses to cooperate or is evasive. 

Number 6 

Child is fearful of caretaker(s), other family members, or other peo-
ple living in or having access to the home. 

• Child cries, cowers, cringes, trembles, or exhibits or verbalizes 
fear in front of certain individuals. 

• Child exhibits anxiety, nightmares, insomnia related to a situa-
tion associated with a person in the home. 

• Child fears unreasonable retribution/retaliation from care-
taker(s), others in home or others having access to the child. 

Number 7 

Caretaker(s) does not provide supervision necessary to protect 
child from potentially serious harm. 

• Caretaker(s) present but child wanders outdoors alone, plays 
with dangerous objects or on window ledges, etc. 

• Caretaker(s) leave(s) child alone (period of time varies with 
age and developmental stage). 

• Caretaker(s) makes inadequate/inappropriate childcare 
arrangements or plans very poorly for child’s care. 
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• Parent(s) whereabouts are unknown. 

Number 8 

Caretaker(s) does not meet the child’s immediate need for food, 
clothing, shelter, and/or medical or mental health care. 

• No housing/emergency shelter; child must sleep in the street, 
car, etc.; housing is unsafe, without heat, etc. 

• No food provided or available to child, or child starved/deprived 
of food/drink for long periods. 

• Child without minimally warm clothing in cold months. 

• Caretaker(s) does not seek treatment for child’s immediate 
medical condition(s) or follow prescribed treatments. 

• Child is malnourished. 

• Child has exceptional needs which parent(s) will not meet. 

• Child is suicidal, and parent(s) will not take protective action. 

• Child exhibits effects of maltreatment, such as emotional 
symptoms, lack of behavior control or physical symptoms. 

Number 9 

Child’s physical living conditions are hazardous and immediately 
threatening based on the child’s age and developmental stage. 

• Leaking gas from stove or heating unit. 

• Dangerous substances or objects left accessible. 

• Lack of water, heat, plumbing, electricity, or provisions are 
inappropriate, such as stove/space heaters. 

• Open windows; broken/missing windows. 

• Exposed electrical wires. 

• Excessive garbage or rotted or spoiled food, which threatens 
health. 
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• Serious illness/significant injury due to current living conditions 
and these conditions still exist, such as lead poisoning, rat 
bites, etc. 

• Evidence of human or animal waste throughout living quarters. 

• Guns and other weapons are not stored in a locked or inacces-
sible area. 

Number 10 

Caretaker(s)’ current substance use seriously affects their ability to 
supervise, protect, or care for the child. 

• Caregiver(s) has abused legal or illegal substances or 
alcoholic beverages to the extent that control of their actions is 
significantly impaired. As a result, the caregiver is unable, or 
will likely be unable, to care for the child; has harmed the child; 
or is likely to harm the child. 

Number 11 

Caretaker(s)’ behavior toward child is violent or out-of-control. 

• Behavior that indicates a serious lack of self-control, such as 
reckless, unstable, raving, explosive, etc. 

• Behavior, such as scalding, burning with cigarettes, forced 
feeding, killing or torturing pets, as punishment. 

• Extreme action/reaction, such as physical attacks, violently 
shaking or choking, a verbal hostile outburst, etc. 

• Use of guns, knives, or other instruments in a violent and/or 
out -of-control manner. 

Number 12 

Caretaker(s) describes or acts toward child in predominantly nega-
tive terms or has extremely unrealistic expectations. 

• Caretaker(s) describes child in a demeaning or degrading 
manner, such as evil, possessed, stupid, ugly, etc. 

• Caretaker(s) curses and/or repeatedly puts child down. 
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• Actions by the caretaker(s) may occur periodically, but overall 
form a negative image of the child. 

• Caretaker(s) scapegoats a particular child in the family. 

• Caretaker(s) blames child for a particular incident or distorts 
child’s behavior as a reason to abuse. 

• The caregiver expects the child to perform or act in a way that 
is impossible or improbable for the child’s age or 
developmental stage (for example, babies and young children 
expected not to cry, expected to be still for extended periods, 
be toilet-trained, eat neatly, expected to care for younger 
siblings or expected to stay alone, etc.). 

• Caretaker(s) overwhelmed by a child’s dysfunctional 
emotional, physical, or mental characteristics. 

• Caretaker(s) view child as responsible for the caretaker(s) or 
family’s problems. 

Number 13 

Child sexual abuse is suspected, and circumstances suggest that 
child safety may be an immediate concern. 

• Suspicion of sexual abuse may be based on indicators such 
as: 

• The child discloses sexual abuse either verbally or 
behaviorally (for example, age-inappropriate or sexualized 
behavior toward self or others, etc.). 

• Medical findings consistent with sexual abuse. 

• Caregiver(s) or others in the household have been 
convicted, investigated, or accused of rape or sodomy, or 
have had other sexual contact with the child. 

• Caregiver(s) or others in the household have forced or 
encouraged the child to engage in sexual performances or 
activities (including forcing child to observe sexual 
performances or activities). 
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• Access to a child by possible or confirmed/known sexual 
abuse perpetrator exists. 

Number 14 

Caretaker(s)’ emotional stability seriously affects current ability to 
supervise, protect, or care for child. 

• Caregiver(s)’ inability to control emotions impedes ability to 
parent the child. 

• Caregiver(s)’ refusal to follow prescribed medications impedes 
ability to parent the child. 

• Caregiver(s)’ inability to control emotions impedes ability to 
parent the child. 

• Caregiver(s) acts out or exhibits a distorted perception that 
impedes their ability to parent the child. 

• Caregiver(s)’ depression impedes their ability to parent the 
child. 

• Due to cognitive delay, the caregiver(s) lacks the basic knowl-
edge related to parenting skills such as: 

• Not knowing that infants need regular feedings. 

• Proper diet. 

• Adequate supervision. 

• Failure to access and obtain basic/emergency medical 
care. 

Number 15 

Other (specify). 

• Specify other factors that are present that impact the child’s 
safety. 

Safety 
Interventions  

A protecting intervention is a safety response taken by staff or oth-
ers to address the unsafe situation identified in the assessment. 
These interventions help protect the child from present or imminent 
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danger. A protecting intervention must be in place if any safety 
factor is indicated. 

If one or more safety factors are present, it does not necessarily 
indicate that a child must be placed outside the home. In many 
cases, a temporary plan will mitigate the safety factor(s) sufficiently 
so that the child may remain in the home while the investigation 
continues. Consider the relative severity of the safety factor(s), the 
caregiver(s)’ protective capacities and response to the 
investigation/situation, and the vulnerability of the child when 
identifying protecting interventions. 

For each safety factor identified, consider the resources available in 
the family and the community that might help to keep the child safe. 
Check each protecting intervention taken to protect the child and 
explain in the narrative. Describe all protecting safety interventions 
taken and explain how each intervention protects (or protected) 
each child. 

Number 1 

Monitoring or direct services by MDHHS worker. 

Number 2 

Use of family resources, neighbors, or other individuals in the com-
munity as safety resources. 

Number 3 

Use of community agencies or services as immediate safety 
resources (check one). 

• Intensive home-based. 

• Other community services. 

Number 4 

Recommend that the alleged perpetrator leave the home, either 
voluntarily or in response to legal action. 

Number 5 

Recommend that the non-maltreating caretaker move to a safe 
environment with the child. 
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Number 6 

Recommend that the caretaker(s) voluntarily allow the child to stay 
outside the home. 

Number 7 

Other. 

Number 8 

Legal action must be taken which may include a recommendation 
to place child outside the home. 

Protecting Interventions Narrative 

Case managers must explain all protecting interventions regardless 
of association with a safety factor. If there are safety factors 
present, there must be protecting interventions described within the 
narrative box. 

Initiating Legal Action Narrative  

If a case manager is initiating legal action, the case manager must 
explain why responses 1-7 could not be used to keep the child(ren) 
safe and describe the discussion with the caretaker(s) regarding 
placement.  

Service Refusal Narrative 

If services were recommended but caretakers refused to 
participate, describe the services that were offered. 

Safety Decision 

The electronic case record will compute a safety decision based on 
responses to the immediate harm factors.  

A.  Safe - Children are safe; no safety factors exist. 

B.  Safe with Services - At least one safety factor is indicated, 
and at least one protecting intervention has been put into place 
that has resolved the unsafe situation for the present time. 

C.  Unsafe - At least one safety factor is indicated, and placement 
is the only protecting intervention possible for the child. Without 
placement, the child will likely be in danger of imminent harm.  
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Injury to the Child 

Within this section, responses to the following items are required: 

Was any child injured in this case?  

• If yes, indicate the age of youngest child with most serious 
injury. 

• If yes, indicate what was the most serious injury to a child: 

 Death. 

 Hospitalization. 

 Medical treatment, but no hospitalization. 

 Exam only of alleged injuries. No medical treatment 
required. 

 Bruises, cuts, abrasions, or other minor injuries; no 
medical exam or treatment. 

RISK ASSESSMENT 

The Risk Assessment determines the level of risk of future harm to 
the children in the family. Interviews with the family should be struc-
tured to allow the case manager to discuss all risk and safety 
factors with the caretakers and complete the risk assessment 
following the conclusion of contacts with the family. Risk levels are 
intensive, high, moderate, or low, based on the scoring of the scale.  

In each case in which a preponderance of evidence of child abuse 
and/or neglect (CA/N) has been found, the risk level determines 
which category (Category II or III) the case must be classified. If a 
petition is filed, the case must be classified as a Category I, and the 
risk level must be either high or intensive. 

When to Complete 
a Risk Assessment 

The Risk Assessment must be completed for all required 
investigations when investigation activities (gathering of evidence, 
interviews, etc.) are completed and prior to disposition of the case.  
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A Risk Assessment is required on all assigned investigations with 
the following exceptions: 

• Supervisory approval is obtained to complete an abbreviated 
investigation on the referral. 

• There is a preponderance of evidence of CA/N and the 
perpetrator is one of the following:  

 A nonparent adult who resides outside the child’s home. (If 
there is also a perpetrator who resides in the child’s home, 
a risk assessment must be done (for example, mom is the 
primary caretaker and found to be a perpetrator of failure 
to protect and mom’s boyfriend, who is a nonparent adult 
who resides outside the child’s home, is a perpetrator of 
sexual abuse). 

 A licensed foster parent. (If a licensed foster parent is also 
a perpetrator of CA/N on their biological or adoptive 
children, a risk assessment must be completed and 
services provided, as required.) 

A Risk Assessment must be completed on the household where the 
alleged or confirmed perpetrator resides or for which services will 
be provided. If there is an alleged or confirmed perpetrator in both 
households or services will be provided to both households, a 
separate Risk Assessment must be completed on each household. 
Two households must not be combined on one Risk Assessment.  

If the department is requesting removal of the child from one parent 
and the child will be released to the other parent, either through a 
voluntary placement made by the custodial parent or a court order, 
a Risk Assessment must be completed on the other parent’s 
household within 24 hours or the next business day; see PSM 
715-2, Removal and Placement of Children. 

Note:  If the perpetrator cannot be located, a risk assessment 
should instead be completed on the household receiving services 
or where the child resides. If a perpetrator cannot be found to 
ascertain the information needed to complete a risk assessment, 
historical information should not be used to complete the risk 
assessment. Social work contact documentation must support 
those efforts to demonstrate why a risk assessment was not 
completed for the perpetrator’s household. If all the caregiver(s) 
and perpetrator(s) are uncooperative, complete the risk 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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assessment based on factual information ascertained from the 
current investigation (case contacts, collateral contacts, CPS 
history and trends, criminal history clearances, etc.). 

Primary and 
Secondary 
Caretaker  

A primary caretaker is the adult, usually the parent living in the 
household, who assumes the most responsibility caring for the 
child. When two adult caretakers are present and it is unknown 
which one assumes the most childcare responsibility, the adult 
legally responsible for the children should be selected. If this does 
not resolve the question, the legally responsible adult identified as a 
perpetrator should be selected.  

The secondary caretaker is defined as an adult living in the 
household who has routine responsibility caring for the child but 
less responsibility than the primary caregiver. A living-together-
partner (LTP) may be a secondary caretaker even though they 
have minimal responsibility for care of the child. The non-custodial 
parent is not a secondary caretaker unless that person is 
considered a member of the household. 

Risk Assessment 
Score 

The Risk Assessment calculates risk based on answers to the 
abuse and the neglect scales. The risk level is based on the higher 
score of either the abuse or neglect scales. After completion of the 
Risk Assessment, the case manager may determine if conditions 
exist for a mandatory or discretionary override; see override section 
in this policy item.  

Select one score for each question and provide an explanation for 
the selection if the question is scored as a risk factor.  

Neglect Scale 

N1. Current complaint and/or finding includes neglect. 

a. No. 
b. Yes, the current complaint includes allegations of 

neglect or a preponderance of evidence of neglect is 
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found to exist, even if not alleged in the current 
complaint. 

N2. Number of prior assigned neglect complaints and/or 
findings. 

 Count the number of prior assigned complaints for neglect 
(confirmed or denied) in which any adult household member 
identified in the current investigation was an alleged 
perpetrator.  

a. One or less. 
b. Two or more. 

N3. Number of children in the household. 

 The number of individuals under 18 years of age residing in 
the household at the time of the current complaint. If a child 
was removed as a result of the investigation or is on runaway 
status, count the child as residing in the household. If the child 
was removed from the household as the result of a previous 
investigation and the goal is reunification, count the child as 
residing in the household. If the child was removed as the 
result of a previous investigation and parental rights to that 
child were terminated or the goal is termination of parental 
rights, do not count the child as residing in the household. 

a. Three or less. 
b. Four or more. 

N4. Primary caretaker’s social support. 

 Relatives, friends, or neighbors are able to help when a care-
taker(s) or other adult is not functioning well and/or is in need 
of assistance to provide for the child’s safety and well-being. 
Relatives, friends, or neighbors have come forward to help 
when the family and child needed support, and/or the child 
needed placement. Relatives, friends, or neighbors have 
followed through on commitments in the past and provide 
ongoing support and assistance to the caretaker. 

a. The primary caretaker accesses or can access rela-
tives, friends, or neighbors for positive social support.  
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b. Limited or negative social support (check all that 
apply): 

__ No or limited supportive relationships with rela-
tives, friends, or neighbors. Caretaker does not, 
cannot, or will not access others for assistance in care 
for child when needed.  

__ Relatives, friends, or neighbors have a negative 
impact on caretaker. People that the caretaker uses 
for social support have a negative influence on the 
caretaker’s ability to provide for, protect, or supervise 
the child. Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 Encourages caretaker to physically discipline 
children when abuse has occurred, or abuse is 
a concern. 

 Encourages caretaker not to seek services. 

 Discourages the department’s attempts to 
assist the parent in a positive manner.  

 Encourages inappropriate parenting practices. 

N5. Primary caretaker is unable/unwilling to control impulses. 

a. No, the primary caretaker is able and willing to control 
impulses. 

b. Yes, the primary caretaker is unable and/or unwilling 
to control impulses. Examples include, but are not 
limited to: 

 Regularly acting without weighing alternatives or 
considering consequences. 

 Spur-of-the-moment actions, and/or heedless, self-
centered actions that regularly result in threatened or 
actual harm to the child. 

 A regular inability to delay gratification of personal 
needs to assume childcare responsibility. 

 Lashing out verbally (yells/screams, berates, uses 
hostile language, etc.) and/or physically (hits, shoves, 
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threatens violence, etc.) in response to (undesired or 
negative) actions of the child and/or others. 

N6. Primary caretaker provides inadequate physical care 
and/or inadequate supervision of child. 

a. No, the primary caretaker provides adequate physical 
care and supervision of child. 

b. One or both of the following is true (check all that 
apply): 

__ Provides inadequate physical care: The provision 
of physical care (the appropriate feeding, clothing, 
shelter, hygiene, and medical care) is inconsistent 
with and/or not appropriate for the child’s needs. 
There has been harm or threatened harm to the 
child's health and/or well-being due to the inadequate 
physical care. Examples include, but are not limited 
to:  

 Failure to obtain medical care for severe or 
chronic illness. 

 Repeated failure to provide child with clothing 
appropriate for the weather. 

 Poisonous substances or dangerous objects 
lying within reach of child. 

 Child’s clothing or hygiene causes negative 
social consequences for the child. 

__ Provides inadequate supervision: Supervision is 
inconsistent with and/or not appropriate for the child’s 
safety, resulting in threatened or actual harm to the 
child. 

N7. Primary caretaker currently has a mental health problem. 

a. No. 

b. Yes, in the past year, the primary caretaker has been 
assessed as needing, been referred for, or 
participated in mental health treatment. This includes, 
but is not limited to: 
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 DSM-IV-TR diagnosis by a mental health practitioner. 

 Repeated referrals for mental health/psychological 
evaluations. 

 Recommended or actual hospitalization for mental 
health problems. 

 Current or recommended use of psychotropic 
medication prescribed by mental health clinician (for 
example, physician, psychiatrist, etc.). 

N8. Primary caretaker involved in harmful relationships. 

 The primary caretaker is, or has been, involved in relationships 
that are harmful to domestic functioning or childcare within the 
past year. Include only domestic violence between caretakers 
or between a caretaker and another adult. Do not include par-
ent-child or child-child violence. 

a. No. 

b. Harmful relationship(s) or one domestic violence inci-
dent – Relationships with adults inside or outside the 
home that are harmful to domestic functioning. Examples 
include, but are not limited to: 

 Criminal activities. 
 Domestic discord. 
 One incident of physical violence and/or 

intimidation/threats/harassment. 

c. Multiple domestic violence incidents – Primary care-
taker is currently involved in a relationship (either as a vic-
tim or as a perpetrator) in which two or more incidents of 
physical violence or fighting and/or 
intimidation/threats/harassment have occurred. 

N9. Primary caretaker currently has a substance abuse prob-
lem. 

a. No. 

b. Yes, within the past year, the primary caretaker has, or 
had, a problem with alcohol and/or other drugs that 
interferes, or interfered, with the caretaker’s or the 
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household’s functioning. Examples include, but are not 
limited to: 

 Substance use has negatively affected caretaker’s 
employment, and/or marital or family relationships. 

 Substance use has negatively affected caretaker’s 
ability to provide protection, supervision, care, and 
nurturing of the child. 

 Substance use has led to criminal involvement. 

N10. Family is homeless, or children are unsafe due to housing 
conditions. 

a. No. 

b. Yes, one or more of the following is true (check all that 
apply): 

__ The family is homeless or about to be evicted 
(current eviction notice). 

__ Current housing is physically unsafe; not meeting 
the health and/or safety needs of the child. 
Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 Structural defects or is unsound. 

 Exposed wiring, inoperable heat, or plumbing. 

 Human/animal waste on floors that is due to 
failure to consistently clean or maintain the 
environment. 

 Rotten or rotting food due to failure to 
consistently clean or maintain the environment. 

 Disconnection of major utilities (gas, electric or 
water). 

N11. Primary caretaker able to put child’s needs ahead of own. 

a. Yes, the primary caretaker demonstrates ability to put 
child’s needs ahead of their own. 
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b. No, the primary caretaker makes choices or behaves 
out of self-interest rather than the best interest of the 
child and this has a negative effect on child safety and 
well-being. Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 Regularly does not make or keep appointments for 
the child that will interfere with caretaker’s social 
activities. 

 Ignores child when other adults are present. 

 Leaves the child with others for extended periods of 
time to pursue social activities. 

Abuse Scale 

A1. Current complaint and/or finding includes mental injury. 

a. No. 
b. Yes, the current complaint includes allegations of 

mental injury or a preponderance of evidence of men-
tal injury is found to exist, even if not alleged in the 
current complaint. 

A2. Number of prior assigned abuse complaints and/or find-
ings. 

 Count the number of prior assigned complaints for abuse 
(confirmed or denied) in which any adult household member 
identified in the current investigation was an alleged 
perpetrator. 

 a. None. 
b. One or two. 
c. Three or more. 

A3. Age of youngest child. 

 Indicate whether one or more children residing in the house-
hold at the time of the current complaint is age six years or 
younger. If a child was removed as a result of the investigation 
or is on runaway status, count the child as residing in the 
household. If the child was removed from the household as the 
result of a previous investigation and the goal is reunification, 
count the child as residing in the household. If the child was 
removed as the result of a previous investigation and parental 
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rights to that child were terminated or the goal is termination of 
parental rights, do not count the child as residing in the house-
hold. 

a. Seven years or older. 
b. Six years or younger. 

A4. Number of children in the household. 

 The number of individuals under 18 years of age residing in 
the household at the time of the current complaint. If a child is 
removed as a result of the investigation or is on runaway 
status, count the child as residing in the household. If the child 
was removed from the home as the result of a previous 
investigation and the goal is reunification, count the child as 
residing in the household. If the child was removed as the 
result of a previous investigation and parental rights to that 
child were terminated or the goal is termination of parental 
rights, do not count the child as residing in the household. 

a. Two or less. 
b. Three or more. 

A5. Either caretaker was abused and/or neglected as a child. 

a. No, neither caretaker was abused or neglected as a 
child. 

b. Yes, past records (CPS, foster care, etc.), self-report-
ing by the caretaker, credible statements by others, or 
other credible information indicates that either care-
taker was abused and/or neglected as a child. 

A6. Secondary caretaker has low self-esteem. 

a. No, secondary caretaker does not demonstrate low 
self-esteem or no secondary caretaker present in the 
household. 

b. Yes, secondary caretaker’s behavior and/or expres-
sions indicate feelings of inferiority/inadequacy and/or 
low self-esteem. Examples may include, but are not lim-
ited to: 

 Self-conscious behavior, self-doubting, or self-
abasing. 
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 Behavior/expressions demonstrating that caretaker 
feels that he/she is inadequate, inferior, unlovable, or 
unworthy. 

 Describes self as not being good enough for others, a 
loser, misfit, or failure. 

A7. Either caretaker is domineering and/or employs excessive 
and/or inappropriate discipline. 

 Consider the circumstances of the current complaint and past 
practices by either caretaker. 

a. No. 
b. Yes (check all that apply): 

__ Domineering: Either caretaker is domineering, indi-
cated by controlling, abusive, overly restrictive, or 
unfair behavior or over-reactive rules. 

__ Inappropriate discipline: Disciplinary practices 
caused harm or threatened harm to child because 
they were excessively harsh physically, emotionally, 
and/or were inappropriate for child’s age or 
development. Examples include, but are not limited 
to: 

 Persistent berating. 
 Belittling and/or demeaning the child. 
 Consistent deprivation of affection or emotional 

support to the child. 

A8. Either caretaker has current or a history of domestic vio-
lence. 

 Include only domestic violence between caretakers or between 
caretaker and another adult. Do not include parent-child or 
child-child violence. 

a. No, neither caretaker has current or past domestic 
violence. 

b. Yes, either caretaker is currently involved or has ever 
had involvement in relationships characterized by 
domestic violence (either as a victim or as a perpetra-
tor), evidenced by two or more incidents of physical 
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violence or fighting and/or intimidation/threats/harass-
ment. 

A9. A child in the household has one or more of the following 
characteristics. 

a. No child in the household has any of the below listed 
characteristics. 

 
b. Yes (check all that apply to any child in the household). 

__ Diagnosed developmental disability: 

 Intellectual Developmental Disorder. 
 Attention deficit disorder or ADHD. 
 Learning disability or any other significant 

developmental problem. The child may be in a 
special education class(es). 

__ History of Delinquency: Any child in the household 
has been referred to juvenile court for delinquent or 
status offenses or is an adjudicated delinquent. 
Include status offenses not brought to court attention, 
such as run-away children, habitual truants from 
school, and drug or alcohol problems. 

__ Mental health issue: Any child with any diagnosed 
mental health problem not related to a physical or 
developmental disability. 

__ Behavioral issue: Behavioral problems not related to 
a physical or developmental disability. Examples 
include, but are not limited to:  

 Problems at school as reported by school or 
caretakers. 

 Attendance in a special classroom for 
behavioral needs. 

A10.  All caretakers are motivated to improve parenting skills. 

a. All caretaker(s) are motivated or parenting skills are 
appropriate and no improvement needed. 
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b. Yes, caretakers are willing to participate in parenting 
skills program or other services to improve parenting 
or initiate appropriate services for parenting without 
referral by the department. 

c. No, one or both caretakers need to improve parenting 
skills but either: 

 Refuse services. 

 Agree to participate but indicate that parenting style 
will not change.  

 Agree to participate but history shows a pattern of 
uncompleted services when working with CPS or 
foster care. 

A11. Primary caretaker views incident less seriously than the 
department. 

a. No, the primary caretaker views the allegations/findings of 
abuse or neglect as serious or more serious than the 
department and/or accepts responsibility for investigated 
behaviors. 

b. Yes, there is evidence that the primary caretaker views 
the current allegations/findings less seriously than the 
department. Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 Justifying abuse and/or neglect of child. 
 Minimizing harm or threatened harm to child. 
 Blaming the child. 
 Displacing responsibility for the incident. 
 Downplaying the severity of the incident. 

Overrides 

Overrides to risk levels have been established to ensure the level of 
risk for a case accurately reflects the risk level for the children. The 
two types of overrides to the risk level are mandatory and 
discretionary overrides.  

Mandatory Overrides 

Mandatory overrides automatically override the risk level of the 
case to intensive, regardless of the initial risk level. Mandatory 
overrides are required for the following cases: 
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• Sexual abuse cases in which the perpetrator is likely to have 
immediate access to the child victim. 

• Cases with non-accidental physical injury to an infant except in 
situations of substance exposure to an infant. 

• Severe, non-accidental, physical injury requiring medical 
treatment or hospitalization and that seriously impairs the 
child’s health or physical well-being. 

• Death (previous or current) of a child/sibling as a result of 
abuse or neglect. 

Discretionary Overrides 

A discretionary override may be applied by the case manager to 
increase the risk level in any case in which it is determined the risk 
level set by the risk assessment is too low. This may occur when 
the case manager is aware of conditions affecting risk that are not 
captured within the items on the Risk Assessment and/or there are 
unique circumstances in the family that increases risk. 
Discretionary overrides must have supervisory approval and may 
only be used to increase the risk level by one risk level. 

RISK 
REASSESSMENT 

The Risk Reassessment must be completed on ongoing protective 
services cases; see PSM 714-4, CPS Updated Services Plan and 
Case Closure. 

Risk 
Reassessment 
Definitions 

R1. Number of prior assigned neglect complaints and/or find-
ings. 

 Count the number of prior assigned complaints for neglect 
(confirmed, denied, or found), in which the adult household 
member was an alleged perpetrator, prior to the complaint 
resulting in the current open case. 

a. One or less. 
b.  Two or more. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks


PSM 713-11 26 of 36 ASSESSMENTS 
PSB 2023-002 

8-1-2023 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

R2. Number of prior assigned abuse complaints and/or find-
ings. Count the number of prior assigned complaints for abuse 
of any type (sexual, physical, child maltreatment, or mental 
injury), confirmed, denied or found, in which the adult 
household member was an alleged perpetrator, prior to the 
complaint resulting in the current open case. 

a. None. 
b. One or two prior complaints. 
c. Three or more prior complaints. 

R3. Number of children in the household. 

 The number of individuals under 18 years of age residing in 
the household at the time the current complaint (which resulted 
in the current open case). If a child was removed as a result of 
the investigation or is on runaway status, count the child as 
residing in the household. If the child was removed from the 
household as the result of a previous investigation and the goal 
is reunification, count the child as residing in the household. If 
the child was removed as the result of a previous investigation 
and parental rights to that child were terminated or the goal is 
termination of parental rights, do not count the child as residing 
in the household. 

a. Three or less. 
b.  Four or more. 

R4. New confirmed complaints in the past ninety (90) days. 

a. No complaints have been received, or a complaint was 
received and rejected or assigned for investigation 
but was denied. 

b. Yes, a complaint was received, assigned for investi-
gation, and was confirmed. 

R5. Either caretaker has a current substance abuse problem. 

a. No. No problems with substances or has successfully 
completed treatment and shows no evidence of a current 
problem. 
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b. Yes. Either or both caretaker(s) is (are) abusing drugs 
and/or alcohol. This includes caretaker(s) who is (are) cur-
rently in a drug or alcohol abuse treatment program. 

c. Yes, and refuses treatment. Either or both caretaker(s) 
has(have) a current alcohol and/or drug problem; 
treatment has been offered or recommended and has 
been refused. 

R6. Family is, or children are, unsafe due to housing condi-
tions. 

a. No. 

b. Yes, one or more of the following is true (check all that 
apply): 

__ The family is homeless or about to be evicted 
(current eviction notice).  

__ Current housing is physically unsafe; not meeting 
the health and/or safety needs of the child. 
Examples include, but are not limited to: 

 Structural defects or is unsound. 

 Exposed wiring, inoperable heat, or plumbing. 

 Human/animal waste on floors that is due to 
failure to consistently clean or control other 
adults in the household, children, pets, etc. 

 Rotten or rotting food due to failure to 
consistently clean or control other adults in the 
household, children, pets, etc. 

 Disconnection of major utilities (gas, electric or 
water). 

R7. Primary caretaker is unable/unwilling to control impulses.  

a. No, the primary caretaker is able and willing to control 
impulses. 
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b. Yes, the primary caretaker is unable and/or unwilling 
to control impulses. Examples include, but are not 
limited to: 

 Regularly acting without weighing alternatives or 
considering consequences. 

 Spur-of-the-moment actions, and/or heedless, self-
centered actions that regularly result in threatened or 
actual harm to the child. 

 A regular inability to delay gratification of personal 
needs to assume childcare responsibility. 

 Lashing out verbally (yells/screams, berates, uses 
hostile language, etc.) and/or physically (hits, shoves, 
threatens violence, etc.) in response to (undesired or 
negative) actions of the child and/or others. 

R8. Primary caretaker provides inadequate physical care 
and/or inadequate supervision of child. 

a. No, the primary caretaker provides adequate physical 
care and supervision of child. 

b. One or both of the following is true (check all that 
apply):  

__ Provides inadequate physical care: The provision 
of physical care (the appropriate feeding, clothing, 
shelter, hygiene, and medical care) is inconsistent 
with and/or not appropriate for the child’s needs. 
There has been harm or threatened harm to the 
child's health and/or well-being due to the inadequate 
physical care. Examples include, but are not limited 
to:  

 Failure to obtain medical care for severe or 
chronic illness. 

 Repeated failure to provide child with clothing 
appropriate for the weather. 

 Poisonous substances or dangerous objects 
lying within reach of child. 
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 Child’s clothing or hygiene causes negative 
social consequences for the child. 

__ Provides inadequate supervision: Supervision is 
inconsistent with and/or not appropriate for the child’s 
safety resulting in threatened or actual harm to the 
child. 

R9. Either caretaker is in a violent domestic relationship. 

 Either caretaker is involved in relationships that are harmful to 
domestic functioning or childcare. Include only domestic vio-
lence between caretakers or between a caretaker and another 
adult. Do not include parent-child or child-child domestic vio-
lence. 

a. No. 
b. Yes. Either caretaker is currently involved in a relationship 

(either as a victim or as a perpetrator), in which incidents 
of physical violence or fighting and/or 
intimidation/threats/harassment have occurred. 

R10.  Primary caretaker’s progress in service plan and reduc-
tion of prioritized needs. 

 Evaluate the primary caretaker’s overall effort to reduce or 
resolve needs identified and scored on the family assessment 
of needs and strengths. The evaluation is based on worker 
assessment of the caretaker’s engagement in the plan; and the 
caretaker’s behavior in priority needs areas, determined by 
observing appropriate caretaker behaviors in caring for children 
in the home and/or interacting with children, service providers, 
and others, as well as reports from collateral sources. 

a. Demonstrates substantial progress in reducing all 
prioritized needs identified in the service plan. 

 The caretaker is actively engaged in services identified in 
the plan, and/or routinely (three-fourths or more of the 
time) demonstrates appropriate behaviors during interac-
tions with children, service providers, and others in all pri-
oritized needs areas. 
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b.  Demonstrates at least partial progress in all prioritized 
needs and substantial progress in one or more 
prioritized needs. 

 The caretaker routinely (three-fourths or more of the time) 
demonstrates appropriate behaviors in at least one area 
identified as a priority need and is engaged in services 
identified to meet that need.  

 In all other priority need areas, demonstrates appropriate 
behavior and engagement in services or service plan 
objectives often (half to three-fourths of the time). 

c. Demonstrates at least partial progress in two or more 
prioritized needs but has not shown substantial 
progress in any prioritized needs.  

 The caretaker often (half to three-fourths of the time) dem-
onstrates appropriate behaviors in two or more areas iden-
tified as a priority need.  

 In addition, caretaker is, at least half the time, engaged in 
services or meeting service plan objectives identified to 
meet those needs. Caretaker’s efforts may be inconsistent 
but occur at least half of the time. 

d. Demonstrates poor progress in reducing two or more 
of the prioritized needs. 

 The caretaker rarely (less than half of the time) demon-
strates or fails to demonstrate appropriate behaviors in 
two or more areas identified as a priority need, although 
partial or substantial progress may have been made in 
reducing one or more identified priority needs.  

 Caretaker is not meeting service plan objectives identified 
to meet prioritized needs or is not engaged in services or 
demonstrates service plan engagement less than half the 
time.  

e. Refuses involvement or fails to participate in the ser-
vice plan.  
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 The caretaker refuses or does not participate in services 
or service plan objectives necessary to address the priority 
needs identified in the case plan.  

R11. Secondary caretaker’s progress in service plan and 
reduction of prioritized needs. 

 Evaluate the secondary caretaker’s overall effort to reduce or 
resolve the priority needs identified and scored on the family 
assessment of needs and strengths. The evaluation is based 
on worker assessment of the caretaker’s engagement in the 
plan; and the caretaker’s behavior in priority needs areas, 
determined by observing appropriate caretaker behaviors in 
caring for children in the home and/or interacting with children, 
service providers, and others, as well as reports from collateral 
sources. 

a. Not applicable; only one caretaker in the household. 

b. Demonstrates substantial progress in reducing all 
prioritized needs identified in the service plan. 

 The caretaker is actively engaged in services identified in 
the plan, and/or routinely (three-fourths or more of the 
time) demonstrates appropriate behaviors during interac-
tions with children, service providers and others in all 
prioritized needs areas. 

c. Demonstrates at least partial progress in all prioritized 
needs and substantial progress in one or more 
prioritized needs.  

 The caretaker routinely (three-fourths or more of the time) 
demonstrates appropriate behaviors in at least one area 
identified as a priority need and is engaged in services 
identified to meet that need. 

 In all other priority need areas, demonstrates appropriate 
behavior and engagement in services or service plan 
objectives often (half to three-fourths of the time). 

d. Demonstrates at least partial progress in two or more 
prioritized needs but has not shown substantial 
progress in any prioritized needs. 
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 The caretaker often (half to three-fourths of the time) dem-
onstrates appropriate behaviors in two or more areas iden-
tified as a priority need.  

 In addition, caretaker is, at least half the time, engaged in 
services or meeting service plan objectives identified to 
meet those needs. Caretaker’s efforts may be inconsistent 
but occur at least half of the time. 

e. Demonstrates poor progress in reducing two or more 
of the prioritized needs. 

 The caretaker rarely (less than half of the time) demon-
strates or fails to demonstrate appropriate behaviors in 
two or more areas identified as a priority need, although 
partial or substantial progress may have been made in 
reducing one or more identified priority needs.  

 Caretaker is not engaged in services or is not meeting 
service plan objectives identified to meet those needs or 
demonstrates service plan engagement less than half the 
time. Evidence of poor progress includes a caretaker’s fail-
ure or refusal to attend services or work toward service 
plan objectives identified to address a priority need.  

f. Refuses involvement or fails to participate in the ser-
vice plan.  

 The caretaker refuses or does not participate in services 
or service plan objectives necessary to address the priority 
needs identified in the case plan. 

Overrides 

For more information overrides on a risk reassessment, see PSM 
714-4, CPS Updated Services Plan and Case Closure. 

THREATENED HARM 
ASSESSMENT 

In cases in which historical threatened harm is alleged, discovered, 
or confirmed, a threatened harm assessment must occur to 
demonstrate the historical information was assessed and 
considered in the current investigation.  

The case manager must assess all five areas including:  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Severity of past behavior. 

• Length of time since past incident. 

• Evaluation and benefit from services (including if conditions 
have been rectified). 

• Comparison between the past and current referrals. 

• Vulnerability of child(ren). 

Case managers must consider all information obtained from the 
assessment to comprehensively determine if threatened harm 
remains a factor for maltreatment, and/or to determine if legal 
action is needed; see PSM 715-3, Family Court: Petitions, Hearings 
and Court Orders for more information on potential mandatory legal 
action. 

Severity of Past Behavior 

A review of past behavior must be evaluated to assess severity. 
Individuals with prior criminal convictions or a prior confirmed case 
for the following would be concerning and considered more severe: 

• Abuse and/or neglect was the cause of a child’s death. 

• Sexual abuse or sexual exploitation. 

• Severe physical injury to a child that required medical 
treatment or hospitalization and that seriously impaired the 
health and physical well-being of the child. 

• Child exposure to methamphetamine production. 

Any past behavior related to a criminal conviction and/or confirmed 
abuse and/or neglect must be documented. 

Length of Time Since Past Incident 

The length of time since the historical incident(s) must be 
documented. 

Evaluation of and Benefit from Services 

Attempts must be made to obtain information on participation and 
benefit from past services.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Documentation must evaluate participation and benefit based on a 
review of historical service reports, contact with service providers, 
and input from the parent/caregiver.  

Progress since the prior incident(s) must be documented, including 
whether the parent/caregiver has reoffended. 

Comparison Between the Past and Current Referrals 

Documentation must evaluate any historical incidences in relation 
to current circumstances, to determine if there is a relationship 
between historical concerns and current safety, or if there are 
trends in behavior. 

Vulnerability of Child 

Documentation must assess the vulnerability of the child. A child 
may be more vulnerable due to age, mental capacity, physical 
ability, etc. 

STRENGTHS AND 
NEEDS 
ASSESSMENTS 

In most cases where a preponderance of evidence of CA/N is found 
to exist, and ongoing services are provided to a family, a Family 
Assessment of Needs and Strengths (FANS) and a Child 
Assessment of Needs and Strengths (CANS) must be completed.  

These assessments should be family led and are used to identify 
areas of focus for services to mitigate safety concerns and reduce 
risk to the child. These assessments are used to: 

• Develop a service agreement with the family that prioritizes the 
needs that contributed most to the maltreatment as identified 
by the FANS and CANS. 

• Careful consideration should be given to any childhood 
trauma for the parent/caregiver that may be contributing to 
current circumstances. Any childhood trauma the 
parent/caregiver may have experienced should be 
assessed to assist the parent/caregiver with navigating 
services and support, if needed. 
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• Identify service provision for open cases or cases closed with a 
referral to a community service or another agency for services. 

• Help identify gaps in service array within the community to 
inform opportunities for the department to explore further. 

• Identify strengths to build parental and protective capacities, 
strengthen families, and ensure child safety. 

See PSM 714-1, Post-Investigative Services, for information on ser-
vice provision and service agreements. 

Family 
Assessment of 
Needs and 
Strengths 
 

When ongoing services are provided to a family, a FANS must be 
completed. When two separate households are participating on the 
same case, a FANS must be completed for the household in which 
a perpetrator resides or for which services will be provided; for 
example, when the non-custodial parent is found to be a 
perpetrator of abuse and the custodial parent is not found to be a 
perpetrator, a FANS is needed only on the non-custodial parent’s 
household, unless services will also be provided to the custodial 
parent. A separate FANS must be completed if needed for more 
than one household. Two households must not be combined on 
one FANS. 

For definitions and more detailed information and definitions on the 
FANS, see FOM 722-09A, Family Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths (FANS). 

Child Assessment 
of Needs and 
Strengths 

If a preponderance of evidence of CA/N is found to exist, and 
ongoing services are being provided to the family, the CANS must 
be completed for the following: 

• Child identified as victims. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Every child residing in a household in which a person identified 
as a perpetrator of CA/N resides. 

• Every child residing in a household where services are 
provided for that household. 

A separate CANS must be completed for each child. Children must 
not be combined on one CANS. 

Assessment 
Domains, Scoring, 
Definitions and 
Milestones 

For information on assessment domains, scoring, definitions and 
milestones see FOM 722-09, Child Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths (CANS). 

 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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OVERVIEW 

The Child Abuse and Neglect Registry (CA/NCR) contains a list of 
individuals who were identified as a perpetrator in a central registry 
case. Confirmed cases of child abuse and/or neglect resulting in 
central registry placement require notification to the identified 
perpetrator. Confirmed cases of child abuse and/or neglect that do 
not result in central registry placement also require notification to 
the identified perpetrator.  

Definitions 

Confirmed Case 

The department has determined, by a preponderance of evidence, 
that child abuse or child neglect occurred by a person responsible 
for the child's health, welfare, or care. If the case is not confirmed 
for methamphetamine production, serious abuse or serious neglect, 
sexual abuse, or sexual exploitation, it does not require central 
registry placement.  

Central Registry Case 

The department confirmed that a person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare committed serious abuse or neglect, sexual 
abuse, sexual exploitation of a child, or allowed a child to be 
exposed to or have contact with methamphetamine production. 

The central registry contains a repository of names of individuals 
who are identified as perpetrators in a central registry case in the 
department's statewide electronic case management system. The 
registry includes: 

• Individuals who have been given appropriate notification, 
identified by a date in the due process (DP) box, their names 
were placed on central registry.  

• Individuals placed on central registry but who the department 
cannot verify the individual received appropriate notification. 

• Individuals referred to the department by a convicting criminal 
court following an order of conviction for a violation of section 
136b of the Michigan Penal Code, involving a minor victim, and 
any conviction involving the death of a child. 
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Note:  Individuals that need to be placed on or removed from 
central registry as a result of a criminal conviction will be addressed 
by Children's Protective Services (CPS) program office. 

ADDING A 
PERPETRATOR TO 
CENTRAL REGISTRY 
AND PERPETRATOR 
NOTIFICATION 
PROCEDURES  

 

Central Registry 
Placement 

Known perpetrators cannot be placed on central registry with an 
estimated birthdate. The perpetrator’s proper/legal name and actual 
birthdate must be used. If the perpetrator is unknown and the case 
is kept open for services, attempts must continue to be made to 
identify the perpetrator. If the unknown perpetrator is identified, 
their name must be placed on central registry. 

New Investigation Perpetrator Must Be Added on Central 
Registry 

The perpetrator is automatically added to central registry following 
supervisory approval of the investigation in the electronic case 
management record. Once the perpetrator is added to central 
registry, the perpetrator notification letter must be generated and 
saved. The DP date must be added by the caseworker. See 
Perpetrator Notification Requirements and Timeframes section 
regarding detailed notification requirements. 

Investigations with Prior Central Registry (No DP Date) Listing 

When a new CPS investigation begins and the required central reg-
istry inquiry reveals that any member of the new CPS investigation 
is a perpetrator listed on central registry with no DP date, the local 
office conducting the new investigation must, at the completion of 
the investigation, provide notice to the perpetrator(s) of their 
placement on central registry. See Perpetrator Notification 
Requirements and Timeframes below in this policy item.  

Note:  If the individual has been expunged from central registry, do 
not add a due process date.  
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Perpetrator 
Notification 
Requirements and 
Timeframes 

Placement on Central Registry Notification 

Notification to the perpetrator being placed on central registry must 
be completed and documented by using the DHS-847a, Perpetrator 
Notification letter, in the electronic case management record. This 
notice must be sent by registered or certified mail, return receipt 
requested, and delivery restricted to the addressee within 30 
calendar days after the classification of a confirmed central registry 
case. If the notification is returned “refused” or otherwise 
undeliverable, the envelope and receipt must be uploaded to the 
electronic case record.  

Perpetrator notification of placement on central registry requires 
formal, documented notification to the individual, which includes the 
following: 

• The individual has been identified as a perpetrator of confirmed 
serious abuse or neglect, confirmed sexual abuse, confirmed 
sexual exploitation, or a confirmed case of methamphetamine 
production.  

• The right to review the file; see SRM 131, Confidentiality, for 
more information on what information can be released from the 
CPS file.  

• The record may be released under MCL 722.627d. 

• The right to request amendment or expunction of the report or 
record; see PSM 717-2, Amendment or Expunction, for more 
information on these requests. 

These requirements are met when notice is provided to the perpe-
trator using the DHS-847a, Perpetrator Notification letter, in the 
electronic case management record along with confirmation of 
receipt. 

Confirmed Cases: No Placement on Central Registry 
Notification 

Notification to perpetrators of confirmed cases of abuse or neglect, 
who are not required to be placed on central registry, must be 
completed within 30 calendar days after the classification of a 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/717-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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confirmed case and documented using the DHS-847c, Notice of a 
Confirmed Case letter in the electronic case management record. 
This notice must be sent by first-class mail to the identified 
perpetrator. 

The notification letter for perpetrators of confirmed cases that do 
not require central registry placement includes all the following: 

• The individual has been identified as a perpetrator of confirmed 
abuse or neglect. 

• The right to review the file; see SRM 131, Confidentiality, for 
more information on what information can be released from the 
CPS file.  

• The right to request amendment of the record; see PSM 717-2, 
Amendment or Expunction, for more information on these 
requests. 

• The record may be released under MCL 722.627d. 

• Potential impact to future employment or licensing 
opportunities. 

Minor Perpetrators 

If the minor perpetrator is not emancipated, copies of the 
notification letter must be delivered to both the minor parent and to 
the minor’s parent or legal guardian; see Perpetrator Notification 
Requirements and Timeframes above.  

AMENDMENT AND 
EXPUNCTION  

An individual who is the subject of a report or record made may 
request the department amend or expunge an inaccurate report or 
record from the central registry and/or local office file. See PSM 
717-2, Amendment or Expunction, and PSM 717-3, Administrative 
Hearing Procedures, for more information on amendments and 
expunctions. See SRM 131, Confidentiality, for more information on 
what information can be released from the CPS file. 

If the investigation of a report conducted under MCL 722.627j does 
not show serious abuse or neglect, sexual abuse, sexual 
exploitation, or methamphetamine production by a preponderance 
of the evidence, or if a court dismisses a petition based on the 
merits of the petition filed under section 2(b) of chapter XIIA of the 
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probate code of 1939, 1939 PA 288, MCL 712A.2, because the 
petitioner has failed to establish, or a court has failed to find, that 
the child comes within the jurisdiction of the court following an 
adjudication hearing, the information identifying the subject of the 
report must be expunged from the central registry after a party has 
exhausted all appellate remedies and an appellate review does not 
find that the child is within the jurisdiction of the court. 

Note:  This section does not apply to individuals for which the court 
has entered an order of conviction. 

Note:  A court must find and dismiss a petition on jurisdiction for 
the department to remove the petitioner from the Central Registry.  
Other reasons for the dismissal of a case that does not involve the 
court dismissing on the merits do not result in removal from the 
Central Registry.  

 

CENTRAL REGISTRY 
CLEARANCES  

Central registry records are accessed by completing a query in the 
central registry module in the electronic case management system.  

Whenever department staff complete a central registry clearance 
and identify a perpetrator listed on central registry with no DP date, 
and the address of the perpetrator is known, that staff must notify 
the local office CPS unit where the case was last entered on central 
registry.  

If a local office receives notice that the perpetrator is listed on 
central registry with no DP date, or the department staff completing 
the central registry clearance is the local office where the case was 
last entered on central registry, that local office must provide notice 
to the perpetrator if the perpetrator's address is known and add the 
DP date to central registry. 

See the Perpetrator Notification Requirements and Timeframes 
section above regarding the requirements and timeframes for 
delivering the Perpetrator Notification letter to the perpetrator. 

Note:  If the central registry placement was a result of a criminal 
conviction and there is no DP date, please contact the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov). 
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POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov).  
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OVERVIEW 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
supervisors must review and verify that Children's Protective 
Services (CPS) investigations comply with CPS policy and law. 
Supervisors must complete the Supervisory Control Protocol 
(SCP), which qualifies as the investigation checklist required in law. 

When reviewing investigation reports, supervisors may identify and 
require additional casework activities, including face-to-face 
contacts needed for policy compliance. In instances where there 
are deficiencies, supervisors must return the case to the 
caseworker with steps for corrections outlined.  

Note:  All timeframes within this item are calculated based on 
calendar days. 

Supervisory 
Control Protocol 
(SCP) 

The SCP enables supervisors to review and verify compliance with 
investigation requirements, including the quality, quantity and 
documentation of a child abuse/neglect requirements. Completion 
of the SCP satisfies investigation checklists in MCL 722.628(e).  

The SCP requires supervisors to verify that required activities were 
completed, that completion met policy requirements and completion 
of requirements were sufficiently documented.  

The SCP requires supervisors to review activities at three intervals, 
also called check points, during a CPS investigation: 

Phase 1 (Beginning the Investigation)- Supervisor review must 
occur within the first 7 days of the date of the complaint. 

Phase 2 (Gathering Evidence)- Supervisor review must occur 
within the first 14 days of the date of the complaint. 

Phase 3 (Completing the Investigation)- Supervisor review and 
verification must occur within the first 7 days of the 14-day 
supervisory review period.  

At each phase the supervisor must review each required activity 
and respond with a Yes, No, or not required (N/R), as well as 
adding any necessary notation regarding policy compliance.  
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Marking Yes indicates that the supervisor verified that: 

• The required activity occurred. 

• The completed activity met all qualitative standards and related 
policy requirements. 

• The activity was thoroughly documented in MiSACWIS.  

Note:  The SCP is not inclusive of all policy requirements. 
Dependent upon the investigation situation, additional policy 
requirements may still apply. 

SCP Variance 

Supervisors unable to complete a SCP check point on the due date 
are allowed a variance of three business days to complete and 
verify the SCP check point. 

Each MDHHS county office must establish a written procedure to 
assure timely completion of the SCP in circumstances when a CPS 
supervisor is unavailable for more than three business days. 
Counties should consult with their BSC director for review and final 
review of developed procedures.  

FINAL APPROVAL 

Within 14 days of receipt of submission of the report from the 
caseworker, supervisors must review and approve the entire SCP 
prior to approval of the investigation in MiSACWIS. Final approval 
of the Investigation Report ensures and attests to supervisory 
approval of the following: 

• Thoroughness and completeness. 

• Accuracy of the investigation. 

• Disposition of the investigation. 

• Assessment of risk and safety of the children. 

• Services provided to the family. 

If the supervisor determines that the investigation does not comply 
with department policy and Child Protection Law, the investigation 
must not be approved until review and approval by the local office 
director.  
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OVERVIEW 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) 
ongoing program seeks to prevent further maltreatment and keep 
children safe in their own home. The ongoing program builds on 
family strengths and partners with families to address the needs 
and safety of children and families following a confirmed 
investigation. The goal of the department is to ensure child safety 
by partnering with families and providing resources that are 
available, accessible, and culturally appropriate. 

This policy outlines requirements for engagement and contact with 
the family, development of a services agreement, referral to 
services based on family needs as identified by the family and the 
case manager, and completion of structured support tools. 

DEFINITIONS 

Family Team Meeting (FTM) 

A deliberate and structured approach to involving youth, families 
and caregivers in case planning through a facilitated meeting of 
family and their identified supports; see FOM 722-06B, Family 
Team Meeting. 

Family Assessment of Needs and Strengths (FANS) 

A Structured Decision Making (SDM) tool used to evaluate the 
presenting needs and strengths of a family; see PSM 713-11, 
Assessments and FOM 722-09A, Family Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths. 

Child Assessment of Needs and Strengths (CANS) 

An SDM tool used to evaluate the presenting needs and strengths 
of a child; see PSM 713-11, Assessments and FOM 722-09, Child 
Assessment of Needs and Strengths. 

ONGOING SERVICES 

Following investigation, the level of department response is based 
on category designation; Category I, Category II, Category III, 
Category IV, or Category V (MCL 722.628d). For information on 
categories; see PSM 711-4, CPS Legal Requirements and 
Definitions. The category designation is based on whether child 
abuse and/or neglect (CA/N) is confirmed, the level of future risk, 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-06B.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-06B.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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and the safety decision as determined in the Safety and Risk 
Assessments. For information on Safety and Risk Assessments; 
see PSM 713-11, Assessments. 

This item will describe ongoing case requirements and case 
manager responsibilities for Category I, II, and III cases where 
children remain in the home.  

Category III Cases 

Category III means there is a preponderance of evidence of CA/N, 
and the risk of future harm is low or moderate. The case manager 
must refer the family to community-based services commensurate 
with the risk level and safety factors identified. If the family does not 
voluntarily participate in services, or the family voluntarily 
participates in services, but does not progress toward alleviating 
the child(ren)'s risk level, the department must consider 
reclassifying the case as category II; see Reclassification of a Case 
section in this item. 

If the child(ren) is/are determined to be safe and ongoing CPS 
services and monitoring is not warranted, the case manager must: 

• Utilize the open/close option in the electronic case record in 
the investigation. 

• Refer the family to voluntary, community-based services. 

• Complete an FTM; see Family Team Meeting section in this 
item.  

If the child(ren) is/are determined to be safe with services, Category 
III cases may be opened to assist the family with voluntarily 
accessing community-based services and monitoring progress.  

If opening the category III case, the case manager must: 

• Open the case in the electronic case management system. 

• Refer the family to voluntary prevention or community-based 
services. 

• Make contact with the family according to the risk level; see 
monthly service level and contact standards chart in this item.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Category III cases should be closed within 90 days following the 
date of the referral unless a case extension is needed, or the 
category of the case is reclassified.  

Extension of Category III Case 

The 90-day period may be extended up to 90 additional days in 
limited circumstances, such as the service provider was unable to 
begin services during the first 90 days. The extension request must 
be submitted prior to the end of the initial 90-day period. Complete 
a safety reassessment and submit the request for supervisory 
approval of an extension by completing the extension request in the 
electronic case record.  

Category II Cases 

Category II means CA/N was confirmed, the risk assessment result 
indicated a high or intensive risk of future harm, and the child(ren) 
can remain safe in the home with services, as determined by the 
safety assessment. An ongoing case must be opened, and services 
offered to the family.  

If the child(ren)'s family does not voluntarily participate in services, 
a petition must be filed, and the case reclassified as a Category I; 
see Reclassification of a Case section in this item. 

For Category II cases, the role of the case manager varies 
depending on the availability and accessibility of community 
resources and supports. If resources are limited, the case manager 
may provide direct services to the family. If community resources or 
contracted services are available, the case manager may 
coordinate the delivery of various services provided by others. 
Absent effective preventative services, the planned arrangement for 
the child(ren) is/are foster care.  

Category I Cases 

Category I means CA/N was confirmed, the risk level was 
determined to be high or intensive, the safety decision was unsafe, 
and a petition must be filed. There are two types of Category I 
cases: 

• In-home placement - The child(ren) remains in the home with 
the parents/caregivers and court mandates services. 
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• Out of home placement - The child(ren) has/have been 
removed and placed out of the home.  

CPS ongoing maintains responsibility for case management when 
the child(ren) remains in the home, while out of home placement 
cases are transferred to foster care.  

RECLASSIFICATION
OF THE CASE 

 
Category III 

When the family does not voluntarily participate in services or the 
family does not make progress toward reducing the child(ren)'s risk 
level, the department must consider reclassifying a Category III 
case as a Category II case.  

Category II 

A court petition is required if the department previously classified 
the case as Category II and the child(ren)'s family does not 
voluntarily participate in services. 

Cases that are reclassified must be served with contact standards 
applicable to their new risk level.  

Example:  If a Category III, moderate-risk case, is reclassified to a 
Category II, high-risk case, adhere to the contact standards for 
high-risk cases. 

Process for Reclassification  

To reclassify the case, the case manager must take the following 
steps in the electronic case record: 

1. Select the case for reclassification. 

2. Select program type history. 

3. Select escalate CPS category. 

4. Select appropriate escalation category option (escalate to 
Category I or Category II). 

5. Enter escalation case conference date.  
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6. Enter a narrative. 

7. Select the associated risk reassessment. 

8. Select approval to route the request to the supervisor. 

MONTHLY CONTACT 
STANDARDS 

Monthly contact standards for open ongoing cases are dependent 
upon the risk level. Case managers may use the contact standards 
chart to determine required contacts for each calendar month. Case 
managers should consider additional contacts with the family 
dependent upon risk factors or needs of the family.   

At onset of the case, the risk level is determined from the 
investigation and carries over to the ongoing case. A risk 
reassessment cannot be completed until contact has been made 
with the family.  

Regardless of the risk level, each primary caregiver, victim, and 
non-victim child(ren) in the family must be seen at least once a 
calendar month where the family primarily resides.  

 

ONGOING CALENDAR MONTH CONTACT STANDARDS CHART  

Opening Month  

Day One = Day following disposition by the case manager 

7 business day 
requirement* (Business 

day 1-7) 

1 F/F with each primary caregiver from a participating household  

1 F/F with each victim (can occur in the same contact) 

1st calendar month - any 
risk level  

1 F/F with each primary caregiver from a participating household  

1 F/F with each child victim (can occur in the same contact)  

2 collateral contacts  

3 or less business days in 
the opening month  

Only 7 business day requirement (may occur in current month or 
subsequent calendar month, but within 7 business days)  
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Opening Month  

Standard contact requirements are required the following 
calendar month  

2nd/Subsequent Calendar Month Until Closing Month  

 
 
 
 
 
Risk 
Level  

 
 
 
 
Total 
Contacts 
(Face-to-
face) 

 
 
 
Contract
-ed 
Agency 
allowed 
contact 

 
 
 
Contact 
with each 
victim/non
-victim 
child 

 
 
Contact 
with each 
caregiver 
per 
participating 
household  

 
 
 
 
 
 
Collateral 
contacts 

Data report contact 
requirements (CS-
1302 and CW-1302)  
 
Requirements are 
per participating 
household 

Intensive 4 3     1 1 4 1 F/F with each 
primary caregiver  

 

1 F/F with each 
child victim  

 

1 F/F with each non-
victim child  

High 3 2     1 1 3 

Moderate 2 1     1 1 2 

Low 1 0     1 1 1 

 

Closing Month  

Must occur within 30 
calendar days prior to 

closure  

 

Requirements are per 
participating household  

 

 

 

 

1 F/F with each primary caregiver from a participating household  

1 F/F with each victim  

1 F/F with each non-victim child  
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Closing Month  

Standard calendar month 
contacts are not required 

for closing month  

 

Key  

F/F = Face-to-face contact  

Participating = Household is participating a minimum of 1 day during the period  

* 7 business day requirement may meet opening month requirement in some cases  
 

Face-to-Face Contact 

A face-to-face contact is defined as an in-person contact with the 
perpetrator, victim, other child(ren), or other caregiver (parent, 
guardian, or other person responsible) for the purpose of 
engagement regarding substantive case issues. Contacts should 
allow case managers to gather information necessary for 
subsequent completion of the risk reassessment, reassessment of 
FANS and CANS, treatment planning, service agreement 
development and/or progress review. Each primary caregiver, 
victim, and non-victim child(ren) in the family must be seen at least 
once a calendar month where they primarily reside. 

Collateral Contact 

Collateral contacts refer to all other contacts the case manager may 
need to make, such as contacts with extended family, a relative, 
support persons, the school, any service providers, or other 
agencies. These contacts may be face-to-face, by telephone or 
email, among others. 

Visit Requirements 

Caregiver 

A face-to-face contact must occur with the primary caregiver from 
each participating household each calendar month following 
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disposition. Safety planning with the family should occur during 
these monthly meetings and should be reviewed as needed.    

When visiting with the caregiver, the case manager should allow 
the caregiver to lead discussions based on needs. Case managers 
should also engage with the caregiver to address topics such as 
the initial concerns from the investigation, the needs of the 
child(ren), and the ability of the caregiver to meet the child(ren)'s 
needs.  

Identified Perpetrator(s) 

Attempts to have at least quarterly contact with individuals 
confirmed as perpetrators should occur to address child(ren) safety 
concerns and the need for community-based services or supports.  

Note:  If the identified perpetrator of the child abuse and/or neglect 
is determined to be a caregiver, follow contact standards for a 
caregiver as instructed in the Ongoing Calendar Month Contact 
Standards in this item. 

Children 

Each child must have a face-to-face visit by the case manager a 
minimum of once every calendar month following disposition.  

Note:  At least once every calendar month, a private meeting must 
be held with the child in absence of the caregiver/perpetrator. A 
private meeting allows a case manager to meet individually with a 
child. The way a case manager conducts a private meeting will 
depend on the age and developmental ability of the child. 

Case managers should engage with children through a child-led 
approach based on developmental capability. Case managers 
should tailor discussions to preference of the child(ren) and should 
include efforts to assess child(ren) safety. 

Case managers must not enter a home without permission from an 
adult or speak to a child who is home alone. If an adult is not 
present at the home, case managers may not request the child(ren) 
step outside to speak with them, even if the child(ren) agrees or 
suggests this solution. 
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Case Manager Visit Tool 

Two optional tools are available to assist case managers with 
gathering information during the monthly visit: 

• DHS-903-A, Children’s Protective Services Caseworker/Child 
Visit Tool. This tool may be used to take notes during the visit. 

• DHS-903, Children’s Protective Services Caseworker/Child 
Visit Quick Reference Guide. This tool contains information 
that should be covered in a monthly visit but is not intended for 
recording notes.  

Social Work Contacts 

All contacts must be documented in social work contacts. Social 
work contacts should reflect the following pertinent themes: 

• Engagement with the person or family. 

• Level of family engagement and progress with services. 

• Safety concerns regarding the child(ren). 

• Safety plans and any necessary updates. 

• Any other information pertinent to the case. 
Contacts by 
Contracted 
Agencies 

If a family is referred to prevention services contracted by MDHHS 
for the purpose of reducing risk to the child(ren), face-to-face 
contacts by the contracted provider with the client may be counted 
as a face-to-face contact to replace a case manager's contact, as 
outlined in the ongoing calendar month contact standards chart in 
this item. Contacts the family has with other local agencies which 
are not under contract with MDHHS, such as a public health 
department or community mental health, may not be counted as 
face-to-face contacts to replace the case manager's contacts. 

If MDHHS employs service providers such as parent aides, 
homemaker aides, or others to work with clients for the purpose of 
reducing risk to the child(ren), face-to-face contact by the MDHHS-
employed service provider with the client may be counted as a 
face-to-face contact to replace a case manager's contact as 
outlined above in the ongoing calendar month contact standards 
chart.  

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B0FD98543-4DE6-48DE-B1CE-0DC724C13613%7D&file=0903-a.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B0FD98543-4DE6-48DE-B1CE-0DC724C13613%7D&file=0903-a.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B72A36FBC-2683-43B6-B32E-0501A52073E5%7D&file=0903.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B72A36FBC-2683-43B6-B32E-0501A52073E5%7D&file=0903.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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If the case manager becomes aware the service provider(s) have 
not been able to meet the required number of contacts, the case 
manager must ensure the safety of the children by completing the 
required contacts. Until the issue is resolved, the case manager is 
responsible for meeting all required contact standards. 

The initial FANS and CANS outcomes and the development of the 
service agreement must be discussed during the initial planning 
conference between the case manager, the service provider, and 
family. The service provider must obtain the case manager's 
approval of the proposed service plan prior to implementation. For 
more information on completion of the FANS and CANS and 
application of the assessment, see PSM 713-11, Assessments, 
FOM 722-09A, Family Assessment of Needs and Strengths, and 
FOM 722-09, Child Assessment of Needs and Strengths. 

Families First and Families Together/Building Solutions 

Families First and Families Together/Building Solutions must 
comply with all required service standards in referred cases. The 
case manager must have a minimum of one contact per month with 
the Families First or Families Together/Building Solutions case 
manager, either face-to-face, by telephone, or teleconferencing; 
see PSM 714-2, Supportive Services. 

Scheduled and 
Unscheduled 
Home Visits 

Scheduled and unscheduled visits should be considered based on 
the unique circumstances of the case. Scheduled home visits may 
be preferred to allow better coordination of visits between the case 
manager and family. Unscheduled visits should be considered 
when: 

• New concerns are brought to the attention of the case 
manager. 

• Assessment of child safety could be impacted by a scheduled 
visit. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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SERVICING AND 
ENGAGEMENT 

 
Case Manager 
Responsibilities 

Case manager responsibilities for post-investigation cases include 
development of a prevention plan with the family to address safety 
concerns or needs identified in the risk assessment/reassessment 
and the FANS and CANS.  

Services offered should: 

• Be culturally relevant. 

• Be sufficient in frequency and duration. 

• Be relevant to family needs and address the top three needs 
identified by the FANS that contributed to the maltreatment. 

• Assist parents or caregivers in identification of goals for 
reducing risk to the child and enhance their ability to provide 
adequate care of their child(ren). 

• Assist parents or caregivers with identification of resources 
within their community and extended family support system 
and facilitate access to and use of those resources.  

• Support parent or caregiver efforts. Help the parents or 
caregivers assess and be responsive to the needs of their 
child(ren). Support and encourage the caregivers by helping 
them to recognize their own strengths and encourage them to 
apply these strengths to reach identified goals. 

• Assist parents and caregivers in learning new skills in areas 
including childcare, household budgeting, preparation of 
nutritious meals, household organization, child development, 
discipline, and other necessary areas.  

• Facilitate linkage of family to needed resources including 
financial assistance, medical assistance, family planning 
services, housing, legal aid, or employment.  

• Include engagement with the family to evaluate the need for 
continued services.  
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See PSM 714-2, CPS Supportive Services for more information on 
services. 

Court Involvement 

Every effort must be made to keep families together whenever 
safely possible. When engagement efforts and service provision 
are insufficient to achieve and maintain child(ren) safety, a petition 
seeking court intervention may be necessary; see PSM 715-3, 
Family Court: Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders. Whenever 
possible, case managers must request a FTM to discuss the 
concerns and attempt to resolve them before filing a petition; see 
Family Team Meeting section in this item. 

A request for removal is not necessary in all situations. Relief 
requested should be the least intrusive necessary to protect 
the child(ren) or resolve the emergency.  

The case record must demonstrate the following when filing a 
petition: 

• Services provided and reasons for ineffectiveness.  

• Imminent and substantial risk of harm to the child(ren).  

The petition must state: 

• The reason(s) why it is contrary to the welfare of the child(ren) 
to remain in the home. 

• Reasonable efforts that were made to prevent the removal.  

Note:  Active efforts must be made to prevent removal for 
American Indian children; see NAA 205, Indian Child Welfare Case 
Management, and see NAA 235, Emergency Placement, for 
information on safety planning and removal of American Indian 
children. 

Removal and placement 

Non-custodial parents should always be considered first for 
placement of the child(ren). The case manager must work with the 
parents to identify relatives for placement when removal is being 
sought. When considering placement with the other parent, case 
managers should consider if a petition is necessary or if other 
means of engagement and safety planning would be effective for 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/205.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/205.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/235.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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voluntary placement with the other parent. See PSM 715-2, Court 
Intervention and Placement of Children, for information on 
placement with relatives or non-custodial parents.  

Parents who are incarcerated should still be included in placement 
decisions for their children. Parental incarceration alone does not 
meet the criteria of abuse or neglect. 

If a child(ren) is/are removed, but returned home within 7 days, 
face-to-face contact with the child(ren) is/are required within 7 
days after the child(ren) is/are returned home.  

Diligent Relative 
Search and 
Genograms 

Diligent Relative Search 

Case managers must continue to search for and identify relatives 
for the duration of an open case for purposes of placement and/or 
support. These activities should be reflected in each case service 
plan. Case managers must attempt to contact all known relatives 
and document those efforts. Relatives who are unable or unwilling 
to take placement may still be a source of support for the child(ren) 
and family. 

Case managers may use the DHS-991, Relative Search Checklist, 
for suggestions of methods to complete a relative search.  

Case managers must use the DHS-987, Relative Documentation, 
to document all the following when contacting relatives: 

• All identified relatives. 

• The relative's relationship to the child(ren). 

• Contact information for the relative. 

• The dates of contact by the case manager. 

• The types of resources or supports the relative expresses 
interest in providing to the family. 

Note:  For an Indian child(ren), extended family members, as 
defined by the law or custom of the Indian child(ren)'s tribe, may be 
included as relatives for placement purposes. Ongoing, diligent 
search efforts must occur; see NAA 215, Placement/Replacement 
Priorities for Indian Child(ren). 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-2.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/0900/AWOL/DHS-991%20-%20Diligent%20Search%20Checklist.dot?web=1
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/FormsLibrary/0987.DOT?web=1
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/215.pdf?web=1#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/NA/Public/NAA/215.pdf?web=1#pagemode=bookmarks
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Genograms 

Genograms are a valuable tool that assist case managers with 
establishing rapport with families and gathering information on 
family relationships, dynamics, behavior patterns, and history. 
Genograms can also assist with locating, identifying, and engaging 
the family's relative network. For more information on genograms; 
see FOM 722-06, Case Planning. 

A genogram must be completed during the first service period in all 
Category I, II, and III cases and documented in the initial updated 
service plan.  

Case managers may hand draw genograms or use genogram 
software. MDHHS case managers may download the GenoPro 
Tool from the Software Center. Training materials and resources for 
genogram completion can also be found on the MDHHS Office of 
Workforce Development and Training (OWDT) Child Welfare 
Institute Student Guide, including standard symbols for genograms 
and a genogram example video. 

Documentation 

Case managers must document ongoing relative search efforts and 
results in the Relative Search and Engagement hyperlink in the 
electronic case record. Case managers must upload all relative 
search forms and genograms in the case overview documents 
hyperlink. 

Early On® 

The ongoing case manager must review the Early On evaluation 
results, recommendation for services, and ensure those services 
are incorporated into the case service plan. Services must be 
developed by engaging with the family and any service providers, 
to ensure services meet the family's needs. 

Monthly Case 
Consultation 

At least one case conference between the case manager and their 
supervisor must occur monthly for every CPS case. The case 
conference must be documented in the electronic case record with 
supervision as the contact type. The narrative should only indicate 
that the conference occurred. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-06.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://softwaredirect.state.mi.us/DTMB_SoftwareDirect
http://136.181.3.34/CWTI_SG2018/WebHelp_pro/80.48_STANDARD_SYMBOLS_FOR_GENOGRAMS.htm
http://136.181.3.34/CWTI_SG2018/WebHelp_pro/85.20.2_Genogram_Example.htm
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Safe Sleep 

The case manager should discuss safe sleep practices with parents 
of infants under 12 months of age as needed and assist parents 
with items they may need, for example, pack n' plays and cribs. 

Family Team 
Meetings 

FTMs should be held according to the tables within policy; see 
FOM 722-06B Family Team Meeting, for more information on 
content, structure and frequency.  

The DHS-1105, Family Team Meeting Report, is used to capture 
the following: 

• Family demographics. 

• FTM logistical information. 

• Strengths and needs. 

• Action steps. 

• Safety concerns. 

• Safety plans designed to help the parent address any identified 
safety concerns; see PSM 713-01, CPS Investigations - 
General Instructions. 

• Recommendations made during the FTM.  

The DHS-1105 may detail safety plans designed to help the 
parent(s) address any identified safety concerns; see PSM 713-01, 
CPS Investigations - General Instructions. 

The case manager should develop and document goals and 
detailed action steps on the DHS-1105 based on family input as 
well as needs identified in the FANS and CANS. The goals and 
action steps should be specific, realistic, and clear to identify the 
expected and measurable outcomes. A copy of the completed form 
must be provided to the family and scanned and uploaded into the 
FTM documents section of the electronic case record.   

The DHS-1105 serves as the service agreement for category II and 
III cases.  

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/safety-injury-prev/safe-sleep2
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-06B.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BCC856305-8260-410B-BA27-00927697C425%7D&file=1105.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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With family input, case managers must develop a strength-based 
service agreement which focuses on the safety concerns and the 
related issues identified on the risk and needs and strengths 
assessments. The overall goal of the service agreement should 
promote a reduction in the risk to the child(ren). Goals should be 
developed with the family to address needs and must be identified 
in the service agreement.  

Case managers should identify the top three prioritized needs 
based on the FANS and CANS to promote services for these 
needs. A goal must be stated for each service based on the need. 
Goals should be developed to demonstrate that they are: 

• Developed with family input. 

• Specific. 

• Realistic. 

• Clear to identify the expected and measurable outcomes. 

The service agreement must be printed, and a copy provided to the 
family.  

CASE CLOSURE 

See PSM 714-4, CPS Updated Services Plan and Case Closure.  

SPECIAL CASE 
SITUATIONS 
 

Cases Involving 
Multiple Counties 

In cases involving multiple counties, the county of residence may 
request that another county make a service referral, supervise ser-
vices, or conduct other case manager related activities in the other 
county. This is referred to as a courtesy request. Courtesy requests 
may happen for a variety of reasons such as: 

• A family will be visiting another county and while there, 
verification of child(ren) safety or servicing for the family is 
needed. 

• A custodial parent resides in the county of origin and the other 
parent resides in another county.  

• A parent places their child(ren) in another county voluntarily.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• To verify relocation of a family to another county. 

Requests for courtesy supervision, service referrals, and other case 
management activities must be honored. Courtesy case managers 
and supervisors should be assigned within the electronic case 
record. Disputes between counties must be referred to the 
respective Business Service Center (BSC) director(s) for resolution.   

All activities completed by the courtesy case manager must be 
documented in social work contacts. The assigned primary case 
manager and courtesy case manager should ensure a flow of 
communication that addresses the status of the family as well as 
safety concerns and needs.  

Transfer of Case Due to Relocation 

If the primary assessment household moves to a new county, a 
request may be made to the new county to transfer the case after 
relocation has been verified.  

Disputes between counties must be referred to the respective BSC 
director(s) for resolution. 

Domestic Violence 

Interventions in cases where domestic violence is a factor should 
be consistent with the following three principles: 

1. Safety of the child(ren) and adult victim must be the primary 
consideration in all phases of the intervention. 

2. The domestic violence offender must be held accountable for 
acts of violence and coercive and controlling behavior.  

3. Safety and service plans should build on the survival strategies 
of the adult victim to increase their likelihood of remaining safe 
and protecting the child(ren). 

Case managers should assist and support the non-offending 
caregiver in recognizing and furthering all safety efforts. If the 
child(ren) is/are at risk of harm by the domestic violence offender, 
safety planning should continue to support child(ren) safety as a 
priority. Separation from the perpetrator sometimes places the non-
offending caregiver and the child(ren) at increased risk of harm. 
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Information necessary to develop an intervention in cases involving 
domestic violence include: 

• Potential adverse impacts, including trauma on the child(ren) 
due to the domestic violence offender's behavior.  

• The offender's assaultive and coercive conduct, and the impact 
on child(ren) safety. 

• The role of substance use, mental health, culture, and other 
socio-economic factors on child(ren) safety. 

• Protective factors available for use by the non-offending 
caregiver, such as use of protective orders, police involvement, 
family support, or shelters. 

Consideration should be made for separate service plans for the 
non-offending caregiver and the domestic violence offender. See 
Case Manager Responsibilities section for more information on the 
development of service agreements. 

Domestic violence offenders may use manipulative tactics to use 
the child welfare system to further abuse and retaliate against the 
non-offending caregiver, or to gain leverage in possible custody 
disputes. Offenders may file allegations of CA/N against the other 
caregiver. This behavior may be a warning sign that the danger is 
increasing. 

See PSM 712-6, CPS Intake-Special Situations, Domestic Violence 
section, and PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, 
Domestic Violence section. 

Firearm 
Assessment 

A firearm assessment is intended to be used when a case manager 
becomes aware of a firearm in a home during an open case. The 
goal of this assessment is to evaluate the safety of the child, assist 
with ensuring child safety, and guide caregivers through the safe 
storage of firearms. See PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - General 
Instructions for guidance on assessing firearm safety. 

If an assessment was completed during the investigation, the 
ongoing case manager should be monitoring that all safety plans 
and/or steps taken to secure a weapon are being adhered to. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-6.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Note:  Case managers must continue to utilize licensing rules for 
licensed foster homes. Case managers must also follow criteria 
regarding weapons, firearms, and/or ammunition outlined in the 
MDHHS-5770, Relative Placement Safety Screen, and MDHHS-
3130-A, Relative Placement Home Study. 

New Investigation 
During an Open 
Ongoing Case  

If a new investigation is received during an open ongoing case, 
case managers should actively communicate with the assigned 
investigator to coordinate case requirements, visits, family 
progress, concerns, and case service plans. Both case managers 
can utilize relevant contacts from the new investigation and open 
ongoing case and incorporate those contacts into their respective 
cases. If a preponderance of evidence of child abuse and/or 
neglect is found on the new referral, the case manager must open 
or maintain the case with the higher risk level. If both cases result in 
Category I dispositions, the case manager must keep the case 
open that resulted in out of-home placement. 

If there are any disputes regarding case services or case direction, 
insight should be sought from the program manager or director.  

Screened Out Referrals 

The case manager must review screened out referrals to determine 
if any new or additional safety planning may be needed based on 
screened out allegations. 

The case manager must document in a social work contact the 
following:  

• Intake ID(s) of screened out allegations. 

• Acknowledgement that new allegations have been reviewed. 

• Whether additional safety planning is needed. 
Open Maltreatment 
in Care Cases 

If there is a combination of confirmed victims, including 
biological/adoptive children of the identified perpetrator and foster 
children, the case must transfer to CPS ongoing in the county 
where services will be provided to the family.  

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B17A9C9E6-B3A8-43F5-8B50-3D2D19554C18%7D&file=MDHHS-5770.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2B8E6564-9BAE-4B60-AFC3-BB8BD4CE1D75%7D&file=3130-A.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2B8E6564-9BAE-4B60-AFC3-BB8BD4CE1D75%7D&file=3130-A.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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If the identified victims are biological/adoptive children of the 
identified perpetrator and a foster child is not confirmed as a victim, 
the case must transfer to CPS ongoing in the county where 
services will be provided to the family.  

CPS ongoing will oversee the provision of services for the family. 
Regular updates to the foster care agency of responsibility must 
occur to ensure suitability of continued placement. Preventative 
services must be initiated by CPS ongoing at case opening. 

Note:  If a foster child victim is moved to a new placement separate 
from the perpetrator, but the perpetrator is licensed, the case must 
transfer to CPS ongoing in the county where the licensee resides, 
to provide services that address the risks identified during the 
confirmation. This must occur even if no children remain in the 
home. 

LEGAL BASE 
 
Federal 

Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment Act, 42 USC 5101 et. 
seq. 

The Secretary of Health and Human Services may establish an 
office to be known as the Office on Child Abuse and Neglect. 

The purpose of the Office established under subsection (a) shall be 
to execute and coordinate the functions and activities of this 
subchapter and subchapter III. In the event that such functions and 
activities are performed by another entity or entities within the 
Department of Health and Human Services, the Secretary shall 
ensure that such functions and activities are executed with the 
necessary expertise and in a fully coordinated manner involving 
intradepartmental and interdepartmental consultation with all 
agencies involved in child abuse and neglect activities. 

A State plan submitted under paragraph (1) shall contain a 
description of activities that the State will carry out using amounts 
received under the grant to achieve the objectives of this 
subchapter, including- (xxi) provisions and procedures for referral of 
a child(ren) under the age of 3 who is/are involved in a confirmed 
case of child abuse or neglect to early intervention services funded 
under part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 
U.S.C 1431 et seq.). 

https://www.law.cornell.edu/topn/education_of_the_handicapped_act
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/1431
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/20/1431
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State 

Child Protection Law, MCL 722.628d(c)-(e). 

CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov. 

mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW  

A family may access supportive services to ensure the safety of the 
children in the home and improve family well-being. Various funding 
sources are available to finance service provision.   

Individuals and families may be eligible for assistance payments 
programs, including healthcare coverage, Food Assistance 
Program (FAP), cash assistance, Child Development and Care 
(CDC), and State Emergency Relief (SER).  

Purchased services are those services purchased for a family 
through contracts negotiated between the Michigan Department of 
Health and Human Services (MDHHS) and community-based 
service providers. The local office negotiates purchased service 
contracts. Within federal and/or state guidelines, local offices 
determine what services will be purchased with local contract 
funds, select service providers, negotiate, and monitor contracts, 
assess provider performance, evaluate the effectiveness of contract 
services, and determine the continuance or termination of 
contracts. 

ASSISTANCE 
PAYMENTS 
PROGRAMS 

Individuals can request assistance for healthcare coverage, food 
assistance, childcare, and cash assistance on the MiBridges 
website. Individuals are also able to apply by using the MiBridges 
app on their mobile device. Individuals can apply for assistance, 
upload documents, report changes to their current assistance case, 
and explore resources in the area. 

State Emergency 
Relief (SER) 

State Emergency Relief (SER) is a statewide resource to provide 
immediate help to families facing conditions of extreme hardship or 
if a family is facing an emergency which threatens their health and 
safety. SER may be able to help with housing or other emergent 
needs. SER, when applicable, is a first resource to families and is 
often sufficient to resolve an emergency. 

Eligibility for SER is determined by MDHHS eligibility specialists. 
SER program information, covered services, and department policy 
is detailed in the State Emergency Relief Manual (ERM). 

https://newmibridges.michigan.gov/s/isd-landing-page?language=en_US
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/ER/Public/ERM/101.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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COMPREHENSIVE 
TRAUMA 
ASSESSMENTS  

For information on Comprehensive Trauma Assessments; FOM 
802, Mental Health, Behavioral and Developmental Needs of 
Children.  

Comprehensive Trauma Assessments, must be completed 
while the case is open.  

FAMILIES FIRST  

Families First of Michigan (FFM) offers families home-based, 
intensive, short-term crisis intervention and family education 
services for four weeks using the FFM model. FFM services are 
designed to support the family unit and to protect the well-being of 
the child(ren) to ensure the family remains safely intact or that the 
child(ren) can remain safely in the home. Families First will provide 
a minimum of 10 hours of contact with the family per week. An 
extension of up to two weeks may be available.  

FAMILY 
REUNIFICATION 
ACCOUNT (FRA) 

The Family Reunification Account (FRA) is a flexible funds sub-
account under the local office Child and Family Safety, Stability, 
and Permanency Plan (CFSPP) allocation. The local office 
determines the amount of CFSPP funds designated for FRA. FRA 
funds are for the individualized needs of families and must avert 
and/or prevent unnecessary removal of children from their home, 
facilitate return home, or achieve permanency through relative 
placement. The local office is responsible for certifying that the 
concrete/direct service purchase meets eligible use criteria.  

For FRA eligibility requirements and request and exception 
processes; see FOM 722-12, Financial Supports. 

FAMILY 
REUNIFICATION 
PROGRAM (FRP) 

Family Reunification Program (FRP) provides therapeutic, skill-
based interventions designed to help families reunify and maintain 
children safely at home. Only families with children who are in out-
of-home placement and are returning home are eligible for FRP 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/802.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/802.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/802.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-12.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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services. For more information on FRP services see FOM 903-17, 
Support Services to Families.  

FAMILIES 
TOGETHER/ 
BUILDING 
SOLUTIONS (FTBS) 

Families Together/Building Solutions (FTBS) offers in-home, 
solution-focused clinical interventions designed to serve families 
with multiple barriers to enhance the family's well-being, improve 
safety of the child(ren) and address family issues and risk factors in 
the home. FTBS services require family participation of three hours 
per week, or as needed, to address any risks that arise. FTBS 
intervention is available for up to 90 days with an option to extend 
for another 90 days.  

PARENT PARTNERS  

Parent Partners is a program that assists parents whose children 
have been placed in foster care by teaming them with peers who 
have first-hand experience navigating through the child welfare 
system. This is done through the guidance and mentorship of other 
parents who have successfully reunified with their own children. 
Referrals to the program can be made by the CPS caseworker 
when a petition has been filed to remove the child(ren).  

POST-ADOPTION 
SERVICES  

Families who have adopted children from the Michigan child 
welfare system, adopted in Michigan through an international 
adoption or through direct placement adoption can utilize resources 
through the Post-Adoption Resource Centers (PARC's). The 
PARCs provide a variety of services including in-home crisis 
intervention, free of charge to families who adopted children or 
have an active guardianship assistance agreement for a child from 
Michigan's child welfare system.  

MDHHS also maintains a post-adoption resource toolkit that 
contains a list of services available to adoptive families, including 
adoption education resources, parent support groups, and social 
media safety, among others. 

Information on PARCs and the post-adoption resource toolkit can 
be found in the MDHHS website under Post Adoption Parent 
Resources.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/903-17.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/903-17.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-73971_7116_63826---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-73971_7116_63826---,00.html
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Adoption Medical Subsidy  

Adoption medical subsidy is intended to assist with payment for 
necessary services related to the treatment of a physical, mental or 
emotional condition certified by the Adoption and Guardianship 
Assistance Office (AGAO). Related Expenses may include 
therapies, prescriptions, medical supplies or laboratory expenses; 
see AAM 640, Post Placement Use of the Adoption Medical 
Subsidy Program.  

PREVENTION 
SERVICES  

Prevention services are provided on a continuum to ensure the 
safety of children in the home and improve the family well-being. 
Prevention services may be offered in various circumstances as 
determined by a child's eligibility as a candidate for foster care. 
Children and families should be assessed for eligibility for 
prevention services. For information on available prevention 
services, see SRM 108, Prevention Services: Family First 
Prevention Services Act. 

PSYCHOLOGICAL 
OR PSYCHIATRIC 
ASSESSMENTS AND 
EXAMINATIONS 

Psychiatric or psychological diagnostic assessments or 
examinations may be used to assist in determining the capacity of 
the parents to participate in and benefit from services, identify the 
parent's strengths and any areas of concern and assist with 
developing a treatment plan for further services, as appropriate. 
The DHS-93, Examination Authorization for Services, may be used 
for assessment or examination costs in Children's Protective 
Services cases. The DHS-93 should be routed and submitted using 
the electronic case record. 

Funding for a psychiatric or psychological assessment/examination 
may be requested using the DHS-93 if all the following apply: 

• The service is not available without charge through local 
resources, including community mental health (CMH) 
agencies. 

• The service is not a covered service through Medicaid (MA). If 
MA eligibility exists and the service is covered under the MA 
program, the provider must bill the MA program. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/AA/Public/AAM/640.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/AA/Public/AAM/640.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks


PSM 714-2 5 of 7 SUPPORTIVE SERVICES 
PSB 2022-007 

12-1-2022 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

• The parents are unable or unwilling to pay and do not have 
Medicaid or private insurance that will cover the needed 
service.  

An exception may be made for payment of a unique 
assessment/examination with prior approval from the MDHHS 
county director, district manager or designee, even though third 
party payment is available.  

Use of the DHS-93 for payment of psychological and psychiatric 
services is restricted to psychological and psychiatric assessment 
or examination only. Treatment services may not be authorized 
using the DHS-93. Treatment services may be funded through MA, 
when it is a covered service, private insurance, or appropriate 
purchase of service contracts.  

Payment maximums for psychological and psychiatric assessments 
can be found in SRF 800, DHS-93 Medical Service Authorization.  

An estimated cost of the assessment or examination must be 
obtained prior to the provision of service. The vendor's fee for 
service should not exceed the estimated cost. The estimate and the 
billing for service must include a detailing of services, including the 
cost of: 

• Individual testing. 

• Clinical interviews. 

• Writing the report. 

• Recommendations for treatment.  

Note:  Treatment recommendations must be included in each 
assessment or examination report. 

Court ordered assessments/examinations must be paid for by 
the court issuing the order or from county funds. The DHS-93 
must not be used to access state funds to pay for court-
ordered assessments/examinations unless the department has 
specifically requested that the court order the assessment or 
examination. 

SUBSTANCE USE 
DISORDER 
SERVICES 

The MDHHS website has information on substance use disorder 
services available in each county. Contact information is also 
available for regional Prepaid Inpatient Health Plan (PIHP) units. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRF/800.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71550_2941_4871_29887-151431--,00.html
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The PIHPs help administer substance use disorder prevention and 
treatment services to Michigan residents who have Medicaid 
insurance coverage or are underinsured. Collaboration between 
local child welfare staff and their regional PIHP units should occur 
to facilitate timely access to substance use disorder services.  

Under MCL 330.1275(1), substance use disorder treatment 
agencies that have a waiting list for services must give priority to a 
parent whose child has been removed or is in danger of being 
removed due to substance use disorders. Concerns with treatment 
agency providers should be forwarded to the identified treatment 
coordinator in your region. 

Substance Use 
Disorder Family 
Support Program 

The Substance Use Disorder Family Support Program (SUDFSP) 
provides intensive services for substance affected families that are 
at risk of experiencing a removal due to child abuse and/or 
neglect. SUDFSP provides skill-based interventions and support for 
families when a parent is alcohol- or drug-affected or has a co-
occurring disorder.   

A family support specialist works directly with participating families 
in their home and community. Interventions may focus on 
communication, family functioning, increased awareness of the 
impact that alcohol and/or substance abuse has on the parenting 
relationship with children, reduction of the use of substances, 
physiology and cognitive functioning, and recovery supports.  

U NONIMMIGRANT 
STATUS 
CERTIFICATION 

U Nonimmigrant Status (U Visa) is the United States nonimmigrant 
visa set aside for victims of certain crimes (and their immediate 
family members) who have suffered mental and/or physical abuse 
and are willing (or have been willing) to assist law enforcement and 
government officials in the investigation of a qualifying criminal 
activity. Individuals who do not have legal status can request U 
Nonimmigrant Status certification from a qualifying agency when 
they are a victim of a qualifying crime, an indirect victim, or a 
bystander who suffered unusually severe harm and was helpful, are 
helpful or is likely to be helpful in an investigation of child abuse 
and/or neglect.  
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The MDHHS Children's Services Agency executive director has 
delegated authority to each county director to act as a designee to 
authorize certifications on behalf of the Department by completing 
Form I-918, Supplement B, U Nonimmigrant Status Certification. 
The I-918, Supplement B form, along with instructions, can be 
found on the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services website.  

For information on completing U Nonimmigrant Status Certifications 
see the U Nonimmigrant Status Resource Guide.  

WRAPAROUND 

Wraparound is a team planning process that creates an 
individualized plan to meet the needs of children and their families 
by utilizing a strengths-based approach. Wraparound is an 
established practice of coordinating services and supports for 
families and their children, who have a serious emotional 
disturbance, are involved with multiple systems and where other 
forms of intervention have not had successful outcomes. 
Community Mental Health determines if a child is eligible for 
Wraparound services. Wraparound is available to eligible children 
from birth through 21 years of age and their families involved in the 
Community Mental Health system and are available in every 
community in Michigan. 

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this item may be directed to the Child Welfare 
Policy Mailbox. 

 

https://www.uscis.gov/system/files_force/files/form/i-918supb.pdf?download=1
https://www.uscis.gov/i-918
https://www.dhs.gov/sites/default/files/publications/19_0731_uscis_u-visa-law-enforcement-resource-guide.pdf
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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COMMUNITY 
COOPERATION 

A cooperative working relationship between protective services and 
community referral and treatment resources is to be developed, 
maintained, and used. 

Establishing cooperative relationships should assist the Agency 
and the community in reducing the incidence of child neglect and 
abuse and in providing needed services to families and children. 

Multi-Disciplinary 
Teams 

Child abuse and neglect is a multidisciplinary problem. It is a sign of 
social breakdown which may require medical diagnosis and treat-
ment, legal authority to intervene, and psychiatric and social work 
intervention. The Agency must communicate to the community that 
the responsibility for the development of a comprehensive program 
is largely that of the community. It cannot be borne by the Agency 
alone. 

The Agency is mandated by law to investigate child abuse and 
neglect and to seek protection for children in danger. Yet protective 
services is primarily a crisis intervention service and cannot effec-
tively provide long term treatment. Therefore, community diagnostic 
and treatment resources are essential. 

Local office administration is responsible for and is to take the initia-
tive in assessing the community's services needs as it relates to 
child protection. The assessment is to include the need for estab-
lishment or strengthening of multidisciplinary teams. 

Three types of multidisciplinary teams (MDT's) have emerged: 

1. Community action teams 

 Community action multidisciplinary teams are composed of 
various professionals and laypersons united to plan, imple-
ment, and coordinate multidisciplinary services within a 
given community. They do not become directly involved with 
clients, but do serve as a vehicle to raise money and 
coordinate needed programs. In addition, they may provide 
education and public information. The goal of the community 
action MDT is to establish a comprehensive, coordinated 
community protective service program which has a high degree 
of interagency cooperation. 
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2. Consultative teams 

 Consultative MDT's are usually composed of a physician, law-
yer, psychiatrist or psychologist, public health, and mental 
health professionals. They provide consultation to protective 
services, community action groups, and hospital or school 
diagnostic teams. They do not provide direct services to 
clients. Their purpose is to provide expertise to direct service 
professionals in exceptionally complicated or difficult cases. 

3. Diagnostic teams 

 Diagnostic teams are most often located in medical/hospital 
facilities. Their purpose is to provide early diagnosis and inter-
vention. Such a team can be of great benefit in the initial stage 
of the protective services investigation. 

 One, all three, or a combination thereof may be appropriate to 
meeting the needs of a community. The local office is to take 
the lead in assuring that needed teams are developed and 
operational for their community. 



PSM 714-4 1 of 9 
ON-GOING SERVICES UPDATED SERVICES 

PLAN AND CASE CLOSURE 

PSB 2022-007 

12-1-2022 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

CRITERIA AND TIME 
LIMITS FOR ON-
GOING SERVICE 
CASES 

On-going services are provided to cases where there is confirmed 
child abuse and/or neglect (CA/N) and the family is in need of 
services. On-going services must be provided in the following case 
types following an investigation: 

• Category I cases where children remain placed in their home 
with court jurisdiction, or where children have been returned 
home within seven days and court jurisdiction is continuing. 

• Category II cases. 

• Category III cases.   

• Category III open/close cases do not require on-going 
services. 

On-going service cases should be kept open until the child is 
determined to be safe, the risk level is decreasing, and the family is 
demonstrating benefit from services thereby reducing the likelihood 
of recurrence of maltreatment in the future. 

On-going service cases which have an intensive or high risk score 
on the Risk Assessment or Reassessment must be kept open until 
the risk level is moderate or low or supervisory approval is obtained 
to close. The caseworker and supervisor together should consider 
when it is appropriate to close an on-going service case. On-going 
service cases with either of the following factors should be kept 
open for a minimum of 90 days: 

• Cases with an extensive history of CA/N. 

• The severity of the CA/N was significant and there is indication 
that future recurrence could result in harm to the child. 

DHS-152, UPDATED 
SERVICES PLAN 
(USP)  

The USP consists of the following: 

• Risk Reassessment. 
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• Reassessments of the Family Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths (FANS) and the Child Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths (CANS). 

• Safety Reassessment. 

• Service Agreement. 

• IV-E Prevention Plan when a child is determined to be a 
candidate for foster care and receiving an evidence based 
program. 

In instances where a case member is receiving Family First 
Prevention Services Act (FFPSA) title IV-E Prevention Service, 
elements of the Prevention Record and Child Specific Prevention 
Plan will populate in the USP.  For more information on FFPSA title 
IV-E Prevention Services, see SRM 108, Prevention Services, 
Famly First Prevention Services Act. 

Prevention Plan 

Children who are eligible as a candidate for foster care and have 
been approved to receive title IV-E prevention services under the 
Family First Prevention Services Act will also have a prevention 
plan in the USP. The prevention plan will automatically generate 
into the USP when one youth participant is identified and there is a 
prevention plan begin and end date which coincides with the USP 
period. For more information on completing the prevention plan and 
linking needs, strengths and services, see job aids; Maintaining a 
Prevention Service Case and Matching a Provider for Case 
Services. For more information on prevention services available 
and eligibility, see SRM 108, Prevention Services, Famly First 
Prevention Services Act. 

Time Frame for 
Completion 

The first Updated Service Plan (USP) must be completed within 60 
days after the date the investigation was submitted for supervisory 
approval. Additional USPs are due every 90 days thereafter or 
more frequently, if reclassification of the case is necessary. For 
more information on reclassification of a case, see PSM 714-1, 
Post-Investigative Services.  

A Risk and Safety Reassessment and reassessments of the FANS 
and CANS must be completed at times other than the 90-day USP 
intervals if:  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• There is a new report of abuse/neglect in which a 
preponderance of evidence is found to exist. 

• There are other significant changes in case status. 

Any Risk and Safety Reassessments and reassessments of the 
FANS and CANS completed between USPs should be documented 
in the next USP. Include any changes made to the service 
agreement and service level based on the interim Risk Reas-
sessment and reassessments of the FANS and CANS. 

Overdue USPs 

If an USP is overdue, notify the supervisor by completing an 
exception request in the electronic case record. The notification 
must document the reasons the USP is overdue and when the USP 
will be completed. The notification does not extend the 
timeframe for completion of the USP or provide approval for 
the overdue USP; it only provides notice to the supervisor.  

Social Work 
Contacts  

All contacts, either attempted or successful, must be entered into 
the electronic case record. This includes the required case 
consultation between the on-going services worker and supervisor 
as outlined in PSM 714-1, Post Investigative Services. When 
entering social work contacts on a case, the date and time of the 
contact must be included. Include the specific reason for the 
contact and a brief summary of the information obtained during the 
contact. All social work contacts with accompanying narratives will 
pre-fill into the USP. 

The social work narrative must include statements, evidence and 
actions taken by the worker that address the safety of the child. 

Motivational Interviewing 

Once an ongoing services worker is trained in Motivational 
Interviewing, the ongoing worker is expected to utilize this skill as 
an engagement tool with families. Use of Motivational Interviewing 
must be documented in social work contacts after an FFPSA IV-E 
prevention record is approved. For more information on 
Motivational Interviewing, see SRM 108, Prevention Services, 
Famly First Prevention Services Act. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Safety 
Reassessment  

The Safety Reassessment must be completed in the electronic 
case record. The accompanying explanation, the safety response-
protecting interventions entered, and the safety decision will pre-fill 
into the USP for any Safety Reassessment. The caseworker must 
update the Safety Assessment narrative to reflect what child safety 
planning occurred. See PSM 713-11, Assessments for information 
on completing Safety Assessments. 

Risk 
Reassessment  

When a case is transferred to on-going services, a new Risk 
Reassessment cannot be completed by the on-going caseworker 
until contact has been made with the family. Risk Reassessments 
require that one score be selected for each question along with an 
explanation for the selection if the question is scored as a risk 
factor. Any narratives provided for the Risk Reassessment will pre-
fill into the USP. For more information on the Risk Reassessment, 
see PSM 713-11, Assessments. 

Risk Reassessment Overrides 

Mandatory or discretionary overrides may be considered only after 
completing the Risk Reassessment.  

Discretionary Override: A worker may override the reassessment 
score based on relevant factors that support a higher risk level than 
indicated by the scale. The reason for the discretionary override 
must be documented in the override risk level box and approved by 
the supervisor.  

Mandatory Override: A mandatory override, which indicates a 
higher risk has occurred since the last assessment, must be 
identified when the Risk Reassessment is completed and the risk 
level increased to intensive. The reason for the mandatory override 
must be documented in the electronic case record.  

If a mandatory override reason was identified at the time of the 
initial assessment, or at the most recent reassessment, and case 
progress indicates a lower risk level, the original override reason 
does not have to be identified at reassessment or continue to be 
used to increase the risk level to intensive. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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See Risk Assessment section of PSM 713-11, Assessments for 
more information on discretionary and mandatory overrides. 

FANS/CANS 

Provide an explanation for each selection if the question is scored 
as a strength or a need (score other than 0). The explanations 
entered for each question on the FANS and the CANS will pre-fill 
into the USP. See FOM 722-09A, Family Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths and FOM 722-09, Child Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths for more information on completing the FANS and CANS. 

Updating/Adding Services for Family 

After the FANS is completed, update the case services screen in 
the electronic case record. For each need, link a case service and 
enter a review for the reporting period. The narrative should include 
all the following: 

• The family’s progress toward achieving service goals and 
activities in that need area. 

• Information from service providers. 

• Any revisions to the services provided in that need area. 

Updating/Adding Services for Children 

After the CANS is completed, update the case services section in 
the electronic case record. For each identified need, link a case 
service and enter a review for the reporting period for each need. 
The narrative should include all of the following:  

• Progress towards goals in the service. 

• Engagement in the service. 

• Any service revisions needed.  

Reclassification 

See PSM 714-1, Post-Investigative Services, for more information 
on reclassification of a case.  

Note:  See PSM 713-13, Child Abuse/Neglect Central Registry 
(CA/NCR), for information on providing notice to the perpetrator 
when reclassification of the case has occurred and the perpetrator 
is placed on central registry. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/714-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Progress Report 
Tab 

If the case will remain open, document the following in the progress 
report tab: 

• A summary of the reasons why the case was opened. 

• The family's overall progress toward achieving service goals 
and activities. 

• Specific examples of changes in behaviors or other conditions 
that explain a reduction in risk to the child.  

• Any revisions in the service agreement, including changes in 
services. 

• A summary of any new complaints investigated during the 
report period. 

• Explain any new safety issues and how the service agreement 
has been amended to address them. 

• Any other information relevant to the risk to and safety of the 
child. 

CASE CLOSURE 

Before an on-going case may be closed, complete a closing USP 
and document the following: 

• A summary of the reasons why the case was opened. 

• The current family situation and how any identified safety 
concerns or risk factors have been mitigated. 

• Progress made as a result of the provision of protective 
services and the reasons for closure of the case, including the 
impact of services on the risk and needs items scored on prior 
assessments. 

• Necessity of providing follow-up or further services to the 
family by other agencies. 

At closure, notify all active service providers of the closing of on-
going services case. Document the notice in social work contacts. 
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Note:  When a family is participating in Home Visiting Services and 
the case is transferring to a prevention worker/monitor, the ongoing 
worker must contact the active service provider and provide them 
with contact information for the prevention worker/monitor. See 
SRM 108, Prevention Services, Famly First Prevention Services 
Act. 

SUPERVISORY 
APPROVAL 

A supervisor must review and approve, within 14 calendar days of 
receipt, all DHS-152 Updated Services Plans. Approval indicates 
agreement with the: 

• Thoroughness, completeness, and accuracy of the USP. 

• Reassessment of risk and safety of the child.  

• Reassessments of the FANS and CANS  and the services 
provided to the family. 

• Progress made by the family. 

• Appropriateness of continued provision of services or case 
closure. 

LEGAL AUTHORITY 
 
Federal Law 

Family First Prevention Services Act, Public Law 115-123, Sec. 
50711 (2)(e)(4)(A) 

Prevention plan. The State maintains a written prevention plan for 
the child that meets the following requirements (as applicable): 

• Candidates. In the case of a child who is a candidate for foster 
care described in paragraph (2)(A), the prevention plan shall: 

 Identify the foster care prevention strategy for the child so 
that the child may remain safely at home, live temporarily 
with a kin caregiver until reunification can be safely 
achieved, or live permanently with a kin caregiver; 

 List the services or programs to be provided to or on 
behalf of the child to ensure the success of that prevention 
strategy; and 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/108.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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 Comply with such other requirements as the Secretary 
shall establish. 

• Pregnant or parenting foster youth. In the case of a child who 
is a pregnant or parenting foster youth described in (2)(B), the 
prevention plan shall: 

 Be included in the child's case pan required under section 
475(1); 

 List the services or programs to be provided to or on 
behalf of the youth to ensure that the youth is prepared (in 
the case of a pregnant foster youth) or able (in the case of 
a parenting foster youth) to be a parent; 

 Describe the foster care prevention strategy for any child 
born to the youth; and 

 Comply with such other requirements as the Secretary 
shall esablish. 

State Law 

Child Protection Law, Act 238 of 1975, MCL 722.628d (1)(c) 

Category III - community services needed. The department 
determines that there is a preponderance of evidence of child 
abuse or neglect, and the structured decision-making tool indicates 
a low or moderate risk of future harm to the child. The department 
shall assist the child's family in receiving community-based services 
commensurate with the risk to the child. If the family does not 
voluntarily participate in services, or the family voluntarily 
participates in services, but does not progress toward alleviating 
the child's risk level, the department shall consider reclassifying the 
case as category II. 

Child Protection Law, Act 238 of 1975, MCL 722.628d (1)(d) 

Category II - child protective services required. The department 
determines that there is evidence of child abuse or child neglect, 
and the structured decision-making tool indicates a high or 
intensive risk of future harm to the child. The department shall open 
a protective services case and provide the services necessary 
under this act. The department shall also list the perpetrator of the 
child abuse or child neglect, based on the report that was subject of 
the field investigation, on the central registry as provided in section 
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7(7), either by name or as "unknown" if the perpetrator has not 
been identified.  

Child Protection Law, Act 238 of 1975, MCL 722.628d (1)(e) 

Category I - court petition required. The department determines that 
there is evidence of child abuse or child neglect and one or more of 
the following are true: 

• A court petition is required under another provision of this act. 

• The child is not safe and a petition for removal is needed. 

• The department previously classified the case as a Category II 
and the child's family does not voluntarily participate in 
services. 

• There is a violation, involving the child, of a crime listed or 
described in section 8a(1)(b), (c), (d), or (f) of child abuse in 
the first or second degree as prescribed by section 136b of the 
Michigan penal code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.136b. 

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this item may be directed to the Child Welfare 
Policy Mailbox. 

 

mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
mailto:child-welfare-policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW   

The Children's Protective Services Maltreatment in Care unit (CPS-
MIC) ensures the safety and well-being of children under the care 
and supervision of the Michigan Department of Health and Human 
Services (MDHHS). The CPS-MIC unit investigates alleged 
abuse/neglect involving:  

• Licensed foster homes.  

• Licensed or unlicensed relative placements. 

• Independent living settings.  

• Child caring institutions (CCIs).  

• Child care licensed programs (CCLPs). 

• Children under court jurisdiction returned to the parental home.  
DEFINITIONS 

Child Care Organization 

A government or nongovernment organization having as its 
principal function receiving minor children for care, maintenance, 
training, and supervision, notwithstanding that educational 
instruction may be given. Child care organization includes 
organizations commonly described as child caring institutions, child 
placing agencies, children's camps, children's campsites, children's 
therapeutic group homes, child care centers, day care centers, 
nursery schools, parent cooperative preschools, foster homes, 
group homes, or child care homes. Child care organization does 
not include a governmental or nongovernmental organization that 
does either of the following:  

• Provides care exclusively to minors who have been 
emancipated by court order under section 4(3) of 1968 PA 293, 
MCL 722.4. 

• Provides care exclusively to persons who are 18 years of age 
or older and to minors who have been emancipated by court 
order under section 4(3) of 1968 PA 293, MCL 722.4, at the 
same location.  

Child Care Licensed Program (CCLP) 

A child care program designed to provide care and supervision for 
children in licensed facilities including family child care homes, 
group child care homes and child care centers. 
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Child Caring Institution (CCI) 

A child care facility organized for the purpose of receiving minor 
children for care, maintenance, and supervision, usually on a 24-
hour basis, in buildings maintained by the child caring institution for 
that purpose, and operates throughout the year. An educational 
program may be provided, but the educational program shall not be 
the primary purpose of the facility. Child caring institution includes a 
maternity home for the care of unmarried mothers who are minors 
and an agency group home. Child caring institution also includes an 
institution for developmentally disabled or emotionally disturbed 
minor children. Child caring institution does not include hospital, 
nursing home, or home for the aged or an adult foster care family 
home or an adult foster care small group home.  

Serious Physical Harm 

Any physical injury to a child that seriously impairs the child's health 
or physical well-being, including, but not limited to, brain damage, a 
skull or bone fracture, subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, 
dislocation, sprain, internal injury, poisoning, burn or scald, or 
severe cut, MCL 750.136b(1)(f). 
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INTAKE  

The Intake Decision Table for Investigation of Child Abuse and Neglect in Child Care 
Organizations/Relative Care specifies the responsibilities of CPS and the CPS-MIC unit for 
investigation of child abuse/neglect. 

INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Licensed foster home or licensed/unlicensed relative caregiver when 
allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

A foster parent or relative caregiver, and the alleged child victim is in foster 
care residing in the foster home or relative placement. 

 X 

A foster parent or relative caregiver, biological/adoptive children, and 
children in foster care residing in the foster home or relative placement, 
regardless of which child(ren) in the home is/are the alleged victim. 

  X 

A legal parent, and the child victim is in foster care, regardless of placement 
type. 

  X 

A foster parent, and the alleged child victim has returned to the parent's 
care. 

  X 

A foster parent with biological/adoptive children and there are/were no foster 
children placed in home at the time of the alleged abuse/neglect. 

X  
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Legal parents (including in-home placement or following return home 
from foster care with court jurisdiction), when allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

A child in their care, under in-home court jurisdiction, who does not have an 
open foster care case. 

X  

A child in their care, not under court jurisdiction. X  

A child in their care who has returned home from foster care and the court 
maintains jurisdiction.  

 X 

Alleged abuse or neglect occurred prior to their child going into out of home 
care.  

X  

Adding a non-respondent parent to active court cases.  X  

A child goes from one parent directly to another parent (no out of home 
placement). 

X  
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

CCIs (such as, detention centers, youth homes, shelter homes, 
residential care facilities (long- and short-term), halfway homes, court 
operated facilities) when allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

 

An employee of a CCI and an alleged child victim residing in a CCI.  X 

A legal parent and an alleged child victim under MDHHS supervision; for 
example, allegations occurred during visit. 

 X 

An employee or volunteer of a CCI and an alleged child victim who was 
returned home to a parent's care, if the abuse or neglect was alleged to 
have occurred during the child's placement in the CCI. 

 X 

A licensed provider or an employee of a CCI and the alleged victim is the 
alleged perpetrator's own child.  

X  

An employee or volunteer of a CCI and a child placed in the CCI who is not 
under supervision of MDHHS. 

 X 
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

CCLPs (referrals involving children, regardless of court jurisdiction) 
when allegations involve: 

CPS CPS-
MIC 

A child in a licensed facility.  X 

A legal parent, licensed to operate a child care facility, and the alleged victim 
is their biological/adopted child.   

X  

Unlicensed facilities. N/A N/A 
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INTAKE DECISION TABLE FOR CPS AND CPS-MIC INVESTIGATIONS 

 
Facility/Placement Type 

Responsible  
Unit - 

Department 

Licensed camp facility when allegations involve:  CPS CPS-
MIC 

Children at a licensed camp facility.  X 

A legal parent at a licensed camp facility, and the victim is the alleged 
perpetrator's own child.  

X  

 
Multiple Families 
in Same 
Household 

When multiple families reside in a home, CPS-MIC is responsible 
for the investigation if one family meets CPS-MIC criteria for 
assignment; see Intake Decision Table for CPS and CPS-MIC 
Investigations in this policy. 

Preliminary 
Investigation  

Certain situations require a preliminary investigation be completed; 
see PSM 712-1, CPS Intake . 

The preliminary investigation must include attempted contact with 
the following, where applicable: 

• The assigned foster care case manager. 

• The foster home certification case manager. 

• The Division of Child Welfare Licensing (DCWL) consultant. 

• The Bureau of Community and Health Systems (BCHS) 
consultant within Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA).  

Transferred 
Referrals 

When a referral involving a child under the care and supervision of 
MDHHS does not meet criteria for assignment for investigation by 
CPS-MIC or CPS, Centralized Intake (CI) must transfer the referral 
to the Placement Collaboration Unit and the appropriate agency for 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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investigation and/or follow up. Transfer the referral to one of the 
following within 24 hours, dependent upon the type of entity subject 
to the referral: 

• MDHHS DCWL. 

• Michigan Department of LARA. 

• Law enforcement and prosecuting attorney. 

• American Indian tribal unit. 

• MDHHS and contracted private agency case manager and 
supervisor assigned to the child(ren) involved in the referral. 

• MDHHS and the contracted private agency licensing case 
managers and supervisor assigned to the provider. 

Division of Child Welfare Licensing  

CI must notify DCWL of referrals involving: 

• Licensed foster homes.  

• Licensed relative foster care placements. 

• CCIs. 

• Court operated facilities (COFs). 

• Child placing agencies (CPAs). 

• Children in foster care who were in any setting other than a 
parental home or daycare when the alleged maltreatment 
occurred.  

Information on referral participants and allegations must be sent to 
DCWL. Contact information for the DCWL area managers can be 
found on the Child Welfare Licensing Division Contact Information 
page.  

Licensing and Regulatory Affairs  

CI must notify LARA and email referral information to the BCHS 
Children and Adult Licensing Complaint Mailbox for referrals 
involving: 

• Children's camps. 

• Child care centers. 

• Licensed family and group childcare homes. 

• Adult foster care homes. 

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/0,5885,7-339-71551_27716_76094-80929--,00.html
mailto:BCALOnlineComplaints@michigan.gov
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• Homes for the aged. 

• Child care programs not required to be licensed, such as: 
 Parent programs with parents and children on-site. 
 Indian tribal programs. 
 Enrolled day care aids and unlicensed providers through 

the Child Development and Care program. 

The CI case manager must also complete and send the law 
enforcement notification (LEN) form located within the electronic 
case management system, to the appropriate law enforcement 
jurisdiction when the referral involves a child care program not 
required to be licensed.  

CI must notify LARA and email referral information to the Bureau of 
Community Health Systems Health Facility Complaint Mailbox for 
referrals involving: 

• Hospitals. 

• State psychiatric facilities. 

• Nursing homes. 

Law Enforcement and Prosecuting Attorney 

Law enforcement agencies are solely responsible for investigating 
child abuse/neglect alleged to have occurred in the following 
settings: 

• Schools (both public and private), including boarding schools. 

• Incidental out-of-home or in-home child care (babysitting). 

• Mental health facilities not subject to PA 116. 

• Family and group child care homes and child care centers 
operating without a license/registration. 

CI must transfer referrals for these entities and refer to the local law 
enforcement agency/prosecuting attorney using the law 
enforcement referral notification (LEN) located within the electronic 
case management system. 

Note:  Referrals involving teachers residing in a facility may also 
need to be transferred to LARA. 

Intake Decision 
Notification 

For referrals involving children with an open CPS, foster care, or 
adoption program type in the electronic case management system, 

mailto:BCHS-Complaints@michigan.gov
mailto:BCHS-Complaints@michigan.gov
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CI must notify the following of the intake decision via email, as 
applicable: 

• All active assigned CPS, foster care, and adoption case 
managers and supervisors. 

• MDHHS purchase of service (POS) monitor and supervisor. 

• The Michigan Children's Institute (MCI) superintendent if the 
child is an MCI ward. 

• DCWL, except when the alleged maltreatment occurred when 
the child was placed with a parent. 

• West Michigan Partnership for Children (WMPC), for cases in 
Kent County.  

• Active, assigned licensing case manager and supervisor if the 
referral involves a licensed or enrolled foster home. 

The notification must include: 

• Intake ID. 

• Case Name. 

• Allegations. 

• Intake decision. 

• Intake decision comments. 

The intake decision notification must identify the receiving agency 
to which the referral was assigned or transferred. 

County of 
Assignment 

CPS-MIC investigations are assigned to the county where the 
alleged CA/N occurred regardless of the victim's current residence.  

Referrals received after-hours are assigned to the county where the 
alleged child victim is located to ensure contact is made within the 
designated priority response timeframe. 
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COORDINATION OF 
CONCURRENT 
INVESTIGATIONS 

Instances exist in which separate but coordinated investigations 
need to be completed concurrently, dependent upon the 
circumstances of the referral. CPS-MIC may be coordinating 
investigations with the following: 

• DCWL/LARA for compliance with PA 116 and applicable 
licensing rules for the type of agency/facility involved. 

• MDHHS or private agency foster home certification staff for 
special investigations or home studies on licensed or enrolled 
foster homes. 

• Foster care (MDHHS and/or private agency) for 
appropriateness of child placement.  

• Law enforcement for criminal allegations. 

Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) 

There may be instances when a juvenile justice facility will conduct 
an investigation under the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA), for 
which there is also CPS-MIC involvement. To support compliance 
with 28 CFR 115.371, both the facility and CPS-MIC may 
coordinate investigations and the facility may request and receive 
copies of redacted CPS investigation reports. (P.L. 108-79) 

Foster Care and 
Unlicensed 
Relative Home 
Investigations 

Required Contacts 

As soon as possible, but no later than the business day after 
receipt of the CPS referral, the CPS-MIC case manager must  
contact the following for the alleged child victim(s): 

• The assigned foster care case manager and supervisor. In 
cases being managed by a private agency, the private agency 
case manager and supervisor and the MDHHS monitoring 
case manager and supervisor must be contacted. 
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• The MDHHS county director. 

• The MCI superintendent, if applicable.  

• The assigned MDHHS and/or private agency 
licensing/certification case manager. 

• An Indian child's tribe, if applicable.  

Notification must indicate that a referral has been received and that 
CPS-MIC is investigating.  

Whenever applicable and feasible, the licensing case manager and 
CPS-MIC must coordinate investigations.   

Face-to-Face Contact with Children 

CPS-MIC case managers must make face-to-face contact with all 
alleged child victims within designated timeframes (24 or 72 hours), 
as determined by the priority response criteria; see PSM 712-1, 
CPS Intake. 

When necessary, CPS-MIC case managers should also contact 
other children who may have witnessed or been exposed to the 
alleged child abuse or neglect.  

The DHS Pub 779, Forensic Interviewing Protocol, should be used 
to interview all children who are developmentally capable to be 
interviewed. 

Case Assessments 

• Safety assessments are required for all investigations involving 
licensed foster homes and unlicensed relative caregivers.  

• Risk assessments are not required on a licensed foster 
parent/unlicensed relative unless the licensed foster 
parent/unlicensed relative is an alleged perpetrator of child 
abuse/neglect on their own children. 

• A firearm assessment is intended to be used when a case 
manager becomes aware of a firearm in a home during an 
open case. The goal of this assessment is to evaluate and 
ensure the safety of the child and guide caregivers through the 
safe storage of firearms. See PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - 
General Instructions for guidance on assessing firearm safety. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/DHS-PUB-0779.pdf?rev=e616e91287f543219b1e7d1beb906248&hash=4ED9AF3BA70EB9F0323B2B8957A213A7
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Note:  Specialists must continue to utilize licensing rules for 
licensed foster homes. Case managers must also follow criteria 
regarding weapons, firearms, and/or ammunition outlined in the 
MDHHS-5770, Relative Placement Safety Screen, and MDHHS-
3130-A, Relative Placement Home Study. 

Case Closure 

CPS-MIC case managers may request case closure if the 
allegations are not confirmed by a preponderance of evidence or 
services will not be provided by CPS ongoing. The CPS-MIC case 
manager must clearly explain the basis for case closure in the 
disposition.  

Child Caring 
Institutions (CCIs) 

Required Contacts 

The CPS-MIC case manager must notify DCWL as soon as 
possible, but no later than 24 hours after the referral is received, for 
all assigned referrals in a CCI. See DCWL section in this policy for 
information on filing a referral. 

The CPS-MIC case manager must notify the following as soon as 
possible, but no later than the next business day, after receipt of 
the referral: 

• The assigned foster care case manager and/or MDHHS 
monitoring case manager, (if applicable). 

• The county director if the child is a court ward. 

• The MCI superintendent, (if applicable). 

• The Indian child's tribe, (if applicable).  

The case manager must indicate in the notification that a child 
abuse/neglect referral was received and is being investigated.  

During the investigation, the CPS-MIC case manager must have 
contact with the CCI administrator or licensee designee at both of 
the following points: 

• Prior to contact with the alleged child victim. 

• Prior to completion of the investigation. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B17A9C9E6-B3A8-43F5-8B50-3D2D19554C18%7D&file=MDHHS-5770.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2B8E6564-9BAE-4B60-AFC3-BB8BD4CE1D75%7D&file=3130-A.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B2B8E6564-9BAE-4B60-AFC3-BB8BD4CE1D75%7D&file=3130-A.dotx&action=default&mobileredirect=true
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Face-to-Face Contact 

CPS-MIC case managers must make face-to-face contact with all 
alleged child victims within designated timeframes (24 or 72 hours), 
as determined by the priority response criteria; see PSM 712-1, 
CPS Intake. 

CPS-MIC case managers should also contact other children who 
may have witnessed or been exposed to the alleged child abuse or 
neglect.  

The DHS Pub 779, Forensic Interviewing Protocol, should be used 
to interview all children who are developmentally capable to be 
interviewed. 

Case Assessments 

The following are not required for CCI investigations: 

• Safety Assessments. 

• Risk Assessments. 

Case Closure 

CPS-MIC investigations involving a CCI may be closed without 
opening an ongoing case. Prior to case closure, the CPS-MIC case 
manager must make appropriate referrals for services or consult 
with the active foster care case manager to notify of any service 
needs for the child victim. 

Child Care 
Licensed Program 
(CCLP) and Camp 
Investigations 

Notification to Bureau of Community and Health Systems 
(BCHS) 

When a referral is received alleging child abuse/neglect at a CCLP 
or camp and is assigned, the CPS-MIC case manager must notify 
BCHS as soon as possible, but no later than 24 hours after the 
referral is received. Referrals may be submitted online on the 
BCHS website or by phone at 866-865-0126. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/dhs/DHS-PUB-0779_211637_7.pdf
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_63294_27723_27777_72411---,00.html
https://www.michigan.gov/lara/0,4601,7-154-89334_63294_27723_27777_72411---,00.html
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High Risk Investigation 

MCL 722.113f (6) defines a high-risk investigation as involving one 
or more of the following: 

• CA/N is the suspected cause of a child’s death. 

• Suspected sexual abuse or sexual exploitation. 

• CA/N resulting in serious physical harm. 

During a high-risk investigation, the CPS-MIC case manager must 
inform the CCLP or camp of their requirement to notify parents of 
all children at the CCLP or camp. The CPS-MIC case manager may 
inform the CCLP or camp through any of the following means: 

• Providing verbal direction regarding the steps required to 
inform parents including verbal and written notification.  

• Providing the DHS-216, High Risk PA 116, Special 
Investigations Instructions for Notifying Parents, and/or the 
DHS 217, Notification to Parents of a High-Risk PA 116 
Special Investigation. 

The CPS-MIC case manager must document that the notification to 
the CCLP or camp occurred, as well as the method of delivery 
(verbal or provision of form) within a social work contact. 

Face-to-Face Contact 

CPS-MIC case managers must make face-to-face contact with all 
alleged child victims within designated timeframes (24 or 72 hours), 
as determined by the priority response criteria; see PSM 712-1, 
CPS Intake. 

CPS-MIC case managers may also contact other children who may 
have witnessed or been exposed to the alleged child abuse or 
neglect.  

The DHS Pub 779, Forensic Interviewing Protocol, should be used 
to interview all age and developmentally appropriate children. 

Case Assessments 

Safety assessments and risk assessments are not required if the 
victim is not their own child.  

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B9FD336C0-C12B-420D-973B-C1BA1AF246AC%7D&file=0216.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B9FD336C0-C12B-420D-973B-C1BA1AF246AC%7D&file=0216.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B8E14D25E-A873-4625-B904-E0716E01EADD%7D&file=0217.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B8E14D25E-A873-4625-B904-E0716E01EADD%7D&file=0217.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/712-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://www.michigan.gov/documents/dhs/DHS-PUB-0779_211637_7.pdf
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Safety assessments and risk assessments are required if the 
licensed provider is also a perpetrator of child abuse/neglect for 
their own child (biological or adoptive).  

Case Closure 

CPS-MIC investigations involving a CCLP or camp may be closed 
without opening an ongoing case. Prior to case closure, the CPS-
MIC case manager must make appropriate referrals for services or 
consult with the active foster care case manager to notify of any 
needs for ongoing services for the child victim. 

CPS-MIC case managers may request case closure when any of 
the following criteria are met: 

• The allegations are not confirmed by a preponderance of 
evidence.  

• There are no children other than non-victim biological/adoptive 
children of the perpetrator remaining in the facility. 

• The identified perpetrator(s) is no longer in the facility and has 
no access to children. 

The CPS-MIC case manager must clearly indicate in the disposition 
the reason the case is being closed and why services are not being 
provided. 

CCI/CCLP/Camp 
Referrals 
Regarding an 
Employee's 
Child(ren) 

If, during a CPS-MIC investigation of a CCI, CCLP, or camp, there 
are concerns regarding child abuse/neglect to biological/adoptive 
children of an employee, a new referral must be called into CI. CI 
must complete a separate referral for the household at the address 
where the alleged perpetrator and child(ren) reside. The CPS-MIC 
investigator must also document concerns regarding the 
biological/adoptive child(ren) within a social work contact. 

If assigned, the referral will be investigated by the local CPS unless 
the family residence meets the requirements for CPS-MIC 
assignment. The CPS-MIC and CPS case manager should 
coordinate investigations whenever possible. 
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The results of assignment and/or disposition of a CPS investigation 
on a licensed/registered child care home or an employee of a child 
care facility regarding abuse/neglect of their own children cannot 
be shared with their employer. 

REQUIREMENTS 
FOR ALL CPS-MIC 
INVESTIGATIONS 

CPS-MIC case managers are required to follow the procedures 
established for all CA/N investigations as outlined in the Protective 
Services Manuals (PSM). 

CPS-MIC case managers must assess safety throughout the 
investigation. Safety plans must be documented in social work 
contacts. If in writing, the safety plan should be uploaded to the 
document tab of the investigation in the electronic case 
management system.  

If CPS-MIC determines that a child currently in foster care is unsafe 
and no provision of service can safeguard the child in the home, 
foster care must be contacted to assist with replacement. 
Whenever possible, the foster care case managers should handle 
the replacement.  

If it is determined that replacement must occur after-hours, the 
assigned foster care case managers must be notified of the 
removal within 24 hours or the next business day. 

Notifying Parents  

All parents or legal guardians must be notified of CPS-MIC 
investigations involving their children by the CPS-MIC case 
managers, as soon as possible. Case managers must be mindful of 
case confidentiality of other parties to the case when notifying 
parents. For information on confidentiality see SRM 131, 
Confidentiality. 

Face-to-face contact with parents or guardians is required in the 
following situations: 

• When the parent or guardian is residing in the home where the 
alleged CA/N occurred. 

• When the parent or guardian is identified as an alleged 
perpetrator. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• When there is indication the parent or guardian is a witness to 
the alleged CA/N or is otherwise able to provide details 
regarding the incident.  

In situations where face-to-face contact is not required, or 
documented efforts are unsuccessful, a case manager must still 
contact the parent or guardian by phone to obtain information and 
discuss pertinent details of the investigation.  

In instances where parents or guardians are unable to be located or 
attempts to make contact have been unsuccessful, the parent or 
guardian should be notified by letter of the investigation. The letter 
should be sent to the most recent address. 

Medical Exams  

A CPS-MIC case manager may request the foster parent or relative 
provider take a child for an emergent medical exam to assess 
potential child injury (MCL 722.124a(1)).   

For more information on medical exams, see PSM 713-04, Medical 
Examination and Assessment. 

During a CPS-MIC investigation, the CPS-MIC case manager 
should serve as the lead for medical examination steps including: 

• Securing and arranging medical examinations. 

• Communicating with medical professionals regarding need for 
the examination and results, need for treatment, etc. 

• Obtaining medical examination records and documents 
pertinent to the investigation. 

Interviewing Child 
Witnesses 

CPS-MIC must always receive permission from the parent/guardian 
before the case manager can interview a non-ward child who may 
have been a witness; see PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation-General 
Instructions and Checklist, General Instructions.   

Note:  If a child is already a court ward and the allegations are 
against the placement, parental permission is not required to 
interview non-victims.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-04.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-04.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Central Registry 

A confirmed CPS-MIC case for serious abuse, serious neglect, 
sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, or methamphetamine production 
requires the perpetrator's name be placed on central registry. 
Individuals whose names are added to central registry must be 
properly notified through use of the DHS 847, Notice of Placement 
on Central Registry. Individuals determined to be perpetrators of 
child abuse or child neglect but for whom the maltreatment type 
finding does not meet central registry requirements, must be 
properly notified using the DHS 847c, Notice of a Confirmed Case. 

For more information on Central Registry, PSM 713-13, Central 
Registry and Confirmed Perpetrator Notification. 

Dispositional 
Conference 

Prior to disposition of the investigation, the CPS-MIC case manager 
must coordinate a dispositional case conference with the following 
individuals: 

• The assigned CPS-MIC supervisor. 

• Each MDHHS and private agency foster care (PAFC) case 
manager and supervisor active at the time of the referral, 
including the MDHHS purchase of service (POS) monitor and 
supervisor, if applicable. 

• For confirmed cases where the foster child(ren) remain in 
the home, the MDHHS county director or their designee 
must attend the dispositional case conference. 

• Licensing certification case manager. 

• DCWL/BCHS licensing consultant, for referrals involving a CCI, 
CCLP, COF, camp, or other facility. 

• MCI consultant or superintendent. 

• Adoption case manager and supervisor, if applicable. 

• The Indian child's tribe, if applicable. 

The purpose of the conference is to formulate action steps to be 
taken and determine the person responsible for implementing 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-13.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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action to maintain safety, permanency, and child/family well-being. 
The action steps discussed must be documented in the 
investigative report within a social work contact. Documentation 
must identify who is responsible for completion of each action step. 
If services are needed for the child or family, CPS-MIC must 
discuss this during the dispositional conference, and document it 
within the social work contact.  

Report Sharing 

The CPS-MIC case manager must ensure that within five business 
days of supervisory approval, an appropriately redacted copy of the 
DHS-154, CPS Investigative Report, is forwarded to: 

• DCWL/BCHS consultant and supervisor. 

• MDHHS and/or PAFC licensing consultant and supervisor. 

• MDHHS or PAFC supervisor(s) assigned to the foster care 
case(s). 

• MDHHS or private agency adoption supervisor(s) assigned to 
the adoption case(s). 

• The Indian child's tribe, if applicable.  

For proper redaction; see SRM 131, Confidentiality.   

The CPS-MIC case manager should also request a copy of reports 
from any coordinating agency, such as law enforcement and 
DCWL. All reports obtained should be scanned and uploaded into 
the electronic case management system in the documents tab.  

Petitioning the 
Court 

The CPS-MIC case manager must file a supplemental petition 
when a child is under court jurisdiction and an investigation results 
in confirmation of additional child abuse/neglect if the perpetrator of 
the abuse/neglect is a parent or other person with legal right to 
reunification. The supplemental petition should be filed with the 
court who has jurisdiction. (MCL 712A.19(1)).  For additional court 
information see working with legal counsel in PSM 715-3, Family 
Court: Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/715-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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The CPS-MIC case manager must also collaborate with the local 
MDHHS county director and the assigned public or private foster 
care staff regarding court hearings, details of the court case, and 
other court related responsibilities.  

When the Child Protection Law (CPL) requires a mandatory petition 
be filed, CPS MIC case manager must write the petition and ensure 
all supporting documentation is completed as required.  

OPEN CASES 

All cases requiring ongoing services will be transferred to the 
appropriate unit.   

Foster Care 

If the only identified victim in the home is a foster child, and the 
child remains placed with the confirmed perpetrator, foster care 
must provide services to the family to support safe placement and 
rectify the issues which caused the CPS-MIC confirmation. The 
CPS-MIC case will be processed as an open/close, documenting 
that foster care will be providing services to the family via their open 
foster care case. Preventative services for the family must be 
initiated by foster care at the time of case opening.  

If the foster child victim is moved to a new placement separate from 
the perpetrator, but the perpetrator is licensed, the case must 
transfer to CPS ongoing services in the county where the licensee 
resides, to provide services that address the risks identified during 
the confirmation. 

CPS Ongoing 

If there is a combination of both confirmed victims, including 
biological/adoptive children of the identified perpetrator and foster 
child victims, the case must transfer to CPS ongoing in the county 
where services will be provided to the family.  

If the identified victims are biological/adoptive children of the 
identified perpetrator and a foster child is not confirmed as a victim, 
the case must transfer to CPS ongoing in the county where 
services will be provided to the family.  

CPS ongoing will oversee the provision of services for the family. 
Regular updates to the foster care agency of responsibility must 
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occur to ensure suitability of continued placement. Preventative 
services must be initiated by CPS ongoing at case opening. 

To ensure services to the family are being completed timely and 
efficiently, the following steps must occur: 

• Timely notification and transfer to the appropriate unit to 
coordinate efforts to initiate services for the family.  

• When a foster child remains in the home at the time of the 
CPS-MIC confirmation, the following must occur: 

• Within three (3) business days of the decision to confirm a 
CPS-MIC case that involves a home where foster children 
continue to reside, CPS-MIC must conduct a Family Team 
Meeting (FTM) to include:  

 Confirmed caregiver. 
 Other adult household members. 
 Age-appropriate children. 
 Active case managers.  
 Service providers, family supports.  
 CPS ongoing case manager from county of residence 

and the county director responsible for overseeing the 
foster care case.  

• The county director is responsible for approving placement 
decisions for foster youth in confirmed homes and must 
have all relevant information to determine suitability of 
continued placement.  

• Once the FTM is completed, the case must transfer to 
CPS ongoing within 5-business days.  

• The acceptance of the ongoing CPS case and provision of 
services cannot be delayed. 

• At the time of case transfer, services must be immediately 
initiated to address risk associated with the confirmed 
case.  

• All requirements for CPS ongoing case management must 
be met. 

• For all other cases, a case conference must be conducted 
within 5-business days after confirmation of child abuse and/or 
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neglect. The case conference should review needed services, 
safety plans, and monitoring to be provided to ensure child 
safety. The following should be included in the case 
conference: 

• The CPS-MIC case manager. 

• The CPS-MIC supervisor. 

• The local office case manager. 

• The local office supervisor.  

• The BCHS/DCWL consultant, if applicable. 

• The Indian child's tribe, if applicable.  

Note:  Continued placement of a foster child in a home with a 
caregiver who is confirmed in a child abuse and/or neglect 
investigation requires county director approval. 

Family Team Meeting 

The CPS-MIC case manager and the CPS ongoing case manager 
should coordinate with the family to schedule and prepare for the 
FTM. Both the CPS-MIC case manager and the CPS ongoing case 
manager must participate with the FTM, either in person, by phone, 
or virtually. For more information on the FTMs; see FOM 722-06B, 
Family Team Meeting. 

CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child-
Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-06B.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-06B.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

When a petition alleging abuse is filed, MCL 712A.13a(4) requires 
the court to consider removing the alleged perpetrator or other per-
son from the home. 

See PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, Coordination 
with Friend of the Court for requirements on determining if the 
family has an open Friend of the Court case when a petition is filed. 

Removal of 
Alleged 
Perpetrator from 
the Home 

The court may order a parent, guardian, custodian, non-parent 
adult, or other person residing in the child’s home to leave the 
home and, except as the court orders, not subsequently return to 
the home, if all of the following take place: 

 The petition is authorized. 

 The court, after a hearing, finds probable cause to believe the 
individual in question committed the abuse. 

 The court finds on the record that the presence of the alleged 
perpetrator in the home presents a substantial risk of harm to a 
child's life, physical health or mental well-being. 

If the court orders the alleged perpetrator out of the child’s home, 
the court must order with whom the child is placed and find that the 
conditions of custody (placement) are adequate to safeguard the 
child from the risk of harm to the child's life, physical health or men-
tal well-being. 

The court may consider, in making its order, whether the parent 
who is to remain in the home is married to the person being 
removed from the home or has a legal right to retain possession of 
the home. It may also order: 

 The alleged abusive parent to pay appropriate support to 
maintain a suitable home environment for the child. 

 The alleged perpetrator to surrender to local law enforcement 
any firearms or other weapons the alleged perpetrator may 
own, use or possess. 



PSM 715-1 2 of 2 
REMOVAL OF ALLEGED PERPETRATOR 

FROM THE HOME 

PSB 2013-006 

11-1-2013 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

 

 Any other reasonable term or condition necessary to safeguard 
the child's physical or mental well-being or necessary to protect 
the child. 

In addition to taking the actions described above, the court may 
issue an order permanently restraining a nonparent adult from com-
ing into contact with or being in close proximity to the child (MCL 
712A.6b). 

CPS 
Recommendations 
to the Court 

CPS must be prepared to address, in the best interests of the child, 
as many of these issues as possible in the development of the peti-
tion and recommendations to the court and at the court hearing. 
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OVERVIEW 

When a child is in imminent danger and supports and services 
cannot be put in place to ensure child safety, Children's Protective 
Services (CPS) must take prompt action to protect the child. Efforts 

should first be made to enable the child to remain in the home or 
with their own family, if at all possible. Efforts to create child safety 
within their own home include: 

• Temporary voluntary arrangements.  

• Family supports. 

• Services such as, Families First, Families Together Building 
Solutions, etc.  

• Safety planning. 

• Fililng a petition for removal of the perpetrator from the home 
and/or in home jurisdiction.  

When CPS identifies safety concerns which do not rise to the level 
of court involvement, the MDHHS-5433, Temporary Voluntary 
Arrangement, can be utilized. The MDHHS-5433 documents a 
temporary voluntary arrangement between the caregiver(s) and an 

individual who agrees to care for the child(ren) until identified safety 
issues can be resolved; see PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation -
General Instructions. 

CONSIDERING 

COURT 
INTERVENTION 

Temporary voluntary arrangements, supports, services and safety 
planning should be considered to prevent the removal of the child 
from the home. If the child is removed from the home, efforts must 

be made to reunify children with their siblings and families as soon 
as safely possible. 

When filing a petition, a request for removal may not be 
necessary. Relief requested should be the least intrusive 

necessary for protection of the child or resolution of the 
emergency.  

A worker, in consultation with his/her supervisor, should discuss 
those cases in which it is not reasonable to provide services for 
reunification. A mandated petition for termination of parental rights 

is not a reason for not providing services to reunify the family.The 
DHS-154, Investigation Report, and the DHS-152, Updated 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B346B7BB3-FAC1-4E30-839F-FDD0EC6E08C7%7D&file=MDHHS-5433.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true&DefaultItemOpen=1
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7B346B7BB3-FAC1-4E30-839F-FDD0EC6E08C7%7D&file=MDHHS-5433.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true&DefaultItemOpen=1
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Services Plan, must contain clear documentation of the reasons 
why the department believes that providing services towards 
reunification is not reasonable. 

Exception:  The local office may, but is not required to, make 

reasonable efforts to reunify the child with a parent who is required 
by court order to register under the sex offenders registration act.  

Reasonable Efforts 

While reasonable efforts are a legal standard, the department 
requires that CPS caseworkers attempt to engage with families to 
enable children to remain safe in their homes. When filing a 

petition, reasonable efforts must be documented in the petition. 
Examples of reasonable efforts include the following, among other 
efforts: 

• Holding a family team meeting. 

• Safety planning to address concerns. 

• Offering services to allow the child to remain in the home. 

If unable to provide reasonable efforts to the family to prevent the 
removal of the child, the CPS worker must document why it was not 
possible to provide reasonable efforts. 

Family Team Meetings (FTM) 

Family Team Meetings (FTM) will occur at multiple stages through-
out the life of a CPS case. A FTM must occur no later than seven 

days after a preliminary hearing.  

Emergency 
Removal 

Emergency removal and placement, sometimes referred to as ex 
parte orders, must only occur in rare and extreme circumstances 
and must be based on conditions which present immediate danger 

to a child. A preliminary hearing is the preferred venue for the court 
to decide on removal and placement of children. 

The need for emergency removal must be evaluated prior to con-
tacting the court. A judge or referee may issue a written ex parte 

order upon receipt, electronically or otherwise, of a petition or 
affidavit of facts and the court finds all of the following: 
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• Reasonable cause to believe that the child is at imminent risk 
of harm and emergency removal is the only option to protect 

the child. 

• The circumstances warrant an ex parte order pending the 
preliminary hearing. 

• Consistent with the circumstances, reasonable efforts were 
made to prevent or eliminate the need for removal of the child. 

• No remedy other than protective custody is reasonably 
available to protect the child. 

• Continuing to reside in the home is contrary to the child’s 
welfare.  

American Indian 

Child  

Active efforts must be made to prevent removal for American Indian 
children; see NAA 205, Indian Child Welfare Case Management, 
and see NAA 235, Emergency Placement , for information on 

safety planning and removal of American Indian children. 

Child 
Hospitalization 

In the absence of a court order, CPS must not request that a 
hospital detain a child.  

LAW 
ENFORCEMENT  

Law enforcement may remove a child with or without a court order 
based upon their own statutory requirements. CPS cannot take 
custody of a child from law enforcement or remove a child from 
his/her home or arrange emergency placement without a written 

court order, electronically or otherwise, authorizing the specific 
action. When the Michigan Department of Health and Human 
Services (MDHHS) is contacted by law enforcement seeking the 

assistance of CPS in the removal of a child, CPS must immediately 
contact the designated judge or referee.  

Caseworkers can request law enforcement assistance in the 
removal of children. Assistance from law enforcement must be 
requested when: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/NA/Public/NAA/205.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/NA/Public/NAA/235.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• A written court order has been obtained and the parents refuse 
to allow the child to be removed. 

• A child's life or safety is in immediate danger because of the 
parent's condition or because a young child is alone and no 
parent or other responsible person can be located. 

• A crime is being committed (for example, methamphetamine 
production, or domestic violence). 

• A child or worker may need protection against bodily harm. 

COURT ORDERED 
REMOVAL OF CHILD 
FROM HOME 

When the only available option to protect a child from danger is 
removal from his/her home, the Family Division of Circuit Court 
must be contacted immediately for written authorization of removal 
and to arrange placement or authorize the department to arrange 

for placement. The legal module of MiSACWIS CPS must be 
completed. Under removal reasons, the worker must document why 
it is contrary to the welfare of the child to remain in the home and 

what reasonable efforts were made to prevent removal.  

When court involvement is necessary to protect a child, a petition or 

affidavit of facts must be submitted, electronically or otherwise, to 
the Family Division of Circuit Court. Before requesting removal of 
children caseworkers should consider alternate home conditions 

including removal of the perpetrator from the home or other creative 
options that achieve safety for the children.  

Note:  Consider requesting the court to order the alleged 
perpetrator out of the home; see PSM 715-1, Removal of the 

Alleged Perpetrator from the Home.  

See PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, Coordination 

with Friend of the Court, for requirements on determining if the 
family has an open Friend of the Court (FOC) case when a petition 
is filed and notifying FOC when there is a change in a child’s 

placement. 

The Family Division of Circuit Court in each county should 
designate an official of the court to be available after hours (nights, 
weekends, and/or holidays) to provide written authorization for 

removal and placement of a child in out-of-home care in emergency 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/715-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/715-1.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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situations. If the designated official is not available, contact local 
law enforcement and request assistance in taking the child into 
custody. Law enforcement may remove a child temporarily without 

court authorization; see Michigan Court Rule 3.963(A) and the 
Probate Code of 1939, MCL 712A.14(1). 

Note:  Do not take any child into custody or arrange emergency 
placement without a written court order authorizing the specific 

action even when law enforcement takes the child into custody 
without court authorization. 

The local office must have formal written agreements with the Fam-
ily Division of Circuit Court, local law enforcement, and with shelter 

care resources, so that written emergency authorization of removal 
and placement can be completed without delay. 

Case Record 
Documentation 
When Child 

Removed 

The following should be documented in the DHS 154 or DHS 152, 
USP, when a child is removed: 

• In an emergency removal with no services provided it must 
indicate why no services were provided to the family prior to 

removal of the child which would make it possible for the child 
to remain home. Specifically identify the facts which indicate 
imminent risk of harm to the child.  

• If services were provided prior to the removal, identify the 
services provided by the department to the family in an effort to 
prevent the need for removal of the child from the home. 

Documentation must indicate why services did not eliminate 
the need for removal. 

 
NOTIFICATION TO  
PARENTS WHO ARE 

INCARCERATED 

The CPS worker must provide notice to the parent who is 
incarcerated by mail or telephone.  

The caseworker must do the following to ensure the parent who is 
incarcerated partipates in the FTM:  
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• Provide prior notice of a scheduled FTM to a parent who is 
incarcerated only in the case of a considered removal. The 

worker must document this notification in the DHS 154 
and DHS-152.  

• If time allows, send a copy of the DHS-1107, Family Team 
Meeting Attendance Report, and ask the parent to sign 
and return it. 

• Notify the parent’s attorney of the FTM and the attorney 
must be allowed to attend the FTM. 

• Ensure that the parent receives copies of the DHS-1105, 
Family Team Meeting Activity Report, and the DHS-1107, 
Family Team Meeting Attendance Report, after all FTM’s. 

The caseworker must do the following to ensure the incarcerated 
parent particpates in court proceedings: 

Notify the court that a parent is under Michigan Department of 

Corrections jurisdiction by including the statement: “a telephonic 
hearing is required pursuant to MCR 2.004,” near the top of the 
petition. The clause must also contain the parent’s prisoner number 

and location.  

Note:  For information on how to locate parents who are 

incarcerated see PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - General 
Instructions.  

PLACEMENT 

When a child cannot remain safely in their family home, the child 
should be placed in the most family-like and least restrictive setting 

required to meet their unique needs. Siblings should be placed 
together whenever possible. MDHHS must strive to make the first 
placement the best and only placement. 

Placement with 
Non-Custodial 

Parents  

Every removal must consider and evaluate placement with the non-
custodial parent, and other relatives. When CPS evaluates 
placement with the non-custodial parent, CPS must complete the 

following as soon as possible but within 24 hours or the next 
business day: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Central registry clearance on all members of the household 
who are age 18 or older.  

• Criminal history checks on all household members.  

• A home visit.  

• Risk Assessment and Family Assessment of Needs and 
Strengths on the non-custodial parent’s household; see PSM 
713-11, Risk Assessment, and PSM 713-12, Family and Child 

Assessments of Needs and Strengths, sections for more 
information on completing these assessments. 

Unless ordered by the court, children must not be placed in the 
home of the non-custodial parent if: 

• Any adult household member has a felony conviction for any of 
the following: 

 Child abuse or neglect. 

 Spousal abuse. 

 A crime against a child or children, including 

pornography. 

 A crime involving violence, including rape, sexual 
assault, or homicide. 

 Physical assault or battery for which there is a felony 
conviction in the last five years. 

 A drug-related offense for which there is a felony 
conviction in the last five years. 

• An adjudicated sex offender (adult or juvenile) resides in the 
home. 

If a member of the household has a felony conviction for physical 
assault, battery or a drug-related offense from more than five years 
ago, evaluate this information to determine whether there are safety 

issues that must be addressed. Document the rationale and obtain 
signature approval from a county director or district manager before 
allowing a child to be placed in the non-custodial parent’s home. 

This documentation must describe and support the basis for the 
approval, and why the child is safe in the non-custodial parent’s 
home. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-11.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-12.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-12.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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If a member of the household is listed on central registry, evaluate 
this information to determine whether there are safety issues that 
must be addressed. Document the rationale and obtain signature 

approval from a supervisor before allowing a child to be placed in 
the non-custodial parent’s home.  

The results of the clearances and assessments outlined above 
must be documented in the DHS-154, or the current DHS-152, 

Updated Services Plan.  

Relatives 

See FOM 722-03B for requirements to search and evaluate 
placement with a relative.  

Limitations on 
Number of 
Children in Foster 

home 

Limitations exist to placing a child in a foster home. See FOM 722-
3, Foster Care - Placement Selection and Standards, for more 
information about these limitations.  

Exceptions to these limitations may be made when it is determined 
to be in the best interest of the child being placed. Exceptions 

cannot be given for increases to licensing capacity or other 
licensing rules for licensed foster homes except as outlined in foster 
home licensing rules.  

When an exception to the limitation on the number of children in a 

home is needed, see FOM 722-03E, Foster Care- Placement 
Exception Requests and Approvals, for more information on the 
exception request and approval process.  

Note:  Placement cannot be made until the exception approval 

process is complete. 

Placement With 

Siblings 

Every effort must always be made to place siblings together, 
including requesting an exception to the limitation on the number of 
children in a foster or relative home can, as outlined above. All 

siblings who enter foster care at or near the same time must be 
placed together, unless: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-03B.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-03.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-03.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-03E.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• One of the siblings has exceptional needs that can be met only 
in a specialized program or facility. 

• Such placement is harmful to one or more of the siblings. 

• The size of the sibling group makes a joint placement 
impractical, notwithstanding diligent efforts to make a joint 
placement. 

If the sibling group is not placed into the same out-of-home 

placement, the efforts made must be documented in Question 4 of 
the Transfer Needs/Services tab of the Transfer to Foster Care 
module. 

Children Are In Out-Of-Home Care, But Siblings Remain At 
Home Or Are New To The Home  

See PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, New Child to 

Parent with Child(ren) in Out-Of-Home Placement, for policy 
information on children being in care while their siblings remain at 
home or are new to the home.  

MEDICAL NEEDS OF 

CHILDREN IN 
FOSTER CARE 

A child’s health status must be assessed, and medical needs must 
be identified and documented in the health profile screens in 
MiSACWIS, located in person overview under the health profile link, 

prior to the child’s placement into foster care. CPS must make 
every effort to obtain this medical information, including names of 
medical provider(s), the child's last medical visit, current 

medications, and current mental health status before the removal of 
a child. This information must be provided to the foster care worker 
and the foster placement. CPS should contact their designated 

health liaison officer health liaison officer (HLO) before the removal 
occurs. CPS must contact the HLO within 24 hours of the child's 
removal and provide the name and contact information for the 

foster care home or relative caregiver and any known medical 
information for the child. CPS must also provide the placement with 
a completed DHS-3762, Medical Authorization Card, and the DHS-

Pub-268, Guidelines for Foster Parents and Relatives Caregivers 
for Health Care and Behavioral/Mental Health Services.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks


PSM 715-2 10 of 10 
COURT INTERVENTION AND PLACEMENT 

OF CHILDREN 

PSB 2021-005 

7-1-2021 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

CITIZENSHIP AND 
NOTIFICATION OF 
CONSULATE 

The CPS worker must inquire and attempt to verify citizenship 
status at the time of removal. Any child who is not a United States 
citizen, regardless of immigration status, is considered a foreign 
national. When a foreign national is taken into protective custody, 

or placed with the department for care and supervision, the Vienna 
Convention on Consular Relations requires that the appropriate 
consulate receive notification within 48 hours. The department is 

required to complete and submit a DHS-914, Notice to Foreign 
Consul/Embassy, to the appropriate consulate. A listing of foreign 
consular offices in the United States may be found at: 

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel.html 

After entering the U.S. State Department Foreign Consular Offices 
website, click on the box on the left side of the page to access con-

sular offices by country. 

The CPS worker must document and share this information with the 
assigned foster care worker.  

Refer to FOM 722-6K for more information.  

 
A.  

ASSISTANCE CASES 

When out-of-home placement has occurred and the family has an 

open assistance case, contact the family's assistance worker 
immediately to inform them that out-of-home placement has 
occurred. 

https://travel.state.gov/content/travel.html
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-06K.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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OVERVIEW 

In most cases, safety concerns for children may be resolved 
through active engagement with families and provision of services, 
without court involvement. When efforts to achieve and maintain a 
child's safety in their own home or with family have failed, or where 
the Child Protection Law (CPL), MCL 722.621 et seq., requires, a 
petition must be filed. A petition can be filed to maintain placement 
of the child with their family, to request court ordered participation in 
services, to request removal of a perpetrator from the home, or for 
placement of a child outside of the home. 

When filing a court petition, the least intrusive relief needed to keep 
a child safe should be requested. Petitions seeking to remove a 
child from their home should only be filed in extreme cases when all 
efforts to assure child safety have failed or the child cannot be 
protected short of removal.  

The assigned caseworker files the petition on behalf of Michigan 
Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS), but the 
Family Division of Circuit Court in each county decides whether to 
authorize or grant the petition.  

DEFINITIONS 

Power of Attorney 

A written agreement in which a parent or guardian of a child 
delegates any or all their powers regarding the care, custody, or 
property of the child to another adult. 

Severe Physical Injury/Serious Physical Harm 

Severe physical injury means serious physical harm to a child, as 
defined in MCL 750.136b. Serious physical harm means any 
physical injury that seriously impairs the child's health or physical 
well-being, including but not limited to, brain damage, a skull or 
bone fracture, subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, dislocation, 
sprain, internal injury, poisoning, burn or scald, or severe cut.  

Sexual Abuse 

A confirmed case that involves sexual penetration, sexual contact, 
attempted sexual penetration, or assault with intent to penetrate as 
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those terms are defined in section 520a of the Michigan penal 
code, 1931 PA 328, MCL 750.520a. 

WORKING WITH 
LEGAL COUNSEL 

The local MDHHS office must work with the prosecuting attorney's 
office (or alternate counsel) to develop and maintain a protocol 
outlining procedures for submitting petitions.  

When a caseworker presents a mandatory petition to the 
prosecuting attorney's office for filing with the court and the 
prosecutor refuses to file the petition, the caseworker must then file 
the petition directly with the court. If the Family Division of Circuit 
Court refuses to accept or authorize the mandatory petition, a copy 
of the unauthorized petition must be scanned and uploaded into the 
Document tab of the Investigation Task page in the electronic case 
record.  

If the prosecuting attorney's office (or alternate legal counsel) 
refuses to file a non-mandatory petition with the court, the 
caseworker may file the petition directly with the court. Document 
the prosecuting attorney's refusal and any action taken in social 
work contacts.  

Attorney General 
Representation  

If the local prosecuting attorney refuses to represent the 
department in a mandatory child welfare action, the local office 
must request representation by the attorney general or a private 
attorney; see FOM 903-9, Case Service Payments, for information 
on receiving reimbursement for costs. 

PETITIONS 

Various circumstances outlined below require that a caseworker file 
a petition for court jurisdiction over a child. The following 
considerations should be made if filing a petition: 

• All petitions do not warrant a request for removal of the child. 

• The least intrusive relief necessary for protection of the child 
should be requested.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/903-09.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks


PSM 715-3 3 of 17 
FAMILY COURT: PETITIONS, HEARINGS 

AND COURT ORDERS 

PSB 2023-
wrk004PSB 

2023-004 

12-1-2023 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

• Circumstances may exist in which a caseworker must also 
include a request for termination of parental rights. 

Non-offending 
Parent Evaluation 

When a mandatory petition is required and there is a non-offending 
parent, the caseworker must evaluate whether the child should 
remain or be placed with the non-offending parent. The caseworker 
must consider whether the non-offending parent failed to protect 
the child. The evaluation, specific to the non-offending parent, must 
include the following: 

• The ability and willingness to keep the child safe from the 
perpetrator by preventing access.  

• The ability to adequately care for the child and provide love 
and affection to the child. 

• The ability to follow through with any trauma response services 
for the child/family, if recommended.  

• Evidence of current or previous failure to protect the child or 
any other children. 

• Evidence of attempts to influence the child's portrayal of the 
events that led to the current court action. 

• Other relevant factors, including best interests of the child.  

The petition and supporting documents must include all relevant 
facts, including all information available concerning the non-
offending parent's involvement, lack of involvement, or knowledge 
of the risk the perpetrator presented to the child. 

Supervisor 
Approval 

Prior to presenting a petition to the court caseworkers must review 
the case concerns with their supervisor, or designee. If the relief 
requested is for removal of the child from their home, the 
supervisor/designee must review and approve the decision to 
petition the court. Approval by the supervisor or designee must be 
based on review of the following: 
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• Compliance with CPL (MCL 722.637 and 722.638). 

• Review of current safety concerns and protective interventions.  

• Review of case history and services provided to the family. 

• Discussion and identification of alternatives to removal of the 
child, when appropriate. 

Mandatory 
Petition- Court 
Jurisdiction 

Child Protection Law, Section 8d(1)(e) (MCL 722.628d(1)(e) 

A caseworker must submit a petition if there is evidence of child 
abuse or neglect and one or more of the following are true: 

• The child is not safe, and a petition is needed to ensure the 
child's safety. 

• A petition is required under another provision of the CPL. 

• The department previously classified the case as a Category II 
and the child's family does not voluntarily participate in 
services. 

• The abuse or neglect is caused by one of the following crimes: 

 MCL 722.628a(1)(b) - Assault with intent to commit 
criminal sexual conduct (in violation of section 520g of the 
penal code, MCL 750.520g). 

 MCL 722.628a(1)(c) - A felonious attempt or a felonious 
conspiracy to commit criminal sexual conduct. 

 MCL 722.628a(1)(d) - An assault on a child that is 
punishable as a felony.   

 Child abuse in the 3rd degree is not included as an 
offense that requires a mandatory petition; however, 
this does not prevent DHHS from filing a petition 
and/or getting another opinion from the local 
prosecutor. 
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 MCL 722.628a(1)(f) - Involvement in child sexually 
abusive material or child sexually abusive activity (in 
violation of section 145c of the penal code, MCL 
750.145c). 

 MCL 750.136b(1)-(4) - First- or second-degree child abuse 
including: 

 Intentionally causing serious mental or physical harm. 

 Intentionally committing an act that would likely cause 
serious mental or physical harm, regardless of 
whether harm occurs. 

 A person's omission causes serious physical or 
mental harm. 

See PSM 718-5, CPS Appendix F - The Michigan Penal Code, for a 
listing of the penal code violations. 

Note:  Caseworkers must remember when requesting a petition 
that a request for removal is not necessary in all required petition 
situations. Relief requested should be least intrusive necessary to 
protection of the child or resolution of the emergency.  

Child Protection Law, Section 17 (MCL 722.637) 

A caseworker must submit a petition within 24 hours after 
determining that the parent or legal guardian either perpetrated or 
failed to protect the child from:  

• Sexual abuse. See Definitions in this policy item. 

• Severe physical injury, due to abuse or neglect. See 
Definitions in this policy item. 

• Exposure to, or had contact with, methamphetamine 
production. 

A caseworker is not required to submit a petition if it is determined 
that the parent or legal guardian is not a suspected perpetrator of 
the abuse/neglect and the following apply: 

• The parent or legal guardian did not neglect or fail to protect 
the child. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/718-5.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• The parent or legal guardian does not have a historical record 
that shows a documented pattern of neglect or failing to protect 
the child. 

• The child is safe in the parent’s or legal guardian’s care. 

Child Protection Law, Section 18, MCL 722.638 

A caseworker must submit a petition when it is determined there is 
a preponderance of evidence that a parent, guardian, custodian, or 
a person who is 18 years of age or older and who resides for any 
length of time in the child's home, has abused the child or a sibling 
of the child and the abuse includes one or more of the following: 

 Abandonment of a young child. 

 Criminal sexual conduct involving penetration, attempted 
penetration, or assault with intent to penetrate.  

 Battering, torture, or other severe physical abuse. 

 Loss or serious impairment of an organ or limb. 

 Life-threatening injury. 

 Murder or attempted murder. 

The department must also submit a petition when it is determined 
that there is a risk of harm, child abuse, or child neglect to the child 
and either of the following is true:   

• The parent's rights to another child were involuntarily 
terminated under section 2(b) of MCL 712A.2, or similar law of 
another state, and the parent has failed to rectify the conditions 
that led to the prior termination of parental rights. 

• The parent's rights to another child were voluntarily 
terminated following the initiation of proceedings under 
section 2(b) of MCL 712A.2, or similar law of another state, the 
parent has failed to rectify the conditions that led to prior 
termination of parental rights, and the proceeding involved 
abuse that included one or more of the following: 

 Abandonment of a young child. 
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 Criminal sexual conduct involving penetration, attempted 
penetration, or assault with intent to penetrate. 

 Battering, torture, or other severe physical abuse. 

 Loss or serious impairment of an organ or limb. 

 Life-threatening injury. 

 Murder or attempted murder. 

 Voluntary manslaughter. 

 Aiding and abetting, attempting to commit, conspiring to 
commit, or soliciting murder or voluntary manslaughter. 

Note:  If a parent is a suspected perpetrator or is suspected of 
placing the child at an unreasonable risk of harm due to the 
parent's failure to take reasonable steps to intervene to 
eliminate that risk, the department shall include a request for 
termination of parental rights at the initial dispositional 
hearing.   

 

Mandatory 
Termination 
Petitions - Plea 
Agreements 

Caseworkers must not initiate or negotiate a plea agreement with a 
mandatory termination petition. If the prosecutor's office (or 
alternate legal counsel) advises that a plea agreement is 
appropriate, the caseworker must first obtain supervisory approval 
before supporting a plea agreement on the record. 

If the supervisor does not support a plea agreement, the 
caseworker must inform legal counsel that the department does not 
support the plea agreement and state the department's opposition 
on the record. If time constraints prevent the attainment of 
supervisory review/approval, the worker must neither support nor 
oppose a plea agreement. 

The caseworker must document in social work contacts whether 
the plea agreement was supported by the department and why. If 
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supported, document the supervisor’s approval of the plea 
agreement. 

Non-Mandatory 
Termination 
Petitions - Case 
Conference 

If the department is not required to petition for termination of 
parental rights at the initial disposition hearing but is considering 
doing so, the caseworker must hold a conference with the 
appropriate agency personnel (CPS, foster care, etc.) to agree 
upon the course of action. The caseworker shall notify the attorney 
representing the child of the time and place of the conference and 
the attorney may attend. If an agreement is not reached at this 
conference, the local office director or designee must resolve the 
disagreement after consulting with the attorneys representing both 
the department and the child. 

Non-Mandatory 
Court Jurisdiction 
Petition - 
Temporary 
Custody 

Where no conditions requiring a mandatory petition exist, the 
caseworker may consider filing a petition when: 

1. Court authority is needed to order the parent to do something 
to allow the child to remain safely in their own home. 

2. Court authority is needed to secure safety of the child. 

3. If requesting removal, caseworkers must document through 
use of social work contacts, and on the petition that reasonable 
efforts were provided or attempted and that services did not 
eliminate the need for removal. 

When one or more of the following conditions exist, the juvenile 
code (MCL 712A.2) provides for jurisdiction of a child: 

• Whose parent or other person legally responsible for the care 
and maintenance of the child, when able to do so, neglects or 
refuses to provide proper or necessary support, education, 
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medical, surgical, or other care necessary for their health or 
morals, who is subject to a substantial risk of harm to their 
mental well-being, who is abandoned by their parents, 
guardian, or other custodian, or who is without proper custody 
or guardianship. 

• Whose home or environment, by reason of neglect, cruelty, 
drunkenness, criminality, or depravity on the part of a parent, 
guardian, or other custodian, is an unfit place to live. 

Note:  Caseworkers must remember when requesting a petition 
that a request for removal is not necessary for all petitions. The 
relief requested should be the least intrusive to ensure protection of 
the child, or resolution of the emergency.  

Supplemental/ 
Amended Petitions 

If a caseworker becomes aware of additional confirmations of 
abuse/neglect for a child whose case has been adjudicated by the 
court, CPS must file a supplemental petition and testify at the 
adjudication hearing, if necessary. If adjudication is pending, CPS 
must file an amended petition and testify at the adjudication 
hearing, if necessary. 

The caseworker must immediately notify the court if new facts or 
evidence becomes known which contradict the alleged 
abuse/neglect contained within a previously filed petition already 
authorized by the court.  

COURT PROCESS 
Court Hearing 

The department bears the burden of proof as a petitioner. The 
caseworker signing the petition is responsible for being able to 
prove the facts contained within the petition. When filing a petition 
with the Family Division of Circuit Court, the caseworker should be 
prepared to present the following: 

• The severity of the safety concerns for the child. 

• Evidence and proof supporting the determination of abuse or 
neglect. Evidence may be contained in documents obtained 
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from collateral sources; for example, police records, school, 
and attendance reports, visiting nurse and medical reports.  

• All efforts made by the department to improve the situation to 
prevent the need for court involvement. Emphasis should be 
made to indicate how the direct services were: 

 Adequate. 
 Applicable to the problem. 
 Sufficient in frequency and duration. 
 Appropriate to parental capacity. 

• Reasonable efforts to prevent removal, in cases where 
removal of the child is requested. 

• Potential placement options for the child, including the non-
custodial parent, or relatives.  

In presenting the department’s position, the caseworker should 
provide information that was gathered and recorded as a part of the 
investigation. 

Court Decisions 

Once a petition has been filed, the court has several options in dis-
posing of the petition: 

• Dismiss the petition, with or without warning; see Problem 
Court and Administrative Hearing Orders below for required 
further action. 

• Postpone a decision pending the provision of further services 
designed to improve the situation. 

• Authorize the filing of the petition and setting an adjudicative 
hearing.  

• Issue an order removing the perpetrator from the home. 

• Make the child a temporary court ward and leave the child in 
their own home. 

• Make the child a temporary court ward and remove the child 
from their home and place the child with the department for 
care, supervision, and out-of-home placement. 
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• Remove the child from their home, terminate parental rights, 
and make the child a permanent court ward.   

Problem Court and 
Administrative 
Hearing Orders 

If the court or referee refuses to authorize a petition, dismisses the 
petition, or if the court order conflicts with CPL, the caseworker 
must notify their supervisor. The supervisor must notify the 
Children's Services Legal Division (CSLD) to determine if further 
legal action is necessary. The supervisor must include the following 
in the email to the CSARequestforLegalResearch@michigan.gov; 

• Petition. 

• Pertinent Court Order. 

• A brief description of the conflict. 

• Synopsis of the local prosecutor's position or alternative 
counsel's position. 

• Explanation of any action they plan to take.  

Mediation  

A court may order mediation in child abuse/neglect cases. 
Mediation, as applied in child protective proceedings, is defined in 
MCR 3.970(A)(2) as a process in which "a neutral third party 
facilitates communication between parties, assists in identifying 
issues, and helps explore solutions to promote a mutually 
acceptable settlement." It is a judicially initiated process ordered by 
a court and is not a department reimbursable service. 

A court may order mediation at any stage in the child protection 
proceeding after consultation with the parties. The order must at 
least: 

• Specify, or make provision for selection of a mediation 
provider. 

• Provide time limits for initiation and completion of the mediation 
process. 

mailto:CSARequestforLegalResearch@michigan.gov
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The court cannot order a party to pay for a fee for mediation 
services. 

Objection to Mediation 

A party may object to mediation, orally or in writing, based on one 
or more of the following: 

• Domestic violence unless attorneys for both parties will be 
present at the mediation session. 

• Inability of one or both parties to negotiate for themselves at 
the mediation unless attorneys for both parties will be present 
at the mediation session. 

• Reason to believe that one or both parties' health or safety 
would be endangered by mediation. 

• A showing that the parties have made significant efforts to 
resolve the issues such that mediation is likely to be 
unsuccessful. 

• For other good cause shown. 

The caseworker should consult with the department's attorney to 
determine if MDHHS should make an objection on the record to the 
use of mediation in a case. However, simply making objections to 
mediation alone does not excuse a party from participating in the 
process. The court must act upon the objections. 

Attendance and Participation at Mediation 

The court may direct the parties and their attorneys (if ordered) to 
attend mediation proceedings. If an opposing party's attorney is 
ordered to attend and the department's attorney is not, the 
caseworker should object and request that the department's 
attorney also be ordered to attend. Such an order should be treated 
as a problem court order; see Problem Court and Administrative 
Hearing Orders in this item for more information. 

The court may further order that the parties to the action, including 
the caseworker: 

• Attend the mediation proceeding or be immediately available 
by some other means at the time of the proceeding; and 
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• Participate in the proceeding. 

The caseworker may not bring anyone who is not a party to the 
action unless agreed to by the mediator and the notice is given to 
the attorneys on the case. If the court orders attorneys for the 
parties to attend, the attorney for the department must also attend. 
When other parties have their attorneys present, caseworkers must 
also have an attorney present. If attorneys for the other parties are 
present to participate in mediation and the department attorney is 
not, the caseworker should immediately bring this discrepancy to 
the attention of the mediator and request discontinuation of the 
mediation on that basis.  

If the caseworker, or any party ordered by the court to 
participate in mediation fails to appear in accordance with the 
provisions of MCR 3.970, the caseworker or party may be held 
in contempt of court. 

Mediation Process 

The mediator may direct the caseworker to submit to either the 
mediator or the court in advance or bring to the mediation, 
documents or summaries providing information about the case. 

The caseworker and/or legal counsel for MDHHS must, if ordered, 
participate in the mediation, and may ask to meet separately with 
the mediator throughout the mediation process.  

Mediation will continue until one of the following occurs: 

• An agreement is reached. 

• The mediator determines that an agreement is not likely to be 
reached. 

• The end of the first mediation session. 

• Until a time agreed to by the parties. 

Withdrawal from Mediation 

Additional sessions may be held if it appears to the mediator that 
the process may result in an agreement. However, after the 
caseworker attends the first mediation session, the department may 
withdraw from the mediation process. The caseworker and/or legal 
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counsel for the department are not required to return for further 
sessions. There is no penalty for failing to appear for any 
subsequent sessions. Although not required under MCR 3.970, it is 
recommended that withdrawal from the mediation process be 
submitted to the court and parties in writing. 

Confidentiality in Mediation 

In general, mediation communications are confidential, subject only 
to disclosure under the provisions of MCR 2.412(D). However, 
previously uninvestigated allegations of abuse or neglect identified 
during the mediation process are not confidential and may be 
disclosed; see SRM 131, Confidentiality. 

END OF LIFE 
DECISIONS 

In situations where a child has been placed on life support systems 
and medical professionals question the decision-making of the 
parent/guardian or no parent/guardian can be located, CPS may 
find it necessary to petition the Family Division of Circuit Court. The 
following activities must be completed prior to petitioning the court: 

• Contact the parents to confirm they have not and will not 
authorize medical treatment for the child. Parents are to be 
informed that the department will file a petition with Family 
Division of Circuit Court.  

• Review and approval of the petition by the caseworker's 
immediate supervisor and the county director or designee.  

The petition must state only the facts as provided by medical 
professionals (for example, direct quotes from doctors, medical 
reports, etc.). 

The petition must request that the court make an appropriate 
decision regarding the provision of care for the child and should not 
offer any recommendations regarding the court's decision. 

See PSM 716-8, Medical Neglect of Disabled Infants and Other 
Forms of Medical Neglect. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-8.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/716-8.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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ADDITIONAL 
CONSIDERATIONS 

 
A Parent’s Guide 
to the Child 
Protective Process 

If CPS files a petition on behalf of a child under the CPL, CPS must 
provide the child’s parents and/or legal guardian a copy of DHS 
PUB-31, A Parent’s Guide to Working With Foster Care. 

Right To Be Heard 

The caseworker must ensure children know and understand their 
right to attend and have input in court hearings based on the child's 
age and level of development. The caseworker must relay the 
child's desires to have input into their court hearings to the L-GAL 
or GAL to ensure the child an opportunity to be heard regarding 
their case. The L-GAL or GAL will relay this information to the court. 
Discussion with youth regarding their right to be heard and the 
relaying of the information to the L-GAL or LGAL must be 
documented within the social work contacts section in the electronic 
case management record. 

Absent Parent 
Protocol 

The Absent Parent Protocol is a resource for identifying, locating, 
and involving absent parents in child protection proceedings. The 
caseworker must search for and locate the absent parent as early 
as possible in child protection proceedings to prevent disruption of 
a permanency plan. 

The court may question the specific efforts made to identify and 
locate absent parents. 

Children Absent 
Without Legal 
Permission 
(AWOLP) 

For more information on steps to take when a child is AWOLP; see 
FOM 722-03A, Absent Without Legal Permission (AWOLP).   

https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/DHS-Pub-0031.pdf?rev=e23406dbca4943d4bedeb85818485e96&hash=680F08DB8370259554956421FD3D5D64
https://www.michigan.gov/mdhhs/-/media/Project/Websites/mdhhs/Adult-and-Childrens-Services/Abuse-and-Neglect/Forms-and-Publications/DHS-Pub-0031.pdf?rev=e23406dbca4943d4bedeb85818485e96&hash=680F08DB8370259554956421FD3D5D64
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/4aa9e6/siteassets/educational-materials/mi-absent-parent-protocol-2023.pdf
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/722-03A.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks


PSM 715-3 16 of 17 
FAMILY COURT: PETITIONS, HEARINGS 

AND COURT ORDERS 

PSB 2023-
wrk004PSB 

2023-004 

12-1-2023 

 

 

CHILDREN'S PROTECTIVE SERVICES MANUAL STATE OF MICHIGAN 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & HUMAN SERVICES 

 

Child Located in 
Another State 

When a court order has been issued ordering removal of a child not 
physically present in Michigan, the department must contact the 
other state's CPS equivalent. If the other state is willing to take 
custody of the child, then the court of the other state and the 
Michigan court must communicate in accordance with the Uniform 
Child Custody Jurisdiction and Enforcement Act (UCCJEA) (see 
MCL 722.1101 et seq.). 

For the department to take physical custody of a child in another 
state, the department must have both of the following: 

• A written court order: 

 Naming the department; and 
 Ordering MDHHS staff to pick up the child; 

• Written consent to return the child to Michigan from the LGAL. 

Death of a Child 
Under the Court’s 
Jurisdiction 

Upon notification that a child under the court’s jurisdiction has died, 
the caseworker must notify the court immediately, but no later than 
the next business day; see SRM 172, Child/Ward Death Alert 
Procedures and Timeframes. 

Friend of the Court 

In cases where there is Friend of the Court (FOC) involvement, 
FOC must be notified of any family court action initiated by the 
department; see PSM 713-08, Special Investigative Situations, for 
requirements on coordination with FOC. 

Guardianships 

During CPS involvement, another caretaker may seek to obtain 
legal guardianship of a supposed child abuse/neglect victim. 
Caseworkers need to consider if child safety can be assured 
through the guardianship. If a petition is required by the CPL or is 
needed to ensure child safety, a petition must be filed. The fact that 
a guardianship is being sought or was obtained is not sufficient 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/172.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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basis to not file a petition; see PSM 713-08, Special Investigative 
Situations, for more information on when a family seeks to obtain or 
obtains a guardianship for a child during the investigation. 

Power of Attorney 

A parent's initiation of a power of attorney does not alleviate the 
need to file a court petition in cases where a petition is required by 
law or needed for child safety. 

Vital Records 

The court may request that the caseworker provide a copy of the 
child's birth certificate to the court. When requesting in-home 
jurisdiction, the CPS caseworker may need to provide a copy. 

MDHHS Vital Records and Health Statistics (VRHS) division has 
two formats for vital records, administrative copies, and certified 
copies. The caseworker may provide an administrative copy to the 
court unless the court requests a certified copy.  

See FOM 910, Obtaining Vital Records, for information on obtaining 
a birth certificate for a child. 

POLICY CONTACT 

For more information contact the Child-Welfare-
Policy@michigan.gov. 

 

 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/FO/Public/FOM/910.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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COORDINATION 
WITH FOSTER CARE 

The provision of services to abused or neglected children and their 
household is a CPS function when the children are living in their 
own homes. Reasonable efforts must be made to prevent or 
eliminate the need for removal prior to the removal of a child from 
his/her own home, except in emergency removal situations. When 
children have been removed from their homes and placed in the 
care and supervision of the department, the provision of services to 
abused or neglected children and their families is a function of 
foster care staff. Transition of responsibility should be facilitated by 
a case conference to outline protective services activity, objectives, 
and recommended treatment. Relatives should be identified for 
placement or as potential placement options and these options 
should be discussed with the foster care worker. See PSM 713-08, 
Special Investigative Situations, Coordination with Friend of the 
Court, for requirements on notification to Friend of the Court when 
there is a change in a child’s placement. 

Removal of Child-
Case Management 
Responsibility 

CPS retains responsibility of the case if the child remains in his/her 
own home (including when a child is placed with the non-custodial 
parent) and the court requests continued department supervision or 
if the child is in out-of-home placement which is expected to last 7 
days or less. 

When removal of the child is necessary and the child is made a 
temporary ward, responsibility of the case is transferred to foster 
care staff. CPS must initiate transfer of case management 
responsibility as soon as a decision is made to place the child in 
out-of-home placement that is expected to last more than 7 days. 

Note: Initial placement with a non-custodial parent, voluntary or 
court-ordered, is not considered an out-of-home placement per 
1973 PA 116 (Child Care Organization Licensing Act) and it is 
therefore the responsibility of CPS to monitor and provide services. 

Responsibilities and 
Functions 

The following describes the responsibilities and functions of CPS 
and foster care when the court orders out-of-home placement: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Public/PSM/713-08.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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1. The local office must ensure there are adequate procedures for 
appropriate placement in emergency situations, with priority 
given to relative caregivers. It is also to ensure that a child and 
the relative or licensed foster home placement are suitably 
matched. The child must be placed in the most family-like set-
ting available and in as close proximity to the child's parents' 
home as is consistent with the best interests and special needs 
of the child. 
 
CPS must provide supportive services during this transition 
period to ensure that at no time will the children or parents be 
without a responsible worker. Efforts to resolve the issues 
leading to the out-of-home placement must continue. Where 
possible, reunification of the child with family should be 
pursued. 
 
Within five working days of the initial out-of-home placement, 
the CPS worker must  transfer the case to Foster Care. 

2. When out-of-home placement has been ordered and is 
expected to last more than 7 days, foster care is to assume 
responsibility for the case upon transfer in MiSACWIS. 
 
See FOM 722-06I, Maintaining Connections Through Visitation 
and Contact for information on how often parenting time should 
occur. CPS will implement visitation until service responsibility 
is transferred to foster care. 
 
When a child is placed in out-of-home care and the duration of 
care is expected to be less than 7 calendar days, CPS will 
continue to carry responsibility. If care is expected to extend 
beyond 7 days, foster care must assume responsibility for the 
case once the CPS worker completes the transfer in 
MiSACWIS. 
 
The CPS worker must transfer case responsibilities by 
completing the transfer in MiSACWIS, within five working days 
of placement. Prompt completion of the transfer is essential to 
allow foster care time to develop case plans which must be 
submitted to the court within 30 calendar days of a child's 
removal. 
 
When the transfer is complete, CPS is no longer responsible 
for provision of services to the child and family. The CPS case 
must be closed in MiSACWIS once the case is successfully 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-06I.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/FO/Public/FOM/722-06I.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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transferred to the Foster Care worker. 
 
CPS would still be required to testify at necessary hearings 
and submit amended petitions when required. 

3. The Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing 
Adoptions Act of 2008 (P.L. 110-351) requires that within 30 
days of removal, the state must make diligent efforts to identify 
and provide notice to a child’s relatives that a child is in foster 
care. See PSM 715-2, Removal and Placement of Children, 
Placement with Relatives and Non-Custodial Parents section, 
for more information on identifying and notifying relatives. The 
CPS worker should notify the foster care worker of what has 
been completed. Copies of the relative search forms must be 
scanned and uploaded into MiSACWIS. 

4. Supervision of a child placed in a relative's home for protective 
purposes is the responsibility of foster care. When a child is 
placed in a relative's home without a court order for out-of-
home placement, the case must be supervised by CPS; see 
PSM 713-01, CPS Investigation - General Instructions and 
Checklist, Temporary Voluntary Arrangements section. 

5. See PSM 716-3, Voluntary Foster Care, for information on 
voluntary foster care cases. 

6. In situations in which the court orders one or more children 
removed from a home due to child abuse and/or neglect, but 
leaves a sibling(s) in the home with court jurisdiction, case 
management for all children is the responsibility of foster care. 
The DHS-3, Sibling Placement Evaluation, form must be 
completed in these situations. See PSM 713-08, Special 
Investigative Situations, Child(ren) Currently in Out-Of-Home 
Placement/ Prior Termination of Parental Rights section, for 
more information on completing the DHS-3. 

7. When a child in foster care is returned to his/her own home, 
follow-up or after-care supervision must be provided by foster 
care staff. Ongoing casework responsibility must not be 
returned to CPS from foster care if the child has been in foster 
care for more than 7 calendar days. If CPS has transferred 
case responsibility to foster care and the child is returned 
home prior to having been in placement for 7 days, case 
management responsibility must revert to CPS. If the child has 
been in foster care for 7 calendar days foster care would 
resume case responsibility. 
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Note:  Case management responsibility should be transferred 
from CPS to foster care no later than five working days 
following placement of the child into foster care. However, in 
certain circumstances, a child may be removed with the 
expectation that the child's time in foster care will be less 
than 7 days. CPS should retain case management 
responsibility in these situations for a maximum of 7 days. 
If the child is not returned home by the 7th day, case 
management responsibility must be transferred to foster care. 
Such circumstances require that the local office establish 
procedures to ensure that the DHS-65, Initial Service Plan, is 
prepared and made available to the court within 30 calendar 
days of the child's removal. 
 

8. In all cases in which CPS has filed a petition in the Family 
Division of Circuit Court to terminate parental rights at the first 
dispositional hearing, a case conference must be held between 
CPS and foster care within five working days of placement. 
Minimally, the CPS and foster care worker and their respective 
supervisors must attend this meeting. Other involved parties 
and staff should be included, as appropriate. See PSM 715-3, 
Family Court: Petitions, Hearings and Court Orders, 
Termination Petitions - Case Conference section, for 
information on involving a child's attorney and attorney-
guardian ad litem in case conferences. 

CHILDREN ARE IN 
OUT-OF-HOME 
CARE, BUT 
SIBLINGS REMAIN 
AT HOME OR ARE 
NEW TO THE HOME 

A DHS-3, Sibling Placement Evaluation, form must be completed 
on all cases in which a child remains in the home when sibling(s) 
has/have been removed or sibling(s) are/were permanent wards as 
a result of a child abuse/neglect (CA/N) court action. See PSM 713-
08, Special Investigative Situations, Child(ren) Currently in Out-Of-
Home Placement/ Prior Termination of Parental Rights section, for 
more information on completing the DHS-3. 

A foster care worker who becomes aware of the existence of a new 
child to a parent or parents who have other children in temporary 
care or who have had parental rights terminated in the past, either 
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voluntarily or involuntarily as a result of a CA/N, must make a com-
plaint of suspected (or actual) neglect/abuse regarding the new 
child to CPS. This might occur when a new child is born or moves 
into the home or was previously undiscovered, perhaps even 
hidden by the family, at the time of the previous court action. The 
CPS complaint must be made immediately when foster care 
becomes aware of the existence of such a child. See PSM 712-1, 
CPS Intake-Initial Receipt of Complaint, regarding the process for 
making a complaint. 
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OVERVIEW 

A referral involving only substance use is insufficient for 
investigation or confirmation of child abuse or child neglect. Parents 
and caregivers may use legally or illegally obtained substances and 
prescribed medications to varying degrees and remain able to 
safely care for their children. 

Substance use by a parent/caregiver may be a risk factor for child 
maltreatment. For cases involving known substance use, case 
managers must evaluate its impact on child safety. Substance 
abuse is a mental health disorder. Case managers should assist 
the parent/caregiver in accessing relevant supports and services.  

DEFINITIONS 

Controlled Substance 

A drug, substance, or immediate precursor. Controlled substances 
include illicitly used drugs or prescription medications.  

Meconium 

The earliest stool of an infant. The meconium is composed of 
materials ingested during the time the infant spends in the uterus.  

Medication Assisted Treatment (MAT) 

The use of medications, in combination with counseling and 
behavioral therapies, to provide a holistic approach to substance 
use disorders. Examples include Suboxone and Methadone. 

Serious Physical Harm 

Any physical injury to a child that seriously impairs the child's health 
or physical well-being, including, but not limited to, brain damage, a 
skull or bone fracture, subdural hemorrhage or hematoma, 
dislocation, sprain, internal injury, poisoning, burn or scald, or 
severe cut, MCL 750.136b(1)(f). 

INTAKE  

To assign for investigation, referrals containing allegations of 
substance use must meet Child Protection Law (CPL) definitions of 
suspected child abuse and/or neglect. 
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Assignment of 
Referrals involving 
Infants Exposed to 
Substances or 
Alcohol  

Mandated reporters who know, or from the infant's symptoms have 
reasonable cause to suspect that an infant has any amount of 
alcohol, a controlled substance, or a metabolite of a controlled 
substance in the infant's body, not attributed to medical treatment, 
must make a referral of suspected child abuse to Children's 
Protective Services (CPS).  

A CPS referral is not required if the mandated reporter knows the 
alcohol, controlled substance, or metabolite, or the child's 
symptoms are the result of medical treatment administered to the 
infant or the infant's mother (MCL 722.623a).  

Note:  Medical marijuana and MAT are medical treatment.  

CPS will investigate referrals alleging an infant was born exposed 
to substances not attributed to medical treatment when exposure is 
indicated by any of the following: 

• Positive urine screen of the infant. 

• Positive result from meconium testing. 

• Positive result from umbilical cord tissue testing. 

• A medical professional report(s) the child has symptoms that 
indicate exposure.  

RESPONSE TO 
SAFETY CONCERNS 

The following conditions may exist in homes where illegal 
substances are manufactured, sold, used, or distributed: 

• Criminality. 

• Loss of household control (individual who controls the drug 
trade usually controls the environment). 

• Unsecured weapons. 

• Potential for violence, including threats of physical assault; 
assaultive or coercive behavior. 

• General neglect, such as squalor, lack of food, etc. 
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• Unmet needs of the child. 

• Presence of individuals who endanger the child’s welfare and 
may have history of child abuse and/or neglect, and/or may be 
unwilling or unable to safely care for children. 

Coordination with law enforcement is encouraged if there are safety 
concerns for the case manager. Case managers must have law 
enforcement accompany them to homes where illegal substances 
are manufactured and/or distributed. 

Methamphetamine, 
Carfentanil, and 
Marijuana Butane 
Hash Oil 
Extraction 

Coordination with law enforcement must occur when the following 
allegations or concerns exist: 

• Suspected manufacturing, selling or distribution of 
methamphetamine. 

• Suspected presence or use of carfentanil. 

• Production or extraction of marijuana butane hash oil.  

Case managers should not enter these homes without the 
assistance of law enforcement. 

Methamphetamine 

Methamphetamine is a highly addictive and very potent central 
nervous system stimulant. The production of methamphetamine 
poses a significant danger due to risk of fire, explosion, and 
exposure to chemicals and fumes. Those using methamphetamine 
may be highly agitated and unpredictable.  

If children are removed from an environment where it is known they 
were exposed to methamphetamine use or production, they should 
be immediately transported to the closest hospital emergency room 
for a medical assessment. Case managers should not transport 
anyone suspected of exposure to methamphetamine production. 
Case managers should request the children be transported to the 
hospital by ambulance or law enforcement. 
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Carfentanil 

Carfentanil is a synthetic opioid that comes in several forms, 
including powder, blotter paper, tablet, patch, and spray. 
Carfentanil and other Fentanyl analogues present a serious 
risk to child welfare case managers, public safety, first 
responders, medical, treatment, and laboratory personnel. Case 
managers must not enter homes where there are concerns of 
use and/or manufacturing of any Fentanyl-related substance. 
Law enforcement must be contacted immediately and utilized 
to ensure the home is safe to enter and safety protocols are in 
place to avoid accidental exposure.  

The United States Department of Justice Drug Enforcement 
Administration has published Carfentanil: A Dangerous New Factor 
in the U.S. Opioid Crisis, which is a factsheet containing public 
safety information about Fentanyl, carfentanil and other dangerous 
synthetic opiates.  

Marijuana Butane 
Hash Oil 
Extraction 

A marijuana concentrate is a highly potent Tetrahydrocannabinol 
(THC) concentrated mass that can be consumed orally by infusing 
the concentrate in various food or drink products or ingestion by 
use of a water pipe or e-cigarette/vaporizer.  

Many methods are utilized to convert or manufacture marijuana into 
marijuana concentrates. One method is the butane hash oil 
extraction process. This process is particularly dangerous because 
it uses highly flammable butane to extract the THC from the 
cannabis plant. Given the extremely volatile nature of heating 
butane and creating a gas, this process has resulted in violent 
explosions. The United States Department of Justice Drug 
Enforcement Administration has published What You Should Know 
about Marijuana Concentrates, which is a factsheet containing 
public safety information on the dangers of converting marijuana 
into marijuana concentrates using the butane extraction process.  

Case managers must not enter homes where there are 
concerns for manufacturing marijuana into concentrates. 
Contact must be made with law enforcement to ensure the 
home is safe to enter. 

https://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov/resources/carfentanil-dangerous-new-factor-us-opioid-crisis#:~:text=The%20presence%20of%20carfentanil%20in,even%20among%20opioid%2Dtolerant%20users.
https://safesupportivelearning.ed.gov/resources/carfentanil-dangerous-new-factor-us-opioid-crisis#:~:text=The%20presence%20of%20carfentanil%20in,even%20among%20opioid%2Dtolerant%20users.
https://www.dea.gov/documents/2014/2014-12/2014-12-01/what-you-should-know-about-marijuana-concentrates
https://www.dea.gov/documents/2014/2014-12/2014-12-01/what-you-should-know-about-marijuana-concentrates
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Raids 

A CPS investigation must occur when law enforcement contacts 
Centralized Intake and indicates a drug raid has occurred in the 
home and reports suspected child abuse and/or neglect. 

Case managers should assist the parent(s)/caregivers with 
securing safety and shelter for the children, if necessary, when the 
home is not safe for the children to return.  

INVESTIGATION 
REQUIREMENTS 

Verification of 
Medication 

Case managers may ask a parent to verify medication such as anti-
depressants, anti-psychotics, narcotic pain medications or 
prescriptions identified as MAT. 

Verification of medication may occur by any of the following: 

• Observing the written prescription. 

• Observing the prescription bottle. 

• Contacting the prescribing medical professional. 

A signed DHS 1555-cs, Authorization to Release Confidential 
Information, must be signed by the caregiver prior to contacting the 
medical provider; see SRM 131, Confidentiality. 

Investigations 
involving Infants  

Along with standard investigation activities that apply in all other 
cases, investigations involving infants exposed to substances or 
alcohol must also include: 

• Contact with medical staff to obtain the following information, if 
available: 

• Results of medical tests indicating infant exposure to 
substances and/or alcohol. 

• The health and status of the infant. 

• Documented symptoms of withdrawal experienced by the 
infant. 

https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BE024E470-C381-4895-B119-33C31A2C38D7%7D&file=1555-cs.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://stateofmichigan.sharepoint.com/:w:/r/teams/insidedhhs/work/formsandpolicies/_layouts/15/Doc.aspx?sourcedoc=%7BE024E470-C381-4895-B119-33C31A2C38D7%7D&file=1555-cs.dot&action=default&mobileredirect=true
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Medical treatment the infant or birthing parent may need. 

• Observations of the parent's care of the infant and the 
parent's response to the infant's needs. 

• To be considered serious physical abuse, a medical 
practitioner must confirm the infant's exposure and any 
related symptoms meet the definition of serious physical 
harm. 

• Interview with the infant's parents and any relevant 
caregivers to assess the need for a referral for substance 
use disorder prevention, treatment, or recovery services. 

• Assessment of the parent's capacity to adequately care for the 
infant and other children in the home. 

• Coordination between the case manager, medical 
professional(s) and family to co-develop an Infant Plan of Safe 
Care (POSC) if necessary. 

• Contact with substance use treatment providers, if applicable, 
to determine the parent's level of participation.  

DECISION MAKING 
FOR 
INVESTIGATIONS 
INVOLVING 
SUBSTANCES 

Parental substance use and/or positive toxicology in an infant does 
not in and of itself indicate that child abuse and/or neglect has 
occurred or that the infant has experienced serious physical harm. 

For investigations involving allegations of parental substance use or 
infant exposure, case managers must reach conclusions based on 
the presence or absence of evidence of child abuse and/or neglect 
as defined; see PSM 711-4, CPS Legal Requirements and 
Definitions.  

For guidance in assessing parenting capacity, whether child abuse 
and/or neglect occurred and how to best address safety, case 
managers should consider the following: 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/711-4.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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• Does the use extend to the point of intoxication, 
unconsciousness, or inability to make appropriate decisions for 
the safety of their child(ren)? 

• Does the use of substances cause reduced capacity to 
respond to the child's cues and needs? 

• Is there evidence to demonstrate difficulty regulating emotions 
or controlling anger? 

• Are the following emotions regularly demonstrated? 

• Aggressiveness. 

• Impulsivity. 

• Is there an appearance of being sedated or inattentive? 

• Is there demonstrated ability to consistently nurture and 
supervise the child(ren) according to their developmental 
needs? 

• Do co-occurring issues exist which would impact parenting or 
exacerbate risk such as: 

• Social isolation. 

• Poverty. 

• Unstable housing. 

• Domestic violence.  

• Are there supports such as family and friends who can care for 
the child(ren) when the parents are not able to? Are the 
parents willing to use their supports when necessary? 

• Has the use of substances caused substantial impairment of 
judgement or irrationality to the extent the child was abused or 
neglected? 

• Any other factor which demonstrates inability to protect the 
child(ren) and maintain child safety.  

Early On® 

Children age 0 to 3 who are alleged or confirmed to have been 
affected by substances in utero, and/or a development delay, must 
be referred to Early On®; see PSM 713-01 - CPS Investigation - 
General Instructions. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/713-01.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Infant Plan of Safe 
Care 

In an investigation involving an infant born exposed to substances 
or having withdrawal symptoms, or Fetal Alcohol Spectrum 
Disorder (FASD), the case manager must develop an infant plan of 
safe care that addresses: 

• The health and safety needs of the infant. 

• The health and substance use treatment needs of the birthing 
parent or caregiver. 

• The needs of all household members, including caregivers who 
reside outside of the home. For example, a parent involved in 
the care of the infant who does not reside in the home or other 
consistent caregivers, like babysitters. 

Regardless of case disposition, in addition to a referral to Early On, 
services must be provided to the infant and family by MDHHS or 
another service provider, including, but not limited to, one of the 
following services: 

• Michigan Home Visiting Program.  

• Families First. 

• Families Together Building Solutions (FTBS). 

• Substance use disorder prevention, treatment, or recovery.  

• Family Preservation. 

The referral and implementation of these services must be 
documented by the case manager in the Newborn Toxicology 
section located in CPS History and Trends.  

LABORATORY 
SCREENING 

There may be situations in which case managers determine that 
substance/alcohol screens for parents or other persons responsible 
are necessary. Screening frequency should not exceed twice 
monthly; unless there is a need to verify use or abstinence, or a 
court order requiring additional screening. Substance use screening 
should not be completed as punitive action. 

Regardless of the outcome of the drug screen, case managers 
should continuously engage with the parent, provide the parent with 
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applicable services, and assess the impact of the parent's 
substance use.   

Consent 

Federal regulations require the civil rights of a client be protected. 
Informed consent is a mandatory component of screening 
procedures and case managers should ensure that a consent form 
is signed. If a client is screened, they must be provided with 
information on the potential subsequent action of screening.  

If a client refuses to consent to screening, the case manager should 
engage with the client and continue to assess for potential risks to 
the child(ren).  

Screening of 
Minors 

CPS must not conduct a drug screen on a child.  

RELEASE OF 
INFORMATION  

Because of the highly confidential status given to information 
concerning substance use disorder treatment, case managers must 
follow policy and only release this type of information under the 
provisions given; see SRM 131, Confidentiality - Substance Abuse 
Records.  

LEGAL  

Child Protection Law, MCL 722.621 et seq. 

CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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MEDICAL NEGLECT 
OF DISABLED 
CHILDREN  

The Child Abuse Amendments of 1984, PL 98-457, including sec-
tion 4 (b) (2) (K) of the federal Child Abuse Prevention and Treat-
ment Act, 42 USC 5101 et. seq. and USC 5116 et. seq., and 
subsequent federal regulations implementing the act, establish the 
role and responsibility of the state's CPS system in responding to 
complaints of medical neglect of children, including instances of 
withholding of medically indicated treatment from disabled infants 
with life-threatening conditions. 

The federal regulations implementing the act emphasize the role 
and functions of the CPS system, its focus on the family, and the 
locus of decision-making in relation to the medical neglect of dis-
abled children. The decision to provide or withhold medically indi-
cated treatment is, except in highly unusual circumstances, made 
by the parents or legal guardian.  

Parents are the decision-makers concerning treatment for their dis-
abled children, based on the advice and reasonable medical judg-
ment of their physicians. The counsel of an Infant Care Review 
Committee (ICRC) or other hospital review committee might be 
sought, if available. Therefore, if a complaint is made to CPS 
regarding the withholding of medically indicated treatment from dis-
abled infants with life-threatening conditions, the focus of CPS’s 
work will be, as it is in responding to other complaints of child 
abuse or neglect, to protect the child and to assist the family. 

The federal regulations further emphasize that it is not the CPS pro-
gram, the ICRC or similar committee that makes the decision 
regarding the care of and treatment for the child. This is the 
parents' right and responsibility. Nor is the aim of the statute, 
regulation, and the child abuse program to regulate health care.  

The parents' role as decision-maker must be respected and sup-
ported unless they choose a course of action inconsistent with 
applicable standards established by law. Where hospitals have an 
ICRC or similar committee and the review and counsel of the ICRC 
is sought, it is the role of the ICRC to review the case, provide addi-
tional information as needed to ensure fully informed decision-mak-
ing, and recommend that the hospital seek CPS involvement when 
necessary to ensure protection for the infant and compliance with 
applicable legal standards. 
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The federal regulations highlight several key points: 

 Current procedures and mechanisms already in place for CPS 
for responding to complaints of suspected child abuse and 
neglect should be used for responding to complaints of the 
withholding of medically indicated treatment from disabled 
infants with life-threatening conditions. 

 CPS must coordinate and consult with individuals designated 
by and within the hospital in order to avoid unnecessary 
disruption of hospital activities. 

 The legislation is not intended to require CPS workers to 
practice medicine or second guess reasonable medical 
judgments. Rather CPS must respond to complaints under 
procedures designed to ascertain whether any decision to 
withhold treatment was based on reasonable medical judgment 
consistent with the definition of “withholding of medically 
indicated treatment.” 

 If CPS determines on the basis of medical documentation there 
is withholding by the parent/guardian of medically indicated 
treatment from a disabled infant with life-threatening 
conditions, CPS must pursue the appropriate legal remedies to 
prevent the withholding. 

Definitions 

Medical Neglect  

The failure to provide adequate medical care in the context of the 
definitions of “child abuse and neglect”. The term “medical neglect” 
includes, but is not limited to, the withholding of medically indicated 
treatment from a disabled child with a life-threatening condition. 

Withholding of Medically Indicated Treatment  

The failure to respond to the disabled child’s life-threatening condi-
tions by providing treatment (including appropriate nutrition, hydra-
tion, and medication) which in the treating physician's reasonable 
medical judgment, will most likely be effective in ameliorating or 
correcting all such conditions, except that the term does not include 
the failure to provide treatment (other than appropriate nutrition, 
hydration, or medication) to an infant when, in the treating 
physician's reasonable medical judgment any of the following 
circumstances apply: 
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 The infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose.  

 Treatment would merely prolong dying, not be effective in 
ameliorating or correcting all of the disabled infant's life-
threatening conditions, or otherwise be futile in terms of the 
survival of the infant. 

 Treatment would be virtually futile in terms of the survival of the 
infant and the treatment itself under such circumstances would 
be inhumane. 

Infant 

A child less than one year of age. The reference to less than one 
year of age must not be construed to imply that treatment should be 
changed or discontinued when an infant reaches one year of age, 
or to effect or limit any existing protections available under state 
laws regarding medical neglect of children over one year of age.  

Children 

In addition to infants less than one year of age, the standards set 
forth in the above definition of “withholding of medically indicated 
treatment” should be considered thoroughly in the evaluation of any 
issues of medical neglect involving a child older than one year of 
age who has been continuously hospitalized since birth, who was 
born extremely prematurely, or who has a long-term disability. This 
includes children who may be seen as medically fragile, or those 
who may be seen at an increased level of vulnerability based on 
their medical needs; see PSM 713-04. 

Reasonable Medical Judgment 

A medical judgment made by a reasonably prudent physician, 
knowledgeable about the case and the treatment possibilities with 
respect to the medical conditions involved. 

Infant Care Review Committee (ICRC) 

A voluntarily established, generally hospital based multidisciplinary 
group which may be composed of, but is not limited to, such mem-
bers as a practicing physician (e.g., a pediatrician, a neonatologist, 
or pediatric surgeon), a practicing nurse, a hospital administrator, a 
social worker, a representative of a disability group, a lay 
community member, and a member of the facility's organized 
medical staff, whose purpose and functions are: 
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 To educate hospital personnel and families of disabled infants 
with life-threatening conditions. 

 To recommend institutional policies and guidelines concerning 
the withholding of medically indicated treatment from disabled 
infants with life-threatening conditions. 

 To offer counsel and review in cases involving disabled infants 
with life-threatening conditions. 

Report and 
Investigation 

To clarify when CPS is the appropriate department for responding 
to the alleged medical neglect of a disabled child, the chart below 
indicates the appropriate system or process available for 
responding based on the party alleged to be neglecting the child 
and the reporting person. 

CPS RESPONSE TO COMPLAINTS OF MEDICAL NEGLECT OF DISABLED 
CHILDREN 

 NEGLECTING PARTY 
 

Reporting Person Parents Hospital Staff 

Hospital Staff CPS investigates Not applicable 

Parents Not applicable Existing hospital review process 

Other/Anonymous CPS investigates Existing hospital review process 

CPS is responsible for responding to complaints that parents are 
neglecting their child's health and welfare by withholding medically 
indicated treatment, as noted in Column A. Complaints from 
parents or others that the hospital or health care provider is 
neglecting (Column B) to provide proper or suitable care for the 
infant is outside the scope and responsibility of CPS and are not 
appropriate for CPS investigation. Existing procedures, including 
medical review committees within the health care facility, should be 
used for addressing such concerns. 
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Complaint of Parental Neglect from Health Care Provider or 
Hospital 

Most complaints of medical neglect involving the withholding of 
medically indicated treatment from disabled children  with life-
threatening conditions by parents are reported by a health care 
provider or hospital staff. This reporting person is logically in the 
best position, with their medical expertise, to know what is 
medically indicated and necessary treatment. The complaint must 
be accepted for investigation with appropriate steps taken to ensure 
that necessary care and treatment are provided. 

Required steps include: 

1. Contact the designated hospital liaison person regarding the 
condition of the child and treatment needed and confirm or 
determine: 

a. Does the child have a life-threatening condition which falls 
outside the three conditions specified in the federal regula-
tion in which treatment is not considered medically indi-
cated? Examples are: 

(1) The child involved is chronically and irreversibly 
comatose. 

(2) Treatment would merely prolong dying, not be effec-
tive in ameliorating or correcting all of the life-
threatening conditions, or otherwise be futile in terms 
of the survival of the child. 

(3) Treatment would be virtually futile in terms of the sur-
vival of the child and the treatment itself under such 
circumstances would be inhumane. 

b. What is the diagnosis and condition of the child? 

c. What treatment has been provided and what treatment is 
still needed? 

d. Consequences if treatment is not provided? 

e. Has the treating physician recommended that treatment 
be provided? 

f. Have parents refused to consent to treatment? If so, on 
what basis? 
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g. What was the analysis of the ICRC, or other reviewing 
body, if available? 

2. Face-to-face interview with the parents (discuss first with the 
hospital social worker, if involved, to determine the context for 
interviewing parents) to determine parents' understanding of 
child's condition and treatment alternatives and the decisions 
they have made and the basis for those decisions. 

3. Determine whether further investigation is needed. 

a. No. 

(1) If there is no withholding of medically indicated treat-
ment, a preponderance of evidence of child 
abuse/neglect will not be found to exist 

(2) If treatment is indicated and recommended by the 
treating physician and other consultants, but the par-
ents have refused to consent to the treatment, court 
action must be sought for the protection of the child 
as follows: 

a)  Contact the parents to confirm that they have 
not and will not authorize medical treatment for 
the infant. Parents must be told the department 
will file a petition in the Family Division of 
Circuit Court seeking a court order to authorize 
medical treatment. 

(b)  File a petition in the Family Division of Circuit 
Court requesting that the court make an appro-
priate decision regarding the provision of care 
for the child. The petition must state only the 
facts as provided by medical professionals 
(direct quotes from doctors, medical reports, 
etc.). The worker filing the petition must not 
offer any recommendations regarding the 
court’s decision. The petition must be reviewed 
and approved by the supervisor and the county 
director (or designee) prior to filing with the 
court; see PSM 715-3-Family Court: Petitions, 
Hearings and Court Orders, End of Life Deci-
sions section. 

(c)  Subsequent to resolution of an emergency 
condition, there is to be follow-up services for 
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the parents. Services may include information 
about parental support groups composed of 
parents with children having similar disabilities 
as well as community services and resources 
to assist families in the care of children. At an 
appropriate time and when parents can better 
evaluate their options and decisions, they may 
also be advised of voluntary release services if 
they are unable to provide the continuing care 
necessary for the child. 

b. Yes.  

 There remains some doubt or uncertainty regarding the 
hospital's recommendations, the parents refuse to autho-
rize medically indicated treatment, or there is a need for 
additional documentation to arrive at a conclusion, there 
must be further consultation with the ICRC, other review 
committee or medical consultant, if available. 

 If further consultation with the ICRC or other medical staff 
does not yield sufficient information to assist in 
determining whether there is medical neglect involving 
withholding of medically indicated treatment from a 
disabled child with a life-threatening condition and the 
parents are not cooperative in authorizing medical 
treatment, a petition must be filed with the Family Division 
of Circuit Court requesting that the court make an 
appropriate decision regarding the provision of care for the 
child. 

 If the court orders an independent medical evaluation, it 
should empower the court appointed medical consultant to 
make whatever inquiries and investigations he/she consid-
ers appropriate including access to hospital personnel and 
to pertinent hospital records. 

 The medical consultant should determine whether a child 
is at risk due to the withholding of medically indicated 
treatment, and may include: 

(1)  Notifying the designated hospital liaison person that a 
judicial order has been obtained to conduct an inde-
pendent investigation and to gain access to the hospi-
tal and its pertinent records. 
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(2) Interviewing the treating physician and others 
involved in treatment. 

(3) Reviewing medical records. 

(4) Interviewing parents to determine the basis for their 
decisions. 

(5)  Arranging, if necessary, a meeting with the ICRC, its 
designees, or other hospital review mechanism to 
determine the following: Did the ICRC or other 
hospital review committee verify the diagnosis? Were 
all the facts explained to the parents? Did the parents 
have time to think about their decision? Did the 
parents appear at the meeting and articulate their 
objections to treatment before the committee? Were 
all the facts before the committee? Did all physicians, 
nurses and others involved in treatment have an 
opportunity to present information to the committee? 
Did the committee recommend treatment or make any 
other recommendation? Was there significant dissent 
among committee members and/or medical staff? 
Was the committee recommendation consistent with 
the terms of “withholding medically indicated 
treatment.” 

 The medical consultant is to notify the court of the 
findings and recommendations and submit a report in 
writing to the court and the department. 

4. If requested or ordered by the court, the department is to pro-
vide follow-up services which may include: 

 Monitoring the case through regular contact with the 
health care facility designee to assure that appropriate 
nutrition, hydration, medication and medically indicated 
treatment is provided. The court is to be notified whenever 
there is failure to authorize or provide necessary care or 
treatment for the child. 

 Assisting the parents by initiating referrals to appropriate 
agencies that provide supportive services for disabled 
children and their families. 
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Complaint of Parental Neglect From Other Than a Health Care 
Provider or Hospital 

If a complaint is received from someone other than a health care 
provider or hospital alleging medical neglect involving the withhold-
ing of medically indicated treatment from a disabled child with a life-
threatening condition, the following steps must be taken: 

1. Obtain the following information from the reporting person: 

a. Name, address, and telephone number of the health care 
provider. 

b. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of the child 
and parents. 

c. Name of the reporting person, source of their information 
(first hand or otherwise), position to have reliable informa-
tion (such as a  nurse on the ward, a friend or other), 
affiliation, address, and telephone number. 

d. Specific information as to the nature and extent of the 
child’s condition and the reason and basis for suspecting 
that medically indicated treatment or appropriate nutrition, 
hydration or medication is being or will be withheld. 

e. Whether the child may die or suffer harm within the imme-
diate future if medical treatment or appropriate nutrition, 
hydration or medication is withheld. 

f. Names, addresses and telephone numbers of others who 
might be able to provide further information about the 
situation. 

2. Decide whether the information provided is sufficient to warrant 
an investigation based on the following criteria: 

a. The circumstances reported, if true, would constitute “child 
medical neglect” as defined by state law, e.g., “harm or 
threatened harm to a child's health or welfare by a parent 
or legal guardian which occurs through negligent treat-
ment, including the failure to provide adequate...medical 
care”. 

b. There is reasonable cause to believe that circumstances 
indicate the withholding of medically indicated treatment. 
Reasonable cause to believe is defined as: what 
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reasonable people, in similar circumstances, would con-
clude from such things as the nature of the condition of the 
child, health care professional statements, and information 
that the parents have refused to consent to recommended 
treatment. 

The intake worker and supervisor, in consultation with a medical 
consultant if necessary, must decide whether these elements are 
present and an investigation is warranted. (Payment for medical 
consultation may be made using procedures described in PSM 
713-04-Medical Examination and Assessment.) If an investigation 
is not warranted, the reporting person must be informed that the 
criteria for initiating an investigation are not present and an 
investigation will not be conducted. If an investigation is warranted, 
proceed under the steps indicated above for responding to a 
complaint received from a health care provider or hospital. 

MEDICAL NEGLECT 
BASED ON 
RELIGIOUS BELIEFS 

It is a parent's right and responsibility to consider recommendations 
from medical practitioner(s) and make an informed decision for 
treatment that they believe is in their child's best interest.  These 
decisions may involve the need to weigh several competing 
opinions and recommended courses of treatment. Decisions are 
often made in the context of the family's religious or spiritual 
beliefs.  A determination of medical neglect must include sufficient 
evidence that the parent had the opportunity, but failed to 
provide medical care for the child's health or welfare.   

 

Under the Child Protection Law (MCL 722.634), when a particular 
type of intervention or a specific recommended medical treatment 
for a child is not provided based on a parent or guardian practicing 
his/her religious beliefs, the parent or guardian must NOT be 
considered negligent for that reason alone. To be clear, a finding of 
medical neglect may still be confirmed in such cases if sufficient 
evidence of neglect exists, but if so, the parent or guardian cannot 
be considered a perpetrator. The perpetrator must be indicated as 
"unknown." See below for guidance.  
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No Perpetrator 

If medical neglect is confirmed as the result of a CPS investigation 
based only on the parent or guardian not providing the 
recommended medical treatment due to his/her religious beliefs, 
the parent's or guardian's name(s) must not be listed on the central 
registry as a perpetrator of child abuse or neglect. When 
completing the disposition in MiSACWIS, select the victim(s) of 
medical neglect and an unknown perpetrator. The disposition must 
provide a narrative documenting why an unknown perpetrator is 
being identified.  
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OVERVIEW  

The Child Protection Law (CPL) contains provisions to amend an 
inaccurate report or record or expunge a person from central 
registry MCL 722.627j.  

DEFINITIONS 

Amendment 

Correction of an inaccurate report or record.   

Expunction  

The process of removing or eliminating information within a record, 
such as removing an individual from central registry. Case records 
are not subject to expunction. 

Central Registry Case 

The department confirmed that a person responsible for the child's 
health or welfare committed serious abuse or neglect, sexual 
abuse, sexual exploitation of a child, or allowed a child to be 
exposed to or have contact with methamphetamine production. 

Confirmed Case 

The department has determined, by a preponderance of evidence, 
that child abuse or child neglect occurred by a person responsible 
for the child's health, welfare, or care but the perpetrator is not 
required to be placed on central registry.  

AMENDMENT/ 
EXPUNCTION, 
CENTRAL REGISTRY 
PLACEMENT 

Central Registry Placement 

An individual who is the subject of a report or record made under 
the CPL may request the department amend or expunge an 
inaccurate report or record from the central registry and/or the case 
record within 180-calendar days from the date of service on the 
DHS-847-A, Notice of Placement on Central Registry, MCL 
722.628. If the department denies the request for an amendment 
and/or expunction of a report or record, an administrative hearing 
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must be requested by the Expungement Unit Analyst; see PSM 
717-3, Administrative Hearing Procedures MCL 722.627j.  

Review of Amendment/Expunction Request (Central Registry 
Placement) 

Upon receipt of a written request for an amendment/expunction of a 
case record or report from an individual who is the subject of the 
record or report, the local office may review the case record and 
determine the appropriate action within 45-calendar days or submit 
the request to the expungement unit at DHHS-Expungement-
Unit@michigan.gov for review. 

The local office must consider completing the administrative review 
for amendment/expunction for the following reasons:  

• Emergency placement decisions. 

• To expedite placement. 

• For employment purposes. 

The local office must complete a central registry clearance upon 
receipt of the request if the local office elects to send the request 
for review to the expungement unit; see Expunction and 
Administrative Hearings Procedure Policy Aid, 

• If the requestor is on central registry, the expungement request 
received by the local office must be date stamped, scanned, 
and emailed to the expungement unit request mailbox within 
two-business days of receipt. If the requestor is not on central 
registry, the local office must contact the requestor to discuss.  

• The local office must ensure the documents are uploaded into 
the electronic case management record. If unavailable, the 
local office must attempt to obtain the records from closed 
records and upload them into the record. The requested 
documents must be emailed to the expungement unit analyst 
within five-business days.   

When reviewing an amendment request, the department must 
consider an amendment when the case record reveals: 

• Errors in facts. 

• Missing information. 

• Inaccuracies within assessments.  

• The facts of the case do not support the outcome or do not 
meet a preponderance.  

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/717-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/717-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Polaid/Expunction%20and%20Administrative%20Hearings%20Procedure.pdf
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Polaid/Expunction%20and%20Administrative%20Hearings%20Procedure.pdf
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FACTS SUPPORT 
AMENDMENT/ 
EXPUNCTION 

Facts Support Amendment 

If the local office supports amendment, the reviewing children's 
services supervisor must create an amendment to the 
corresponding DHS-154, Investigation Report, and correct any 
inaccurate information in the electronic case record. The decision to 
amend must be made by a children's services supervisor, other 
than the approving supervisor. The individual must be notified via 
the DHS 1200-C, Confirmed Case Amendment Action. 

Facts Support Expunction 

If the local office supports expunction, the reviewing children's 
services supervisor must create an amendment to the 
corresponding DHS-154, Investigation Report, and correct any 
inaccurate information in the electronic case record, if necessary. 
The decision to expunge must be made by a children's services 
supervisor, other than the approving supervisor. The individual 
must be notified via the DHS-1200, Child/Abuse Neglect - Central 
Registry Expunction Action. 

It is critical that documentation in the Amendment/Expungement 
hyperlink within the electronic case management record clearly 
describes what action was taken and why. Special attention is 
required to ensure the amended report is uploaded to the 
Amendment/Expungement hyperlink and to the Documents 
hyperlink within the electronic case management record.   

For any report that requires amendment to the confirmed 
perpetrator(s), maltreatment type(s), and/or category disposition, 
contact must be made with the MiSACWIS Help Desk to request a 
data fix. The MiSACWIS Help Desk will review each request for a 
data fix with the Expungement and Redaction Unit to ensure 
consistency and coordination prior to making any changes to the 
record.  

Local offices and others who distribute CPS records must ensure 
the most current version of each report is provided to authorized 
requestors. It is imperative the Amendment/Expungement hyperlink 
be reviewed in every investigation to determine what, if any action, 
was taken on an investigation prior to distribution. This will help 
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ensure amended reports are provided instead of the original, if an 
amendment has been completed. 

See; CPS Actions When The Facts Support 
Amendment/Expunction Policy Aid 

FACTS DO NOT 
SUPPORT 
AMENDMENT/EXPU
NCTION 

Facts Do Not Support Amendment 

If the local office completes the review and denies the request to 
amend, the local office must forward the reasoning for denial, and 
any supporting information to the Expungement Unit at DHHS-
Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov within two-business days. See 
PSM 717-3, Administrative Hearing Procedures, for the 
expungement unit administrative review process. 

The expungement unit must complete a neutral review of the 
request to determine if an amendment/expunction is appropriate 
based on policy and/or Child Protection Law. If there is any 
disagreement between the local office review and the expungement 
unit, a case consultation must be held between the expungement 
unit and the county director or designee, to determine what actions 
should be taken. If there is no consensus, the expungement unit 
will include Children's Services Legal Division. If no consensus, the 
expungement unit must forward to the appropriate Business 
Service Center (BSC) director and In-Home Bureau director for a 
final decision. The expungement unit must notify the requestor of 
the final determination within 90-calendar days of the date of the 
original request on the 847-A, Notice of Placement on Central 
Registry - Children's Protective Services, or 847-C, Notice of a 
Confirmed Case - Children's Protective Services. If it is determined 
an expunction or amendment will not occur, the requestor will have 
30-calendar days to notify the expungement unit and request an 
administrative hearing.  

Facts Do Not Support Expunction 

If the local office denies the request to expunge, the local office 
must forward the DHS-847-A, Notice of Placement on Central 
Registry, along with reasoning for denial, and any supporting 
information to the Expungement Unit at DHHS-Expungement-
Unit@michigan.gov within two-business days. See PSM 717-3, 

file:///C:/Users/harrisn1/OneDrive%20-%20State%20of%20Michigan%20DTMB/Documents/CPS%20Actions%20When%20the%20Facts%20Support%20Amendment.pdf
file:///C:/Users/harrisn1/OneDrive%20-%20State%20of%20Michigan%20DTMB/Documents/CPS%20Actions%20When%20the%20Facts%20Support%20Amendment.pdf
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/717-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/717-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Administrative Hearing Procedures, for the expungement unit 
administrative review process. 

CENTRAL REGISTRY 
PLACEMENT PRIOR 
TO NOVEMBER 1, 
2022 

An individual listed on central registry before November 1, 2022, 
may submit a request to the department for an administrative 
review for the expungement of the individual's name from central 
registry (MCL 722.627l).  

Upon receipt of the request, the local office may complete the 
administrative review and determine the appropriate action or 
submit the request to the expungement unit for review within two-
business days of receipt of the request. Within 180-calendar days 
of receipt of the request for an administrative review, the 
department shall complete the review. Within 30-calendar days, the 
department must notify the individual, in writing of the final decision 
to expunge the individual from the central registry or the decision to 
keep the individual on central registry if the individual's case is a 
confirmed case of any of the following:  

• Confirmed methamphetamine production. 

• Confirmed serious abuse. 

• Confirmed serious neglect.  

• Confirmed sexual abuse.  

• Confirmed sexual exploitation.      

If the department's final decision after the administrative review is to 
expunge the individual from central registry, the department shall 
notify the director of the department responsible for the licensure of 
that individual or the director's designee within 45-calendar days of 
the final decision. 

Note:  Removal from the central registry after 10 years is not 
applicable to this process.  

ADMINISTRATIVE 
REVIEW REQUEST 
EXTENSION 

If a written request is submitted within 60-calendar days after the 
180-calendar days from the date of service on the DHS-847-C, 
Notice of a Confirmed Case, or DHS-847-A, Notice of Placement 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/717-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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on Central Registry, with good cause, a review and request for 
hearing must occur. Examples of good cause include, but are not 
limited to, hospitalization or incarceration of the perpetrator.  

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov). 

mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

The Child Protection Law (CPL) contains provisions to amend an 
inaccurate report or record made by Children's Protective Services 
MCL 722.627j. 

AMENDMENT, NO 
CENTRAL REGISTRY 
PLACEMENT 

Confirmed Cases (No Central Registry Placement) 

An individual who is the subject of a report made under the Child 
Protection Law (CPL), classified as a category I, II, or III, that does 
not result in being placed on the central registry, may request the 
department amend an inaccurate report or record within 180-
calendar days from the date of service on the DHS-847-C, Notice of 
a Confirmed Case, MCL 722.628.   

Note:  Confirmed cases that do not meet the central registry 
requirements can only be amended, not expunged.  

Review of Amendment Request (No Central Registry 
Placement) 

Upon receipt of an amendment request via the 847-C, Notice of a 
Confirmed Case, the local office must review the request to 
determine if it was made timely and if the case should be amended. 
An administrative review, that requires a review of the 
documentation within the electronic case record only, must be 
completed within 45-calendar days of receipt of the request by a 
children's services supervisor, other than the approving supervisor.  

When reviewing an amendment request, the department must 
consider an amendment when the case record reveals: 

• Errors in facts. 

• Missing information. 

• Inaccuracies within assessments.  

• The facts of the case do not support the outcome or do not 
meet a preponderance.  

If during the review, it is determined an amendment is appropriate, 
the local office must complete the amendment and send the 1200-
C, Child Abuse/Neglect - Confirmed Case Amendment Action, to 
the requestor. 
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Upon the initial review, if the local county office denies the 
amendment request, the request must be sent to the expungement 
unit for review at DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov. If the 
expungement unit agrees with the denial, a conference must be 
held between the expungement unit and the local office supervisor 
who conducted the initial review. If both the expungement unit and 
the local office supervisor agree, the reviewing supervisor and the 
expungement unit analyst will sign the 1200-C, Child 
Abuse/Neglect - Confirmed Case Amendment Action.  

FACTS SUPPORT 
AMENDMENT 

If the local office supports amendment, the reviewing children's 
services supervisor must create an amendment to the 
corresponding DHS-154, Investigation Report, and correct any 
inaccurate information in the electronic case record. The decision to 
amend must be made by a children's services supervisor, other 
than the approving supervisor. The requestor must be notified via 
the DHS 1200-C, Child Abuse/neglect - Confirmed Case 
Amendment Action. 

It is critical that documentation in the Amendment/Expungement 
hyperlink within the electronic case management record clearly 
describes what action was taken and why. Special attention is 
required to ensure the amended report is uploaded to the 
Amendment/Expungement hyperlink and to the Documents 
hyperlink within electronic case management record.   

For any report that requires amendment to the confirmed 
perpetrator(s), maltreatment type(s), and/or category disposition, 
contact must be made with the MiSACWIS Help Desk to request a 
data fix. The MiSACWIS Help Desk will review each request for a 
data fix with the Expungement and Redaction Unit to ensure 
consistency and coordination prior to making any changes to the 
record.  

Local offices and others who distribute CPS records must ensure 
the most current version of each report is provided to authorized 
requestors. It is imperative the Amendment/Expungement hyperlink 
be reviewed in every investigation to determine what, if any action, 
was taken on an investigation prior to distribution. This will help 
ensure amended reports are provided instead of the original, if an 
amendment has been completed. 

mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
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See; CPS Actions When The Facts Support 
Amendment/Expunction Policy Aid. 

FACTS DO NOT 
SUPPORT 
AMENDMENT 

If the local office completes the review and denies the request to 
amend, the local office must forward the reasoning for denial, and 
any supporting information to the Expungement Unit at DHHS-
Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov within two-business days. See 
PSM 717-3, Administrative Hearing Procedures, for the 
expungement unit administrative review process. 

The expungement unit must complete a neutral review of the 
request to determine if an amendment is appropriate based on 
policy and/or Child Protection Law. If there is any disagreement 
between the local office review and the expungement unit, a case 
consultation must be held between the expungement unit and the 
county director or designee, to determine what actions should be 
taken. If there is no consensus, the expungement unit will include 
Children's Services Legal Division. If no consensus, the 
expungement unit must forward to the appropriate Business 
Service Center (BSC) and In-Home Bureau director for a final 
decision. The expungement unit must notify the requestor of the 
final determination within 90-calendar days of the date of the 
original request on the 847-C, Notice of a Confirmed Case, form. If 
it is determined an amendment will not occur, the requestor will 
have 30-calendar days to notify the expungement unit and request 
an administrative hearing.  

ADMINISTRATIVE 
REVIEW REQUEST 
EXTENSION 

If a written request is submitted within 60-calendar days after the 
180-calendar days from the date of service on the DHS-847-C, 
Notice of a Confirmed Case, with good cause, a review and request 
for hearing must occur. Examples of good cause include, but are 
not limited to, hospitalization or incarceration of the perpetrator. 

POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov). 

file:///C:/Users/harrisn1/OneDrive%20-%20State%20of%20Michigan%20DTMB/Documents/CPS%20Actions%20When%20the%20Facts%20Support%20Amendment.pdf
file:///C:/Users/harrisn1/OneDrive%20-%20State%20of%20Michigan%20DTMB/Documents/CPS%20Actions%20When%20the%20Facts%20Support%20Amendment.pdf
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/olmweb/exf/PS/Public/PSM/717-3.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

Per Child Protection Law, not more than once every 10 years after 
an individual has been listed on central registry, the individual may 
request a hearing to request removal from the registry. MCL 
722.627j.  

REMOVAL FROM 
CENTRAL REGISTRY 
AFTER 10 YEARS 

Send removal from central registry requests received after 10 years 
to the expungement unit at DHHS-Expungement-
Unit@michigan.gov. 

Except for cases of confirmed sexual abuse, confirmed sexual 
exploitation, and placement on the central registry because of a 
criminal conviction, the department must hold a hearing to 
determine whether the information should be maintained on the 
central registry; see PSM 717-3 Administrative Hearing 
Procedures. 

The expungement unit must complete a review to assess what 
actions the requestor has taken to address the reasons and actions 
leading to their initial placement on central registry. A review of the 
prior investigation and supporting documentation must be 
conducted to assess whether the concerns resulting in placement 
on central registry have been rectified, along with a system's review 
of any other relevant factors, to help inform a decision at hearing.  

The hearing must be held before an administrative law judge. In 
this hearing, the individual is presumed to be a risk to children and 
the burden of proof is on the individual requesting to be removed 
from central registry to display they are not a risk. If the individual 
demonstrates by a preponderance of the evidence that the 
presumption is unreasonable, then the information must be 
expunged from central registry. The facts and circumstances as 
determined by the department or an administrative law judge on 
review of the department's decision that resulted in the individual 
originally being placed on central registry are not subject to review. 

 POLICY CONTACT 

Questions about this policy item may be directed to the Child 
Welfare Policy Mailbox (Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov). 

mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
mailto:DHHS-Expungement-Unit@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
mailto:Child-Welfare-Policy@michigan.gov
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OVERVIEW 

A person who is the subject of a report or record made under the 
Child Protection Law (CPL) may request amendment or expunction 
of an inaccurate report or record. Primary responsibilites and duties 
contained in this policy are that of the Expungement Unit. 

DEFINITIONS 

Administrative Review 

For purposes of this policy, a review of the case record conducted 
by the department. 

Administrative Hearing 

For purposes of this policy, a hearing conducted by an 
Adminstrative Law Judge (ALJ). 

Administrative Law Judge 

Any person assigned by the hearing system to preside over and 
hear a contested case or other matter assigned, including, but not 
limited to, tribunal member, hearing officer, presiding officer, 
referee, and magistrate. 

ADMINISTRATIVE 
REVIEW  

Upon receipt of a written request for amendment/expunction of 
case record or report, the expungement analyst must review the 
electronic case record within two business days of assignment to 
determine if additional documents need to be requested from the 
local office to complete the administrative review request. See 
Expunction and Administrative Hearing Procedures policy job aid 
for the administrative review process. 

An assessment must be made by the expungement unit as to 
whether the case has sufficient evidence to support the 
dispositional findings. The findings must be supported and applied 
correctly based on CPL and policy that was in place at the time of 
the finding. All factors must be considered including the credibility 
of witness statements. All supporting evidence provided by the 
requestor must be reviewed prior to rendering a determination. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/PS/Polaid/Expunction%20and%20Administrative%20Hearings%20Procedure.pdf
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Contact must be made with those individuals necessary to discuss 
and verify pertinent information in rendering a decision. The 
following individials include but are not limited to: 

• The requestor. 

• Witnesses. 

• Assigned CPS specialist and/or supervisor. 
Expungement 
Decision and 
Second Line 
Review 

The reviewing expungement analyst is to have a case consultation 
with the expungement supervisor to discuss their decision based on 
the completed review. The expungement analyst must contact the 
local county office director or their designee to discuss the decision 
of amendment or expungement.  

If there is not a consensus, the request will be brought to the BSC 
director’s attention for further review. 

Decision 
Notification - No 
Hearing Needed 

If the decision is made to amend or expunge the case record, 
including removal from central registry, the completed DHHS-1200, 
Child/Abuse Neglect - Central Registry Expunction Action, will be 
sent to the local office point of contact. The local office point of 
contact will mail the requestor the DHHS-1200, Child 
Abuse/Neglect - Central Registry Expunction Action.    

For confirmed cases regarding individuals not placed on central 
registry, the DHS-1200c, Confirmed Case Amendment Action, will 
be mailed to the requestor by the expungement unit. 

Amendment of 
Case Record 

The intake/Central Registry (CR) hyperlinks must be completed, 
and all proper documentation uploaded including: 

• DHS-847a, Notice of Placement on Central Registry, signed by 
the petitioner. 

• DHS-847c, Notice of a Confirmed Case, signed by the 
petitioner. 
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• Initial Service Plan. 

• Supporting documentation. 

• DHHS-1200, Child Abuse/Neglect - Central Registry 
Expunction Action. 

• DHS-1200c, Confirmed Case Amendment Action, for 
confirmed cases that do not result in central registry 
placement. 

Denial of Request 
to Amend or 
Expunge 

Central registry cases 

If the decision is to deny the request to amend or expunge from 
CR, the expungement analyst is to complete all hearing packet 
paperwork required to process for an administrative hearing. See 
below Administrative Hearing Request section. 

Confirmed cases 

After the administrative review process has been exhausted and 
the decision is to deny the request to amend a case record for an 
individual that is subject to the record or report of a confirmed case, 
the expungement unit will send the DHS-1200c, Confirmed Case 
Amendment Action, with determination and notification that the 
requestor has 30 calendar days from date of service on the DHS-
1200c to request an administrative hearing.  

ADMINISTRATIVE 
HEARING REQUEST 

The expungement analyst is responsible for completing and 
sending the hearing packet to Michigan Office of Administrative 
Hearing and Rules (MOAHR) The packet must include the 
following:  

• Cover sheet identifying the case. 

• DHS-3050, Hearing Summary and following information: 

 Date of complaint.  

 Date of disposition.  
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 Date of placement on CR. 

 Copy of the notice to the perpetrator.  

 The allegations of abuse or neglect.  

 Name and date of birth of the victim(s). 

 Name and date of the perpetrator(s). 

 Name of each witness (unless that would put the 
witness in danger). 

 Prior administrative or judicial decisions on the 
alleged abuse/neglect, including prior decisions 
regarding requests for amendment or expunction 
involving the same placement on the central registry. 

• County in which the client resides. 

• Assigned expungement analyst name and contact information.  

The DHS-3050 and hearing packet must be sent to MOAHR via 
email at: MOAHR-BSD@michigan.gov. 

The expungement analyst must also email the hearing packet to 
the Children's Services Legal Division at 
CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov mailbox if the 
petitioner is being represented by counsel. 

Note:  The hearing packet must also comply with SRM 131, 
Confidentiality requirements and Administrative Hearing rules for 
redaction. 

A hearing packet must be emailed to the local county point of 
contact by the expungement analyst. The point of contact will send 
the packet to the petitioner via regular mail. 

The expungement analyst will upload the hearing packet within the 
electronic case record in the Amendment/Expungement Document 
hyperlink. 

mailto:MOAHR-BSD@michigan.gov
mailto:CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Michigan Office of 
Administrative 
Hearing and Rules 
(MOAHR) 
Response to 
Hearing Requests 

Only MOAHR has the authority to grant or deny the hearing 
request. MOAHR informs the petitioner and the local office in 
writing when a request is granted or denied. If the hearing request 
is granted, MOAHR will issue a Notice of Hearing giving the date, 
time, and location of the hearing. MOAHR denies requests signed 
by unauthorized persons and requests without original signatures 
(faxes or photocopies of signatures are acceptable). 

Note:  Staff must not call or email the Administrative Law Judge 
(ALJ) assigned to a hearing for any reason. Once a case is 
scheduled, any questions regarding the case must be directed to 
the MOAHR secretaries at (517) 373-0722. 

Representation in 
Administrative 
Hearings 

An assistant attorney general must be requested to represent the 
department in all administrative hearings where the petitioner is 
represented by counsel. Complete the DHS-1216 E, Request for 
Attorney General Representation, and send it, along with 
supportive materials to the Children's Services Legal Division's 
CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov mailbox.  

If the opposing party is represented by counsel at an administrative 
hearing and the department’s authorized employee is not, the 
department must request an adjournment from the ALJ so that the 
department may request representation by counsel.  

The expungement analyst will provide the assigned assistant 
attorney general assistance in coordinating conference calls, 
obtaining documentation, including the hearing packet and case 
recommendations. 

Petitioner Access 
to Information 

The petitioner has the right to review investigation reports and 
obtain copies of needed documents and materials. After 
confidential information has been redacted (see SRM 131, 

mailto:CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov
https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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Confidentiality - Children’s Services), send a copy of all documents 
and records that will be used by the department to the petitioner 
and/or the petitioner’s attorney, including a copy of the DHS-3050. 

Pre-Hearing 
Conference 

The assigned expungement analyst is required to schedule a pre-
hearing conference with the petitioner once the decision has been 
made to deny the request to amend or expunge the case record 
and prior to an administrative hearing. 

The expungement analyst will need to gather information from the 
petitioner if they have or will be obtaining representation in this 
matter. The pre-hearing conference must occur within 30 calendar 
days upon receipt of the request. 

A pre-hearing conference does not need to be held in the following 
situations:  

• The petitioner chooses not to attend the pre-hearing 
conference. The petitioner is not required to participate in the 
pre-hearing conference in order to have a hearing. This must 
be explained in any notice of the pre-hearing conference. 

• A conference was held prior to the receipt of the request for 
hearing and: 

 The issue in dispute is clear. 
 Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

(MDHHS) staff fully understands the positions of both the 
department and the petitioner. 

The pre-hearing conference may be used to clarify the issues for 
the department and the petitioner. All of the following, actions must 
occur at the pre-hearing conference:  

• Determine why the petitioner is disputing the MDHHS action. 

• Review any documentation the petitioner offers in support of 
his/her request for hearing. 

• Explain the department's position and identify and discuss the 
differences. 

• Determine whether the dispute can be resolved prior to 
submission of the matter to MOAHR for administrative hearing. 

https://dhhs.michigan.gov/OLMWEB/EXF/SR/Public/SRM/131.pdf#pagemode=bookmarks
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The expungement analyst must participate in a pre-hearing 
conference with the Administrative Law Judge, if required. 

PREPARATION FOR 
HEARING 

The expungement analyst is responsible for the following in 
preparation of an administrative hearing:  

• Drafting the questions for the testimony of witnesses. 

• Completing the MDHHS-5602, Payment Request form, for 
witness fees.  

 Witness fees remain the responsibility of the local 
office. 

• Preparing witnesses for the hearing. 

• If necessary, requesting and ensuring delivery of subpoenas 
for witnesses to testify in coordination of the local office 
established contact. See below subpoenas.  

• Determine necessary exhibits.   

• Case consultation between the expungement analyst, 
expungement supervisor, and local office supervisor will occur 
to discuss any conflicts. 

Notification Requirements 

When a hearing date is identified, information will be updated within 
the Administrative Hearings Calendar as well as notification to the 
local county office designee and witnesses. If the expungement 
analyst is unable to attend a hearing, immediate (within 24 hours or 
the next business day) notification is to be made to the 
expungement supervisor.  

Subpoenas 

If the local office requires a person outside of MDHHS to testify at 
the hearing or to obtain a document outside of MDHHS to be 
offered as evidence, the local office must send a memo requesting 
a subpoena to MOAHR including: 

• Case name (for example, Jane Doe v. Ingham County 
MDHHS). 
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• Docket number. 

• The name and address of the person whose testimony is 
required. 

• The document to be subpoenaed. 

• The reason the person or document is needed. 

• The manner in which the person’s testimony or document 
relates to the hearing issue. 

• A copy of the notice of hearing, if available.  

Allow adequate time to mail or hand deliver the subpoena. Do not 
send a copy of the entire witness list with subpoena requests. 

The requestor must serve the subpoena and must pay the 
attending witness fee plus the state-approved mileage rate from 
and to the person’s residence in Michigan.  

Depending on the type of service used by the department to issue 
the subpoena (i.e. personal, registered mail, certified/return receipt 
requested, etc.), checks must be attached to the subpoena or 
provided to the witness at the hearing. In no circumstances should 
the witness have to provide testimony prior to receiving the 
appropriate payment.  

Witnesses are not required to be registered in SIGMA to receive 
payment. To request a check for witness fees and related travel, 
staff need to complete an MDHHS-5602. The “Agency Local Print” 
box located under the “Vendor Information” header must be marked 
“Yes."  Completed requests must be submitted to: 
InvoiceMDHHS@michigan.gov.  

Note:  If a witness is called to court to testify to drug screen results, 
payment of the witness fee is not the responsibility of the 
department, but is a county government/court responsibility. 

MDHHS employees are expected to participate in hearings without 
a subpoena when their testimony is required. If participation of an 
MDHHS employee cannot be arranged, send a memo to MOAHR 
giving the name and location of the employee and how the 
employee’s testimony relates to the hearing issue. MOAHR will 
decide whether to require the employee’s participation. 

mailto:InvoiceMDHHS@michigan.gov
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Amendment/ 
Expunction 
Settlement 

If at any time during the hearing process the expungement analyst 
believes there is insufficient evidence/witnesses to keep the 
petitioner on CR or there is evidence that suggests an inaccurate 
report or record be amended, consultation must be held with the 
expungement supervisor. 

If a settlement is determined after a hearing request has been 
made, the petitioner must complete the waiver of hearing form. The 
expungement analyst is to ensure a copy of the form is filed and all 
actions are completed.  The form must uploaded into the electronic 
case record within the case Amendment/Expungement hyperlink. 

Request for 
Adjournment 

The petitioner or expungement unit may request an adjournment of 
a scheduled hearing. If an adjournment of a scheduled hearing is 
needed, the expungement analyst must send a request in writing to 
MOAHR with a copy to the petitioner. If the adjournment is granted, 
an Order Granting Adjournment will be issued containing the new 
hearing date, time, and location. If the request for adjournment is 
denied, the hearing will commence at its originally scheduled date. 

Withdrawal of 
Request for 
Hearing 

A petitioner may withdraw the request for a hearing any time prior 
to the ALJ issuing a hearing decision and order. When a petitioner 
wishes to withdraw a request, ask for a signed written withdrawal. 
The DHS-18A, Hearing Withdrawal, form should be used for this 
purpose. The petitioner must clearly state that they have decided to 
withdraw the request. The expungement unit analyst must enter all 
case identifying information on the withdrawal form, attach the 
original copy to the request, and forward both to MOAHR 
immediately. File a copy of the withdrawal in the electronic case 
record. 

Administrative 
Hearing Decision 

The ALJ determines the facts based solely on the evidence at the 
hearing, draws a conclusion of law, and issues a decision and 
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order. Copies of the decision and order are sent to the local office 
and the petitioner. In most cases, the petitioner has the right to 
appeal the final decision to the Family Division of Circuit Court 
within 60 calendar days after the decision is received. 

The expungement analyst, within two business days of receipt of 
the Proposal for Decision, reviews the findings of fact and 
conclusion of the law made within the decision.  

If MDHHS agrees with the decision, the expungement analyst will 
implement the findings as outlined. 

Amendment of Case Record 

If MDHHS is required to remove the petitioner from CR or amend 
an inaccurate report or record, this is to be completed by the 
expungement analyst within 10 calendar days of receipt of the 
hearing decision. If edits are required to the Service Plan this must 
be amended by the expungement analyst within 10 calendar days 
of receipt of the hearing decision.  

The expungement analyst will complete all necessary actions within 
the electronic case record to comply with the administrative law 
judge's decision. 

A copy of the expungement, as well as the DHHS-1200, Child 
Abuse/Neglect - Central Registry Expunction Action, must be 
provided to the MOAHR by the expungement analyst. The DHS-
1200 must be provided to the local office point of contact who must 
then provide it to the petitioner.  

The expungement analyst must complete the DHS-1844, 
Administrative Hearing Order Certification form within 10 calendar 
days and send it to the Children's Services Legal Division's 
CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov mailbox to certify 
the implementation of the required action(s). 

A copy of the Administrative Hearing Proposal for Decision is to be 
uploaded into the electronic case record within the case 
Amendment/Expungement hyperlink. 

The expungement analyst will provide a copy of the Admininstrative 
Hearing Proposal for Decision to the local county point of contact 
for informational purposes. 

mailto:CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov
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Rehearing/Reconsi
deration  

If MDHHS is not in agreement with the decision, the expungement 
analyst and expungement supervisor will consult the Office of Legal 
Affairs and/or the assigned attorney general.  

A rehearing is a full hearing, which is granted when the original 
hearing record is inadequate for purposes of judicial review or there 
is newly discovered evidence that could affect the outcome of the 
original hearing.  

A reconsideration is a paper review of the facts, law and any new 
evidence or legal arguments. A reconsideration is granted when the 
original hearing record is adequate for judicial review and a rehear-
ing is not necessary but a party believes the ALJ failed to 
accurately address all the issues.  

MOAHR determines if a rehearing or reconsideration will be 
granted. 

The department should file a written request for rehearing/reconsid-
eration if any of the following exists: 

• Newly discovered evidence, which could affect the outcome of 
the original hearing. 

• Misapplication of law in the hearing decision, which led to a 
wrong conclusion. 

• Failure of the ALJ to address in the decision relevant issues 
raised in the hearing request. 

The expungement analyst will process and complete a 
reconsideration within 10 calendar days. The expungement analyst 
will complete a written formal request for a 
rehearing/reconsideration. 

MOAHR will grant or deny the request and will send written notice 
to all parties of the original hearing. If MOAHR grants a 
reconsideration, the hearing decision may be modified without 
another hearing unless there is need for further testimony. If a 
rehearing is granted, MOAHR will schedule and conduct the 
rehearing in the same manner as a hearing. 

Pending a rehearing, the expungement unit analyst must implement 
the original decision and order unless a circuit court or other court 
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with jurisdiction issues an order delaying implementation of the 
original decision. 

ADMINISTRATIVE 
HEARING STEPS 

The usual steps for a hearing are: 

• Introduction by the ALJ. 

• Department representative addresses any administrative 
issues, such as how exhibits should be labeled, etc. 

• Opening statements (first the department, then the petitioner). 

• Testimony of witnesses (both direct and cross-examination). 

• Closing statements. 

Note: If the petitioner fails to appear at the hearing despite proper 
notice, the department should request to move forward with the 
hearing for a final decision. 

Role of the ALJ 

In general, the ALJ will follow the same rules used in circuit court to 
the extent practical in the issue being heard. The ALJ must ensure 
the record is complete and may: 

• Take an active role in questioning witnesses and parties. 

• Assist either side to ensure that all necessary information is 
presented on the record. 

• Be more lenient than a circuit court judge in deciding what 
evidence may be presented. 

• Refuse to accept evidence that is repetitious, immaterial or 
irrelevant. 

Either party may object on the record stating disagreement with the 
ALJ’s decision to include or exclude evidence. The ALJ must state 
on the record why evidence was not admitted. 
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APPEALS TO 
CIRCUIT COURT 

Only the petitioner can appeal the results of the Administrative 
Hearing to Circuit Court. Any legal notices (or example, subpoena, 
notice and complaint, the Administrative Hearing decision and 
order, etc.) must be sent to the expungement unit for processing 
and forwarded to the Bureau of Legal Affairs. 

Bureau of Legal Affairs 
Children's Services Legal Division 
333 S. Grand Avenue, 5th Floor 
Lansing, MI 48933 
Phone (517) 284-4853 
CSARequestforRepresentation@michigan.gov 
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THE MICHIGAN 
PENAL CODES 

Updated versions of all Michigan penal codes are located at: 
http://www.legislature.mi.gov 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.136b (definitions; child abuse). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.145c (definitions; child sexually 
abusive activity or material; penalties; possession of child sexually 
abusive material; expert testimony; defenses; acts of commercial 
film or photographic print processor; applicability and uniformity of 
section; enactment or enforcement of ordinances, rules, or regula-
tions prohibited). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520a (definitions). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520b (criminal sexual conduct in 
the first degree; felony). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520c (criminal sexual conduct in 
the second degree; felony). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520d (criminal sexual conduct in 
the third degree; felony). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520e (criminal sexual conduct in 
the fourth degree; misdemeanor). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520f (second and subsequent 
offense; penalty). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.520g (assault with intent to commit 
criminal sexual conduct; felony). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 750.85 (torture, felony; penalty; defini-
tions; element of crime; other laws). 

Michigan Penal Code, MCL 257.58c (serious impairment of a body 
function defined). 
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